Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Planful

Planful

Overview

What is Planful?

Planful is a cloud-based enterprise performance management (EPM) suite. It includes financial applications for modeling, planning, consolidation, reporting and analytics.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Planful Review 2024

9 out of 10
May 21, 2024
Incentivized
We used it for planning and reporting.
Planful effectively addressed the Workforce planning, opex planning and management reporting at …
Continue reading

Planful is amazing!

10 out of 10
May 20, 2024
Incentivized
We use Planful for workforce planning, reporting, budgeting and forecasting. The biggest challenge we had when we started using Planful …
Continue reading

Planful is NOT painful

10 out of 10
December 13, 2023
Planful is currently used by our Technology Group, an overhead department in the company. Additionally, Kiewit Business Services, another …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 45 features
  • Financial budgeting (108)
    8.1
    81%
  • Forecasting (101)
    7.8
    78%
  • Management Reporting (102)
    7.8
    78%
  • Management reporting (105)
    7.7
    77%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Planful?

Planful is a cloud-based enterprise performance management (EPM) suite. It includes financial applications for modeling, planning, consolidation, reporting and analytics.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

114 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Kepion Planning?

Kepion is a cloud planning & analytics software company that connects all organizations' teams under a single view of their business performance. We enable more intelligent decisions to be made by companies about their financial and operational future. Kepion global offices and partners deliver…

What is Spoom?

Spoom (formerly Analyza) is a business intelligence solution that is provided by Spoom Software (formerly PIT Business). The vendor provides support services in Luxembourg, Belgium, France, and other parts of Europe. Spoom allows users to: Build several indicators and dashboardsBuild ad-hoc…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

SaaS Revenue Forecasting and Analysis

planful.com

ESG Performance and Initiatives Management

planful.com

Financial Consolidation

planful.com

Planning, Budgeting & Forecasting

planful.com

Anomaly Detection & Predictive Forecasting

planful.com
Return to navigation

Features

BI Standard Reporting

Standard reporting means pre-built or canned reports available to users without having to create them.

6.4
Avg 7.9

Ad-hoc Reporting

Ad-Hoc Reports are reports built by the user to meet highly specific requirements.

7.2
Avg 8.2

Report Output and Scheduling

Ability to schedule and manager report output.

6.5
Avg 8.1

Data Discovery and Visualization

Data Discovery and Visualization is the analysis of multiple data sources in a search for patterns and outliers and the ability to represent the data visually.

6.3
Avg 7.6

Access Control and Security

Access control means being able to determine who has access to which data.

8.5
Avg 8.7

Mobile Capabilities

Support for mobile devices like smartphones and tablets.

7.2
Avg 8.0

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting

These activities are designed to assist with both data-driven operational, short-term planning and strategic long term planning

7.8
Avg 8.3

Consolidation and Close

Consolidation of data from multiple entities with currency management, reporting and audit trails.

6.4
Avg 8.0

Financial Reporting and Compliance

Financial statements and regulatory filings

7.2
Avg 8.2

Analytics and Reporting

Dashboards and scorecards for KPI monitoring and benchmarking

5.9
Avg 8.0

Integration

Ability to integrate with external applications.

6.7
Avg 8.3
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Planful?

Planful offers end-to-end financial close, consolidation, and financial planning & analysis (FP&A) cloud software. The Planful platform is used by the Office of the CFO around the globe to streamline business-wide planning, budgeting, consolidations, reporting, and visual analytics. The vendor states Planful's more than 1,000 customers, including Boston Red Sox, Del Monte, TGI Friday’s, and 23andMe, rely on Planful to accelerate cycle times, increase productivity, and improve accuracy across the end-to-end FP&A process. Planful is a private company backed by Vector Capital, a global private equity firm. Learn more at www.planful.com.

STRUCTURED PLANNING Structured Planning with Planful automates labor-intensive planning activities in a cloud-based platform – to give the finance team control, consistency, and confidence in corporate financial plans, budgets, and forecasts.

