Pivotal Tracker Reviews

65 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Angela Goldsmith, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Pivotal Tracker Delivers on Tracking Development Projects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pivotal Tracker to track the development and MIS teams' work and ongoing support of software and infrastructure they have built for the company across about a dozen projects/solutions. These solutions range from infrastructure, eCommerce, internal custom software, and mobile applications. We use it to track features, chores, and bugs for each of these areas. We have from time-to-time exposed it to external vendors for project collaboration and centralized project management of those projects. It is an excellent tool for keeping track of the work and being able to quickly prioritize work, check the status, and re-prioritize tasks based on changing requirements.
  • Project task tracking
  • Visibility of work
  • More project management features like Gantt Charts
  • More reporting
Pivotal Tracker is extremely easy to use. New users are able to learn the system and start using it on the same day. I could not manage the number of projects here without this system that gives me a great view of what is happening in each project. Features, chores (maintenance type tasks), and bugs are clearly identified so I can work with Product Owners to prioritize the work according to internal and external customer needs.
We've never had to request support in the 5 years I have been using it. A solid solution! Everything I have had questions about is on the website. New features are in their newsletter with more details on their website. Often I am using the new features within a few minutes of reading the article.
Read Angela Goldsmith, PMP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Pivotal Tracker is a steep learning curve but one of the best Software Development tracking tools out there

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal Tracker is used across the whole organization - maybe minus 2 people - so 8 or so. It helps us track software development work into compartmentalized tickets. Almost every ticket is touched by everyone that uses Pivotal Tracker in some way. I.e. there's a problem we are trying to solve, someone creates a ticket, someone picks up the ticket to start the software development, someone does the software development work, someone checks their work, someone tests their work, someone passes the ticket, someone checks the work of the person who passed the ticket, etc.
  • Constant updates - you can always see who touches the project as a whole.
  • Clean, concise ticket structure.
  • It's not user friendly at first. But very powerful once you understand the tools.
  • It's nice that you can customize your lanes (columns).
Medium to small teams - this is a great tool. I'm not sure about large teams because the Project History column would be so filled with information it might be hard to figure out what's going on/what updates have been made. But for Medium-Small teams this is ideal because of the detail laid out in the project history column.
N/A, never used support
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

A Wonderful Tool for Team Project Management!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal Tracker is used to manage project task flow through utilizing "Pivotal Stories" to track project status, communication, priority level, file sharing, etc. amongst my marketing team! It is used across the pharma marketing department and it solves the issue of task flow management and project tracking.
  • Helps keep track of tasks in your queue.
  • Prioritization.
  • Visuals (platform looks a bit cluttered).
  • Automated task flow (doesn't exist).
It is appropriate for those that work in teams with an end goal that involves a multi-step process. It may be less suitable for more independent projects, unless it is used for personal notes/tracking purposes.
I haven't really needed support so I'd give it a 10!
Read this authenticated review
Brad Henderson | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Great for software devs teams

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Pivotal Tracker because our head developer preferred it to other project management/dev tools. The most important function is for helping developers to prioritize dev work. Developers don't always prioritize the highest priority items so it worked well to have a project manager owning the roadmap while the devs had a consistent checklist of priorities to work on each sprint.
  • In my opinion, it's geared more towards developers and was useful for them to be using a tool they like.
  • It allows for gauging the estimated time required for each task so that a project manager can correctly weight how much time each task will take.
  • It's more specialized in its application than a number of other project management software that are for more general project management.
  • The UI isn't very appealing. For many, this isn't important but I appreciate using software that is appealing to the eye.
  • This isn't necessarily a negative, but it isn't a good general project management software, which in my opinion is a strength that they've chose to hone in the focus of their product.
Pivotal Tracker is great for software development teams. Approvals are pretty sleek which allows for back and forth between developers and the QA process if there are bugs or the product isn't being built up to specs. It's less useful as a general project management software but they're pretty clear on their website that it is geared towards software development teams.
Haven't had many issues, so I cannot say much about support!
Read Brad Henderson's full review
Juan Palma | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Software project management made easy with Pivotal Tracker

