Paylocity

Paylocity

Customer Verified
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.0 out of 100
Paylocity

Overview

What is Paylocity?

Paylocity provides 24/7 access to your online payroll and human resource data management. Paylocity offers highly customizable payroll functionality, as well as HR, benefits administration, and time and talent management programs.
Read more

Recent Reviews

Intuitive and easy

10 out of 10
December 02, 2022
I use paylocity as an employee to manage clocking in, benefits, training, etc.
I also am on the learning and development team and use …
Continue reading

Payroll#1

5 out of 10
December 02, 2022
We use paylocity for our time/labor software and payroll. We are a business that is open 24/7. In my experience, overnight shifts cause …
Continue reading

Easy Peasy and ACA

8 out of 10
December 02, 2022
Paylocity is used mainly for payroll. We use the benefit side as far as insurance deductions and benefit time. We do not use it for …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

How Paylocity Differs From Its Competitors

Paylocity Automated Processes

We choose not to use all of the services currently offered. We're very dissatisfied with the customer support as it is. If we could, we would have already changed providers.
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

Not really sure what processes mentioned are really automated besides the EDI files for benefits which we continually have had problems with. All other aspects used must be manually entered or approved to work.
Continue reading

Paylocity Employee Engagement

We personally do not use this feature because just getting employees to use the application is hard enough because there isn't a lot of feature they have capabilities to do with it.
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

We have encountered some issues with schedules and still needing to do manual overrides, however, that is likely due to us being unfamiliar with the site. Other automated tools like org charts, reporting, OSHA logs, etc. have helped tremendously with saving time andmresources. Recruiting is also …
Continue reading

Paylocity Employee Engagement

Community (and groups) are fantastic for engaging employees and sharing important information. This is especially true for us sharing information across multiple FEIN groups. Surveys have also been useful for getting a pulse on employee engagement and satisfaction. It is nice that the survey …
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

Paylocity has freed up hours of our time that used to be spent onboarding new Team Members. We can now have each new hire complete most of the process before meeting with us. It has also made each part of onboarding more accurate.
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

No longer having to manually add work hours from physical punch cards allowed us to eliminate a position and save money in the long run. It is easier to have supervisors be able to enter attendance notes directly onto the electronic time card instead of sending HR an email for each one. HR no …
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

When I joined each organization that uses Paylocity it was already implemented, but I can't even imagine how each organization would manage without the current features of the platform. I look forward to seeing how more automation will affect what we're able to accomplish, freeing my colleagues …
Continue reading

Paylocity Employee Engagement

Honestly, I don't believe we're actually using many of these features. I'm fairly new to my current organization and I haven't been made aware of any of these being utilized.
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

We are a small company and Paylocity has saved us so much time. Everything is easy to use and it has everything we need or are looking for in the future. It has very few glitches and can be trusted. We have had many different payroll vendors and Paylocity is top-notch! We couldn't imagine using …
Continue reading

Paylocity Employee Engagement

It has so many engagement tools. You can use as little or as much as you want. It is amazing how many different products are built into this one application. Truly amazing!
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

I don't feel I can adequately and fairly answer this questions. We've been with Paylocity for five months, with a few months of implementation work preceding it. We are very much still in the learning phase of the software. We have seen that being able to provide holiday hours automatically is …
Continue reading

Paylocity Employee Engagement

Employees haven't used these features much yet. They were used to receiving paper pay stubs every other week, and moving to getting that information from the app has been a big change. Some employees have told me how easy it has been for them to update their information via the app, but we've also …
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

The time tracking piece feeds directly into the payroll module, so we do not have to spend time manipulating and importing data. Employees and managers can submit and approve time off requests in the system, which pull into the corresponding payroll batches. The payroll system prorates days paid …
Continue reading

Paylocity Employee Engagement

The community tool is a convenient place to post company wide notifications so all employees receive the same information in one place. Peer Recognition (Impressions) keep employees engaged and provide a positive impact to morale; employees feel appreciated. Surveys are convenient for collecting …
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

we do not use all the tools. I like how easily payroll reports cna be extracted from system. We wish we did not have to manually fix time cards because Paylocity cannot handle an overnight shift at close and start of payroll periods.
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

For the most part they are great, but we do have some processes that are different than what most companies do, so those automated process really effect those processes negatively.
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

To the best of my knowledge, we are not utilizing automation features and I have asked my HR Manager to help get this going. It would be great to get more assistance with how we can do this. In my experience,typically when we ask for help we're sent a bunch of articles to read and figure …
Continue reading

Paylocity Employee Engagement

we use the surveys on a limited basis b/c we're a global company so when we survey we want to survey everyone...but our global folks aren't house in paylocity. our employees use impressions some, but not a lot.
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

The clumsiness of extracting data from time & labor into payroll has had a negative impact and caused additional stress to the process. Not only do we have to stumble through this bi-weekly, but we have to stumble through it multiple times. If the whole point is to automate the processes, why …
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

Payroll has been great - since switching we've reduced the amount of time that it takes to process payroll. Our company set up for time and labor is not great though as the system only carries balances over from payroll is processed. Our former HRIS was constantly updating balances regardless of …
Continue reading

