TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/aV/CJ/ZS79QQKANA03.PNGMake BI work for you with Periscope DataWe use Periscope Data's platform and API to quickly deploy business intelligence dashboards to our user base, which is comprised largely of pharmacy owners, managers, or pharmacy operations stakeholders. Periscope is the customer-facing side of our data warehouse strategy, and we use it primarily to add value to our products and services, and give our customers a "one stop shop" to be able to see how our automation products are affecting their businesses.,Rapid deployment of polished T-SQL-based data visualization charts and dashboards. Periscope supports a variety of database technologies, and allows users to write custom queries to display data. Included caching to reduce server load. Outstanding customer service/support, with expert advice as needed. Constant updates and new features. Built-in SQL formatters take the pain out of manipulating date/time objects.,Query parsing errors do not display the line number of the error, this is a pain point for BI developers. Caching large tables can be problematic and cause issues with queries and display of data. Embed API documentation should be more thorough with plenty of examples.,10,Positive impact on our customer reputation, which is invaluable and the primary reason why we've stuck with Periscope.,Tableau Desktop and Microsoft BIFantastic data visualization package that is integral to our company's day-to-day operationsKongregate is a very data-driven company and Periscope has been an integral part of how we visualize and analyze data for over 5 years now (we were one of their earliest customers). We use Periscope for deep analytics but also for many of our non-technical departments that just need reports and information about our product and services. It's so ingrained in our company's culture and experience at this point that one of the new employee tasks that every employee, in every department, does is try out making a Periscope dashboard. Periscope-generated charts and graphs are presented in company meetings, emailed out for daily reports, shared with our users, and just generally are part of the daily experience for many of our employees.,Provides experiences that are useful both for those with lots of analytics and SQL experience and for those who just want to use pre-designed dashboards. Very flexible and robust with new features and capabilities, such as clever SQL shortcuts, being developed regularly. Ridiculously quick and knowledgeable customer service department (response times are typically literally in seconds).,Dashboard layouts can be a bit fiddly at times. External dashboard sharing tools exist but are still fairly basic.,10,We've been a customer for 5 years and to my knowledge have no plans to change that status. It has taken our data from only available via emailed Excel spreadsheets to easily available to everyone in the company.Periscope: My direct line of sight to the Data that I need DAILYPeriscope Data is used company-wide. My use of Periscope specifically, is for the Impressions Department. The data from Periscope helps me narrow down what cases may have slipped through the cracks in the Materials Received Que. This data is vital, in helping me research why the cases have not moved forward from the Materials Received account status. The two filters that I use are cases Under 7 Days, and cases Over 7 Days. These reports are used daily by myself and the executives who oversee the company as a whole.,The data that is presented on the front screen can be downloaded into an Excel Spreadsheet. From there I am able to sort the cases, and work them in the particular order that I need to work them in. The Periscope Data catches all cases that have slipped through the cracks, so I am able to correct them without any delay to the customer account. The Periscope Date is VERY accurate and I know that the information is trustworthy.,It would be helpful to have the option of the Periscope Data to be delivered to my email in Excel format, instead of the front page being delivered daily, separated by the 2 filters that I use ( over 7 days and under 7 days).,10,Positive Impact: Before Periscope Data was available to my department, I had to search through the Que in Smile Check for the cases that were low hanging fruit. Now Periscope pulls that data and that data only from those Ques and I am able to use the filters for better accuracy.,JIRA Software,JIRA Software, JIRA Service Desk, LookerPeriscope LoveWaitr has just started to use Periscope, and we already love it. Between the documentation for Redshift in general, and Periscopes help files and outstanding customer support team we can get most things done easily or at least find out why they aren't working and try a new approach. They have been very attentive to our needs, and are rolling out new (and more importantly useful) features.,Organization of disparate data sources Ability to run complex calculations using up to date and standardized tooling via Python and R Their customer support team would keep me here even if they were missing features we needed,The UI can be nit-picky about not showing you full table names if they are long There are some arbitrary restrictions on field content length that are removable, but not obvious to the end user No way to make Python/R libraries to enable code reuse. Of note, they are working to fix this however with git integration.,10,We've been able to automate certain reporting that required far too much manual work saving time and money as a result We are very early in our use, but the sky is literally the limit with Periscope.,Elasticsearch,ElasticsearchPeriscope Data by Fintech scale-upWe use Periscope for visualising and tracking all data of our production database, CRM system, sales effort, and accounting. Combining all databases, in one intuitive environment for all our employees.,Easy filtering Rapid queries,Requires knowledge of at least SQL,9,It has definitely allowed us to reduce our cost-to-serve and administrative costs.,Microsoft Power BI and RStudio
Unspecified
Periscope Data
19 Ratings
Score 9.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Periscope Data Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Periscope Data
19 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 19 vetted Periscope Data reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Brian Kichler profile photo
October 16, 2018

