Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Planful

Planful

Overview

What is Planful?

Planful is a cloud-based enterprise performance management (EPM) suite. It includes financial applications for modeling, planning, consolidation, reporting and analytics.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Planful is amazing!

10 out of 10
May 20, 2024
Incentivized
We use Planful for workforce planning, reporting, budgeting and forecasting. The biggest challenge we had when we started using Planful …
Continue reading

Planful is NOT painful

10 out of 10
December 13, 2023
Planful is currently used by our Technology Group, an overhead department in the company. Additionally, Kiewit Business Services, another …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 45 features
  • Financial budgeting (107)
    8.2
    82%
  • Forecasting (100)
    7.9
    79%
  • Management Reporting (101)
    7.9
    79%
  • Management reporting (104)
    7.9
    79%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Planful?

Planful is a cloud-based enterprise performance management (EPM) suite. It includes financial applications for modeling, planning, consolidation, reporting and analytics.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

112 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is PlanGuru?

PlanGuru is budgeting, forecasting and financial analytics software for SMB's, Nonprofits and the Accountants/ Advisors that work with them.

What is Kepion Planning?

Kepion is a cloud planning & analytics software company that connects all organizations' teams under a single view of their business performance. We enable more intelligent decisions to be made by companies about their financial and operational future. Kepion global offices and partners deliver…

Return to navigation

Features

BI Standard Reporting

Standard reporting means pre-built or canned reports available to users without having to create them.

6.5
Avg 8.0

Ad-hoc Reporting

Ad-Hoc Reports are reports built by the user to meet highly specific requirements.

7.3
Avg 8.3

Report Output and Scheduling

Ability to schedule and manager report output.

6.7
Avg 8.2

Data Discovery and Visualization

Data Discovery and Visualization is the analysis of multiple data sources in a search for patterns and outliers and the ability to represent the data visually.

6.4
Avg 7.6

Access Control and Security

Access control means being able to determine who has access to which data.

8.5
Avg 8.7

Mobile Capabilities

Support for mobile devices like smartphones and tablets.

7.5
Avg 8.0

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting

These activities are designed to assist with both data-driven operational, short-term planning and strategic long term planning

7.9
Avg 8.3

Consolidation and Close

Consolidation of data from multiple entities with currency management, reporting and audit trails.

6.6
Avg 8.0

Financial Reporting and Compliance

Financial statements and regulatory filings

7.3
Avg 8.2

Analytics and Reporting

Dashboards and scorecards for KPI monitoring and benchmarking

6
Avg 8.0

Integration

Ability to integrate with external applications.

6.8
Avg 8.3
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Planful?

Planful offers end-to-end financial close, consolidation, and financial planning & analysis (FP&A) cloud software. The Planful platform is used by the Office of the CFO around the globe to streamline business-wide planning, budgeting, consolidations, reporting, and visual analytics. The vendor states Planful's more than 1,000 customers, including Boston Red Sox, Del Monte, TGI Friday’s, and 23andMe, rely on Planful to accelerate cycle times, increase productivity, and improve accuracy across the end-to-end FP&A process. Planful is a private company backed by Vector Capital, a leading global private equity firm. Learn more at www.planful.com.

STRUCTURED PLANNING Structured Planning with Planful automates labor-intensive planning activities in a cloud-based platform – to give the finance team control, consistency, and confidence in corporate financial plans, budgets, and forecasts.

DYNAMIC PLANNING Dynamic Planning with Planful enables flexible, high-frequency, data-driven planning, modeling, and decision-making so users in every corner of the organization can analyze, plan, and make confident decisions at the speed of business.

FINANCIAL CLOSE & CONSOLIDATION Financial Close & Consolidation with Planful empowers finance to accelerate month-end close and reporting cycles by automating data aggregation, journal entries, intercompany eliminations, minority interest, entity consolidation, currency conversion, and financial reporting.

FINANCIAL REPORTING Reporting with Planful provides a library of reporting formats and delivery options, enabling finance and business users to produce a wide range of interactive financial and management reports leveraging one source of truth.

