TrustRadius
Pivotal Tracker is a project management tool for developers.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/61/5j/HT4X58NUA72T.PNGPivotal Tracker encourages a practical, agile project management processPivotal Tracker is used daily by Moffitt's Collaborative Data Services Core, which facilitates access to clinical, tumor and biospecimen data for high-impact translational research. The CDS Core uses Pivotal Tracker as a project planning tool to form realistic expectations about when work might be completed based on the team’s ongoing performance.Other Moffitt departments also use Pivotal Tracker for bug tracking and as a shared team-level 'to-do' list.,Pivotal Tracker helps our team visualize our projects in the form of stories (virtual cards) moving through our workflow. This encourages us to break down projects into manageable chunks and have important conversations about deliverables and scope. The forced-prioritization allows our team to have a shared understanding about what is most important and make collective decisions about what our team will work on next. By dividing future iterations by our team's velocity, Pivotal Tracker accurately predicts when we will complete future work.,In-story task management is still a weak point. The ability to @mention users in tasks and mark tasks as 'in-progress' would go a long way. Epics do not span projects. This becomes troublesome when scaling Pivotal Tracker's agile methodology to multiple teams. Splitting stories is often confusing for team members as there is no concept of a 'parent' story with child stories that have split off of it. There are only two levels: Epic & Story.,10,Improved communication Accurate/realistic estimates Shared team understanding,JIRA Software, VersionOne, Trello, Microsoft Project, Team Foundation Server, Planview LeanKit and Asana,QuoteWerks, ZapierThe Best in Agile Project ManagementWe use Tracker to manage our backlog and feature roadmap. Our whole organization uses it: product, development, and design. Design also has a their own project to manage their personal backlog. The stories are written in the way that anyone can read them without being technically too specific. An example would be: As an Admin When I am on the dashboard And I click "show stats" I should see stats within a given date range.,Measuring the velocity of the team. Every week there is an estimated velocity of how many points can be accomplished per week, or per sprint. Managing priority of stories. Whatever is at the top of the backlog takes precedence over what's below. Integration points. We use the webhooks for git and for slack that makes the monitoring really easy.,Bulk adding of stories in reverse order. When you create a bunch of stories, you often do it in the order you want them done, and they inputs them in backwards. So you need to drag each one over individually in order to get the sequence that you want. This is particularly annoying for epics.,10,Everything has been positive with this product. It is easy to pick up and dive in. As far as organization and transparency, I have found no better product.,JIRA Software,GitHub, Slack, Amazon CloudFront, Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), HerokuPivotal Tracker; Simple to use fantastic to seeCurrently, Pivotal tracker is being used by my graphics and technology department to track their work tasks on their day to day work. We have been able to successfully monitor and track work to ensure there are no dropped or missed items. Currently, we are looking into expanding to use this software with our support service team to track additional client work. At this moment, the difficulty in expanding this software across our entire business is the fluidity of categorizing stories to look for matches in the system.,Track Projects; this system allows you to create multiple projects for different large tasks. This is easily labeled and displayed for ease of use and identifying. Multi-user assignment; I can assign a task to multiple team members at a time. This works well when they are working together to make a deadline and letting everyone in the team know where they are at. History tracking; When it came down to auditing time, the history tracking and exporting has been a fantastic tool. We were able to export our notes into a readable Excel format for documentation submission.,Categorization of Stories. It would be nice to have the ability to create our own custom categories on top of the backlog, ice box and my work sections. Time lines; although we can put in stars for level of difficulty; it would be more beneficial if we can add in due dates, benchmarks and time lines into the system. This would allow us to easily calculate projects and the resource allocation. Reports; although we can export and review our history, it would be nice to have the ability to pull reports on progress, % of story completion, and success rate.,8,Pivotal Tracker has been a cost-effective solution for what we need. It has allowed our ROI to be greater than if we went with another system. Learning curve; with this easy to use tool, it has been a shorter learning curve for new hires to find what they need to accomplish their task. Flexibility; we are right now stuck at 4 levels of classification; project; Story, Task, Comments. If we were able to expand on this, we would be able to role this out faster to other departments within our business.,Drupal,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Team Foundation Server, Microsoft Exchange, SysTools Lotus Notes to Office 365 Migration Tool, Microsoft Office 2016, Q9 Data Center Outsourcing, SonicWall TZ, SonicWall Web Content Filtering Services, SonicWall Email Security SoftwareGreat for tracking sprints and being organisedWe have been using Pivotal Tracker (PT) to track and manage our sprints. It allows us to simply place all of our work and assign it to specific engineers. One of the key things it helps us do is track the stage and age of tasks to help get a good understanding of where things are.,The stages a task can go through i.e. Deliver and Accept are great at helping you keep track of what is going on The integration with Slack is useful so that our team is notified when specific aspects of a task changes,The burn down charts are not something we use, I think this feature isn't 'culturally' useful for our team since we do not work in this way I would like to be able to bundle the tasks under specific releases within a sprint and not have them move around based on their status,8,It has kept us more organised and gives us a central place to reference sprints,Asana and Trello,Asana, TrelloA streamlined approach to task management with Pivotal TrackerWe use Pivotal Tracker in our agency to manage client projects through user stories and epics. It's used across all teams, starting with sales and project management to organize tickets, then over to the production team to estimate and complete tickets. For our team, it makes organizing sprints much easier and able to give a high-level view of the progress being made across all client projects.,User story creation and management (discussions around stories) User story estimations Grouping stories under epics to show progress Add blocking tasks or tickets to stories,No native desktop app - would love to see one implemented well for Mac Custom estimation point system (let teams define their own units),8,Pivotal Tracker has definitely improved our billable numbers by making tasks easier to manage.,Asana, Trello, Waffle.io, BugHerd and JIRA Software,Drupal, Sequel Pro, Slack
Unspecified
Pivotal Tracker
54 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Pivotal Tracker Reviews