Review: "Make BI work for you with Periscope Data"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Periscope Data's platform and API to quickly deploy business intelligence dashboards to our user base, which is comprised largely of pharmacy owners, managers, or pharmacy operations stakeholders. Periscope is the customer-facing side of our data warehouse strategy, and we use it primarily to add value to our products and services, and give our customers a "one stop shop" to be able to see how our automation products are affecting their businesses.
  • Rapid deployment of polished T-SQL-based data visualization charts and dashboards. Periscope supports a variety of database technologies, and allows users to write custom queries to display data.
  • Included caching to reduce server load.
  • Outstanding customer service/support, with expert advice as needed.
  • Constant updates and new features.
  • Built-in SQL formatters take the pain out of manipulating date/time objects.
  • Query parsing errors do not display the line number of the error, this is a pain point for BI developers.
  • Caching large tables can be problematic and cause issues with queries and display of data.
  • Embed API documentation should be more thorough with plenty of examples.
What makes Periscope an outstanding platform is the value it creates for BI developers. Dashboards and charts are easy to create with some basic T-SQL knowledge, and can be quickly deployed. The API can be leveraged for internal or customer-facing business applications that need to embed BI charts. Periscope's customer support is awesome, with knowledgeable agents who are always ready and willing to help, and will run down bug reports/issues with the software team quickly, usually responding within a day if escalation is needed. The cost is reasonable, and the platform is constantly improving.
Read Brian Kichler's full review
Anthony Pecorella profile photo
October 01, 2018

Periscope Data Review: "Fantastic data visualization package that is integral to our company's day-to-day operations"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Kongregate is a very data-driven company and Periscope has been an integral part of how we visualize and analyze data for over 5 years now (we were one of their earliest customers). We use Periscope for deep analytics but also for many of our non-technical departments that just need reports and information about our product and services. It's so ingrained in our company's culture and experience at this point that one of the new employee tasks that every employee, in every department, does is try out making a Periscope dashboard. Periscope-generated charts and graphs are presented in company meetings, emailed out for daily reports, shared with our users, and just generally are part of the daily experience for many of our employees.
  • Provides experiences that are useful both for those with lots of analytics and SQL experience and for those who just want to use pre-designed dashboards.
  • Very flexible and robust with new features and capabilities, such as clever SQL shortcuts, being developed regularly.
  • Ridiculously quick and knowledgeable customer service department (response times are typically literally in seconds).
  • Dashboard layouts can be a bit fiddly at times.
  • External dashboard sharing tools exist but are still fairly basic.
Periscope is great if you have a few technical people in the company who know SQL well and want to be able to set up dashboards for use by both technical and non-technical users in the company. It is very good at visualizing raw data through standard charts, though if you want something more elegant or complicated than tables, bar, and line graphs you may need to look elsewhere.
Read Anthony Pecorella's full review
Marisa Henegar profile photo
September 28, 2018

