Polycom RealPresence Group Series Reviews

41 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

Alfred Brock | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Talking to the World

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Polycom RealPresence Group Series was used at the North American headquarters and select locations throughout the United States, Canada, and Mexico. The business problem it addressed was that is standardized the conferencing software and hardware we had in use. This allowed us to connect directly from any meeting room equipped with the devices to any other meeting room so equipped.
  • The sound quality is excellent
  • The images are sharp and crisp
  • We needed to interact with the networking staff who were intent on using Cisco products, and this slowed down implementation.
  • Though it was easy to train users to operate the equipment those who were not trained frequently had difficulty starting up a meeting without assistance
  • Polycom RealPresence Group Series is well suited when individuals or teams need to meet together instantly with video, voice, and data. It is especially well suited to provide this service over great distances - as long as the supporting hardware and internet speed are installed and available.
  • We had difficulty with technicians and administrators that were reluctant to include the devices in our networking environment. This was in this particular location, but anyone taking on this technology should be aware that technicians and administrators may be reluctant but that the work necessary to overcome any difficulties was easily done.


Read Alfred Brock's full review
Brian Coyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Polycom RealPresence Group Series Provides High Quality Experience and Decreases Travel Cost

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Polycom RealPresence Group Series 500 is used in about a dozen conference rooms across the united states that require high-quality audio and video. The Polycom RealPresence Group series integrates easily with Microsoft Teams, and our ceiling microphones. The touch panels are easy to use and easy to learn, having the Polycom RealPresence Group series 500 in our high priority, high traffic conference rooms has lead to a better meeting experience,and thus has resulted in a decrease in the need for travel.
  • Ease of Use
  • High quality video
  • Remote control of the Polycom RealPresence Group series panel is very buggy.
  • Additional license cost for integration with Teams.
Polycom RealPresence Group series is very well suited for high traffic, high priority conference rooms where video and audio quality and required to be the best. Polycom RealPresence Group series is overkill for small huddle rooms and smaller conference rooms ( mainly due to the cost), but for board rooms and large meeting spaces, it excels.
Read Brian Coyne's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Great for meetings

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Polycom RealPresence Group Series to participate in conference calls. We use Microsoft Teams to create and host the meetings. It helps bring meetings together and a sense of togetherness. You can see the other people on the screen and the cameras help them to see you and whoever is talking.
  • Make conference calls
  • Display clear pictures
  • Setting up meetings can take a bit to register
  • The initial setup was very cumbersome
It is very well suited for conference calls. You could also use it for demonstration purposes. We use two cameras and they will move to focus on the whole room or towards the person that is talking. We use two TV screens so that the people of the meeting can be displayed on one screen while the presentation can be displayed on the other.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

Veteran Collaboration Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We standardized our enterprise video conferencing platform around the Polycom RealPresence Group Series for several reasons. The most compelling were:

1) The ability to support HD video quality at the lowest required bandwidth in the industry.
2) Superb sound quality.
3) Flexibility to work with various cloud services.
  • HD resolution at low bandwidth.
  • Sound quality.
  • Microphone compatibility.
  • Physical interface standards.
The Group Series is well suited for all meetings spaces. I cannot think of a scenario where video conferencing requirements would not be fully fulfilled by a Group Series device.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2019

Satellite office conference room solution at lower costs.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Polycom system was deployed in the board meeting room. Board members have lifesize and cisco conference systems in their offices, and Polycom was chosen as a low-cost endpoint to participate in those meetings.
  • It's fairly straightforward to deploy.
  • Good integration with Polycom® SoundStation® IP 7000 phone to achieve high-quality audio coverage in the room without installing a more complex ceiling microphone's solution.
  • Integration with other solutions, such as Skype or Teams, requires additional licenses.
  • We ended up using it only for meetings between conference rooms, not with individual users.
Polycom is a good low-cost solution for satellite offices not heavily engaging in conference room meetings. Good quality audio and video.
Read this authenticated review
John Featheringham | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2018

Polycom RealPresence: Real(ly) good

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Polycom RealPresence Group Series codecs are being used across the organization which we support. They enable video conferencing between offices around the globe for training, client meetings, internal meetings, and interviews.
  • Provides high-quality video and audio during conferences.
  • Enables the sharing of computer content from one site to the far end participants.
  • Easily used in integrated Crestron-controlled rooms.
  • Screen layout options can be somewhat limited, particularly when sharing content.
  • There have been occasional issues when connecting directly with Cisco endpoints within our environment.
Very well suited to an environment with an on-site Polycom bridge, as ours is.
Read John Featheringham's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2018

