PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool

PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.0 out of 100
PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool

Overview

Recent Reviews

PeopleAdmin review

7 out of 10
July 27, 2016
PeopleAdmin is being used by central HR as well as other departments across the university. It tracks the entire hiring process from start …
Continue reading

PA7 User Review

4 out of 10
February 23, 2016
We use PeopleAdmin 7 across the entire organization. We use it to hire faculty, staff and research. It addresses some of our hiring needs …
Continue reading

PeopleAdmin Review

10 out of 10
February 06, 2015
PeopleAdmin is being used by one department (Human Resources) to service every department in our organization. Our organization is made up …
Continue reading

PeopleAdmin review

4 out of 10
February 16, 2014
It is being used across the whole organization. We use it to automoate our applicant tracking, position description, and performance …
Continue reading

Popular Features

View all 36 features

New hire portal (7)

9.0
90%

Manager tracking tools (7)

7.0
70%

Compliance tracking and reporting (7)

7.0
70%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool?

The PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform is a talent management platform designed for Higher Education and Government organizations, now from PowerSchool (acquired August, 2018). Modules include analytics, applicant tracking, position management, onboarding, records management, and performance…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

1 person want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is iCIMS?

iCIMS is a web-based applicant tracking system (ATS). The tool's talent recruiting and management functions include features like social recruiting, talent sourcing, offer management, and onboarding. The programs are centralized on iCIMS’s UNIFi platform and are scaled for mid-sized to enterprise…

What is CATS ATS?

CATS is a web-based recruiting software. Users can manage the entire recruiting process including custom job applications, posting jobs, resume parsing, custom recruitment workflows, and generating customized reports. Pricing is tiered per user, per month.

Features Scorecard

Onboarding

7.7
77%

Performance and Goals

5.8
58%

Performance Management

2.7
27%

Succession Planning

7.3
73%

Recruiting / ATS

7.3
73%

Product Details

What is PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool?

PeopleAdmin from PowerSchool (acquired August, 2018) is a talent management platform designed for higher education and government organizations. It includes functionality for hiring, onboarding, performance management, and reporting and analytics. PeopleAdmin automates applicant tracking and testing/assessment documentation, including importing documentation from external sources. These capabilities are designed to streamline the candidate evaluation and selection processes.


PeopleAdmin also includes support for onboarding, including records management. The product also enables performance management, tracking, and reporting. It is optimized for larger academic institutions and networks.

PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool Video

SelectSuite Overview

PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool Competitors

PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesUnited States, Canada
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool?

The PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform is a talent management platform designed for Higher Education and Government organizations, now from PowerSchool (acquired August, 2018). Modules include analytics, applicant tracking, position management, onboarding, records management, and performance management.

What are PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool's top competitors?

Cornerstone OnDemand and PageUp are common alternatives for PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool.

What is PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool's best feature?

Reviewers rate New hire portal and Candidate search highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool?

The most common users of PeopleAdmin Higher Ed Platform, from Powerschool are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Higher Education industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (27)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-20 of 20)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Consistency
  • Secure
  • Collaboration
  • Communication
  • Navigation is a little wonky[.]
  • Switching between roles is tricky for many.
  • The platform is a little bit slow at downloading materials if the batch of materials contains many documents.
Stephanie Gigliotti, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Customer Service.
  • Customized to our needs.
  • They understand HR and the processes.
  • Easy to use for all users.
  • Internal hiring is difficult but not impossible.
  • Only one user group can manage an area in the workflow, proving to be difficult for search committee/chairs.
July 27, 2016