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal Tracker is a SaaS project management tool that is used by software development teams and stakeholders to track software projects using an agile methodology. The Ventus Software Development team uses this application extensively to track multiple software projects including but not limited to new features, bugs, chores, epics, and releases. Where Pivotal Tracker really excels is its usability. The layout of the project and the view of the 'stories' within it makes it really easy to organize iterations and have a clear understanding of what everyone is working, what you have to work on, what has been completed, and what has yet to be completed. Where Pivotal Tracker can improve is on the management of stories. It's not impossible, but as often happens on software projects, developers start something and move to other things if they get stuck or need to address something more pressing. I feel that there need to be some controls around starting and 'pausing' stories and clearly identifying that they've been put on pause. Not a big deal. Pivotal Tracker integrates into other applications like Slack, Git, Bugzilla, Usersnap, and a plethora of others.
  • Managing multiple software projects using an agile methodology.
  • Usability of creating and managing 'stories' within the projects.
  • Lots of integrations into other applications.
  • Rich reports and analytics to track project progress.
  • Mobile app makes it very easy to check project status and update it on the go.
  • Managing active vs. temporarily inactive tasks/stories.
Pivotal Tracker is well suited for companies that manage multiple software projects with onshore and even offshore teams. More specifically, it's appropriate for teams that use an agile or pseudo-agile project methodology. Pivotal Tracker is not so well suited for software projects that follow a waterfall or other form of project methodology.
There's no better customer support than the one you don't need to use. I've never had any issues with Pivotal Tracker that would require contacting customer support.
Read Juan Palma's full review
Benjamin Plotkin | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2019

Keep Your (User) Stories Straight with Pivotal Tracker

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pivotal Tracker to manage the maintenance and extension of many different web-based applications. Other departments in our organization use JIRA for software development project management, while still others (who focus on break/fix and help desk support) use ticket-based systems. Pivotal Tracker is a good fit for our department because we are an agile shop, and the application is intrinsically designed to support agile methodologies.
  • Pivotal Tracker makes it relatively easy to manage project team members, including inviting new members, as well as managing existing member roles.
  • I appreciate how Pivotal Tracker supports the planning and estimation aspects of agile project management, including support for linear and Fibonacci sequence point systems for effort estimation on tasks.
  • Analytics are just a click away with Pivotal Tracker, making burndown chart spreadsheets and manual tallying a thing of the past.
  • While Pivotal Tracker takes a lot of the drudgery out of managing agile-type projects, it can be an "opinionated" product, which can make end-users feel like they have to conform their workflows to the product, rather than the other way around. Automated velocity reporting is one example of this.
  • Pivotal Tracker has a lot of features, and while this is generally a good thing, it makes the product a challenge to master, for many, regardless of end-user technical abilities.
  • The visual interface is extremely information-rich, requiring lots of drill-downs and accordion expansions. It would be nice to see a simplified interface for general use, akin to the old-school Scrum board and Post-It notes.
Pivotal tracker is a great fit for organizations managing multiple projects as it's straightforward to manage various team members and roles across multiple projects. Setting aside the application's opinionated nature, it's got comprehensive support for agile methodologies baked in, making it a compelling choice for Scrums and other agile approaches.

Pivotal Tracker is probably overkill for colocated single project team environments, as an actual Scrum room with a dedicated physical tasks board may be more cost-effective, and is certainly easier to explain to newcomers.
I haven't had pressing need to lean on Pivotal Tracker's support system, but have had the need from time to time to better understand a deep feature or configuration element. In those cases, I have been well-served by the vendor's extensive online documentation, which is written in a straightforward and accessible style.
Read Benjamin Plotkin's full review
Willian Molinari | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