Polycom Group Series - The RealPresence Your Company Has Been Looking For!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Polycom RealPresence Group Series is being used by everyone in our department but has not yet been integrated to use by everyone in the organization. We switched over to Polycom RealPresence Group Series about 3 years ago and it has made such a difference in our ability to connect to others in our department and those that we have meetings and partnerships with. Polycom RealPresence Group Series helps us to better plan meetings and conferences, determine availability of staff, and makes phone and online transactions more efficient, therefore saving valuable time throughout the day.
  • Polycom RealPresence Group Series allows for seamless online to phone interactions. Staff are able to listen to voicemail on their phone or through their email, which is especially important when they are out of the office.
  • Polycom RealPresence Group Series allows us to determine the availability of our staff, by syncing calendars and showing availability through the online messaging feature and the screen on the phone itself.
  • Polycom RealPresence Group Series allows us to easily set up and conduct phone and video based conference calls, with minimal interference or dropped calls.
  • The only issue that we have experienced with Polycom RealPresence Group Series is the speed dial functionality. When attempting to use the speed dial buttons, the system occasionally sends a call through the computer system, not the phone. While the computer call option is valuable, not everyone can answer calls that way and we have had to do a manual lookup of an extension and call back when that happens.
Polycom RealPresence Group Series has been the best system I've worked with thus far. I would highly recommend it for colleges/universities, hospital or wellness administrative areas, executive/corporate companies, and businesses that employ more than 25 people. I would recommend it if a group uses the phone frequently, and plans meetings and conferences on a regular basis. It would be less ideal in a work setting with few staff or one in which a staff does not interact frequently.
Read this authenticated review
John-James Worrall | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

A 'sure thing' for quality conferencing.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Polycom RealPresence systems for communication both within the company and with external Partners and Customers. I work remotely, so having a system available to me not only allows the highest quality communications for day to day meetings, but a reference point for supporting users when needed. Having a system that connects to the Cloud services that we use, but is also a stand-alone H.323 and SIP system is very versatile.
  • Polycom are still a high-end videoconferencing manufacturer and it shows. The build quality is very high, with quality components provided. In the current environment where 'huddle-room' systems are taking over and are a mix of solutions from multiple manufacturers, you can tell the difference when you open the box and get dedicated hardware that is designed to work as a single package.
  • The audio quality is very good. May sound like an odd thing to consider audio quality before video quality, but if the sound is poor, it doesn't matter how good the video is - you wont stay in the meeting.
  • Great video from the dedicated cameras. The image quality is high and the camera is silent when it moves to presets.
  • Interface is good, but not always intuitive. For regular users, everything they need is instantly available.
  • Not 1080 out of the box, though the hardware supports it. Need a license to activate.
Small meeting rooms to large board rooms - there are RealPresence Group (RPG) systems of varying sizes that have additional features to manage all room sizes. If you have a small huddle room environment and feel that the RPG is a little too expensive, then the Trio with a Visual+ will provide you with the functionality, while keeping the familiar interface.
Read John-James Worrall's full review
Damon Black | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2018

Video conferencing has a high price tag that pays off in the end.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sappi recently purchase six Group Series 500 codecs this past year. The units have been distributed to our major sites with the hopes of decreasing travel costs.
  • The clarity of the video is a strength.
  • Support is strong with Polycom.
  • The units will integrate with Skype which will help us in the future.
  • The user interface/remote could be more intuitive.
  • The EagleEye Director is good, but the tracking needs refinement.
  • I would like to see more on-line self support.
For larger rooms the 500 series works well with the EagleEye (EE) Director. The Director would not be helpful for smaller huddle rooms.
Read Damon Black's full review
David George | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2018

Difficult to set up - but once its going good video / audio

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[We're] Using it to facilitate group video conferences across several locations including home workers. It allows us to do face to face meetings at a lower cost and disruption than traveling.
  • Video quality is good.
  • Switching the video across several users seem to work well
  • It is hard to use/set up. One has to be fairly tech savvy and it still sometimes doesn't work right. Should work more like FaceTime in Apple - which is intuitive and easy to use.
  • Ability to select on your screen where the video boxes go within the container would be useful.
  • Haven't tried it but sharing a screen doesn't seem as intuitive as say WebEx.
For formal meetings which we can set up in advance it works fairly well (see comments on what could work better - namely it isn't overly user-friendly on the set up). Would be nice to have it so one could have an ad-hoc meeting.
Read David George's full review
Adam Bruneau | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2018