DYNAMIC PLANNING Dynamic Planning with Planful enables flexible, high-frequency, data-driven planning, modeling, and decision-making so users in every corner of the organization can analyze, plan, and make confident decisions at the speed of business.

FINANCIAL CLOSE & CONSOLIDATION Financial Close & Consolidation with Planful empowers finance to accelerate month-end close and reporting cycles by automating data aggregation, journal entries, intercompany eliminations, minority interest, entity consolidation, currency conversion, and financial reporting.

FINANCIAL REPORTING Reporting with Planful provides a library of reporting formats and delivery options, enabling finance and business users to produce a wide range of interactive financial and management reports leveraging one source of truth.

WORKFORCE PLANNING Planful helps users to tackle workforce planning using accurate and current data from across the business. By simplifying and automating time-consuming tasks and building alignment across departments, users have more time to create a stronger people strategy.

PLANFUL FOR MARKETING Planful’s marketing solution, formerly known as Plannuh, is used to measure marketing at every level of the plan for full visibility and team efficiency. To protect the marketing budget, Planful for Marketing helps marketers build, measure, execute and improve with clarity.

Planful Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features

  • Supported: Long-term financial planning
  • Supported: Financial budgeting
  • Supported: Forecasting
  • Supported: Scenario modeling
  • Supported: Management reporting

Consolidation and Close Features

  • Supported: Financial data consolidation
  • Supported: Journal entries and reports
  • Supported: Multi-currency management
  • Supported: Intercompany Eliminations
  • Supported: Minority Ownership
  • Supported: Local and consolidated reporting
  • Supported: Detailed Audit Trails

Financial Reporting and Compliance Features

  • Supported: Financial Statement Reporting
  • Supported: Management Reporting
  • Supported: Excel-based Reporting
  • Supported: Automated board and financial reporting

Analytics and Reporting Features

  • Supported: Personalized dashboards
  • Supported: Color-coded scorecards
  • Supported: KPIs
  • Supported: Cost and profitability analysis
  • Supported: Key Performance Indicator setting

Integration Features

  • Supported: Flat file integration
  • Supported: Excel data integration
  • Supported: Direct links to 3rd-party data sources

BI Standard Reporting Features

  • Supported: Pixel Perfect reports
  • Supported: Customizable dashboards
  • Supported: Report Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

  • Supported: Drill-down analysis
  • Supported: Formatting capabilities
  • Supported: Predictive modeling
  • Supported: Report sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

  • Supported: Publish to Web
  • Supported: Publish to PDF
  • Supported: Report Versioning
  • Supported: Report Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

  • Supported: Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
  • Supported: Predictive Analytics

Access Control and Security Features

  • Supported: Multi-User Support (named login)
  • Supported: Role-Based Security Model
  • Supported: Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
  • Supported: Report-Level Access Control
  • Supported: Single Sign-On (SSO)

Mobile Capabilities Features

  • Supported: Responsive Design for Web Access
  • Supported: Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Planful Screenshots

Screenshot of the Planful Planform DashboardScreenshot of Planful for FinanceScreenshot of Planful for MarketingScreenshot of ReportsScreenshot of a Capacity Planning TemplateScreenshot of Integrations

Planful Videos

Planful Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesWe have customers in 90 countries
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Planful is a cloud-based enterprise performance management (EPM) suite. It includes financial applications for modeling, planning, consolidation, reporting and analytics.

Workday Adaptive Planning, Anaplan, and Oracle Hyperion are common alternatives for Planful.

Reviewers rate Single Sign-On (SSO) highest, with a score of 9.1.

The most common users of Planful are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).