Pivotal Tracker
54 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 54 vetted Pivotal Tracker reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-22 of 22)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Craig Comperatore profile photo
August 02, 2018

Review: "Pivotal Tracker encourages a practical, agile project management process"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pivotal Tracker is used daily by Moffitt's Collaborative Data Services Core, which facilitates access to clinical, tumor and biospecimen data for high-impact translational research. The CDS Core uses Pivotal Tracker as a project planning tool to form realistic expectations about when work might be completed based on the team’s ongoing performance.

Other Moffitt departments also use Pivotal Tracker for bug tracking and as a shared team-level 'to-do' list.

  • Pivotal Tracker helps our team visualize our projects in the form of stories (virtual cards) moving through our workflow. This encourages us to break down projects into manageable chunks and have important conversations about deliverables and scope.
  • The forced-prioritization allows our team to have a shared understanding about what is most important and make collective decisions about what our team will work on next.
  • By dividing future iterations by our team's velocity, Pivotal Tracker accurately predicts when we will complete future work.
  • In-story task management is still a weak point. The ability to @mention users in tasks and mark tasks as 'in-progress' would go a long way.
  • Epics do not span projects. This becomes troublesome when scaling Pivotal Tracker's agile methodology to multiple teams.
  • Splitting stories is often confusing for team members as there is no concept of a 'parent' story with child stories that have split off of it. There are only two levels: Epic & Story.
Pivotal Tracker is based on the XP (eXtreme Programming) philosophy & best practices. If your team is following this methodology, or working towards those best practices, Pivotal Tracker is a dream to work with. However, if your team is following a "less-than-ideal" workflow, you may find Pivotal Tracker challenging. It does not easily allow you to modify the workflow, and the reports assume you are following those best practices.
Read Craig Comperatore's full review
Chris Barretto profile photo
August 03, 2018

Pivotal Tracker Review: "The Best in Agile Project Management"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tracker to manage our backlog and feature roadmap. Our whole organization uses it: product, development, and design. Design also has a their own project to manage their personal backlog. The stories are written in the way that anyone can read them without being technically too specific. An example would be:
As an Admin
When I am on the dashboard
And I click "show stats"
I should see stats within a given date range.
  • Measuring the velocity of the team. Every week there is an estimated velocity of how many points can be accomplished per week, or per sprint.
  • Managing priority of stories. Whatever is at the top of the backlog takes precedence over what's below.
  • Integration points. We use the webhooks for git and for Slack that makes the monitoring really easy.
  • Bulk adding of stories in reverse order. When you create a bunch of stories, you often do it in the order you want them done, and they inputs them in backwards. So you need to drag each one over individually in order to get the sequence that you want. This is particularly annoying for epics.
I believe Pivotal Tracker is well-suited for any project, large or small. It scales up for large companies with many users, or can cater to a single user with a personal project. On a fundamental scale, it is a great platform to just get all you ideas out on paper. Large stories can be broken down into smaller ones, and it gives good insight on what is nice-to-have vs imperative.
Read Chris Barretto's full review
Brian Dunk profile photo
March 15, 2018