A highly capable tool to implement a process

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Pivotal Tracker some months ago when we decided to implement scrum inside the team. I used Pivotal tracker for some time around 2011 and I knew you have to use the "pivotal way" to be able to enjoy the tool. This is the main advantage and also the main flaw of the tool.
  • If you're implementing a new process on your team and you like what Pivotal Tracker provides, it works well.
  • The kanban view is good and compact.
  • It was not expensive for our use case.
  • If you find out that you prefer to work in a different way, the tool starts to fall apart. You have to follow its way of working.
  • It's not flexible at all. You have some configurations to do, but it is what it is.
  • The web app feels heavy, it's not simple at all
If you have a team that has almost no process and wants to start doing something, Pivotal Tracker may help you with that. You first need to check the process the tool proposes (mostly scrum) and decides if it's what you want or not. If you think it's exactly what you need, start with Pivotal Tracker because it will enforce a lot of things to your sprints.
Didn't have to use it.
Read Willian Molinari's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

Pivotal Tracker gets the job done

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Pivotal Tracker as a list of engineering bugs, tasks, and backlogged items for the engineering team. We eventually moved off of Pivotal Tracker but while using it, it allowed us to prioritize the tasks and bugs logged by our users as well as the product management team. They did so by utilizing the points feature.
  • Adding points to a task.
  • Ease of use, friendly UI.
  • Identifying/categorizing the type of item created.
  • Assigning multiple people to a task would be helpful.
  • Allowing more of a list feature from a UI standpoint (see: monday.com).
  • Connection to GitHub.
Pivotal Tracker is best suited for a smaller team (JIRA becomes more necessary as your company scales). It is best for engineering bugs, tasks, and backlogged items for the engineering team. Also good to connect to your Slack channel for team visibility. I also found it helpful that you have flexibility with the sub-sections you can create within Pivotal Tracker.
I truthfully have an indifferent experience about the support of Pivotal Tracker which is why I'm giving it a 5. I know it has been around for quite some time and has a good reputation in the industry but I personally have not found myself in a situation where I felt the support was positive or negative.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

Pivotal Tracker: Does what it says on the tin and so much more

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Pivotal Tracker in our company to maintain our product backlog as an agile project management tool. It was primarily used by our Product Development and IT team. It really helped us keep things organized and plan out our weekly sprints with a prioritized backlog.
  • It's great for tracking milestones and reporting team velocity per sprint.
  • Maintaining a prioritized backlog that is sharable with different members of your team is relatively simple.
  • There's a free version of the product for up to 3 collaborators working on 2 projects and the starting price for larger packages is relatively low.
  • Trackability of related stories is a little difficult and unclear unless they're in an epic. Establishing a hierarchical relationship between stories isn't an easy process.
  • Customization is difficult. Changing up/personalizing the milestones for projects isn't easy to achieve.
  • Reporting is still a little minimalistic and it would help to be able to take a deeper dive into our team's performance.
Pivotal Tracker is a great value for the money. If you're strapped for cash and have to work with smaller budgets, this is the right app for you. The support team is great and responsive and the product is easy to pick up and use for your team. It's great to have visibility on your product backlog.
Read this authenticated review
Craig Comperatore | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2018

Pivotal Tracker encourages a practical, agile project management process

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pivotal Tracker is used daily by Moffitt's Collaborative Data Services Core, which facilitates access to clinical, tumor and biospecimen data for high-impact translational research. The CDS Core uses Pivotal Tracker as a project planning tool to form realistic expectations about when work might be completed based on the team’s ongoing performance.

Other Moffitt departments also use Pivotal Tracker for bug tracking and as a shared team-level 'to-do' list.

