PostgreSQL Reviews

217 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Javier Blanque | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

PostgreSQL - The database that fits all

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Being open source free software, the ROI couldn't be better.
  • There are a lot of young developers who know the technology and are interested in advancing their careers with the platforms and technologies in which they are invested. It is more easy to contract developers for the platform, then the projects are more quickly finished, then the ROI is made in shorter time.
  • There is a lot of prejudice with PostgreSQL and open source in general, because, they say, there is no company behind it, but thank God, their minds are changing. A lot of companies and consultants will technically support your project and your infrastructure.
Read Javier Blanque's full review
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

A robust, free, and high quality DB

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It has expanded our capabilities to work with companies which do not want to pay for Oracle licences, but still need a reliable DB.
  • It's one of the most successfull DBs. Knowing how to use it has extended our value on the market.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Battle-tested-never-data-loss alternative to MySQL

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The user-role system has saved us tons of time and thus money. As I mentioned in the "Use Case" section, Postgres is not only used by engineering but also finance to measure how much to charge customers and customer support to debug customer issues. Sure, it's not easy for non-technical employees to psql in and view raw tables, but it has saved engineering hundreds of man-hours that would have had to be spent on building equivalent tools to serve finance or customer support.
  • It provides incredibly trustworthy storage for wherever customer data dumped in. In our 6 years of Postgres existence, we have not lost a byte of customer data due to Postgres messing up a transaction or during the multiple times the hard-drives failed (thanks to ACID compliance!).
  • This is less significant, but Postgres is also quite easy to manage (unless you are going above and beyond to squeeze out every last bit of performance). There's not much to configure, and the out of the box settings are quite sane. That has saved us engineers lots of time that would have gone into Postgres administration.
Read this authenticated review
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

PostgreSQL is a Well Poised for the Future, Venerable, More Than a Database Solution for Many

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The administration can be done with fewer people.
  • Ease of hosting, migration, and integration is very good.
  • Ready to use programming interfaces, low overall effort to incorporate.
  • Some negative impact when it comes to use with commercial enterprise reporting tools. Feature-set or behind the scenes query generation could be sub-optimal.
  • Good commercial client tools are highly recommended but would be costly.
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

PostgreSQL has rich feature sets and it's completely free!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Free to use, means that we can have as many database instances as we need without cost increase.
  • JSON support is very helpful and saves quite a lot of time querying and searching for data.
  • ACID compliance means with the right implementation and usage we can almost certainly trust the data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

A Great General Purpose DBMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Developers can quickly and simply set up database instances, allowing them to get to work fast.
  • Database administration is streamlined using the PgAdmin application.
  • The documentation of the DBMS is great, so users can quickly find answers to questions.
Read this authenticated review
Aaron Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

PostgreSQL is making a comeback!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • No licensing costs mean cheaper development costs as well as cheaper production environments.
  • Lots of resources on best practices and similarities to other RDBMS means that switching was fast and easy.
Read Aaron Smith's full review
Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2018

A great database manager without platform distinction the best relational option

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • It allowed the expansion of knowledge towards the free code or open source drivers, difficult subjects to assimilate even for many professionals in the area.
  • The process of reengineering allowed us to reorganize a database in order to show an optimal aspect and functioning at this moment.
  • Some analysts showed resistance to change by learning something new, despite how enriching this could be for them.
Read Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett's full review
Bhargav Nanekalva | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2017

The "best" open source ORDBMS out there.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We had a downtime as we migrated our data to PostgreSQL from various database sources, though this can be avoided if done with a strategy
  • The consultation fees have affected our company's budget as it was not planned ahead.
  • Traning cost (time and money) for our in-house employees which was also not budgeted and PostgreSQL learning curve is pretty steep
  • Code refactoring was another major cost and it tooks us almost 3 months to completely move to PostgreSQL
  • On the postive note, we never ran into any issues till date and it's running with 100% uptime and very little maintenance
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Louis Marceau | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2017

PostgreSQL - A great database at a great price.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I find that there is just positive ROI when using postgreSQL. SQL from one database to another and concepts are fairly universal. Most third party support PostgreSQL. There are many db reporting tools that support PostgreSQL as well.
  • negative ROI. none.
Read Louis Marceau's full review
Anatoly Geyfman | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2017

PostgreSQL, especially with PostGIS is a standout among open source databases

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Self-hosted without licensing fees means we are able to save thousands per year on licensing fees
  • Ability to grow into a hosted environment with our database means that we're not stuck when we outgrow our ability to operate the system
  • Immense support for third-party plugins means that when we have a use case that stock Postgres can't meet, we are likely to find an open source or commercial solution that plugs right into our DB
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
Eric Mann | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2017

The best of both Relational and Document DB paradigms

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • PostgreSQL has allowed us to spin up multiple web services for client support very quickly, completely negating the time required to start working on a new project or with a new client - the effective "zero bottleneck" of PostgreSQL setup means we can focus more on actual sales rather than onboarding.
Read Eric Mann's full review
Nikhil Karkare | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2017

A great RDBMS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I can't think of any negative impacts. The query processing becomes slow if you are pulling the data from any relational database systems, not just PostgreSQL.
  • We don't have a lot of data (no big data), so it is doing a good job for us processing the reports within seconds.
  • It has some good security features as well.
Read Nikhil Karkare's full review
David McCann | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2016

PostgreSQL - the last database you'll ever need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • By pushing a lot of logic into database views and triggers, PostgreSQL provides the ability to write much slimmer and more maintainable controller code, reducing development costs.
  • PostgreSQL's upsert capabilities enabled us to go to scale much more easily and quickly, allowing us to increase our number of customers.
Read David McCann's full review
Christopher Weiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2016

PostgreSQL is too often overlooked

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have used PostgreSQL to deploy features more closely aligned with commercial databases than other Open Source databases such as MySQL
  • PostgreSQL does have some limitations, and we have had to migrate to a commercial database in some instances or move backward to MySQL for something similar.
Read Christopher Weiss's full review

About PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL (alternately Postgres) is a free and open source object-relational database system boasting over 30 years of active development, reliability, feature robustness, and performance. It supports SQL and is designed to support various workloads flexibly.

PostgreSQL Integrations

PostgreSQL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No