Periscope Data Review: "Periscope: My direct line of sight to the Data that I need DAILY"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Periscope Data is used company-wide. My use of Periscope specifically, is for the Impressions Department. The data from Periscope helps me narrow down what cases may have slipped through the cracks in the Materials Received Que. This data is vital, in helping me research why the cases have not moved forward from the Materials Received account status. The two filters that I use are cases Under 7 Days, and cases Over 7 Days. These reports are used daily by myself and the executives who oversee the company as a whole.
  • The data that is presented on the front screen can be downloaded into an Excel Spreadsheet. From there I am able to sort the cases, and work them in the particular order that I need to work them in.
  • The Periscope Data catches all cases that have slipped through the cracks, so I am able to correct them without any delay to the customer account.
  • The Periscope Date is VERY accurate and I know that the information is trustworthy.
  • It would be helpful to have the option of the Periscope Data to be delivered to my email in Excel format, instead of the front page being delivered daily, separated by the 2 filters that I use ( over 7 days and under 7 days).
Read Marisa Henegar's full review
Jared Beekman profile photo
September 28, 2018

Periscope Data Review: "Periscope Love"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Waitr has just started to use Periscope, and we already love it. Between the documentation for Redshift in general, and Periscopes help files and outstanding customer support team we can get most things done easily or at least find out why they aren't working and try a new approach. They have been very attentive to our needs, and are rolling out new (and more importantly useful) features.
  • Organization of disparate data sources
  • Ability to run complex calculations using up to date and standardized tooling via Python and R
  • Their customer support team would keep me here even if they were missing features we needed
  • The UI can be nit-picky about not showing you full table names if they are long
  • There are some arbitrary restrictions on field content length that are removable, but not obvious to the end user
  • No way to make Python/R libraries to enable code reuse. Of note, they are working to fix this however with git integration.
Your data is eventually consistent, this includes your data pipeline to your warehouse, to roughly an hour so real time metrics are difficult if your time constraints are less than that. I have yet to find a position/department in our company that could not benefit from Periscope. In fact we are moving several of our other data visualizations off other systems and into Periscope since it is so very much better suited to those roles.
Read Jared Beekman's full review
Philip Boontje profile photo
September 28, 2018

User Review: "Periscope Data by Fintech scale-up"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Periscope for visualising and tracking all data of our production database, CRM system, sales effort, and accounting. Combining all databases, in one intuitive environment for all our employees.
  • Easy filtering
  • Rapid queries
  • Requires knowledge of at least SQL
Well suited:
Well structured production DB with a lot granularity and depth of data. Allows for rapid testing/prototyping

Less suited:
Combining different databases. UX is more error prone and tedious.
Read Philip Boontje's full review
No photo available
December 13, 2018

Periscope Data Review: "Explore and Visualize Your Data Without Much Hassle"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Periscope Data is used by most of the departments within my company. Analysts use Periscope Data to explore production datasets and create initial visualizations easily, which are later consumed by the business users. Besides visualizations, business users often download raw data provided via tables on Periscope Data, which helps as a workaround when our internal tools are still limited.
  • quick and helpful response from support
  • various visualization options
  • enables cross-database joins
  • enables shared dashboards via email
  • has alert features
  • no connection to Treasure Data
  • query error feedbacks aren't easily understood, especially on cross database joins
  • still limited filter feature for BigQuery
  • chart drill down is quite difficult to use
If your company is still on the early stage yet it produces data with various domains, your analysts will be grateful to have Periscope Data as the main tool. Although they might not be able to combine your data here - except relies on Periscope cache (which is super helpful!), they could explore the data quite easily and produce visualization without additional coding skills. Periscope Data's support team is quite responsive and they don't hesitate to jump in and help to solve your problems.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 26, 2018