Group Series, the only series for your work group.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Group Series codecs are used for our engineers to collaborate and conduct meetings across the globe. It solves the costly problem of constant travel. Our executive team also uses video conferencing to conduct meetings, not as often as the engineers.
  • All in one hardware integration. Touch panel, codec, SS DSP, Mics with Clink all work well together, this reduces the need for custom programming and saves money.
  • The Polycom Provisioning service for the groups reduces human error during setup of codec's as well as consistency for UI/settings.
  • The new SNMP for Group Series has a much better structure that allows for deep monitoring.
  • Previously an issue with Global Directory dialing, the RPTouch would try to dial display name string vs ext. This was fixed recently.
  • Skype for Business integration does not work well. We currently are implementing Pexip to handle Skype.
  • Complicated wiring for Clink extension. Clink connection also easy to put in upside-down. This broke one of our HDXs in the past.
Medium to large size conference rooms are the best fit for the Group Series. Smaller rooms could use a Trio with Visual + rather than a Group. Using proprietary Polycom table mics along with CEC enabled TVs and a sound bar is a solid design that reduces the need for expensive control systems.
Read Adam Bruneau's full review
Alfred Brock | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2018

Crisp Sound – Sharp Video!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in a limited manner at this time. I have been using it at other locations outside of my work to facilitate group meetings, online pieces of training and educational seminars.
  • The sound quality is astounding.
  • The image quality is clear and sharp.
  • I would like to be able to call directly to any point accessible through the internet.
  • I would like to be able to remotely control the devices at the far end.
I find it best both during group collaboration, one to many instructions and one on one business.
Read Alfred Brock's full review
Danny Dunn | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2017

Group Series Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Group series in any conference room scenario where video conferencing is required.
  • Ease of use
  • Global Management
  • Just works
  • Treo integration
  • Director and producer both need advanced settings for setup. Not enough options for frame setup.
Any conferencing space where two way video conferencing is required can take advantage of a Group series. There are times when additional room integration with audio/video may be required for advanced use cases, but the Group series allows for that. There are more cost-effective methods for desktop conferencing such as RPD with a webcam, so I would not suggest a group series for a single person sitting at a desk.
Read Danny Dunn's full review
Chad Rolfes | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

Opinion of a regional manager

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this platform for most locations across our business globally to connect for all different types of business meetings between different business units, functional groups, and within functional teams. The system allows us to connect and collaborate with our associates more effectively on key topics than traditional conference calls and in some cases save the need to travel to complete meetings face to face.
  • Strong for medium to large group meetings where 2-5 associates are connecting from up to 5 sites
  • Able to see the reaction of associates and better engage the audience in the content of the meeting
  • Improves the ability to understand/communicate when connecting associates with different native languages
  • The main issue is the reliability of connection performance - particularly when attempting to share content and video simultaneously.
  • It's difficult to use the whiteboard function.
  • The ability to easily connect to non-polycom devices/platforms - unfortunately often associates are not at a site with a polycom device/connection or from outside the organization.
It works much better than Skype or voice conference when connecting 2-5 people from 2-5 sites as long as the system has consistent connection performance.
Read Chad Rolfes's full review
Alan Balasundaram | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2017

Solid Performing A/V Conference Room System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Polycom in our offices to facilitate both local and video conference based meetings. The Polycom system is integrated into our meetings allowing us a quick 1-2 touch way to start a meeting.
  • Integration with video conference software
  • Digital White Board
  • Touch interface
  • Better integration with Outlook to auto start conference software.
Works well in:
  • Medium / Large conference rooms
  • Multiple presenters
  • Multiple locations
Read Alan Balasundaram's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 26, 2018

Go for it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses the Group Series to teleconference with our remote offices and third-party companies using Skype for Business as the backbone for transport. Without adding any significant cost to infrastructure or time, my company was able to implement the Group Series solution at a rate of one office in one day. We were able to overcome the issue of a soft speaker by also installing the SoundStructure module.
  • Amazing audio
  • Simple setup
  • Easy for users to understand
  • Many options for room sizing
  • The ability to share camera feed and content simultaneously
  • More layout options
Any room where you would want to hold a meeting or face to face conversation or even if it is just an audio call, the Group Series is compatible and scalable with any size room. Probably the least advisable solution would be a small office. For that Polycom has the Trio to assist.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2018