WORKFORCE PLANNING Planful helps users to tackle workforce planning using accurate and current data from across the business. By simplifying and automating time-consuming tasks and building alignment across departments, users have more time to create a stronger people strategy.

PLANFUL FOR MARKETING Planful’s marketing solution, formerly known as Plannuh, is used to measure marketing at every level of the plan for full visibility and team efficiency. To protect the marketing budget, Planful for Marketing helps marketers build, measure, execute and improve with clarity.

Planful Features

Budgeting, Planning, and Forecasting Features

  • Supported: Long-term financial planning
  • Supported: Financial budgeting
  • Supported: Forecasting
  • Supported: Scenario modeling
  • Supported: Management reporting

Consolidation and Close Features

  • Supported: Financial data consolidation
  • Supported: Journal entries and reports
  • Supported: Multi-currency management
  • Supported: Intercompany Eliminations
  • Supported: Minority Ownership
  • Supported: Local and consolidated reporting
  • Supported: Detailed Audit Trails

Financial Reporting and Compliance Features

  • Supported: Financial Statement Reporting
  • Supported: Management Reporting
  • Supported: Excel-based Reporting
  • Supported: Automated board and financial reporting

Analytics and Reporting Features

  • Supported: Personalized dashboards
  • Supported: Color-coded scorecards
  • Supported: KPIs
  • Supported: Cost and profitability analysis
  • Supported: Key Performance Indicator setting

Integration Features

  • Supported: Flat file integration
  • Supported: Excel data integration
  • Supported: Direct links to 3rd-party data sources

BI Standard Reporting Features

  • Supported: Pixel Perfect reports
  • Supported: Customizable dashboards
  • Supported: Report Formatting Templates

Ad-hoc Reporting Features

  • Supported: Drill-down analysis
  • Supported: Formatting capabilities
  • Supported: Predictive modeling
  • Supported: Report sharing and collaboration

Report Output and Scheduling Features

  • Supported: Publish to Web
  • Supported: Publish to PDF
  • Supported: Report Versioning
  • Supported: Report Delivery Scheduling

Data Discovery and Visualization Features

  • Supported: Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.)
  • Supported: Predictive Analytics

Access Control and Security Features

  • Supported: Multi-User Support (named login)
  • Supported: Role-Based Security Model
  • Supported: Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete)
  • Supported: Report-Level Access Control
  • Supported: Single Sign-On (SSO)

Mobile Capabilities Features

  • Supported: Responsive Design for Web Access
  • Supported: Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile

Planful Screenshots

Screenshot of Planful Planform DashboardScreenshot of Planful for FinanceScreenshot of Planful for MarketingScreenshot of ReportsScreenshot of Capacity Planning TemplateScreenshot of Integrations

Planful Videos

Planful Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesWe have customers in 90 countries
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Frequently Asked Questions

Planful is a cloud-based enterprise performance management (EPM) suite. It includes financial applications for modeling, planning, consolidation, reporting and analytics.

Workday Adaptive Planning, Anaplan, and Oracle Hyperion are common alternatives for Planful.

Reviewers rate Single Sign-On (SSO) highest, with a score of 9.1.

The most common users of Planful are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).

Planful Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)25%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)65%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(205)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 116)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Planful for workforce planning, reporting, budgeting and forecasting. The biggest challenge we had when we started using Planful was the ability to do our workforce planning because we lacked the ability to limit access based on our cost center structure. Planful gives us the ability to use real numbers (not blended rates) because of the structured access permissions.
Jennie Rush | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Planful ) at a department level here for budgeting and forecasting our department costs. It is helping us manage our workforce as well as stay on budget for the year. We have been able to complete a rolling forecast and allows our money managers to budget better than they ever have in the past. Because we are doing so well managing our finances, we’ve recognized ways that we can help other home office depts be more successful in their workforce planning and financials. In 2021, had Kiewit Technology Group not used Planful, we may not have been under budget. So, our dept being under budget resulted in All Overhead Depts coming in under budget.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Planful for FP&A and annual budgeting, across several entities as well as functions. In my role as Head of HR, I use the Workforce Planning module for budgeting of sensitive figures (employee compensation), the top line of which rolls up to the budget but the detailed particulars remain confidential.
February 29, 2024