  • Pivotal Tracker helps our team visualize our projects in the form of stories (virtual cards) moving through our workflow. This encourages us to break down projects into manageable chunks and have important conversations about deliverables and scope.
  • The forced-prioritization allows our team to have a shared understanding about what is most important and make collective decisions about what our team will work on next.
  • By dividing future iterations by our team's velocity, Pivotal Tracker accurately predicts when we will complete future work.
  • In-story task management is still a weak point. The ability to @mention users in tasks and mark tasks as 'in-progress' would go a long way.
  • Epics do not span projects. This becomes troublesome when scaling Pivotal Tracker's agile methodology to multiple teams.
  • Splitting stories is often confusing for team members as there is no concept of a 'parent' story with child stories that have split off of it. There are only two levels: Epic & Story.
Pivotal Tracker is based on the XP (eXtreme Programming) philosophy & best practices. If your team is following this methodology, or working towards those best practices, Pivotal Tracker is a dream to work with. However, if your team is following a "less-than-ideal" workflow, you may find Pivotal Tracker challenging. It does not easily allow you to modify the workflow, and the reports assume you are following those best practices.
Read Craig Comperatore's full review
Chris Barretto | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 03, 2018

The Best in Agile Project Management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tracker to manage our backlog and feature roadmap. Our whole organization uses it: product, development, and design. Design also has a their own project to manage their personal backlog. The stories are written in the way that anyone can read them without being technically too specific. An example would be:
As an Admin
When I am on the dashboard
And I click "show stats"
I should see stats within a given date range.
  • Measuring the velocity of the team. Every week there is an estimated velocity of how many points can be accomplished per week, or per sprint.
  • Managing priority of stories. Whatever is at the top of the backlog takes precedence over what's below.
  • Integration points. We use the webhooks for git and for Slack that makes the monitoring really easy.
  • Bulk adding of stories in reverse order. When you create a bunch of stories, you often do it in the order you want them done, and they inputs them in backwards. So you need to drag each one over individually in order to get the sequence that you want. This is particularly annoying for epics.
I believe Pivotal Tracker is well-suited for any project, large or small. It scales up for large companies with many users, or can cater to a single user with a personal project. On a fundamental scale, it is a great platform to just get all you ideas out on paper. Large stories can be broken down into smaller ones, and it gives good insight on what is nice-to-have vs imperative.
Read Chris Barretto's full review
Brian Dunk | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 15, 2018

Pivotal Tracker; Simple to use fantastic to see

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Pivotal tracker is being used by my graphics and technology department to track their work tasks on their day to day work. We have been able to successfully monitor and track work to ensure there are no dropped or missed items. Currently, we are looking into expanding to use this software with our support service team to track additional client work. At this moment, the difficulty in expanding this software across our entire business is the fluidity of categorizing stories to look for matches in the system.
  • Track Projects; this system allows you to create multiple projects for different large tasks. This is easily labeled and displayed for ease of use and identifying.
  • Multi-user assignment; I can assign a task to multiple team members at a time. This works well when they are working together to make a deadline and letting everyone in the team know where they are at.
  • History tracking; When it came down to auditing time, the history tracking and exporting has been a fantastic tool. We were able to export our notes into a readable Excel format for documentation submission.
  • Categorization of Stories. It would be nice to have the ability to create our own custom categories on top of the backlog, ice box and my work sections.
  • Time lines; although we can put in stars for level of difficulty; it would be more beneficial if we can add in due dates, benchmarks and time lines into the system. This would allow us to easily calculate projects and the resource allocation.
  • Reports; although we can export and review our history, it would be nice to have the ability to pull reports on progress, % of story completion, and success rate.
When working with a new team member, some of the first questions we are always asked is "What can I do next?" with the use of this tool, we have our new tech hires review pivotal for all outstanding work; assign to them what they believe they can handle and make an attempt. This has let us known what is being worked on and where difficulties and training is needed within our organization.
Read Brian Dunk's full review
Sergio Iacobucci | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2018

Great for tracking sprints and being organised

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Pivotal Tracker (PT) to track and manage our sprints. It allows us to simply place all of our work and assign it to specific engineers. One of the key things it helps us do is track the stage and age of tasks to help get a good understanding of where things are.
  • The stages a task can go through i.e. Deliver and Accept are great at helping you keep track of what is going on
  • The integration with Slack is useful so that our team is notified when specific aspects of a task changes
  • The burn down charts are not something we use, I think this feature isn't 'culturally' useful for our team since we do not work in this way
  • I would like to be able to bundle the tasks under specific releases within a sprint and not have them move around based on their status
I think PT would be great if your team religiously stuck to sprints however we are more fluid than that and so I think some of the features do not make a difference to us.