Polycom after One Year!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Polycom is used by the whole company for basic audio and web meetings. [We] Use HD video conferences for site to site or external board meetings. Dozens of sites have invested in 300 and 500 room systems. [We're] Phasing out external conferencing products to leverage internal investment. User adopting of advanced features is continuing, hopefully will utilize more.
  • Sales team at Polycom is engaged and wants to sell.
  • End support is pretty good compared to tech companies and is represented locally thru VARS.
  • Once installed, updated and debugged the platform is stable.
  • Install was a bit fast with a tech that was not the best, this lead to a round of support issues, fixes, and training.
  • Much of the internal learning was on our own with trial and error, and the Outlook integration was not really 100% (abandoned that as users could not understand and remember the shortcomings when meetings changed. Moved to reservation-less.
  • Stability was better after a major upgrade(only 1 year old) and a better Polycom tech.
Telecom audio, web meetings work well. Can further integrate room systems like Crestron but the learning curve for people is steep. Would like to see people embrace and adopt video meetings to reduce travel cost but that is hard to do without a mandate. Some people get it and use it, some do not or do not want to, but in the end it works well if you know how.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2018

Still Powerful, but losing relevence slowly

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by all the HQ offices. It is primarily utilized to connect associates between the geographically distributed home offices as well as, a bit, from HQ to the branch offices scattered around the country.
  • The actual video signalling and quality are great.
  • There is a ton of flexibility in configuration, although several options are missing, as compared to the HDX series.
  • The platform is solid...we rarely have failures.
  • The global direction access is garbage. Six remote button pushes to access such a frequently used feature? And not even an API command to jump directly to it?
  • Both scheduled and dynamic provisioning should be supported from RPRM.
  • Really, still a separate license for 1080p? It is mainstream now, not a value add.
When it comes to deploying a Group Series (GS) endpoint or not, our decision primarily focuses around the size and complexity of the room. For many rooms, we can't justify the cost...which is MANY times that of even a GREAT USB webcam and audio system. We, more or less, only put them in complex, Crestron controlled rooms.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2017

Polycom Video Conferencing Systems are a good addition for enterprise video.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have Polycom RealPresence Group Series in 2 of our conference rooms. One in Santa Monica which is only used by IT, and one in Phoenix which is used by IT and marketing. It allows meetings between these departments in these corporate offices to have more efficient meetings by being able to visibly see the other participants.
  • Easy to use interface
  • Detail on upcoming meetings on screen
  • Option of a touch panel makes meetings easy to run
  • Can't use touch panel and remote on the same system
  • Call order placement is an issue
  • Slow user interface
It is well suited for larger rooms where you need video horsepower for a meeting. This includes 2 screens and a larger room. In our smaller rooms, we are evaluating the Group Series 300 and the Debut. Those rooms don't have multiple screens and the larger 500 series is over kill.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 10, 2017

Polycom at Work!!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for the entire company to facilitate calls globally. It helps lower the need for travel while still allowing face to face communications.
  • Easy and attractive interface
  • Integrates well with a control system
  • Very easy to manage via web
  • Better integration with Cisco CUCM
  • Adding audio calls can sometimes be tricky when dial tones are needed
  • Put labels on the new remotes so people know which buttons do what
Any place where solid video conferencing is needed. The small [package] provided enterprise level video conferencing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 31, 2017

You May Like this.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We are currently in processs of evaluating multiple difference VC systems, so that we can make recommendations to our end users and customers. We like different thing about difference devices, however have not made and full decisions on which direction to take. We like the Real Presence for its ease of use, and set up.
  • Ease of use
  • Ease of setup within a room
  • Remote control
  • Control interface with control systems is a bit time consuming
Government applications where security is a must have. This was one of the reasons my clients turned me on to it in the first place.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2017

Review from an VC Engineer who uses Polycom Equipment Daily

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the enterprise. It enables the ability to have productive meetings without having to travel.
  • Video Conf is the way of the future, and is widely used in all aspects of life for communication without the means of having to travel.
  • Meaningful conversation.
  • Share content in meetings - such as a PowerPoint deck.
  • Enables the traveling persons to give immediate feedback back to "home" on where they are; such as in retail we can see real time what a store condition is or what displays look like.
  • Biggest issue is managing the Video calls via from a Mac OS environment; such as managing the RMX.
  • The inability to connect via from a mobile device.
  • Inability to merge other type of clients into one call without having to purchase expensive equipment to do so; such as Skype for Business or Google Meet.
Its ability to broadcast / join remote clients to meetings.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2017

Picture perfect

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used within the IT department for various video conferences and conference calls. This provided a way for the involved parties to test out the system and determine if it is cost effective.
  • Great video quality
  • Great audio quality
  • None at this time.
Well suited for remote locations from major areas such as the headquarters to offsite locations as well as across multiple states.
Read this authenticated review

About Polycom RealPresence Group Series

The Polycom RealPresence Group Series is a video conferencing codec that connects to a standards-based video conferencing infrastructure to allow users to make video conference calls. There are three products in the series – RealPresence Group 300, RealPresence Group 500, and RealPresence Group 700. It is certified to use with Office 365 and Skype for Business.

Polycom RealPresence Group Series Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No