Pentaho Reviews

113 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

zahit bogus | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

My Experience with Pentaho data integrator

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use the Pentaho Data Integration ETL tool in our enterprise business intelligence projects. I often use the Pentaho tool for data manipulation and data transport. Pentaho plays an important role in our business processes because we work on the database in the department where I work. I use the PentahoETL tool when designing ETL processes, transporting data to the database and designing the data warehouse.
Read zahit bogus's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

The best BI software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company has technical offices in many municipalities in Spain. In them, we develop dashboards through the Pentaho suite. They are mainly developed by programmers from the IT department. Dashboards made with CDE improve the decision making of mayors.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Robust platform that needs some refresher to compete with more modern tools

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho is used as our organizational-wide reporting and BI platform. It is bringing together data from multiple enterprise applications including ERPs, HRM, EAM and PLMs. We are using it to create both prepackaged PDF reports as well as interactive analysis reports where users can compose their on add-how reports.
Read this authenticated review
Ilham AB | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2018

Pentaho for your business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, Pentaho was using it for our internal IT Department. We are using Pentaho to address more specific needs to integrate and analyze the company data that resides on all systems. It is necessary to have a secondary system that runs for the same purpose to run small and simpler modeling tools for Data Warehouses and Business Intelligence. It also acts as a comparison system to build simple jobs and transformations.
Read Ilham AB's full review
Mihaela Olariu | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2018

Pentaho can be a great solution for a company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using this application for all the companies. We have managed to develop a lot of reports and dashboards and also bursting reports. Until now we have been able to meet the requirements of reporting in the company in all departments. Pentaho is a good BI solution to also provide the option of creating many operational reports if you don't have a good option in your ERP.
Read Mihaela Olariu's full review
Nikhil Karkare | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2016

Pentaho: A great DW/BI soultion

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho is the primary source for the Business Intelligence in my company. We have many Pentaho users across the whole organization that are making a good use of Pentaho Analyzer to create the reports. At the report side, it helps the business users to evaluate all the work that has been done by the different teams across the organizations. By seeing the reports they can check, for example, how many issues are open, how many bugs have been fixed in a specific duration, how many builds failed in which phase etc.
Read Nikhil Karkare's full review
Jordan Squire | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2016

Pentaho powerful backend BI tooling, hit-and-miss data visualization

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize the Community Edition of Pentaho across our organization for business intelligence. We use Pentaho Data Integration (PDI) to gather data from disparate data sources and perform ETL to populate our data warehouse. We also use PDI to deliver custom reports to various internal and external clients. We use Mondrian as a data engine behind our customer-facing website to process MDX queries from our customer reporting portal. We use Pentaho Report Designer to author pixel-perfect reports for internal and external audiences. We also use the Pentaho User Console for our business analysts to slice-and-dice the data for various departments. In summary, Pentaho is used to allow our internal and external clients to benchmark the performance of our products and services and gain visibility into customer behavior and activity.
Read Jordan Squire's full review
Ivan Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2016

Pentaho- An adequate BI solution for users on a budget!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho's BI stack is being used by our entire company. We use their tooling for ETL, delivering reports, and as a sort of end-point for a custom web app that we've built. The end point uses xaction and Mondrian to deliver data to our front end. We also make use of the community edition of the BI server--this houses several reports that our analyst team has built as well as resources necessary to support our custom app. In the near future we'll also be using the tool's big data plugins to ingest data into our data warehouse from hive/hadoop.
Read Ivan Miller's full review
Sandro Frattura | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 03, 2015

B.I. made simple. Pentaho rocks!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it for what you would expect. ETL for process and aggregate data, and then building data cubes and reports for viewing that data. We also use the ETL tool to auto-process files (CSV, XML etc) from that we receive from a few of our vendors daily.
Read Sandro Frattura's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2018

A great tool, but falls under the shadow of the larger players.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We rolled out Pentaho within one of our business units as a way to get at trapped data from an old home-grown CRM system that had been recently updated to .net. Pentaho quickly got us access to the data and the built-in ETL tools were easy and quick to use and learn. It enabled a team of two to provide enough data, reporting and analytical dashboards to support over $1.5B in sales.
Read this authenticated review
Stephanie Dozier | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2015

Pentaho - Jumping On The Band Wagon

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho is currently being used for several functions within my department. The Data Integration is used as our primary ETL tool. The software does a great job with data cleansing and standardizing from multiple sources. The tool is easy enough to learn using videos out on You Tube or using the Pentaho Kettle Solutions book. We also use the Schema Editor for creating the semantic layer in the User Console reporting tool. Having defined objects available in the User consoles makes it easy for a data analyst to quickly log in and quickly get a report together. We are in the healthcare industry so much of what is being asked is counts of patients, encounters by diagnosis, practice or time period. All these items can quickly be answered very quickly via the user console.
Read Stephanie Dozier's full review
Kenneth Panacy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2014

Three Years with Pentaho and No Regrets

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho serves several roles in our environment.

We use it for report design and delivery. The designer tool is fairly straightforward and once reports are complete they are immediately accessible to our end users.