Out of all the tools I have seen I do think it is the best for managing sprints however it is not a good external facing roadmap. However, I do not think it is trying to be that.
Read Sergio Iacobucci's full review
Kyle Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2017

A streamlined approach to task management with Pivotal Tracker

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pivotal Tracker in our agency to manage client projects through user stories and epics. It's used across all teams, starting with sales and project management to organize tickets, then over to the production team to estimate and complete tickets. For our team, it makes organizing sprints much easier and able to give a high-level view of the progress being made across all client projects.
  • User story creation and management (discussions around stories)
  • User story estimations
  • Grouping stories under epics to show progress
  • Add blocking tasks or tickets to stories
  • No native desktop app - would love to see one implemented well for Mac
  • Custom estimation point system (let teams define their own units)
If you're in a team using an agile workflow, organize your work by sprints, and need a very task-oriented approach to completing work - then Pivotal Tracker should work for you.
Read Kyle Taylor's full review
Jeffrey Schneider | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2018

Fun Scrum Software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Pivotal Tracker (PT) for development of iOS, Android and web applications for our company. We work in regular sprints and each major application uses their own board for epics, icebox, stories and task management. It is maintained by our product lead.
  • Tasks are very easy to view and update. Adding descriptions, attachments and notes are very good for difficult tasks.
  • Subtasks are especially useful for our engineers as each task can be broken down into smaller steps.
  • Assigning and sharing tasks and the approval process is very good as each area QA's their specific task.
  • Prioritizing larger initiatives is very simple as they are constantly changing based on customers needs
  • I think it could use a bit more customization. It seems to want you to work in a very specific way and that does not work for all teams.
  • Approvals are great, but can use more of a QA process that can be implemented if needed.
  • Bugs are not counted as points, and sometimes we feel we are not getting a true velocity of our teams performance.
We have used JIRA in the past and switched to PT. We felt it was an easier setup and quicker learning curve for our engineers to start using immediately. We have a team of 12 devs and it is very simple to keep track of multiple teams and projects.
Read Jeffrey Schneider's full review
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2017

An intuitive and powerful task planner for software development

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Pivotal Tracker to manage development tasks and track project status. Before Pivotal Tracker, we were doing this with spreadsheets and they were becoming increasingly hard to manage. Pivotal Tracker solved this problem for us bringing our project tracking into a clear place with nice features such as epics and labels.
  • Summarize and track larger feature and project status with Epics.
  • Help easily break down projects into testable, manageable user stories.
  • Bring tasks and bugs into one structure.
  • Collaboration between multiple developers is simple.
  • Structure is very rigid, and we often found we had to force our projects to fit that structure rather than customize the tool to fit how our process was structured.
  • Tracking epic progress might not give a very accurate picture into actual remaining effort. It's possible to come close, and I don't think there's much that can be done about this because it isn't a tool for time estimation.
Pivotal Tracker is best suited for software development projects. If your process roughly fits in with how Pivotal Tracker works, I highly recommend giving it a try! If you need a very custom workflow or prefer a card-based view, another tool might be better suited for you.
Read Ben McClure's full review
Wesley Wong | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2016

Medium startup using Pivotal Tracker

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal Tracker is being used mainly by our engineering, product, and QA groups to manage the development work stream. Pivotal Tracker helps us maintain a well defined and easily understandable backlog of stories. It also becomes a place for us to track all of development past and present which then serves as the manifest of where we've been and what we are about to do.
  • Pivotal tracker is simple to use. I can easily onboard a new developer to Pivotal with a 10 minute conversation.
  • Pivotal tracker is very straight forward. It makes sense to craft the backlog in a linear fashion like Pivotal has it.
  • Tagging and email notifications are great.
  • Support for third party integrations is also a plus.
  • Deleting a story means that it is gone forever. There is no archiving.
  • [Doing a] stack of work becomes quite hairy, no great way to manage or modularize that information.
  • Mobile application could be improved for sure, Pivotal seems very built for the web. I always get the notifications but they never bring me to the relevant story within the application. Even a tool like Basecamp can do that for me.
Pivotal is great for small to medium businesses tracking for a specific functional business area. It starts to become harder to use with groups larger than 75 people and across various disciplines. We've tried syncing Pivotal Trackers for different areas of the business but it does seem better suited for an engineering and development workflow.
Read Wesley Wong's full review
Andrew Barnett | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2016

