TrustRadius
Parature is a self-service customer support platform providing a self-service knowledge base to connect with customers across multiple channels, including email, the web, chat or social media. The company was acquired by Microsoft in January 2014 and will now be part of the Microsoft Dynamics CRM platform.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/lD/yP/VW71SFCXAMTK.JPEGFlexible, Expandable, Full Featured Customer Support PortalParature is used primarily by the Customer Support team to support users of our Resource Manager, Analytics, and Impact solutions. It is also used by our sales engineers during evaluations, our professional services group, and engineering team. We leverage the "Download Manager" capability for software entitlement and delivery. In addition we make heavy use of the Knowledge Base module to provide customer self-service.,Parature ia an "All-in-One" solution that does most aspects very well. For us the key differentiator was the "Download Module". We provide our software electronically and we were able to use the Parature API to integrate with our entitlement systems to provide software delivery for our customers. The Ticketing Module is top notch and is completely customizable. It has a very powerful workflow system which includes routing rules and time based triggers giving you a lot of flexibility when designing the process. While not a feature of the product, the Customer Support team at Parature is top-notch. I don't need to contact them often, but when I do the replies are swift and detailed.,The Forums Module is minimally functional and not well thought out - it seems more like an afterthought to the solution. We do use this module, but as a broadcast-only system for product updates and other alerts. It works well in this limited capacity. If you make heavy use of the Download Module you will find that you cannot "link" files into different folder structure. Our software is delivered in modules, some of which are common across product lines. I have to upload the same file multiple times in order to make it available in the various folder hierarchies. The WYSIWYG editor is a bit cumbersome, and often inserts a lot of extraneous HTML. This is particularly difficult in the KB Module when authoring large documents. There is a character limitation in the Ticket Module that causes the reply (from either the CSR or the customer) to be attached as an HTML document after the limit is reached. The information is not lost or truncated, but is not viewable in the context of the ticketing module - you have to open another browser window.,9,Customer Satisfaction has improved dramatically for several reasons. First, our prior solution was cumbersome and provided a very poor customer experience. It was also difficult to use from the CSR side. The Parature interface is clean and fast for both users and CSRs. In addition to creating a better customer experience, this allows us to process more tickets resulting in higher satisfaction. Overall, satisfaction is up approximately 60% since we deployed Parature and ticket throughput is up approximately 40%. The built in reporting - and optional advanced reporting - are extremely powerful. We do make use of the advanced reporting module, but 80% of the data I use to run my business comes from the built-in reports. The reports are indispensable and I rely on them to make adjustments based on many factors including ticket volume, response and resolution times, performance against SLA, and CSR performance. I've been able to increase team efficiency by about 15% using this information. Because Parature is used by Engineering, Sales, Services and Customer Support, there is a high level of collaboration that takes place resulting in better information sharing across the various organizations within Zenoss.,,8,8Parature Ticketing Solution - Feedback/ReviewAs a technician within a college's Information Technology Support Department, we used Parature to track the issues reported by our user-base (students/staff/faculty) in order to enhance the level of service we could provide. Building a knowledge base of our most common issues with Parature allowed for faster response times, quicker problem resolution, and the proliferation of knowledge among employees.,Clean/Friendly UI. It was extremely easy to navigate around Parature's menus at a high level, and you could take advantage of the more robust features as you became more comfortable and familiar with how Parature operates! Strong Knowledge Base. Writing KB articles or ticket summaries and making use of the search function within Parature allows for expedient recovery of past ticket information. Being able to search for a fix action, or at least a troubleshooting article that can guide you towards a resolution is extremely valuable. Enhanced Notation Capability. Being able to send/post internal or external updates to a ticket is great! You can leave the wordy technical details for other employees while making sure to communicate the high-points and fix action to the end-user.,Integration. After working for a different tech company, I have come to realize how robust Parature really is. This comes at the cost of being able to "play nice with