Review of Planful

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a Veterinary hospital consolidator. We have many use cases for Planful due to the ways we break down our business. Planful allows us to analyze data from a Top of the House perspective while still providing functionality to drill-down to the lowest level. Due to this, it is a great tool for us to analyze data and identify issues at a particular hospital. We also enjoy the reporting functionalities that are offered. We have many reports that we generate on a monthly basis that are distributed to regions and hospitals. We can associate directors with a particular region and then automate monthly reports to distribute their respective region's report.
February 19, 2024

Planful's no slouch

Cory Abrahamson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
HomeServices uses Planful primarily as a consolidation tool, we are a decentralized organization where our subsidiaries use several different general ledger vendors and each of them has a unique chart of accounts. We have translation tables setup for each subsidiary, so as each sub loads their financials we can easily translate the information to get a company-by-company or consolidated view of the organization. We are also are able to use assign attributes within the hierarchy to view results in a non-traditional format, which involves allocating results between business segments. We also use Planful as a forecasting tool, the Structured Planning module has made this process very simple as the templates are very easy to setup and complete. We also use the Structured Planning module to assist with our 10-year plan, which the templates are very easy to complete. Before Planful, we were using Oracle Hyperion, which was at the end of life, the Oracle replacement was not cost-effective for us so we chose Planful from a handful of vendors that were brought in.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Planful for our month end financial reporting, operating planning process, and ad hoc requests. The platform has grown with us from 100 business units to over 600 business units and through an IPO. The platform is dynamic and flexible and with constant updates, it will absolutely grow with us into the future.
Talyon Perry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Planful is our internal finance tool used for reporting financial results and inputting/updating internal budgets. Planful allows all users to access relevant data (permissions based) in a clean and automated way. No more having to pass excel spreadsheets back and forth. Planful has also made the FP&A team's time to respond to data requests much faster.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Planful is being used by our organization to improve the month end/quarterly consolidation/close process. It is mainly being used by our accounting and finance departments and has helped us reduce the number of days it takes to close each month. The application allows us to store all of our data in one cloud-based database as opposed to a huge Excel workbook with many, many spreadsheets. Additionally, anyone in our organization can access the real-time data in Host from any location since all of the data is stored in the cloud.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Planful enables quick scenario analysis and financial projections to drive business and allow us to focus on developing the business. Reporting of actuals are quick and reliable, and we do not have to be concerned with data integrity. Planful also integrates seamlessly with our other data sources, allowing us to use Planful as a one-stop-shop.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We utilize Planful at the corporate level to consolidate numerous companies' results from various ERPs and different charts of accounts to do consolidated reporting. We utilizing both web services/DLRs as well as manual loads. We also use Planful to consolidate plans/forecast data. Our users enter plans directly into Planful using templates others will upload their data. Corporate accounting utilizes the consolidation module; Journal entries, currency rates, eliminating entries.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We leverage Planful to support our financial planning and analysis function, as well as to provide operators in the business with real-time insights throughout the year. Planful enables our annual budget preparation as well as our five-year long-range plan. The integration of the software with our payroll platform as well as our ERP is critical and a key part of the value proposition for the software.
December 13, 2023

