Pentaho Reviews

113 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

zahit bogus | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

My Experience with Pentaho data integrator

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The Pentaho Data Integration ETL tool runs successfully on systems derived from both Windows and Unix. When designing a data warehouse, we can create ETL packets both at the Stage layer and at the DWH layer. There are many components for ETL design. We can run packages at certain time intervals through the Windows Task Scheduler. Since Pentaho Data Integration is an open-source application, it can be developed in applications to be integrated with PDI (Pentaho Data Integration). This allows you to manage the scheduler process through a separate application.
Read zahit bogus's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

The best BI software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Making custom dashboards and custom reports are very simple with CDE and the rest of the tools in the Pentaho suite. The improvement in decision making since we have implemented these dashboards is huge. The tool is not very difficult for a programmer with JavaScript knowledge, perhaps it lacks the robustness of payment tools such as MicroStrategy or PowerBI, but it is still appropriate for demanding production environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Robust platform that needs some refresher to compete with more modern tools

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho is well suited for bringing together data from multiple data sources in order to perform analyses and to create reports.

If you want to create very nicely looking interactive graphs using the latest web technologies, there might be other tools that are more suited. We have also seen performance problems with large amounts of data, but it is not certain if this only was the fault of Pentaho but could also be the infrastructure around.
Read this authenticated review
Ilham AB | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2018

Pentaho for your business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho will work great to embed analytic content with full features of Machine Learning capabilities. It supports many machine-learning frameworks and can be easily integrated. So, you also can connect with many data sources and have no worries about it. In our case, we are using it to help us create many day-to-day jobs and transformations that our internal users need. But to achieve this, we need to train our team to be able to understand the main concepts of how this software works.
Read Ilham AB's full review
Mihaela Olariu | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2018

Pentaho can be a great solution for a company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • Operational reports, big lists of COs, POs, DOs, master information and details. Bursting reports by email and scheduling tasks are interesting and very useful.
  • Complex aggregations are useful to use in cross tabs and calculated functions in the tables. I would recommend a new tool if the purpose is dashboards, but they still can be created in Pentaho as well.
Read Mihaela Olariu's full review
Nikhil Karkare | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2016

Pentaho: A great DW/BI soultion

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited scenarios: When we need to deal with any type of RDBMS, from data input to the data loading, Pentaho is super fast. It has many bulk loaders available too. Dealing with the tables is the specialty of Pentaho.

Less Appropriate scenarios: When you have a star schemas with the bridge tables or snow-flake schemas, you will need a lot of additional work to be done in Pentaho apparently. Also, dealing with the files is not bad, but it should be improved.
** My review is for Pentaho 5.4.0.8 or previous releases.
Read Nikhil Karkare's full review
Gordon Yeh | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2016

Pentaho - Enhancing our ETL Capabilities

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Open sourced ETL tool to help corporations load data. Very easy to learn but you have to take the time to do it! Lots of reading and exploring by yourself and there are some free jobs and transformations online to help you get started. However, we have heard and seen cases with the jobs just do not load the data entirely; it'll have issues after 50K records.
Read Gordon Yeh's full review
Jordan Squire | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2016

Pentaho powerful backend BI tooling, hit-and-miss data visualization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

As far as generating and maintaining a data warehouse, Pentaho does an excellent job and I would highly recommend it. For analysis and gaining insight into your data, Pentaho is excellent. For visualization, dashboarding, or executive grade reporting it may not be as beautiful or flashy as your clients require.
Read Jordan Squire's full review
Ivan Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2016

Pentaho- An adequate BI solution for users on a budget!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho is very well suited for organizations looking for end-to-end BI solutions without wanting to break the bank--particularly because the community edition has most of the functionality necessary to get you started, and it's free. Honestly though, if you have deep pockets there are probably more complete solutions out there in terms of functionality
Read Ivan Miller's full review
Sandro Frattura | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2015

B.I. made simple. Pentaho rocks!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you are an open-source shop, this is a great choice. Also, if your developer has minimal experience with ETL, Pentaho is a great way to go wince it is easy to use. There is also a ton of help in the forums, in you go with Community Edition (i.e. sans support)
Read Sandro Frattura's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2018

A great tool, but falls under the shadow of the larger players.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The tool is fast, visually attractive and intuitive to use, but we also have an implementation of Qlik Sense and Pentaho pales in comparison to the overall capabilities. I recommend the tool, but everyone’s solution need is unique, so it may not be the right fit. Larger tools like Qlik are more versatile and easier to recommend. More expensive, yes, but you usually get what you pay for.
Read this authenticated review
Alex Meadows | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2015

Pentaho - Fast and Furious Data Integration

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PDI is a great alternative to proprietary tools. If your environment is just starting out using ETL tools, definitely look into using PDI. The number of features plus the ability to write flexible dynamic processes allows for much more maintainable code.
Read Alex Meadows's full review
Stephanie Dozier | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2015

Pentaho - Jumping On The Band Wagon

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho is well suited for an internal environment who needs access to data quickly and offer the data up in a very professional business document. It is not suited for a reporting portal that customers can access via the internet or web. The limited security prevents us from being able to offer our Pentaho UI as a service to our partners and customers.
Read Stephanie Dozier's full review
Kenneth Panacy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2014

Three Years with Pentaho and No Regrets

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Do you need to integrate data from multiple sources? Pentaho is great for this. Previously, we were SSHing files around and importing with numerous cron scripts.