others". While my current company's ticketing software plugs directly into a multitude of other .NET applications as an Add-in, Parature is cut from a different cloth and has to be run independently. Learning Curve. As a flip-side to the "basic level" ease of use, Parature has some complex functionality to it! While a user can read through tech references and help menus all day, a more intuitive design would make it easier for things like "issue association/categorization" or "filter open tickets by -keyword- in the problem description". Ticket templates. While it may be in the works (or has already been implemented in some fashion), Parature did not have a template feature when I was actively using it. It would severely cut down on the time it takes to make/fill out a ticket with basic information if I could click a button for "Account Lockout" issues or to "Create New User".,7,Increased Efficiency. Parature problem tracking options cut down on the amount of tickets that engineers would initiate for essentially the same issue. Employee On-boarding Turnaround. Parature is a relatively easy ticketing system to grasp, which makes it priceless for bringing new employees up to speed. Every minute not spent in a classroom or training environment just learning how to use the system is an extra minute that an employee can be working with customers on live issues! Ease of Access. Having the Parature Portal makes it extremely easy to log into the ticketing system from any workstation and gain access to all the tickets that i've been working on. I am not confined to a single desktop or session, so I can gain access to my work from just about anywhere!,,7,7Parature from a user's perspectiveThe organization I was in was used by IT as a Helpdesk tool to capture, route and track Helpdesk tickets. I believe it was only being used by IT. The business problems addressed were that you don't have to be a rocket scientist to use it and that being a cloud based product made it easier to manage from an IT perspective.,Works pretty well with all web browsers Does not need a ton of training to use Reduces the time to input and track tickets allowing the technician to do what they get paid to do, concentrate on fixing things,Keep it simple - too many ticket routing tools like this try to do too much which ends up requiring more training time to use and makes it cumbersome for the user in production Love the fact that its web browser based but I'd love to see a Cloud Client that can be installed on the workstation so the user has a choice,7,Faster ticket processing times Fast implementation via Cloud,,7,Don't knowUCSC Conduct Office ReviewParature is being used by my department and by a few on campus. Parature is fairly new, but many other departments are gaining an interest in its uses and the multi-use products that Simplicity offers.,Parature is excellent at housing information and making it accessible. Parature is excellent for anonymous and detailed communication with students.,Parature needs to desperately make viewing student files and incident reports more seamless. Getting bounced between areas makes it very hard to manage where you are at at any given time. Parature really needs to bring back to sanctions tab at the top of each incident report. Hiding it under the incidents tab is inconvenient and not as user-friendly. It would be really great if Parature could have a retract button. In case a Summons or a VRA goes out and is wrong. Or at least a feature that allows the letter to be altered after it is sent out, Like housed on the Parature system and then the student sees the most up-to-date letter, and we cut down on re-sending and retracting statements made in the letter during the summons meeting.,7,Positive: everything is housed in one place, we are paperless and we are efficient. Negative: the bugs of this product make the above equally as frustrating. Also, some people don't use it correctly and going back and fixing their mistake is time-consuming. The reporting feature are also pretty flawed.,N/A,10Para-TROOPER - A "die-hard" soldier of a ticketing system.Currently, my organization uses Parature for our student and instructor support. It is not being used by our entire organization, but we have several departments that service tickets via Parature. It is terrific for providing quick responses, knowledge base article review/entry, and communication. Reports are easy to build and print.,Parature allows to mass edit tickets. Parature will easily give you counts for each queue, folder, and sub-folders. Parature has all the selections available to address a ticket professionally. Parature has a mobile version that is extremely user-friendly,Once in a ticket Parature will not allow you to go to the next/previous ticket The search options are a little broad in Parature. Tickets sometimes default to a Work in Progress Queue (depending on your selection) without telling you.,9,Parature allows for better Customer Service Can follow up automatically for tickets Will automatically close tickets that haven't been responded to. Allows customers to reopen tickets easily and not allow them to be missed.,,1
Unspecified
Parature
12 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
TRScore