Review: "Pivotal Tracker; Simple to use fantastic to see"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, Pivotal tracker is being used by my graphics and technology department to track their work tasks on their day to day work. We have been able to successfully monitor and track work to ensure there are no dropped or missed items. Currently, we are looking into expanding to use this software with our support service team to track additional client work. At this moment, the difficulty in expanding this software across our entire business is the fluidity of categorizing stories to look for matches in the system.
  • Track Projects; this system allows you to create multiple projects for different large tasks. This is easily labeled and displayed for ease of use and identifying.
  • Multi-user assignment; I can assign a task to multiple team members at a time. This works well when they are working together to make a deadline and letting everyone in the team know where they are at.
  • History tracking; When it came down to auditing time, the history tracking and exporting has been a fantastic tool. We were able to export our notes into a readable Excel format for documentation submission.
  • Categorization of Stories. It would be nice to have the ability to create our own custom categories on top of the backlog, ice box and my work sections.
  • Time lines; although we can put in stars for level of difficulty; it would be more beneficial if we can add in due dates, benchmarks and time lines into the system. This would allow us to easily calculate projects and the resource allocation.
  • Reports; although we can export and review our history, it would be nice to have the ability to pull reports on progress, % of story completion, and success rate.
When working with a new team member, some of the first questions we are always asked is "What can I do next?" with the use of this tool, we have our new tech hires review pivotal for all outstanding work; assign to them what they believe they can handle and make an attempt. This has let us known what is being worked on and where difficulties and training is needed within our organization.
Read Brian Dunk's full review
Sergio Iacobucci profile photo
May 17, 2018

Pivotal Tracker Review: "Great for tracking sprints and being organised"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Pivotal Tracker (PT) to track and manage our sprints. It allows us to simply place all of our work and assign it to specific engineers. One of the key things it helps us do is track the stage and age of tasks to help get a good understanding of where things are.
  • The stages a task can go through i.e. Deliver and Accept are great at helping you keep track of what is going on
  • The integration with Slack is useful so that our team is notified when specific aspects of a task changes
  • The burn down charts are not something we use, I think this feature isn't 'culturally' useful for our team since we do not work in this way
  • I would like to be able to bundle the tasks under specific releases within a sprint and not have them move around based on their status
I think PT would be great if your team religiously stuck to sprints however we are more fluid than that and so I think some of the features do not make a difference to us.

Out of all the tools I have seen I do think it is the best for managing sprints however it is not a good external facing roadmap. However, I do not think it is trying to be that.
Read Sergio Iacobucci's full review
Kyle Taylor profile photo
December 14, 2017

Review: "A streamlined approach to task management with Pivotal Tracker"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pivotal Tracker in our agency to manage client projects through user stories and epics. It's used across all teams, starting with sales and project management to organize tickets, then over to the production team to estimate and complete tickets. For our team, it makes organizing sprints much easier and able to give a high-level view of the progress being made across all client projects.
  • User story creation and management (discussions around stories)
  • User story estimations
  • Grouping stories under epics to show progress
  • Add blocking tasks or tickets to stories
  • No native desktop app - would love to see one implemented well for Mac
  • Custom estimation point system (let teams define their own units)
If you're in a team using an agile workflow, organize your work by sprints, and need a very task-oriented approach to completing work - then Pivotal Tracker should work for you.
Read Kyle Taylor's full review
Jeffrey Schneider profile photo
January 17, 2018