PeopleAdmin review

Kelsea Bolin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Does well at tracking compliance with anti-discrimination laws which is a particular issue for higher education.
  • Has built in screening tools that allow you to assess and compare candidates using said assessment results and supplemental questions.
  • Offers the generation of defensible audit trails and reporting of all changes, classifcations, employee certifications, and requirements etc.
  • There is room for improvement with customization for on-boarding process.
Shannon Phillips | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Customizable
  • Constant updates and fixes
  • Always looking for ways to make the system better.
  • Performance Management - more flexibility
  • Reclassification (ability to move a position from one position type to another)
  • More support for large media files for musical performance and portfolios
Tamara Toon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • PeopleAdmin is very user-friendly. We have very few applicant issues or items that require PeopleAdmin Customer Support to intervene.
  • The ease of use in screening and in allowing search committee's confidential access to application materials from any internet source is one of the best features - as it allows for more freedom for our users.
  • The Customer Support is great. They are responsive and very helpful - not only to us and our system issues but when we have applicant issues that need to be addressed quickly.
  • PeopleAdmin lacks basic editing features when building job postings. To add bold or underline you must use textile markup language which is foreign to most non-tech folks and adds a layer of diffulty that seems unnecessary.
  • Functionality is limited in that users cannot re-arrange lists within the system (even via the Admin section) in the sections such as "Posting Docs". Whatever order they are added is the order they have to stay in unless you want to delete them all and re-add. That just seems silly and counterintutive to me.
  • Would like the ability to move from one applicant to the next when screening with a "Next" button on the bottom of the screen rather than having to back out to the applicant list and going that route. Seems like there has to be an better way to move from one applicant to the next.
Tracey Burns | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The ease of navigation through the system as a user has improved with the new version 7 release.
  • The technical support is well-trained and good at relaying back any details concerning issues with the system and the amount of time it will take to repair on quick fixes.
  • The forums in place for users help to give examples and/or solutions to common issues. It also provides a place to inquire or discuss possible site revisions.
  • The ability to customize certain features also allows the end user more flexibility.
  • This version of the product is still fairly new with releases or fixes being done to make improvements. The number of issues has drastically reduced but they still have outstanding items many customers would like to use that are inoperable.
  • The number of staff trained to work on high level issues was lacking in the beginning and this has caused many large product fixes to take an excess of a year to be addressed and repaired. The staff is now in place but the backlog has not been cleared out for all cases we have pending.
Sara Weixelman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Provides a dashboard view that provides both a quick glance and the ability to drill down on individual items. This is important for managing multiple staff actions and searches.
  • Applicant information (current and historical) is stored in one convenient place and can be accessed immediately when needed.
  • Information can be sorted, viewed, and searched for in varying ways which is important when working with multiple departments.
  • Moving applicants through workflow is not a very fluid process. When the number of applicants spans multiple pages one is forced to work with each page individually; moving applicants to a status that requires approval precludes moving any others in workflow without filtering them out but it is not obvious that one needs to be aware of this.
  • One can't search for a job description by simply typing in the employee's name - it requires using the position number and often the name is what is at hand.
  • When one changes positions within the organization and requires different access there does not seem to be a way to be added globally to job descriptions in the new unit - the process is far too manual. Although I believe adding new units to ones profile is fairly simple, apparently one can't remove the old units so I continue to see things that I no longer need to.
February 06, 2015

To be or not to be?

Alfonso Villalpando | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • PeopleAdmin provides excellent customer service and support. We contact PeopleAdmn to address specific issues that we may have and I always get a representative to assist me.
  • The website is always up and I have never experienced any downtime.
  • PeopleAdmin is a great tool to help me assist hiring managers to track applicants.
  • The application process can be very lengthy.
  • Why can't the "Back" button be used? When will PeopleAdmin users be able to use the "back" button and not "inactivate" the system? There are time when I have to close the system and all my other windows to re-boot the system.
February 06, 2015