Parature Reviews

Parature
12 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 12 vetted Parature reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Rusty Wilson profile photo
December 18, 2014

Parature Review: "Flexible, Expandable, Full Featured Customer Support Portal"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parature is used primarily by the Customer Support team to support users of our Resource Manager, Analytics, and Impact solutions. It is also used by our sales engineers during evaluations, our professional services group, and engineering team. We leverage the "Download Manager" capability for software entitlement and delivery. In addition we make heavy use of the Knowledge Base module to provide customer self-service.
  • Parature ia an "All-in-One" solution that does most aspects very well. For us the key differentiator was the "Download Module". We provide our software electronically and we were able to use the Parature API to integrate with our entitlement systems to provide software delivery for our customers.
  • The Ticketing Module is top notch and is completely customizable. It has a very powerful workflow system which includes routing rules and time based triggers giving you a lot of flexibility when designing the process.
  • While not a feature of the product, the Customer Support team at Parature is top-notch. I don't need to contact them often, but when I do the replies are swift and detailed.
  • The Forums Module is minimally functional and not well thought out - it seems more like an afterthought to the solution. We do use this module, but as a broadcast-only system for product updates and other alerts. It works well in this limited capacity.
  • If you make heavy use of the Download Module you will find that you cannot "link" files into different folder structure. Our software is delivered in modules, some of which are common across product lines. I have to upload the same file multiple times in order to make it available in the various folder hierarchies.
  • The WYSIWYG editor is a bit cumbersome, and often inserts a lot of extraneous HTML. This is particularly difficult in the KB Module when authoring large documents.
  • There is a character limitation in the Ticket Module that causes the reply (from either the CSR or the customer) to be attached as an HTML document after the limit is reached. The information is not lost or truncated, but is not viewable in the context of the ticketing module - you have to open another browser window.
The single element of Parature I've not seen in any other system of this kind is the Download Module. You can post files in the open, or protect them by any number of entitlement methods. The solution is also appealing to those who don't want to manage the back-end/IT needs as it is a hosted solution and has proven to be very reliable.
Read Rusty Wilson's full review
Brendon Newell profile photo
December 18, 2014

"Parature Ticketing Solution - Feedback/Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a technician within a college's Information Technology Support Department, we used Parature to track the issues reported by our user-base (students/staff/faculty) in order to enhance the level of service we could provide. Building a knowledge base of our most common issues with Parature allowed for faster response times, quicker problem resolution, and the proliferation of knowledge among employees.
  • Clean/Friendly UI. It was extremely easy to navigate around Parature's menus at a high level, and you could take advantage of the more robust features as you became more comfortable and familiar with how Parature operates!
  • Strong Knowledge Base. Writing KB articles or ticket summaries and making use of the search function within Parature allows for expedient recovery of past ticket information. Being able to search for a fix action, or at least a troubleshooting article that can guide you towards a resolution is extremely valuable.
  • Enhanced Notation Capability. Being able to send/post internal or external updates to a ticket is great! You can leave the wordy technical details for other employees while making sure to communicate the high-points and fix action to the end-user.
  • Integration. After working for a different tech company, I have come to realize how robust Parature really is. This comes at the cost of being able to "play nice with others". While my current company's ticketing software plugs directly into a multitude of other .NET applications as an Add-in, Parature is cut from a different cloth and has to be run independently.
  • Learning Curve. As a flip-side to the "basic level" ease of use, Parature has some complex functionality to it! While a user can read through tech references and help menus all day, a more intuitive design would make it easier for things like "issue association/categorization" or "filter open tickets by -keyword- in the problem description".
  • Ticket templates. While it may be in the works (or has already been implemented in some fashion), Parature did not have a template feature when I was actively using it. It would severely cut down on the time it takes to make/fill out a ticket with basic information if I could click a button for "Account Lockout" issues or to "Create New User".
Parature earns a "7" on my rating scale because it fits the bill for a ticketing solution. While it is not the most powerful utility I have come across, it is fairly user friendly and gets the job done. There is quite a bit of room for customizing the interface, but it comes with a learning curve. A score of "7" reflects what I would tell anyone who is looking for feedback on this application; it's better than a majority of the market share, but still has room to grow!
Read Brendon Newell's full review
Terry Moon profile photo
March 18, 2015