Pivotal Tracker Review: "Fun Scrum Software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Pivotal Tracker (PT) for development of iOS, Android and web applications for our company. We work in regular sprints and each major application uses their own board for epics, icebox, stories and task management. It is maintained by our product lead.
  • Tasks are very easy to view and update. Adding descriptions, attachments and notes are very good for difficult tasks.
  • Subtasks are especially useful for our engineers as each task can be broken down into smaller steps.
  • Assigning and sharing tasks and the approval process is very good as each area QA's their specific task.
  • Prioritizing larger initiatives is very simple as they are constantly changing based on customers needs
  • I think it could use a bit more customization. It seems to want you to work in a very specific way and that does not work for all teams.
  • Approvals are great, but can use more of a QA process that can be implemented if needed.
  • Bugs are not counted as points, and sometimes we feel we are not getting a true velocity of our teams performance.
We have used JIRA in the past and switched to PT. We felt it was an easier setup and quicker learning curve for our engineers to start using immediately. We have a team of 12 devs and it is very simple to keep track of multiple teams and projects.
Read Jeffrey Schneider's full review
Ben McClure profile photo
December 14, 2017

Pivotal Tracker Review: "An intuitive and powerful task planner for software development"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization uses Pivotal Tracker to manage development tasks and track project status. Before Pivotal Tracker, we were doing this with spreadsheets and they were becoming increasingly hard to manage. Pivotal Tracker solved this problem for us bringing our project tracking into a clear place with nice features such as epics and labels.
  • Summarize and track larger feature and project status with Epics.
  • Help easily break down projects into testable, manageable user stories.
  • Bring tasks and bugs into one structure.
  • Collaboration between multiple developers is simple.
  • Structure is very rigid, and we often found we had to force our projects to fit that structure rather than customize the tool to fit how our process was structured.
  • Tracking epic progress might not give a very accurate picture into actual remaining effort. It's possible to come close, and I don't think there's much that can be done about this because it isn't a tool for time estimation.
Pivotal Tracker is best suited for software development projects. If your process roughly fits in with how Pivotal Tracker works, I highly recommend giving it a try! If you need a very custom workflow or prefer a card-based view, another tool might be better suited for you.
Read Ben McClure's full review
No photo available
August 30, 2017

Pivotal Tracker Review: "Great all around project management tool, especially for tech companies"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our product team - dev and design - use PivotalTracker as their primary project management tool. Our QA, UI/UX, Product Management, and Engineers all coordinate on projects in PT. We use to to track product roadmaps, feature development, bug fixes and QA, and even for some recruiting and other projects. It primarily helps our product team and related teams coordinate and manage their workflow and projects.
  • Project management - helpful for tracking the overall project as well as sub-projects associated with it, thanks to Epic/Story/Mini-Epic/etc breakdown of items
  • Cross communication - each posting (story, epic, etc) allows for commenting and communication regarding the topic so all communication can be logged under the task
  • Analytics - PT shows you the speed at which project statuses change and are completed so you can track your team's efficiency.
  • I imagine some people won't care for the post-style interface and would prefer more GANTT chart style PM software, but I'd say it's a matter of preference and project reqs.
It makes sense for our business as a SAAS company with a multitude of features, bugs, clients, and stakeholders. Plus it's priced reasonably and fairly simple to use so adoption is high. I would think the product is perfect for most tech startups, most software dev firms, and probably a broad array of other dev-focused companies. Companies with a generally agile or other modern approach to project management may also find it useful even if they don't use software, although a more classic Kanban or to-do-list style program may be more useful in those cases.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 07, 2017

Pivotal Tracker Review: "A great solution that has been around for a while."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal is used across our engineering department as a way for individual teams to organize the features they are working on and split them into smaller chunks, aka "stories." It's useful as a roadmap to see where we are in a project, both in showing what needs to be done and what has already been accomplished. It also ties teams together as each team has a tracker, which is transparent across the organization so everyone can see what everyone else is working on.
  • Good at allowing organization of tasks
  • The UI receives updates fairly frequently
  • The UI is dynamic, allowing some degree of customization for each user
  • Flexible system, a variety of different ways to use it
  • The UI has been buggy (maybe releasing too quickly without adequate QA).
  • There is some rigidity in the UI which limits what it could be
  • Lots of features...some which aren't particularly useful in every scenario (velocity) which could be omitted by option to make the app simpler.
In general, pivotal tracker is a good solution for agile development, if you buy into all the features that it's trying to promote (like velocity). The different labels you are able to add is good as well, allowing things to progress through states from start to delivery. However, if you are looking for a more simple, lightweight solution, there are better solutions out there.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 13, 2016