Really flexible but maybe overkill

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used to track sprint progress in our development department. It seemed to serve its basic purpose for our needs but had some limitations in how we were able to break out our stories and progress.
  • It gives you a ton of features to track and manage a team and the projects
  • Having native apps for different devices make it much easier to track your project and keep up to date with your team
  • Notifications and color coding each task is very helpful when trying to quickly the state of the project tasks
  • The board does not seem to have an intuitive flow which can become strange
  • The learning curve is a little bit high for some one who does not have a lot of experience with boards like these
  • The flexibility can be great if you need it but confusing and cumbersome if you do not need it or have not used it
It is a great tool for a highly managed large team because of the high flexibility and number of tools available. If you are managing a small team that is very effective at communicating with each other it can be overkill.
Read Andrew Barnett's full review
Roy Maultasch | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2016

Pivotal Tracker Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pivotal Tracker as a tool when building websites, applications, and mobile games for outside clients. It's used by our project managers to keep projects organized, and keep tabs on bugs and features. It's essential for QA since it allows for one streamlined process of registering, discussing, and ultimately, fixing the problem.
  • Clearly displays the status of a story, and clears up lines of communication on that front.
  • Allows for prioritization of features and bugs.
  • Allows for developers to estimate the difficulty and time needed for a story, so that project managers can adequately plan out sprints.
  • Used to have a newsfeed-type feature with all the updates from the previous day. They removed it. I liked getting a snapchat of what changed from before.
  • When signing up for email alerts, can be inundated with emails for every change to the status of a story.
  • Communication on stories through the comment section can be a little difficult, and not very organized.
I've enjoyed using Pivotal Tracker, and found it's great for QA and bug finding/fixing. When building something and implementing features, it's good at keeping track of the stories, but a lot of it's functionality isn't as useful. Overall, it's definitely a worthwhile addition to the building of many assorted projects.
Read Roy Maultasch's full review
Pablo Iván García Camou | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2016

There is no better tool at what it does.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When I worked with it, it was being used across the whole organization. It addressed the problem of keeping track of projects involving agile development.
  • The UI is very good. You can have it across multiple platforms too.
  • You can track side by side backlogs.
  • See cross project collaboration and apply agile methodologies to your projects.
  • I thought at some point that if the project got too big, everything would have become clogged. You need to have a very strict convention on how to manage it with multiple people so that this doesn't happen.
I saw that it behaved better with agile methodologies.
Read Pablo Iván García Camou's full review
Lindsey Salls | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2016

Pivotal Tracker works for all development projects!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal Tracker is being used by our web development department, QA department, product department, and software engineering team. Our account managers and data entry experts are also in the system so that they can assign stories and/or complete stories that involve CMS updates vs. development work. Pivotal Tracker helps our QA and web development teams keep track of bugs when working on new website projects. Our engineering team uses the system to prioritize feature requests for our products. The company is able to stay very organized and prioritize bugs and feature requests with Pivotal Tracker.
  • Pivotal Tracker makes it very easy to prioritize feature requests. It uses a drag and drop interface so you can easily reorder stories.
  • You can easily give each story a number of points. By doing this, Pivotal Tracker automatically calculates your project's velocity and determines how many stories you can complete each week.
  • One thing that I really love about Pivotal Tracker is that it integrates with several other softwares. We have an integration built out to Zendesk, which is used by clients to submit requests to our team. It was very simple to set up an integration between Pivotal Tracker and Zendesk. The integration eliminates several steps when having to send a ticket to Pivotal and saves our company time.
  • If all of your projects are similar, you can create project templates. After creating a new project, you just have to upload the template CSV file.
  • There isn't a simple way to view all of your assigned stories across all projects. You can set up a multi-project dashboard, but you have to add each project to the dashboard. If you have a lot of projects, it can take some time and you have to remember to add new projects when they are created.
  • There should be an easy way to move stories from one project to another.
  • There are some instances where it would be nice to have more than one story owner. It would be great to have that feature.
Pivotal Tracker is a great tool for companies who do software or web development work. Even if your company uses another project management methodology, like waterfall, Pivotal Tracker is still a great tool to use. You can easily add stories (tasks), assign them out to the appropriate party, and keep track of the project's status.