PeopleAdmin Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Accurately records all applications for a position, eliminating any human error on recording applications.
  • Generates reports for the organization rather than requiring the employee to gather the data themselves.
  • Facilitates the application process by only allowing applicants to submit fully completed applications.
  • Allows departments to ask specific supplemental questions with pass/fail answers to facilitate the screening process.
  • Serves as a library for all positions at the organization so that job descriptions, qualifications, and records are readily available.
  • Continuously working at all times rather than only during open business hours (i.e. deadlines can be extended to midnight rather than 5 p.m. ET).
  • Provides IT support at all time through the PeopleAdmin Community page, FAQ, and live staff that responds to any issues in an extremely timely fashion.
  • Implementation training could have been more detailed and directed to a beginning user.
  • Not being able to see incomplete applications while trying to help an applicant submit an application is difficult.
  • Making the system more user friendly for beginning user.
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • PeopleAdmin knows the challenges associated with Public Sector employment, specifically the world of higher education.
  • They stay current with customer needs. They conduct RoundTable discussions across the US where clients can meet to discuss challenges, hear about new product releases, as well as tips and best practices from other institutions. They also take notes on what customers would like to see changed or added to their product line.
  • The system is easy-to-use and generally acceptable to users.
  • Customer service. They have a work-order system that provides frequent communications regarding the status of your request.
  • PeopleAdmin can really improve upon reporting. Trying to get any sort of metrics from this product, specifically in version 5.8, is nearly impossible. I understand that they are working on a new reporting module but that we be an added fee that I'm not sure is within our budget. These types of systems really need to have a robust reporting system in order for HR and other managers to be able to satisfy internal and external reporting requirements.
  • The Performance Management system is not as robust as a system that is designed specifically for performance management. It isn't much more than an evaluation tool with some abilities for employees and managers to keep notes throughout the year.
  • If ever you wish to end relations with PeopleAdmin and go with another system, all of the information that you have put into their system simply becomes data that is at the mercy of your IT department to figure out how to incorporate into some usable format. We are still paying for our Performance Management module after 2 years because we don't want to lose the historical data. They weren't willing to credit us anything for just keeping the system for historic purposes, even though we aren't using it.
February 16, 2014

PeopleAdmin review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Good options for applicant tracking. Overall the applicant tracking works really well on both the empoloyee and employer side.
  • In 5.8, we have the position description just the way we like it. I know our class and compensation department really likes it.
  • Product support has been better then most products.
  • The 5.8 to 7.0 upgrade is brutal, and does not carry forward historical data.
  • The performance management portion of PeopleAdmin has a bad end user experience in the organization. It is not easy and user friendly.
  • PeopleAdmin in general is very awkward in your switching of different hats (employee, supervisor, employment, etc).
  • Reporting in PeopleAdmin 5.8 is very hard and the structure of tables is strange
  • The newer version does not contain the functionality with 5.8
  • It does not integrate very well with our ERP system
January 31, 2014

Very Good ATS System

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Well laid out tabs capture all relevant data points in one requisition
  • Approval routing features fit our needs nicely
  • Ability to have guest user access is ideal for faculty search committees
  • Mainly labeling of dashboards - more data could be added to aid in ease of reviewing data.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Integration with jobbing.com. PeopleAdmin seamlessly populates job offerings on our jobbing.com web page.
  • PeopleAdmin handles the recruitment process very well.
  • PeopleAdmin if very good at processing job candidates up to hire.
  • PeopleAdmin's internal report writer needs work. Currently, in version 7, reporting can only be done requisition number by requisition number. The report writer needs to be modified so it can create reports enterprise-wide.
  • PeopleAdmin's Data Mart product needs substantial modification. In version 5.8, on a monthly basis, PeopleAdmin provided us with an Microsoft Access database containing our historical data up to that period end. In version 7, the "Data Mart" contains our historical data. The Data Mart consists of over 300 files. These files are not database table downloads nor is it parts of a database data dump. Rather, the files appear to be scrapes from html pages. They contain html codes and other character data that needs to be cleaned before they can be uploaded. The files are not in a table-by-table format. Any one file can contain data from two or more tables. The format of the Data Mart makes it difficult to load the data into a database and format it in a table structure that is comparable to the Access database provided with version 5.8.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Applicant Tracking - Being able to have applicants create an applicant profile and have it stored in the system in order to apply for future positions.
  • Great for tracking the work flow and where the position is currently in the approval process.
  • Keeps history of job descriptions.
  • Allows for multiple user accesses (HR access, hiring manager access, etc.)
  • Since the upgrade-not as user friendly
  • Not able to easily view and track where the position is at in the approval process.
  • With the upgrade-doesn't do all the things that we were promised it would do
  • Needs a function that we can add an electronic singnature or a way to edit and add a signature line and print so we can get job descriptions signed by department heads
January 27, 2014