Pivotal Tracker Review: "A tool that encourages good development practices"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization, for software development, IT tasks, managing clinical research studies, and even for managing administrative work.
  • It's simple to use, which makes it really easy for managers and users outside software development and technology teams to participate.
  • It requires virtually zero configuration, aside from inviting new users. I used to spend hours managing complex workflows with other products, but not any more.
  • It encourages teams to follow a sound Agile process.
  • The UI is beautiful, which sounds trivial, but I have it open all the time, so it's nice.
  • The biggest strength of Pivotal Tracker is also its biggest weakness -- lack of configurability. The simplicity of administration means you can't create a bunch of complicated, custom workflows. But in my experience, you're better off not doing that anyway. Unless you want to spend a bunch of time managing complicated, custom workflows.
  • The burndown chart recently moved off of the main page of a project and into its own Analytics tab with a bunch of new reports. That's cool for scrum masters and project managers, but it means the team is not looking at the burndown on a regular basis. I wish they'd bring the burndown back to the main page, in addition to deeper reports for manager-types.
It's perfect for agile software development. It's also a great tool for teams outside of software development who want to share work and manage priorities in a transparent, nimble way.
Read this authenticated review
Wesley Wong profile photo
August 17, 2016

User Review: "Medium startup using Pivotal Tracker"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal Tracker is being used mainly by our engineering, product, and QA groups to manage the development work stream. Pivotal Tracker helps us maintain a well defined and easily understandable backlog of stories. It also becomes a place for us to track all of development past and present which then serves as the manifest of where we've been and what we are about to do.
  • Pivotal tracker is simple to use. I can easily onboard a new developer to Pivotal with a 10 minute conversation.
  • Pivotal tracker is very straight forward. It makes sense to craft the backlog in a linear fashion like Pivotal has it.
  • Tagging and email notifications are great.
  • Support for third party integrations is also a plus.
  • Deleting a story means that it is gone forever. There is no archiving.
  • [Doing a] stack of work becomes quite hairy, no great way to manage or modularize that information.
  • Mobile application could be improved for sure, Pivotal seems very built for the web. I always get the notifications but they never bring me to the relevant story within the application. Even a tool like Basecamp can do that for me.
Pivotal is great for small to medium businesses tracking for a specific functional business area. It starts to become harder to use with groups larger than 75 people and across various disciplines. We've tried syncing Pivotal Trackers for different areas of the business but it does seem better suited for an engineering and development workflow.
Read Wesley Wong's full review
Andrew Barnett profile photo
August 05, 2016

Pivotal Tracker Review: "Really flexible but maybe overkill"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used to track sprint progress in our development department. It seemed to serve its basic purpose for our needs but had some limitations in how we were able to break out our stories and progress.
  • It gives you a ton of features to track and manage a team and the projects
  • Having native apps for different devices make it much easier to track your project and keep up to date with your team
  • Notifications and color coding each task is very helpful when trying to quickly the state of the project tasks
  • The board does not seem to have an intuitive flow which can become strange
  • The learning curve is a little bit high for some one who does not have a lot of experience with boards like these
  • The flexibility can be great if you need it but confusing and cumbersome if you do not need it or have not used it
It is a great tool for a highly managed large team because of the high flexibility and number of tools available. If you are managing a small team that is very effective at communicating with each other it can be overkill.
Read Andrew Barnett's full review
Roy Maultasch profile photo
January 11, 2016

"Pivotal Tracker Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Pivotal Tracker as a tool when building websites, applications, and mobile games for outside clients. It's used by our project managers to keep projects organized, and keep tabs on bugs and features. It's essential for QA since it allows for one streamlined process of registering, discussing, and ultimately, fixing the problem.
  • Clearly displays the status of a story, and clears up lines of communication on that front.
  • Allows for prioritization of features and bugs.
  • Allows for developers to estimate the difficulty and time needed for a story, so that project managers can adequately plan out sprints.
  • Used to have a newsfeed-type feature with all the updates from the previous day. They removed it. I liked getting a snapchat of what changed from before.
  • When signing up for email alerts, can be inundated with emails for every change to the status of a story.
  • Communication on stories through the comment section can be a little difficult, and not very organized.
I've enjoyed using Pivotal Tracker, and found it's great for QA and bug finding/fixing. When building something and implementing features, it's good at keeping track of the stories, but a lot of it's functionality isn't as useful. Overall, it's definitely a worthwhile addition to the building of many assorted projects.
Read Roy Maultasch's full review
Pablo Iván García Camou profile photo
January 18, 2016