Are your Finance and Marketing teams constantly asking for one-off queries? Pentaho puts this power in THEIR hands so they can pull and arrange the data they want into whatever view they want.

Do you want to pay too much for a full-featured BI solution? Pentaho is very reasonably priced, and even has a free version!
Read Kenneth Panacy's full review
Deepak Paramanand | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2014

Pentaho the best BI integrator

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Integration is best with Pentaho. If you want to overlay your product capability with Pentaho's BI Server, Data Integration, Reporting Engine, Workflow capabilities then Pentaho is the only answer. Other tools provide each of these very well, but if you have already built your product and dont want to buy Informatica, Cognos/Microstratey and SPSS/SAS then Pentaho is the way to go.
Pentaho is Java based, so no shortage of skilled Java resources who can help you integrate. We did not spend time building our own reporting engine, Data Visualization layer, Security layer, workflow capabilities. We simply used our proven transactional product and used Pentaho to fill our gaps.
Read Deepak Paramanand's full review
Adam O'Connor | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2014

Pentaho Report Designer Integated with Odoo v7!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho is great for companies that don't have huge budgets but want a powerful reporting tool that they can get and use for free. It is great for developers that know SQL and can learn to use a non-intuitive interface and are motivated to work through a very outdated interface.
Read Adam O'Connor's full review
Itamar Steinberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2014

Data Integration with Pentaho Kettle review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pros:
I find it suited for 90% of data integration projects , its a very good tool, easy to use, stable and affordable.
Cons:
I think that the big data connections are still not perfect, so if you have a NoSQL DBl / Hadoop / Cassandra, you might consider extracting the data to file from the source using MapReduce. Also, if you need bulk load, sometimes it's better to use it directly on a tool, for example Redshift / InfiniDB (that is no longer with us).
Apart than that I think it will suit you well.
Read Itamar Steinberg's full review
Julia Gusman | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2014

My Favorite Data Integration Tool is still Kitchen

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would definitely recommend the ETL tool but not the server. I would consider the amount of data to be processed, the budget the client is looking to spend, available knowledge and expertise. it seems that there are not that many Pentaho skills on the market and companies are reluctant to implement the product as they are concerned about ongoing maintenance. I would also ask about requirements to integrate with other products or run on the cloud. Being open standards Pentaho integrates nicely with in-house systems.
Read Julia Gusman's full review
Nathan Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2014

Pentaho: a strong open source BI suite

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho provides a rich end to end BI solution. It is highly configurable. The data integration module is an especially useful and powerful. You may need a higher level of IT skills and support to work with Pentaho than you do with other BI tools. It is helpful to have SQL querying skills when creating Penthao reports. Make sure you have resources who are familiar with Pentaho or are able to get training.
Read Nathan Smith's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2017

Pentaho was just OK as an OEM solution

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Overall as an OEM vendor of analytics, I would say it was about average. They did help us get to market sooner than if we developed everything in-house, but I felt the dashboards were pretty ugly and I wouldn't say I was super impressed. I found the Analyzer OLAP tool to be very useful and that part would have been harder to develop in-house, but I would skip the dashboards next time and go straight to developing those in-house, which is what we ended up with in the end.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2016

Rookie Pentaho review from an ETL veteran

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is well suited for developers who may not be adept at strict coding, but have experience with GUI development. It is also better for rather simpler ETL, as the GUI interface has natural restrictions that make complex ETL problems challenging to solve. It may also be well suited for companies on a budget, as the free version still has enough features to be reasonably useful.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2016

Pentaho - Yay or Nay?

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pentaho is well suited to small - mid size firms that have specific reporting needs. It is less likely to benefit firms that already have data analytics capabilities built into multiple platforms as Pentaho is not easy to integrate with other analytics platforms. There isn't enough documentation available online, however, customer support is easy to reach.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2016

An implementor view on Pentaho tools.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

There are different Pentaho features, and each one has its own specific scenario where it is best suited. Reporting - is for generating boring Excel like reports, with calculations etc. For data visualization reporting is not a [good] tool. PDI is used for creation data transformations, from almost any source of data. But it is very heavy weighted. It has Hadoop and other support. But hand made code runs faster than transformation made in Spoon. And there are some algorithms that can be much easily written manually.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (15)
6.4
Customizable dashboards (14)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (15)
6.1
Drill-down analysis (15)
7.6
Formatting capabilities (15)
6.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (9)
6.9
Report sharing and collaboration (14)
7.6
Publish to Web (14)
7.3
Publish to PDF (16)
8.6
Report Versioning (10)
7.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (14)
5.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (6)
5.7
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (12)
8.8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (12)
7.4
Predictive Analytics (11)
7.9
Multi-User Support (named login) (16)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (15)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (15)
7.0
Single Sign-On (SSO) (6)
6.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (8)
8.4
Dedicated iOS Application (4)
6.9
Dedicated Android Application (4)
7.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (9)
7.9
REST API (6)
6.7
Javascript API (5)
6.5
iFrames (6)
6.6
Java API (4)
7.8
Themeable User Interface (UI) (6)
5.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (6)
9.2

About Pentaho

Pentaho is a suite of open source business intelligence and analytics products, now offered and supported by Hitachi Data Systems since the June 2015 acquisition.

Pentaho Integrations

Pentaho Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No