I would not recommend using Pivotal for any projects unrelated to development or software work. For example, it's way too complex for agencies who only do design work.
Read Lindsey Salls's full review
Vignesh Viswanathan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2016

Pivot to Pivotal

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal tracker was used to manage our agile sprints. Our sprints were of 1 week duration. All the stories for that sprint were estimated and were put in the "Current" queue. In addition to this, we also maintained a "Backlog" which had all the stories that had not been prioritized yet. All the new feature requests had the label "Feature" and smaller tasks like re-imaging a server were marked as "Chore". Developers started a story by clicking "Start". When they were done with the changes for a story, they clicked "Finish" and it changed to "Accept/Reject". The story was then tested by the QA team. Bugs found during testing were entered separately into pivotal tracker. Typically, we included steps to reproduce the issue and attached screenshots if applicable. We used the "Bug" story type to mark bugs. Pivotal tracker allowed the entire team consisting of product managers, developers, testers and others like marketing to collaborate on new feature requests. Questions were posted in the comments section and answers were also provided there. It made collaboration easy. As a QA, by checking which stories had "Accept/Reject", it was easy to see which stories needed QA. Overall, a great tool for Agile software development teams!
  • Easy to move a story to the appropriate person/team. The Accept/Reject was a nice feature which made it really easy to indicate the outcome of QA. When a story was "Rejected", it automatically moved to "Restart" and was picked up by the developers.
  • Collaboration was easy. Product managers could post screenshots of specs in a story. QA could post screenshots of issues that were found. The comments section was easy to read and made collaboration easy.
  • The ability to add Milestones was nice. We used this feature to track major milestones. We created a milestone and moved all stories to achieve to milestone before that and gave a date to the milestone. This made it easy to track milestones and made sure we were on track.
  • Search feature could be improved. Right now it's hard to find an old story that was completed. The search could have more options like label, milestone, date range etc., to locate old stories.
  • Brainstorming board or white board - most of the stories involve a lot of brainstorming. It would be nice to have a whiteboard where the team could brainstorm ideas and include it in the story. Right now, the team brainstorms ideas on a whiteboard, takes a picture of it and includes it in the story and sometimes people forget to do this.
  • Ability to link a story to a CI build like Jenkins. In most software development teams, a story cannot be marked complete until a CI build has passed for those changes. It would be nice to integrate Pivotal with Jenkins so that a failed build will show up in Pivotal and could even change the status of the story to an appropriate status.
It is well suited for agile software development teams and highly collaborative teams. I am not fully sure if Pivotal Tracker would work well with other software development models,
Read Vignesh Viswanathan's full review
Megan Kakitsubo | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 05, 2016

A former web developer at a startup accelerator thinks...