Pivotal Tracker Review: "There is no better tool at what it does."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
When I worked with it, it was being used across the whole organization. It addressed the problem of keeping track of projects involving agile development.
  • The UI is very good. You can have it across multiple platforms too.
  • You can track side by side backlogs.
  • See cross project collaboration and apply agile methodologies to your projects.
  • I thought at some point that if the project got too big, everything would have become clogged. You need to have a very strict convention on how to manage it with multiple people so that this doesn't happen.
I saw that it behaved better with agile methodologies.
Read Pablo Iván García Camou's full review
Lindsey Salls profile photo
January 08, 2016

Review: "Pivotal Tracker works for all development projects!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal Tracker is being used by our web development department, QA department, product department, and software engineering team. Our account managers and data entry experts are also in the system so that they can assign stories and/or complete stories that involve CMS updates vs. development work. Pivotal Tracker helps our QA and web development teams keep track of bugs when working on new website projects. Our engineering team uses the system to prioritize feature requests for our products. The company is able to stay very organized and prioritize bugs and feature requests with Pivotal Tracker.
  • Pivotal Tracker makes it very easy to prioritize feature requests. It uses a drag and drop interface so you can easily reorder stories.
  • You can easily give each story a number of points. By doing this, Pivotal Tracker automatically calculates your project's velocity and determines how many stories you can complete each week.
  • One thing that I really love about Pivotal Tracker is that it integrates with several other softwares. We have an integration built out to Zendesk, which is used by clients to submit requests to our team. It was very simple to set up an integration between Pivotal Tracker and Zendesk. The integration eliminates several steps when having to send a ticket to Pivotal and saves our company time.
  • If all of your projects are similar, you can create project templates. After creating a new project, you just have to upload the template CSV file.
  • There isn't a simple way to view all of your assigned stories across all projects. You can set up a multi-project dashboard, but you have to add each project to the dashboard. If you have a lot of projects, it can take some time and you have to remember to add new projects when they are created.
  • There should be an easy way to move stories from one project to another.
  • There are some instances where it would be nice to have more than one story owner. It would be great to have that feature.
Pivotal Tracker is a great tool for companies who do software or web development work. Even if your company uses another project management methodology, like waterfall, Pivotal Tracker is still a great tool to use. You can easily add stories (tasks), assign them out to the appropriate party, and keep track of the project's status.

I would not recommend using Pivotal for any projects unrelated to development or software work. For example, it's way too complex for agencies who only do design work.
Read Lindsey Salls's full review
Vignesh Viswanathan profile photo
January 08, 2016