PeopleAdmin Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • PeopleAdmin allows you to easily post current jobs. With PeopleAdmin you are allowed to create a new posting from an old posting. So if multiple positions come up you can easily re-create a new posting without having to start all over.
  • PeopleAdmin allows for easy applicant searches. If someone calls and is having trouble with their application you can easily look them up and help them continue their application or submit their document.
  • PeopleAdmin does a great job of allowing you to ask any question you would like to help you screen applicants. It has a feature where you can ask any question and depending on how they answer will determine if they qualify for the position or not. If they don't qualify for the position then they would get an automatic fail response. You can also custom write the fail response. This helps screen out unneccessary applicants and saves time.
  • A lot of the time people have a hard time uploading their resumes and cover letters becuase PeopleAdmin only allows a document less than 2 MB. It also only recognizes microsoft word and pdf. formats. Uploading these documents aren't as clear for the applicants and we'll get a lot of phone calls asking for help.
  • Applicants sometimes have a hard time writing their answers to the supplemental questions because it only allows 1200 characters including spaces. This feature could be better if they allowed the applicants to write more if they desired.
  • One thing I would like to see in PeopleAdmin is the ability to help an applicant change information on an application after they submit it. If an applicant submits an application accidentally with old information and needs to update it they can't until they apply for a new position.
January 22, 2014

PeopleAdmin 5.8

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Easy to categorize applicant statuses and to review their information.
  • Quick and easy to post positions, following the reporting structure that you assign.
  • The reporting tool for the applicant pool is hard to manage using Access.
  • Faculty positions need flexibility to name specific attachments and work with confidential letters.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Applicant tracking was a good use of this tool for our department. I think it could use a few more customization features but overall it was a good tool to weed out applicants who were not qualified for the position.
  • The system has some canned reporting tools that also worked well for our department and management needs.
  • It was a great place to house our position descriptions and provided a readily accessible source for hiring managers to make requested updates and changes and for employees to see and have access to their position descriptions.
  • The ability to integrate data from other systems presented some problems.
  • The ability to customize was not as readily accessible as they originally shared.
  • There were issues with duplicate entries that were not easily resolved.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Simple UI for recruiters to use as an Applicant Tracking System. I've used several ATS's, I prefer a simple system that does the job, rather than one that's too robust.
  • PeopleAdmin consistently reached out to ensure I understood the tool. Help Desk was always on point to troubleshoot any questions I had.
  • The lifecycle from creating the req, through approval process and posting my job was a simple process for all. Many times, ATS's can be a tedious learning process for those who aren't actively using the tool daily.
  • PeopleAdmin hosts an annual conference for users, a hands-on learning experience with classes by the employees and how users are benefiting from the tool. What other ATS hosts something like this for their users?
  • With a simple UI, unfortunately comes simple search fields. I would like to see more fields to search resumes.
  • A comment section for each applicant to track my notes.
January 21, 2014

Simply Easy & Efficient

Genesis Wallace | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • When posting a position, you are able to list a detail description and include supplemental questions. The supplemental questions can be extremely helpful when you have a large applicant pool. Its helps you to weave through the applicants who are not qualified.
  • As applicants are applying for various positions, you can make it mandatory for the applicant to post a resume/ curriculum vitae and/ or a cover letter. These items can give more details about the applicant.
  • After you have posted the positions and selected candidates for interviews, PeopleAdmin allows you to provide feedback on every applicant to outline who and who were not interviewed and why they were not selected as the final candidate.
  • During the final step of selecting the final candidate, you are able to give a justification for the candidate. Also, you have to include the salaries and positions for other employees who are in the same type position. This helps to ensure impartiality regarding salary.
  • Sometimes the information can be redundant. For example, after you have gone through the applicant pool and labeled who's not selected, it should automatically start the hiring proposal for the final candidate.