Periscope Data Review: "Easy to use and beautiful dashboards!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the organization by multiple various divisions. We have a central database that has all sorts of interesting data points, and it can be very difficult to figure out how to extract helpful takeaways from that data. Periscope allows us to create endless combinations of graphs, charts, and other gleanings from this wealth of data. Further, it allows a user friendly interface to play around with these tools and codes to create an ideal data takeaway.
  • User interface - very easy to use and navigate, even for a non coder like me.
  • Super helpful website and training materials to learn and brush up on. Wealth of information from their customer success team.
  • Ease of integration into other online platforms, such as google sheets.
  • You still need to have a good handle on SQL and how your data is categorized.
  • Would be great if it provided you an 'org chart' of your own data code names and labels, so you can easily access the inputs you're using.
  • Having more examples of data analytics and what types of charts you can make would serve as inspiration for those less creative out there.
Any time you're trying to create graphs and charts from large amounts of data. You can select and update data in real time, and provide on going changing and live graphs. It's very helpful for creating impressive dashboards to visually understand data quickly and effectively. You can also use Periscope for drawing conclusions from sales and performance metrics.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

Periscope Data Review: "BI Analyst's Secret Weapon"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Periscope as our primary tool for insights to prepare our business leaders for strategic decisions. The ability to quickly stand up new dashboards or edit existing queries allows my small team of analysts to empower over 400 colleagues without bogging down the team in multiple coding languages.
  • Write query, get chart. Fast iteration.
  • Responsive support and product teams keep us current on product roadmap and enhancements.
  • Minimal onboarding required for new team members. Analysts don't need to learn a new language to begin development, just the appropriate flavor of SQL.
  • Caching simplifies ETL, mitigating dependency on data engineering for basic use-cases.
  • More controls around database settings and SQL views would enable more customized workflows.
  • Git integration would be amazing (I'm told this is coming soon)
Pick Periscope for an environment where analysts are fluent in SQL and business users want to explore charts and self-service data downloads.

Business users who want to explore for insights themselves but don't want to learn SQL may have some difficulty without training.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 27, 2018

Periscope Data Review: "Periscope - you should probably check it out"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Periscope serves as a general reporting tool for my company, but is specifically used to provide embedded reporting for our licensed application.
  • Very quick implementation process. We connected to our data and started building dashboards in a very short period of time. This was largely aided by a good UI design and well organized technical documentation.
  • Extraordinarily good customer service. Their chat-based customer service is the best experience that I've had with any vendor. Not only are their staff available, but they're all extremely knowledgeable and friendly.
  • Periscope has continually improved their product and added features. While we still rely primarily on the core product features, it's great to see how the product offering is expanding.
  • Formatting controls are very limited. This is usually the deciding factor when choosing to build something out in Periscope or Tableau.
  • All filters are global in scope, as opposed to being scoped to specific dashboards. This can cause clutter and requires careful consideration when creating new filters to clearly communication slight distinctions between similar filters.
If you need to get reporting up and running fast, or just need a tool that allows you to explore your data in a fast, flexible way using SQL, then Periscope is a great choice.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

Periscope Data Review: "Great BI software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Caching capability
  • Fast and efficient live chat support
  • Beautiful visualization
  • Ability to combine different data sources quickly
  • Ability to create snippets
  • Better drag and drop, Looker-like features for non-technical users. It is not very easy to use for non-technical users.
  • Password protected dashboards in the starter plan
  • Easier to make funnel conversion charts
  • Better report scheduling. You should be able to schedule reports for certain days of the week
  • Better SQL alerts. Now it is based on absolute numbers. It should be based on different row values, etc.
Small, early stage companies that use data from different sources
Read this authenticated review
Gwen Rivet profile photo
March 14, 2018

Periscope Data Review: "Periscope - Powerful Customizable Dashboards"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Periscope Data extensively and across all departments: marketing, finance, education, tech team. It's a tool most people in the company are familiar with in order to track their own KPIs. It's a place where all the data is gathered at the same place and where everyone can access key data. Some dashboards are used to report on key metrics that are relevant to everyone. Not everyone is trained on how to use Periscope but almost everyone knows how to read their own dashboards.
  • Data visualization
  • UX design - easy to use
  • No guide - it's not easy to find solutions to a problem when starting with the tool
  • Data loading - there are often problems with retrieving data
Periscope is well suited when an organisation is relying very much on data to make informed marketing and business decisions. It's an easy way to visualise data in a simplified manner without having to deal with extensive Excel sheets with a lot of incomprehensible tables. Each dashboard can be specific to a department and each KPI can be displayed.
Read Gwen Rivet's full review
Michael Kim profile photo
December 13, 2017