User Review: "Parature from a user's perspective"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The organization I was in was used by IT as a Helpdesk tool to capture, route and track Helpdesk tickets. I believe it was only being used by IT. The business problems addressed were that you don't have to be a rocket scientist to use it and that being a cloud based product made it easier to manage from an IT perspective.
  • Works pretty well with all web browsers
  • Does not need a ton of training to use
  • Reduces the time to input and track tickets allowing the technician to do what they get paid to do, concentrate on fixing things
  • Keep it simple - too many ticket routing tools like this try to do too much which ends up requiring more training time to use and makes it cumbersome for the user in production
  • Love the fact that its web browser based but I'd love to see a Cloud Client that can be installed on the workstation so the user has a choice
Small environments or environments where the users aren't tech savvy are the ideal place for Parature. I only give it a 7 because I didn't use it long enough to really dive into it.
Read Terry Moon's full review
Carrie Canty profile photo
August 23, 2014

Parature: "UCSC Conduct Office Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parature is being used by my department and by a few on campus. Parature is fairly new, but many other departments are gaining an interest in its uses and the multi-use products that Simplicity offers.
  • Parature is excellent at housing information and making it accessible.
  • Parature is excellent for anonymous and detailed communication with students.
  • Parature needs to desperately make viewing student files and incident reports more seamless. Getting bounced between areas makes it very hard to manage where you are at at any given time.
  • Parature really needs to bring back to sanctions tab at the top of each incident report. Hiding it under the incidents tab is inconvenient and not as user-friendly.
  • It would be really great if Parature could have a retract button. In case a Summons or a VRA goes out and is wrong. Or at least a feature that allows the letter to be altered after it is sent out, Like housed on the Parature system and then the student sees the most up-to-date letter, and we cut down on re-sending and retracting statements made in the letter during the summons meeting.
Parature is well-used in this office. I recommend its use to all conduct and housing offices- no matter their need.
Read Carrie Canty's full review
Jamaal Johnson profile photo
August 02, 2014

Parature Review: "Para-TROOPER - A "die-hard" soldier of a ticketing system."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, my organization uses Parature for our student and instructor support. It is not being used by our entire organization, but we have several departments that service tickets via Parature. It is terrific for providing quick responses, knowledge base article review/entry, and communication. Reports are easy to build and print.
  • Parature allows to mass edit tickets.
  • Parature will easily give you counts for each queue, folder, and sub-folders.
  • Parature has all the selections available to address a ticket professionally.
  • Parature has a mobile version that is extremely user-friendly
  • Once in a ticket Parature will not allow you to go to the next/previous ticket
  • The search options are a little broad in Parature.
  • Tickets sometimes default to a Work in Progress Queue (depending on your selection) without telling you.
If the product is user friendly, and is able to provide a great experience for the customer, then Parature would be a great choice. The tracking piece of Parature allows reports to be run and downloaded in . CSV or MS Excel format very easily for any organization. I don't know a place that it would not work for any organization.
Read Jamaal Johnson's full review
No photo available
August 01, 2014

Parature Review: "Support software for people who don't need support software"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We previously used Parature for all our customer-facing support needs. Tickets came in via email or our support portal and were created in Parature. Then, a support engineer would triage and assign those tickets depending on the complexity. Ticket-based support allowed us to support more customers in a far more efficient manner than via phone.
  • It's functional. It does what it needs to do without too many excess frills or features.
  • Uptime was generally good and we were usually notified of any planned outages.
  • Reporting is barebones at best. If you need special reports, we had to go through Parature to have them built.
  • The use of frames on a website is very 1990s. It actually impacts usability of the product, especially when combined with how Parature handled sessions. An engineer could only work one ticket at a time which, honestly, isn't very realistic for a busy support team that is working on several issues at a time.
  • Support was often unresponsive when contacted for unplanned problems.
  • The knowledge base was not very friendly for clients and it provided no real encouragement for it to be used.
  • It took several clicks to do something as simple as edit and assign a ticket or to close a ticket.
If you don't need robust do-it-yourself reporting and if you are running a customer service organization that only works one incident at a time, Parature might be a suitable solution for you. If you're a busy office handling multiple issues at a time and if you want real time information about team performance at your fingertips, there are likely better solutions that integrate with sales, marketing, and finance.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 23, 2014