Pentaho is used for Business Intelligence which includes totals, trends, and forecasts of sales and subscriptions of our services. Pentaho's web-based analysis tool allows our end-users to drag & drop measures and dimensions and instantly convert raw data into a variety of graphical representations. Before we had Pentaho, each view might have required a long query or static report that was hand-exported to Excel. With Pentaho's analysis tool, our sales, finance, and marketing teams have instant insight and infinitely flexible views of our data.

In the IT department, we use Pentaho as a scheduling engine for data maintenance jobs as its interface allows us to manage multiple shards from a single source.
Read Kenneth Panacy's full review
Deepak Paramanand | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2014

Pentaho the best BI integrator

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our product intended to analyse Media and Communications data and provide decision making capabilities to our end users. Whereas we built the workflow management, transactional capabilities, Pentaho provided the BI layer for our product. Analysts were our end users. Everything from data ingestion to decision making was the scope of our product. We read data across disparate data sources/formats and using our business expertise provided decision making capability.
Read Deepak Paramanand's full review
Adam O'Connor | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2014

Pentaho Report Designer Integated with Odoo v7!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We integrate Pentaho with Odoo for complex, custom reports that allow us to query data from PostgreSQL database across multiple data models in Odoo. I have used it to connect to Odoo via JDBC as well as directly to the web client for an object-based report. I have found the report designer client to be a bit difficult to use and buggy on my WIndows 7 machine but I have seen it working well on a Windows 8 machine. We use version 3.9.1.
Read Adam O'Connor's full review
Itamar Steinberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2014

Data Integration with Pentaho Kettle review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used Pentaho Kettle as a team manager of development and later as a CIO. After that I opened a company that consults and implement business intelligence solutions. We are using Pentaho mostly with the data integration module. I think that of all the modules of Pentaho, Kettle is the most complete. It can give a "fair fight" to source solutions that are not open. The problem it addresses of course is to extract data from various sources; transform them; ”play with data”; and then load it to the target. I find the transformation most valuable and rich with functionality. I even made a full scale course about it, you can find it on udemy.
Read Itamar Steinberg's full review
Nathan Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2014

Pentaho: a strong open source BI suite

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pentaho Data Integration was used for a variety of data integration projects, including populating a dimensional data warehouse. Data sources included relational data bases, flat files, and LDAP directories. Pentaho Reporting served reports from a range of data sources to multiple departments with security integrated with Active Directory. The Mondrian OLAP engine delivered pivot tables for slice and dice analysis.
Read Nathan Smith's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 30, 2017

Pentaho was just OK as an OEM solution

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We made a decision to use Pentaho to OEM into the analytics feature of our software and the developers had a much harder time getting it integrated than we were expecting. The Mondrian code was hard to learn and the number of qualified applicants who already knew how to use it was limited.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 02, 2016

Rookie Pentaho review from an ETL veteran

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my organization, we use Pentaho as our go-to ETL tool. It is used by our engineering department in order to create our data warehouse environment, which is used by several customers. It allows us to create our data warehouse, which ultimately enables our end users to utilize analytics for their environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 04, 2016

Pentaho - Yay or Nay?

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I worked in a small-size private consulting firm that used Pentaho for analytics and reporting firm-wide. It catered to clients in a broad range of industries ranging from hospitality to the public sector. The software is easy to learn and has an impressive amount of functionality incorporated. The ETL (Kettle) module is great for generating visualizations and I highly recommend this software to a beginner interested in BI.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2016

An implementor view on Pentaho tools.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used the Pentaho Data Integration tool to pre-process some data and fill thr production database. It was used in the department where I worked. Being a software developer I made a decision to use PDI instead of writing scripts on Python. The main advantage of PDI was supporting scaling out of the box, and the ability to run on multiple machines. When you need something less than a Hadoop cluster but bigger than self-made quick scripts it fits well.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (15)
6.4
Customizable dashboards (14)
8.3
Report Formatting Templates (15)
6.1
Drill-down analysis (15)
7.6
Formatting capabilities (15)
6.7
Integration with R or other statistical packages (9)
7.0
Report sharing and collaboration (14)
7.6
Publish to Web (14)
7.3
Publish to PDF (16)
8.6
Report Versioning (10)
7.0
Report Delivery Scheduling (14)
5.8
Delivery to Remote Servers (6)
5.7
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (12)
8.9
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (12)
7.4
Predictive Analytics (11)
7.9
Multi-User Support (named login) (16)
8.0
Role-Based Security Model (15)
8.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (15)
7.0
Single Sign-On (SSO) (6)
6.5
Responsive Design for Web Access (8)
8.4
Dedicated iOS Application (4)
6.9
Dedicated Android Application (4)
7.8
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (9)
7.9
REST API (6)
6.7
Javascript API (5)
6.5
iFrames (6)
6.6
Java API (4)
7.8
Themeable User Interface (UI) (6)
5.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (6)
9.2

About Pentaho

Pentaho is a suite of open source business intelligence and analytics products, now offered and supported by Hitachi Data Systems since the June 2015 acquisition.

Pentaho Integrations

Pentaho Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No