Paylocity Employee Engagement

We have eight reoccurring pulse surveys and have been running and launching them weekly for the past three years. The data received has been great. Paylocity's surveying tool is a step behind something like SurveyMonkey and the reoccurring feature does not factor in daylight savings time. So if we …
Continue reading

Paylocity Automated Processes

Paylocity's automation has made our business better so there is less time spent for Payroll & HR personnel from reviewing employee files looking for previous tax info (W2 updates) so employees can see it themselves in the self service portal. They can track their own PTO vs. Payroll personnel …
Continue reading

Popular Features

View all 48 features
  • Update personal information (271)
    8.7
    87%
  • Direct deposit files (257)
    8.4
    84%
  • Pay calculation (261)
    8.1
    81%
  • View and generate pay and benefit information (268)
    8.0
    80%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Paylocity, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Paylocity

$2.00

Cloud
Per Employee Per Month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Paylocity - Care at the Core
01:27
Drive Communication, Collaboration, and Connection with HR & Payroll
00:31
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Human Resource Management

7.2
72%

Payroll Management

7.7
77%

Leave and Attendance Management

6.9
69%

Employee Self Service

8.0
80%

Asset Management

7.0
70%

HR Reporting

6.5
65%

Onboarding

7.6
76%

Performance and Goals

6.9
69%

Performance Management

6.4
64%

Succession Planning

5.9
59%

Recruiting / ATS

7.2
72%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Paylocity?

Paylocity is an all-in-one software platform designed to give HR pros a way to manage daily tasks in payroll, benefits, talent, and workforce management. The vendor states their technology is backed by a culture that cares about client success, and that they take the time to get to know customers and understand their needs. Paylocity works with users to identify the solutions that will benefit a business today, while paving the way to a better tomorrow.

Paylocity Videos

Paylocity - Care at the Core
Drive Communication, Collaboration, and Connection with HR & Payroll

Paylocity Competitors

Paylocity Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone

Frequently Asked Questions

Paylocity provides 24/7 access to your online payroll and human resource data management. Paylocity offers highly customizable payroll functionality, as well as HR, benefits administration, and time and talent management programs.

Paycom, Paycor, and Paychex Flex are common alternatives for Paylocity.

Reviewers rate Update personal information highest, with a score of 8.7.

The most common users of Paylocity are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 290)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Payroll processing is quick for my size company, around 60 employees.
  • Getting W-2 previews throughout the year.
  • The help section when adding new states to your payroll but should keep up to date when websites or phone numbers change.
  • Customer Service Representatives knowing how the system works
  • More help to resolve issues in a more timely manner.
  • Being able to actually communicate with someone in a specific department, examples would be IT, Tax and GL departments.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Recruiting Process- It is a seamless process and we can make customizations when needed
  • Self Service Portal- It is very self explanatory and the dashboard is easy to navigate
  • Learning- Being able to easily walk through modules and pick up where you left off is important when you are quickly going though a training course
  • The recruiting side could use more features and customizations. We sometimes wish we could edit access with recruiters and managers in certain jobs, as well as a process to open a new req and get approval from a manager so we don't have to have a separate process for that.
  • HR and Payroll- adding in files to employees profiles could be easier. It is hard when you have to click in alphabetical order to find certain candidates
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Employee Acknowledgements
  • Time Tracking
  • Company specific account reps usually never answer the phone
  • Benefits Module has a lot of problems
  • No capability to track certifications or licenses
  • Cobra Module isn't integrated with Benefits - 2 completely different systems
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Mobile App Compatibility
  • Reporting / Tracking
  • Self-Service Portal
  • Fill-able Forms
  • Internal Emails / Communication
  • HR and Time & Labor being in different location but not linked
December 02, 2022

Intuitive and easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • user friendly
  • intuitive
  • easy to learn
  • when applying for time off, the calculator allows you to say "full days" but then only measures that as 1 day so you have to switch it to hours and type in 8 hours for it to accurately count them.
  • the org chart can be complicated to navigate, adding in a search bar here to make it easier to zoom in on one person quickly would be helpful.
  • It's hard to figure out where to update your picture in the program at.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Regular Phone Calls for troubleshooting
  • Continued Improvement
  • Teaching and Resources
  • There is so many videos and tutorials it is difficult to find what you want
  • The webinars provided in Elevate Conference would have been SO beneficial when I was just getting started a year ago. A comprehensive training packet for newbies would be valuable.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • The App is generally easy for employees to use.
  • Garnishments/Child Support payment services makes HR processes much simpler.
  • Turn around time on payroll processing is usually very good.
  • Changes that are made are not always for the better and things change without warning.
  • Having to enter basic information in order to create a user to send a New Hire a task in Onboarding defeats our main purpose for wanting to use Onboarding.
  • When entering the name of an employee in Time and Attendance Time Cards to go to that employee's card, the system frequently pulls up a random employee's card instead of the correct person (usually, this happens when trying to go to an employee card in the very beginning of the alphabet).
  • Much of the time, employees are not knowledgeable about how to fix the problems I call about. Sometimes, they are surprised by a change that has been made as well.
December 02, 2022