Pivotal Tracker Review: "Pivot to Pivotal"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal tracker was used to manage our agile sprints. Our sprints were of 1 week duration. All the stories for that sprint were estimated and were put in the "Current" queue. In addition to this, we also maintained a "Backlog" which had all the stories that had not been prioritized yet. All the new feature requests had the label "Feature" and smaller tasks like re-imaging a server were marked as "Chore". Developers started a story by clicking "Start". When they were done with the changes for a story, they clicked "Finish" and it changed to "Accept/Reject". The story was then tested by the QA team. Bugs found during testing were entered separately into pivotal tracker. Typically, we included steps to reproduce the issue and attached screenshots if applicable. We used the "Bug" story type to mark bugs. Pivotal tracker allowed the entire team consisting of product managers, developers, testers and others like marketing to collaborate on new feature requests. Questions were posted in the comments section and answers were also provided there. It made collaboration easy. As a QA, by checking which stories had "Accept/Reject", it was easy to see which stories needed QA. Overall, a great tool for Agile software development teams!
  • Easy to move a story to the appropriate person/team. The Accept/Reject was a nice feature which made it really easy to indicate the outcome of QA. When a story was "Rejected", it automatically moved to "Restart" and was picked up by the developers.
  • Collaboration was easy. Product managers could post screenshots of specs in a story. QA could post screenshots of issues that were found. The comments section was easy to read and made collaboration easy.
  • The ability to add Milestones was nice. We used this feature to track major milestones. We created a milestone and moved all stories to achieve to milestone before that and gave a date to the milestone. This made it easy to track milestones and made sure we were on track.
  • Search feature could be improved. Right now it's hard to find an old story that was completed. The search could have more options like label, milestone, date range etc., to locate old stories.
  • Brainstorming board or white board - most of the stories involve a lot of brainstorming. It would be nice to have a whiteboard where the team could brainstorm ideas and include it in the story. Right now, the team brainstorms ideas on a whiteboard, takes a picture of it and includes it in the story and sometimes people forget to do this.
  • Ability to link a story to a CI build like Jenkins. In most software development teams, a story cannot be marked complete until a CI build has passed for those changes. It would be nice to integrate Pivotal with Jenkins so that a failed build will show up in Pivotal and could even change the status of the story to an appropriate status.
It is well suited for agile software development teams and highly collaborative teams. I am not fully sure if Pivotal Tracker would work well with other software development models,
Read Vignesh Viswanathan's full review
Megan Kakitsubo profile photo
January 05, 2016

Pivotal Tracker Review: "A former web developer at a startup accelerator thinks..."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my startup accelerator called rhubarb studios, I actively used Pivotal Tracker as a web developer. My team consisted of six people where four were developers including myself, one was a UX designer, and the last was our project manager. We had daily standups where the project manager would ask the team what stories can be up on deck. He would then formulate the story so the team could assign story points to them. Our project manage would further groom them and after they are ready, we would start picking them up. Pivotal Tracker was a favorite agile tool advocated by our CEO and as a result the entire company used it. Since the accelerator worked somewhat as a staffing firm where the company would assign developers to startup projects that come through our doors, multiple projects were going on at the same time where Pivotal Tracker was used. This tool was simple enough and had all the necessary functions to run each project using agile methodology. By everyone using the same tool, if a developer or a designer had to be pulled from one project to another they already knew exactly how to use the agile tools.
  • The use of columns makes it easier to see which stories belong to what place. I also like that you can customize which columns to display so that the it is easier to see what's important to you (e.g. current, backlog, icebox, my work etc.)
  • I like the colors the board used (grey, blue).
  • It is easy to upload pictures onto stories.
  • You do not have to change the page to make stories or update the descriptions. It can be done without proceeding to the next page.
  • This is good for a startup or small groups but if a bigger corporation has to use it, it is more difficult to keep all the data organized. I've seen organizations migrate their pivotal tracker data to JIRA because they are more used to handling bigger amounts of data.
It is more suited for a smaller company or a small group. it is super easy to see and track everything and I've used it for personal projects I've done with other people. It might be less appropriate for a larger company to use as I've heard JIRA is better at handling more volume of data and users.
Read Megan Kakitsubo's full review
No photo available
August 11, 2016

User Review: "The ease of using Pivotal Tracker"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilized Pivotal Tracker as part of tracking for our engineering team and utilized it for the Marketing team. Pivotal was an easy solution. It's simple enough for us as the size of the company I worked for that required a tool that was easy and got the job done. We needed a tool to track our tasks and provide visibility for the rest of the organization. This was important as some of our stakeholders had not used Pivotal Tracker before, but it was simple enough to where we didn't have to explain how to use it. It's pretty self explanatory.
  • Easy to create tasks/stories - not a lot of required fields, or fields that we don't generally need to fill out.
  • Simple UI. Unlike other tools I've used in the past, Pivotal Tracker has a cleaner UI making it relatively simple to find something you're looking for.
  • Predicting dates based on estimates - this is useful for stakeholders who generally ask "how far along are we, what is the remaining time."
  • Not enough reporting capabilities
  • Mobile app isn't as user friendly. Seems like they haven't solved for the mobile experience yet.
Pivotal Tracker is a perfect tool for an organization of about 50-100 people. It's simple and easy to understand. However, when working for larger organizations, I found other tools to be more useful, especially in terms of reporting, which is something that our stakeholders are more interested in seeing - numbers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 03, 2016