Parature Review: "Decent but not great."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parature was used as a sole system of record for all our customer support cases, reviews, and feature requests. We used Parature to build our company's knowledge base for FAQ/help articles as well. It was only used at the the customer experience level.
  • Syncs all support emails into cases that can the be prioritized, monitored, and tracked.
  • Provides easy canned responses to common support questions helping save time.
  • Provides live chat.
  • Chat is not very steady. It often logs you out when you do not realize it.
  • Chat options, reporting, and so on are very limited.
  • Unfortunately, Parature's own support team is not very efficient.
Parature works great as a customer engagement and case tracking tool. For anything more in depth, one should start looking at other [customer service software] products.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 16, 2014

User Review: "Parature: Self Service Portal Success"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Parature is used to allow clients to access our product support and help desk. The idea is for the service to cut down on live interactions with our staff. A year after implementation our call volume was down over 20%. As our knowledge database grew over time it has proven to be a more valued tool. The self service portal (and Parature) is used by our Client Service team (a group of about 25 members). The business problem the self service portal addresses is scaling our support offering as our client base grows without drastically adding staff.
  • Knowledge base- easy to use (as reported by our clients)
  • Ticketing system
  • Reporting- very helpful to monitor quality
  • Implementation- I think they have worked on improving this since we launched
  • Custom requests
  • Perhaps an interface with other business systems
The service works well for us because our client base is fairly computer / network savvy. The issues they run into are fairly similar across the board so a knowledge base is ideal. It may not work as well for situations of a mission critical nature. Also, our user base is a close knit group that is very interested in each other's success. We are releasing new products on an annual basis as opposed to constant change.

One feature of the product that has worked very well is the ticketing system. Leadership can watch the ticket flow and user experience. We can coach the team on the most effective way to handle different situations and learn from issues that arise.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 06, 2014

User Review: "Parature - meh!"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was using Parature when I was working at Blackboard Inc. The product was used as a CRM for our internal use and then was being used as a tracking/ ticketing system for our external clients. It was used only across Student Services and it addressed the problem of keeping track of of tickets and issues.
  • It has a lot of in depth features. They are almost to many of them.
  • The product is not user friendly at all. This needs to be worked out if Parature is going to make its mark on the industry.
  • The tickets system is sloppy at times and seems to have a mind of its own.
  • The custom version that was created for Blackboard was so up and down it was very frustrating
  • The back end of Parature is very complex
  • I believe with some major work the product could be great.
Make the product more user friendly and stop trying to provide every feature. Just focus on what you are good at and not cram so many things into it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 30, 2014

Parature Review: "Maximum versatility for high traffic clients"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We manage the customer service of a client that purchases Parature service. Therefore Parature is provided to us. The project is in the entertainment industry and we use Parature to address customer questions regarding their products and websites. As for business issues, Parature is able to handle the diverse departments within the projects that need to be addressed. Adjusting filter settings and dropdown ticket values that customers need to input help get the right questions to the right people.
  • Parature is greatly diverse in the ways that queues can be set up. With just one service, the interface can be hyper organized to handle multiple departments and can therefore cover multiple related websites at once.
  • The filter and drop-down settings are fantastic. When events are being held on the client's websites, we can adjust the ticket entry with fields that will help us organize questions during high traffic periods.
  • Individualized profile interfaces for customers let them know the status of their ticket and the visibility reduces customer confusion.
  • The only downside we've found to using Parature is the price per seat. Having individual seats for a whole team can become a bit costly.
Parature is meant for users with moderate to advanced technological expertise. A situation where it may not be appropriate (but will still get the job done) is for simple question-answer services or for teams that require simpler or minimalist, straightforward interfaces. Parature would be wasted on low traffic clientele. It is meant to handle high volumes of inquires that require organization for efficient solutions. It can handle as much volume that can be thrown at it, meaning it will be a reliable service if 10k+ inquiries come in per week.

Questions to ask when selecting a ticketing service would be:
- What is the volume of inquiries for this project? High or low?
- How proficient is the team in digital organization?
- Would the team prefer a simpler interface?
- How many seats are needed for the team to function correctly?
Read this authenticated review

About Parature

Parature is a self-service customer support platform providing a self-service knowledge base to connect with customers across multiple channels, including email, the web, chat or social media. The company was acquired by Microsoft in January 2014 and will now be part of the Microsoft Dynamics CRM platform.
Categories:  Help Desk

Parature Competitors

Parature Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No