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my startup accelerator called rhubarb studios, I actively used Pivotal Tracker as a web developer. My team consisted of six people where four were developers including myself, one was a UX designer, and the last was our project manager. We had daily standups where the project manager would ask the team what stories can be up on deck. He would then formulate the story so the team could assign story points to them. Our project manage would further groom them and after they are ready, we would start picking them up. Pivotal Tracker was a favorite agile tool advocated by our CEO and as a result the entire company used it. Since the accelerator worked somewhat as a staffing firm where the company would assign developers to startup projects that come through our doors, multiple projects were going on at the same time where Pivotal Tracker was used. This tool was simple enough and had all the necessary functions to run each project using agile methodology. By everyone using the same tool, if a developer or a designer had to be pulled from one project to another they already knew exactly how to use the agile tools.
  • The use of columns makes it easier to see which stories belong to what place. I also like that you can customize which columns to display so that the it is easier to see what's important to you (e.g. current, backlog, icebox, my work etc.)
  • I like the colors the board used (grey, blue).
  • It is easy to upload pictures onto stories.
  • You do not have to change the page to make stories or update the descriptions. It can be done without proceeding to the next page.
  • This is good for a startup or small groups but if a bigger corporation has to use it, it is more difficult to keep all the data organized. I've seen organizations migrate their pivotal tracker data to JIRA because they are more used to handling bigger amounts of data.
It is more suited for a smaller company or a small group. it is super easy to see and track everything and I've used it for personal projects I've done with other people. It might be less appropriate for a larger company to use as I've heard JIRA is better at handling more volume of data and users.
Read Megan Kakitsubo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2017

Great all around project management tool, especially for tech companies

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our product team - dev and design - use PivotalTracker as their primary project management tool. Our QA, UI/UX, Product Management, and Engineers all coordinate on projects in PT. We use to to track product roadmaps, feature development, bug fixes and QA, and even for some recruiting and other projects. It primarily helps our product team and related teams coordinate and manage their workflow and projects.
  • Project management - helpful for tracking the overall project as well as sub-projects associated with it, thanks to Epic/Story/Mini-Epic/etc breakdown of items
  • Cross communication - each posting (story, epic, etc) allows for commenting and communication regarding the topic so all communication can be logged under the task
  • Analytics - PT shows you the speed at which project statuses change and are completed so you can track your team's efficiency.
  • I imagine some people won't care for the post-style interface and would prefer more GANTT chart style PM software, but I'd say it's a matter of preference and project reqs.
It makes sense for our business as a SAAS company with a multitude of features, bugs, clients, and stakeholders. Plus it's priced reasonably and fairly simple to use so adoption is high. I would think the product is perfect for most tech startups, most software dev firms, and probably a broad array of other dev-focused companies. Companies with a generally agile or other modern approach to project management may also find it useful even if they don't use software, although a more classic Kanban or to-do-list style program may be more useful in those cases.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2017

A great solution that has been around for a while.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal is used across our engineering department as a way for individual teams to organize the features they are working on and split them into smaller chunks, aka "stories." It's useful as a roadmap to see where we are in a project, both in showing what needs to be done and what has already been accomplished. It also ties teams together as each team has a tracker, which is transparent across the organization so everyone can see what everyone else is working on.
  • Good at allowing organization of tasks
  • The UI receives updates fairly frequently
  • The UI is dynamic, allowing some degree of customization for each user
  • Flexible system, a variety of different ways to use it
  • The UI has been buggy (maybe releasing too quickly without adequate QA).
  • There is some rigidity in the UI which limits what it could be
  • Lots of features...some which aren't particularly useful in every scenario (velocity) which could be omitted by option to make the app simpler.
In general, pivotal tracker is a good solution for agile development, if you buy into all the features that it's trying to promote (like velocity). The different labels you are able to add is good as well, allowing things to progress through states from start to delivery. However, if you are looking for a more simple, lightweight solution, there are better solutions out there.
Super fast turn around time.
Read this authenticated review

About Pivotal Tracker

Pivotal Tracker is an agile project management program primarily for software developers. The software organizes projects into “stories,” the goal being to maintain momentum within and between “sprints” of a project within an agile development style. Pivotal Tracker is built to support the Agile development cycle from the ground up, enabling mid-project analysis and feedback based on current progress and development speeds. It also provides a shared priority system so everyone on a given project has visibility on progress and team members’ statuses. It also includes file sharing, project obstacle visibility, and a REST API for customizable integrations.

Pivotal Tracker Competitors

Jira Software, Asana, Rally Software (formerly CA Agile Central)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Pivotal Tracker Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No