Paylocity is the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Reporting - I've used other systems and Paylocity reporting is so much more user friendly and straightforward.
  • Things like open enrollment are very end-user friendly and just make sense to employees, thus reducing errors or frustration
  • The self service portal is easy to use for employees
  • I would like to see the ability to track task management for the HR professional within Paylocity.
  • A Quality ATS
  • Customizable Dashboards
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Frances Klein was excellent. She was our HR & Payroll implementation person
  • COBRA has become a lot easier. We used to have that with a separate company, so I had to manually enter new employees and any events. That now happens automatically when I make employee changes in Paylocity.
  • Onboarding is helpful. It reduces the amount of paper I have to keep, and we can get a lot of the administrative tasks done with the employee before their first day (ideally).
  • The process of moving the time clock info into the payroll batch is confusing. I've typed out instructions that include, "Click Save, not Approve" and "If you release the hold and it's still hanging, hit the orange Run Audit button again. This usually clears the problem." It isn't an intuitive process, and it's a bit buggy.
  • If the PTO amount will leave an employee at 0 hours, you may get an error saying the employee is going negative on the audit, which they're not.
  • I find it difficult to find the reports I want. I plan to spend more time when it's quiet in my office in December and January doing more training, but I often have to email service because I can't figure out how to get the data I need.
  • Our Time & Labor implementation didn't go smoothly. I found several errors that occurred during setup, including an accrual error. Problems with accruals was the primary reason we switched from our last company of 30 years to Paylocity, so this was very discouraging.
  • They weren't able to locate our account with American Funds for our 403(b). I finally gave up and decided to make the deposits manually after each payroll like we used to.
  • I assume shift differentials could have been configured in both HR & Payroll and Time & Labor. That makes it confusing when I'm setting up a new employee because I see the shift differential in two places.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • User Friendly
  • Newsletter with highlights
  • System Usage Training
  • Tax Calculation
  • City/Local Tax Allocation for Employees who work in different locations
  • Employee Search Function kicking back to the beginning if there are no results with particular filters
December 02, 2022

Payroll#1

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • answers phone without long wait times
  • Account managers need all same training. we can call 1 minute later and get another answers that is conflicting to previous account manager advise. Shows lack of credibility
  • stop switching account managers so often
  • pushing blame on customers rather than yourselves
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Easy enrollment process of benefits for employees
  • Great self-service portal for employees
  • user friendly
  • employees get confused frequently when their requested PTO balances are not deducted from their available balances
  • it would be helpful if you sent out an email of "Changes to come on XX/XX/XXX" email so that way we know what to expect in the updates and are not blind sided when employees have questions
  • Paylocity is great for the masses, but when a company does something a little different than most, we/they run into issues that can take a very long time to be resolved
December 02, 2022

Easy Peasy and ACA

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Payroll input, they can set up the screen the way it works best for you
  • ACA, so much ease in correcting an employee. And checking the 1095 form prior to year end.
  • Updating insurance portions each year. Remembering where it is is the hardest part, but getting the numbers updated is quite easy.
  • Customer service, reps change often and it seems my emails are not responded to very timely as they use to.
  • Updating the General Ledger distribution report. When new states are added or miscellaneous deductions are made Paylocity does not automatically update the General Ledger report and it is difficult to find. I always have to contact Paylocity in order to get it updated.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Not respond to emails
  • Not get resolution to major payroll issues
  • Not provide an account manager to assist our business w/ the multitude of issues
  • Get resolution for clients in urgent matters
  • Solidify account managers to assist company with major issues
  • Know your products and how they work/don't work
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Ease of software use
  • Implementation went excellently
  • Customer Service is able to answer questions quickly
  • Missed tax payments which lead to numerous emails - but it was finally resolved and now going smoothly.
  • Customer service reps, in the beginning, were not always responsive but we have been assigned to a new rep and things are going well.
  • ACA implementation was not clear. Required help during Year End
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Onboarding
  • Benefit Management
  • Time & Labor
  • Direct Deposit setup can be confusing for employees if they have multiple accounts and need to change/update.
  • Onboarding is missing the default hours block. We have to manually update when moved over to payroll
  • Onboarding is missing the OT exemption option
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • HSA Feed
  • Onboarding very easy for employees and staff
  • Integration for Recruiting
  • Time and Labor is the most lacking
  • Does not allow accrual calculations for PTO
  • Time and Labor and HR not a live feed
  • Surveys are very basic not good for engagement or data pulls
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Sales & engagement
  • Payroll implementation
  • Diverse offering
  • Too many Implementation Specialists. One for each different service. Payroll, Time & Labor, HR, Onboarding, etc. It's very overwhelming.
  • Handoff to customer services. You should have a dedicated rep who starts to understand your business for all things. If they need to work with other arms of Paylocity to help you get a resolution, they can do so behind the scenes.
  • Customer service - copy/paste canned responses
Return to navigation