User Review: "Pivotal Tracker — a great agile tool."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal tracker was used by the entire organization. Engineering and Product used it to track requirements, bugs, and progress.
Design and Strategy also used it to track milestones on their projects.
Marketing and other non-project departments used it to track quarterly goals, although this was short-lived since it didn't help.
  • Tracking requirements and monitoring them in one view makes it a nice Product Management tool.
  • The fact it works out your velocity and shows the amount of stories that can be completed in a sprint makes it a nice Project Management tool.
  • It gives metrics that Project Management and managers may find useful.
  • They have an API that enables you to get real-time project data
  • The ability to create your own charts, or anything related to business intelligence, rather than just the out-the-box ones.
  • If a resource is working on multiple projects, it would be nice to see their work in one view.
Pivotal tracker is well suited for any agile organization that has multiple projects, and a need to view progress on them. However, it is only suited for a company that estimates stories, since otherwise it is just a basic requirement tracking tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 29, 2016

"Pivotal Tracker Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Engineering and Product teams use this tool. We use it to track releases, new features, builds, and bugs. Product writes stories in tracker, stories are attached to epics and designs are attached to epics, stories are pointed with the engineering team, assigned and delivered. It helps us track our product lifecycle.
  • Easy interface that aligns with writing stories and assigning them to epics and team members
  • Tag feature allows for easy filtering of stories
  • Tracking feature allows PMs to know when stories are being worked on and delivered
  • Icebox and backlog functionality allow you to move stories around when they are ready to be worked on
  • Would like to be able to move stories around in a filter view and not just in backlog
  • Autosync and refresh of updates would be nice
Good for tracking product builds and releases. Good at tracking bugs and fixes. Less useful for tracking design or the product lifecycle of tasks from ideation to spec to design to build. Only good at the build portion. Not helpful with timelining.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 27, 2016

Pivotal Tracker Review: "The gold standard for small-medium dev teams"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal Tracker is the backbone of our software development workflow. We use it to capture new ideas, organize tasks ahead of milestones, and focus on what needs to be done to reach our goals.
  • Simple, focused workflow that has all the features we need, and nothing more.
  • The ability to group tasks by epics allows us to have multiple focuses at once, not just a single "backlog."
  • Setting weekly markers has drastically increased our focus, as it helps us visualize the affect of adding new work to our existing plans.
  • It would be nice to have the ability to add custom steps to the workflow like JIRA.
  • It's sometimes hard to fit our workflows into the steps that PT requires.
  • Better Slack integration would be nice!
It's the PERFECT solution for development teams no larger than ten or so members. I've used a lot of different issue trackers/project management tools, and nothing comes close to PT.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 05, 2016

User Review: "Pivotal Tracker is a great Agile tool!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pivotal Tracker is being used to manage software development projects for our clients. We manage web, mobile, and special projects in Pivotal Tracker. The problems that this addresses is where are we in the development process. If you are following an agile process you still need to be able to report metrics to your senior management and your clients on where you are in the process. We use Pivotal to track user stories (features) and bugs and also scope of work.
  • Extremely easy to pick up. I have used many different traditional and agile systems and this was the easiest to pick up by the teams I have used it with.
  • Tagging structure is great. Rather than strict hierarchies, Pivotal Tracker allows your teams to create a group of tags and use multiple tags with one story or bug.
  • Powerful searching. Pivotal Tracker's search is definitely a huge strength. It allows you to search by date, words, authors, owners, and tags.
  • Visual Design. This is directly related to the first item but it bears breaking it out as a separate item. This is a well thought out application.
  • If you are looking for configurability, this application would not excel there. You can add users and tags.
  • As a web application, you are at the mercy of your Internet provider.
  • There are no built-in or user-created workflows. You have to assign items to the next person yourself.
If you are just starting with agile, then Pivotal Tracker is perfect. It contains everything you need to begin your process. You could stick with Pivotal Tracker forever if it suits your needs. If you or your organization desires a highly configurable platform with defined workflows, this would be a terrible product. It is what you get out of the box.
Read this authenticated review

About Pivotal Tracker

Pivotal Tracker is a project management tool for developers.

Pivotal Tracker Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Pivotal Tracker Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No