Planful Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)25%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)65%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(206)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 28)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Jennie Rush | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Prior to Planful we used a custom-built tool with an excel interface called Projects Utility. It was very painful because when multiple money managers were in it at the same time, it would bog down the program. To get new financials to populate, it would take 20 minutes or more of spinning for the data to process. We relied on this tool and spreadsheets out of SAP (our ERP system) to manage our financials. There were so many side spreadsheets. Now everything is available at the click of our mouse.
December 13, 2023

Planful is NOT painful

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have automated reports we use weekly, bi-weekly, and monthly. We do not use Planful it is the truest and fullest ability for financial planning holistically for income statements, balance sheets, etc. as we are an Overhead department. We also use Planful for all Workforce planning in structured planning. This has helped us tremendously and allows us to budget and forecast using actual payroll numbers.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Utilize report collectors (automatic report distribution) to any employee in organization (user or non-user), easily roll monthly forecasts to next financial period, create various reports for all levels of organization. Create a common platform for those responsible with budgets and forecast to submit financial information. Planful has the ability to track user changes by scenario and by account for each budget entity.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Operational reporting is now just a single click, since the reports will automatically generate and be distributed once the books are closed. We can directly interface with external data sources to automatically refresh data nightly. We have also replicated the formulas used to generate our costs, and refresh the data nightly to validate the next day's product costs.
November 10, 2021

Planful Use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As mentioned our 3 month forecast has been moved into the system. Also, our MM&A team is in the process of moving their models into Planful. They are hopeful it will increase efficiency and free up time for them on a daily basis. We are working hand and hand to help.
October 29, 2021

Great software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our clients are able to automate their consolidation process and step away from consolidating their financial data in Excel to consolidating it all automatically in Planful.

Also report packs are usually very often automated with the help from Planful and the ability to send out reports on certain time basis is great.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Replacing Excel with Planful saved a lot of time and avoided problems with Excel changes accidentals. The Spotlight add-in increases the capability to create new reports. It is simpler and easier to update, replacing the time of reports production to analyze those reports; a clear benefit and better use of time, that was spent in operation activities, and now is management functions.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Planful has helped us simplify and automate our monthly and yearly forecasting cycles by creating one timeline for all users and reducing many manual processes. We are now able to complete our annual budget planning in September of each year instead of January of the current year. Automation is a huge timesaver.
July 27, 2021

Manager FP&A

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
During the monthly close we can manually update Planful with our ERP data as an "On-demand" data load, which allows us to quickly see the impact of various last minute accruals and adjustments. We don't have to wait for overnight processing which is great. This has been a time saver during monthly close.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have moved all of our monthly financial reporting over from our legacy system to Planful [(formerly Host Analytics)] reports. This has allowed us to use one standardized format for reporting as well as one source of truth for all relevant financial data.
We do not currently use the automation available, but pull reports down ad hoc.
May 25, 2021

Planful for life!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
We have been able to pull in data from various sources, have the system perform lookups and calculations utilizing the various modeling capabilities, and basically do all the heavy lifting. Now we just have to enter in a few key data points and the system does all the calculations. Reporting, (Variance, Trend,...) is so quick and easy. Much better than other vendors I've seen, and definitely way better than any reporting out of the ERP. We love the automated report bursting across the company.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our team has been able to leverage Box.com to run Data Load Rules overnight using the Cloud Scheduler feature within Planful. This has eliminated the need to manually go into Planful and upload each of our agency's trial balance information each month.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Planful [(formerly Host Analytics)] has made an impact on our budgeting process by making it a much smoother process between all departments. Each department can now see and has visibility to other inputs and these inputs can actually be forwarded on to the next team to use. Therefore there is no risk of miscommunication, which we seemed to experience quite frequently before Planful.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are currently working on doing our monthly operations review report (100+ pages each month) in Planful Spotlight Excel. This would save our corporate controller probably a couple of days each month and would also save our plant controllers a day each month. Previously this was all done in Excel and they will no longer be doing their Excel reports.
Lauraleigh Gould | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
All of our planning was in Excel and all manual. That has been replaced with a combination of structured and dynamic planning. Reports were hard-coded in an old version of Crystal Reports and no one remained who could modify them. Accounts were shoved into existing buckets not to have to change the report. This has all been replaced with a combination of standard reporting and Spotlight in Planful.
Return to navigation