Periscope Data Review: "Periscope Provides Our Teams with the Data We Need to Succeed!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Periscope Data is being used by many departments in our organization. It's being used by our Research Department, Project Management Department, Sales and Customer Success Department, Business Intelligence Department, etc. Periscope provides us with data regarding our internal use of resources, and also keeps track of the resources our customers have on their respective accounts. Periscope is linked with Salesforce, and it also pulls data from a couple of other sources so that we can make monthly reports. It keeps our departments informed about how efficient or inefficient we are. Periscope also helps us keep track of our teams' workloads.
  • Periscope Data pulls data from multiple sources, twice a day. It helps our teams keep track of our efficiency, productivity, and workload.
  • Periscope helps us create reports each week, or each month. We can adjust the filters according to what timeframe we want to be analyzing.
  • We can easily sign in with Google Sign-on.
  • We have many different Dashboards, which helps each of our departments keep track of what they need to keep track of. Periscope houses data from our thousands of customers.
  • It's very customizable depending on what data you need to track.
  • Scrolling around on the different Dashboards where there is a lot of information is a little bit annoying. It could do better with its design and presentation of data.
  • When I log off and log back in after a day or so, I'll click on Google Sign-on and I frequently get a 404 error.
  • There are way too many menus everywhere. There's a menu in the top right that does nothing when I click on it.
It's very well suited for keeping track of sales data and other performance data within your various departments. If you have a lot of customers, you can track data that is in your CRM. Through customization, you can create reports depending on what you need. It's less appropriate if you don't have a lot of data or moving parts you need to track. Smaller companies with simple sales and expenses don't need a tool like this.
Read Michael Kim's full review
Pat Effinger profile photo
September 14, 2017

User Review: "Periscope Data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses Periscope to generate visually appealing dashboards/graphs/reports for internal and external use.

Internally, we utilize the dashboards we've set up to understand where we stand on a variety of KPIs. For example, we've connected Salesforce to Periscope and created a dashboard that shows how many calls a particular salesperson made in the previous day/week/month. That dashboard is always accessible via Periscope but also is sent to the appropriate members of my team each morning.

Externally, our customers utilize similar dashboards to understand how they're using our platform. For example, we offer a media buying platform and Periscope allows us to show our customers how much money they've spent on media through our platform.
  • Periscope makes it very easy to write SQL queries to pull in critical information and KPIs that live in our database.
  • Periscope allows us to visualize those data points and KPIs in a aesthetically pleasing way that we've never visualized them before.
  • Periscope allows us to email those dashboards to the key stakeholders on a regularly scheduled basis so we don't always have to access and reference those reports in Periscope's application.
  • I haven't really seen many negative aspects of Periscope because I had very little to do with the implementation. I know we relied heavily on our systems engineer to connect Periscope with our database and with our instance of Salesforce but I think that comes with the territory of using a tool like periscope.
Periscope is well suited to turn large batches of data into visually appealing reports and graphs. You can create "dashboards" that house multiple reports and graphs in a single interface as well.

Periscope is less appropriate for businesses that don't have much data to visualize or don't have a technical expert to implement the solution.
Read Pat Effinger's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (7)
8.3
Customizable dashboards (13)
9.0
Report Formatting Templates (11)
8.5
Drill-down analysis (9)
7.3
Formatting capabilities (12)
7.3
Integration with R or other statistical packages (5)
8.9
Report sharing and collaboration (13)
7.8
Publish to Web (8)
8.3
Publish to PDF (8)
8.3
Report Versioning (7)
7.8
Report Delivery Scheduling (9)
7.7
Delivery to Remote Servers (2)
7.9
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (12)
9.0
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (12)
7.7
Predictive Analytics (5)
7.3

About Periscope Data

Periscope Data is a data visualization tool that allows users to connect their SQL databases to create sharable, interactive dashboards.

Periscope Data Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No