Parallels RAS Reviews

115 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 68)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 30, 2021
Joe Castle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

We benefited greatly. We have been able to do everything from publish network drives to employees for access remotely to also publishing desktops and providing access to peoples' office computers.
Read Joe Castle's full review
September 01, 2020
Ayman Dasa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

To install Parallels Remote Application Server in our host server was simple. To install it in company ships was even easier--anyone can do it. The best part for me is that they can keep shortcut icons of the application directly on the user's Windows desktop.
Read Ayman Dasa's full review
August 24, 2020
Waqas Anjum Akram Javid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

While both have their pros and cons, they each hold a specific purpose. Businesses need to decide which solution is the right one for their virtualization requirements, taking into consideration their current and future needs. Parallels Remote Application Server allows businesses to deploy both technologies RDS and VDI without additional costs, which saves IT administrators from making a difficult choice at the very start of their migration project.
Read Waqas Anjum Akram Javid's full review
August 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

We don't use VDI, only application virtualization.
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2020
Jorge Acopa Galera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

We are now able to deliver virtual desktops to our users in a really easy way thanks to Nutanix AHV integration to our RAS farm, it has the ability to get the virtual desktops ready for our users and turn it off on demand. We really loved this option because we did not needed to pay more for VDI or PCs publishing.
Read Jorge Acopa Galera's full review
March 11, 2020
Bret Benziger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

The software is very simple to use, but that doesn't mean it's basic. You can design a segmented remote access farm with high availability load balancing, or just install on a single server. The user management, policy management, permissions, and application/host management is very intuitive. Farm updates are often easy to push out.
Read Bret Benziger's full review
February 11, 2020
iain Stephen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

It is definitely a good way to provide virtual and remote desktop access for specific users. VPNs are ok, but there are times when applications need the speed of a local area connection to function well, and Parallels certainly does allow the illusion of a local application that runs at network speeds since it is actually happening on the server. The central console is simple to understand and it's easy to add/remove users to available applications and resources.
Read iain Stephen's full review
April 04, 2020
Clint Rankin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

Setting things up can be difficult and time-intensive but well worth the effort because there's next to nothing that the end-user has to do and they just have a simple but effective method of accessing their apps that just plain works. There's little to no set up for the end-user. Tons of set up for your I.T. Dept, however, so keep that in mind.
Read Clint Rankin's full review
April 03, 2020
Jason Chafin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

Most organizations are spread thin on resources and time available to train, so anytime you make a product easier to pickup and use is much appreciated by IT and the company as a whole. The RAS system makes it really easy to add new users and profiles, but continuing to increase usability will benefit current and future Parallels RAS users and administrators.
Read Jason Chafin's full review
March 31, 2020
Adrian Alessi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

I was apprehensive using a smaller known product in the industry thinking there wouldn't be much support, but to be honest, I barely needed any training or support. You can load up AWS or Azure images all ready configured in minutes!
Read Adrian Alessi's full review
March 24, 2020
Joe Foran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

Our use of Parallels Remote Application Server is directly related to the delivery of virtual desktops and applications. In reviewing the options of an SSL VPN solution, IPSec VPN solution, and Citrix solution, Parallels was chosen for its ease of deployment, speed of implementation, lower upfront cost, lower maintenance costs, and ease of use for both IT and end-users. The end-user gets their apps in a simple website, while IT gets an easy to manage, secure, and monitor tool for providing access.
Read Joe Foran's full review
March 09, 2020
Darrin Salt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

Deployment is one of the easiest things with Parallels RAS, and that applies to both adding it to existing infrastructure or deploying in a green-field approach for a new solution. Whether you split the RAS roles across just a few servers or many, centralized management from a single console makes it so easy - all components are pushed out and managed from the console from a single, quick installation.
And once it's installed, it's just as easy to manage, publish apps, monitor and update all from that same location.
Read Darrin Salt's full review
March 07, 2020
Jeff Dyck | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

  • Setup was generally quite simple - the exception being the Microsoft Remote Desktop licensing, but that's on Microsoft rather than Parallels Remote Application Server, and I'm sure they'd simplify that if it was possible. Day to day usage of the Parallels software is quite straightforward and simple.
  • For users, it's also generally reasonably simple, with a few exceptions.
  • - A lot of our users struggle to understand that they're running the app on a remote server, so forget to log out when they are done.
  • - Configurations for shared local resources like printers and folders from the user's Mac are simple for technical people, but challenging for general users to understand.
Read Jeff Dyck's full review
March 07, 2020
Donny McIver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

While we haven't explored the VDI aspect yet, simply focusing on RDS and application publishing has been fantastic. Take an application like QuickBooks where end users are on a Mac - traditionally, they had to VPN and Remote Desktop to a server to access QuickBooks. Now, with the Parallels Remote Application Server client installed on a Mac, they can have a QuickBooks icon published to their Mac for single-click access straight to the remote application for a very seamless experience. The addition of having a printer and drive mappings and the flexibility of also exposing the full RDS interface if needed on a user by user basis is incredible. Simply put, we're fans!
Read Donny McIver's full review
March 03, 2020
Scott Shorey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

Yes, it makes the delivery of applications installed on the RDS very easy to roll out to end-users. It is easy for the end-users to use as well.
Read Scott Shorey's full review
February 26, 2020
Brian Medford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

We are able to offer a hosted solution for our software because Parallels RAS allows us to grant users access to our software in a controlled environment where they can be productive without having to worry about the normal maintenance involved with a localized installation. We have other clients using Citrix Netscaler and it's much more complicated and resource-intensive in comparison. RAS is far more advanced to the point that the NetScaler seems archaic by comparison.
Read Brian Medford's full review
February 14, 2020
Jason Stevenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Parallels RAS Simplicity

We benefited from this simplicity as we are a small IT shop, so the ability to deploy RAS as well as applications was a big win. Ease of use for the end-user was also a big win.
Read Jason Stevenson's full review

What is Parallels RAS?

Parallels® Remote Application Server (RAS) is an all-in-one application delivery and virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI) solution that enables users to work remotely from anywhere, on any device, at any time. The cloud-ready software is designed to enable organizations to centralize IT infrastructure management, integrate with Windows Virtual Desktop, streamline multi-cloud deployment, reinforce data security and improve IT process automation. Its architecture enables organizations to adapt to critical business demands. The vendor states its key benefits include:

  • Outstanding user experience (UX) on any device
  • Enhanced data security
  • IT agility and business readiness
  • Easy deployment, configuration and maintenance
  • Reduced total cost of ownership (TCO)

Parallels RAS Features

Parallels RAS Screenshots

Parallels RAS Videos (3)

Parallels RAS Downloadables

Parallels RAS Integrations

Parallels RAS Competitors

Parallels RAS Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Parallels RAS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Parallels RAS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Windows Servers 2008/R2, 2012/R2, 2016 and 2019
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, German, Japanese, Russian, French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Korean