Planful is NOT painful

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Planful is currently used by our Technology Group, an overhead department in the company. Additionally, Kiewit Business Services, another overhead department utilizes the tool. We have other departments that have observed how easy Planful is to use and how successful we have been with meeting our budget, and they have asked for information on how to utilize it as well. We use Planful for workforce planning, budgeting, forecasting, and reporting. Kiewit's use of this program is unique in the sense that we do not use Planful for income statements and balance sheets or for any manufacturing or international currency needs. As an overhead department, we do not utilize all of its features.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our business uses Planful for easily repeatable (push button) month end and quarter end reporting. We also use it to create bottoms up forecasts and budgets. Planful has given us the ability to make changes in a forecast and see the results very quickly in reports and to keep versions in check.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Planful is the consolidation software we used on top of the GL ERP systems that we have. Planful is an excellent tool to manage year end audit and making top side entries. The overall experience is very positive and Planful support is top notch. Planful isn't perfect. It has certain quarks here and there, but overall, it's a valuable product for my company.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Planful is used in both reporting and planning functions. Integrations have helped addressed long standing issues of pulling int data from multiple sources. With a live integration we are able to see actuals and plan in a single place. The flexibility of reporting allows quick comparisons between version and manage these scenarios. In addition, dynamic planning allows you to easily bring in inputs and load outputs from complex financial directly in excel
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Planful [(formerly Host Analytics)] for Budgeting, Forecasts, Reporting, Demand Planning, and Dashboards. We utilize common Expense and Workforce planning templates. Built customized revenue templates for each line of business. Some Revenue templates are built with structured environment, others are combination of data that resides outside of planful and the structured environment, and some feed directly from Dynamic Planning.
February 09, 2023

Planful Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I've used it for budgeting in the past. Currently use it for reporting. Would prefer to use it for budgeting, but Planful does not allow loading at vendor level which is required for us.
Robert Picard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Planful every week to update our FP&A schedule throughout the year by using various modules on the platform. For instance, when looking at actual versus planned reports in the reports section, I use the report sets that are in there to extract information with regards to our financial KPIs.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Planful is used to consolidate financial results, budget, forecast, do intercompany eliminations, and financial and management reporting. Planful allowed us to have one source of truth for all financial and budget data. It also allows us to work location independent. It has also allowed us to improve the accuracy and speed of financial reporting and analysis.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I work for the Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures here at the university and I use this tool as the budget administrator of the department. I am currently using the tool for structured planning of transfers and amounts for our department's various restricted accounts. I also use the tool to report on my department's fund usage (using the reports tab quite often) to keep the Dean's Office up to date on our numbers. I use the tool at least 5-6 times a year for big due dates. Planful makes this planning much simpler by having planning and reporting all in one place, connected.
December 07, 2022

Planful Review 2022

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Planful on a monthly basis for forecast and P&L reporting. People are the huge assets of our company and we require lots of details to forecast each employee at a detail level such as billable hours and other hours. Planful can provide that level of details required. However, it's a little time consuming or duplicate efforts to manage two scenarios both actual and forecast. We used to have another system for forecast reporting that everything can be managed in one main page for employee details but it has issued of balancing. Now we have to open each employee to update the details. Of course Planful provides us better balancing tools on the reporting.
December 01, 2022

Planful delivers

Matt Teinert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It allows me flexible reports for internal and external use that my ERP system does not. I have connected data and writing new or modifying existing reports is so easy. We can easily compare actual results to multiple dynamic forecasted scenarios and/or past actual periods. I love that I can reuse the structure of reports I like for other use cases. Slicing and dicing my data is easier than ever before.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Planful for financial reporting, consolidation, planning, modeling, and revenue analytics. We collect forecasts from all of our leaders around the world and Planful makes it easier to load and roll those templates up. As an international company, we do significant Fx variance impact and analysis, Planful makes this easy and accurate in a way that other systems I've used do not. Consolidation of multiple ledgers around the world is seamless once properly set up. Reporting experience is fluid and simple for unsophisticated users but versatile enough that experienced users can design some pretty cool outcomes for users.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Planful (formerly Host Analytics) within our FP&A and financial reporting teams. Planful (formerly Host Analytics) is used to input our budget scenarios, monthly forecasts (including workforce planning), and long-term models. We replaced SAP BPC system, which would take 3+ hours to pull new GL data. Now, using Planful (formerly Host Analytics), we have GL data refreshing every 30 minutes during close.
Return to navigation