Postman

Postman

Customer Verified
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Postman

Overview

Recent Reviews

Postman Review

10 out of 10
May 24, 2022
Postman is what we use to test our API systems. We have a variety of public and private API systems, all of which are tested by my team …
Continue reading

All About Postman

9 out of 10
January 17, 2022
I am working in the company as a Test Automation Engineer. I am using Postman for testing different services in different environments. I …
Continue reading

Postman Delivers

9 out of 10
September 17, 2020
We write and maintain several WCF applications and integrate with WCF services from other teams and departments. Postman has been great …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 7 features
  • API access control (32)
    9.2
    92%
  • API user onboarding (22)
    8.9
    89%
  • API monitoring and logging (32)
    8.4
    84%
  • API versioning (24)
    8.3
    83%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Postman, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Postman Free Plan

$0.00 US Dollars

Cloud

Postman Basic Plan

$12 US Dollars

Cloud
per month per user

Postman Professional Plan

$29 US Dollars

Cloud
per month per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.postman.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

API Management

8.3
83%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Postman?

Postman is an API platform, boasting users among more than 17 million developers and 500,000 organizations worldwide for building and managing APIs. Postman aims to simplify each step of the API lifecycle and streamline collaboration, enabling users to create better APIs faster. The company is headquartered in San Francisco and has a large office in Bangalore, where it was founded.

Postman Features

API Management Features

  • Supported: API access control
  • Supported: API versioning
  • Supported: Usage billing and payments
  • Supported: API monitoring and logging

Postman Screenshots

Screenshot of API design - You can design your API specifications in Postman using OpenAPI, RAML, GraphQL, or SOAP formats. Postman’s schema editor makes it easy to work with specification files of any size, & it validates specifications with a built-in linting engine.Screenshot of API documentation - Postman automatically generates documentation & supports markdown-enabled and machine-readable documentation. Docs automatically include request details & sample code. Share the docs with your team, in a public workspace, or in a dedicated portal.Screenshot of API testing - Build and run functional, integration, & regression tests directly in Postman or as part of your CI/CD pipeline with Newman (Postman’s a command-line Collection Runner that enables you to run & test a collection from the command line).Screenshot of Public workspaces - Public workspaces allow you to share your APIs publicly with anyone. You can use public workspaces to gather feedback on your APIs, onboard developers quickly, or just showcase your work.Screenshot of Reporting - Postman generates reports that enable you to visualize data for team metrics and usage, & for API activities such as creation, collection execution, and test runs. Use reports to get insights on performance, troubleshooting, & SLA adherence.

Postman Video

Postman Integrations

Postman Competitors

Postman Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Postman, headquartered in San Francisco, offers their flagship API development and management free to small teams and independent developers. Higher tiers (Postman Pro and Postman Enterprise) support API management, as well as team collaboration, extended support and other advanced features.

RapidAPI and Stoplight are common alternatives for Postman.

Reviewers rate API access control highest, with a score of 9.2.

The most common users of Postman are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

 (287)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 39)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Postman to test and automate any new API's that we are creating, we have created full suites of automated scripts, which has allowed us to speed up testing in key areas. It also allows developers to run a test when needed to improve the quality of the overall work while at the same time reducing the time needed to test things.
  • Simple to use and understand UI.
  • Easy to integrate with release pipeline using Newman.
  • A lot of online help available.
  • Make it a little easier to share tests as one-off.
Postman is easily one of the best tools for API testing, there is a lot to it and best of all there is a free version of the software, you can build out security test's as well as long as you know what you are doing with it, the only thing I can think of where it might not be appropriate is if you are not doing anything with API's. It doesn't allow any testing of any UI, just API's, so you will still need other tools to ensure full coverage.
Lankit Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The regular use case Postman is fine as it's helpful to manage multiple APIs belonging to various projects. but for our case, Postman is a big relief, especially because we often have to communicate with non-conventional clients who have their own custom API-consuming mechanisms. i.e SAP service; those guys do not possess familiarity with convention REST APIs. this is where Postman proved to be a big help. all we needed from our side was just give a link and they'll get the whole API collection.
  • bundling of APIs into collection
  • allow to create a globally accessible link
  • great UI/UX to interact with APIs
  • desktop version is process heavy
  • same is the case with extention
  • it would be better if they produce a slim minimal version with only essentials packed in
if you have a small number of APIs to work with, it's probably an overkill
it is very efficient when it comes to manage large number of APIs, one can manage APIs per project as well.
very good authentication testing UI. makes it pretty easy to work with all kinds of available AUTH practices.
allows to ingest multiple types of data like FORMDATA/JSON
May 24, 2022

Postman Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Postman is what we use to test our API systems. We have a variety of public and private API systems, all of which are tested by my team using Postman. We've created separate collections for each, such as Smoke tests, which we run at each test deployment and Functional tests. These tests are continually updated (collection). My issue is that it lacks database connectivity, either relational or trendy-document databases like MongoDB. I have no choice but to export data from these databases and feed it into Postman. This is the only manual step a user must take; the rest of our tests are entirely automated.
  • Postman API allows you to access data in your Postman account using code. Execute all of the standard CRUD operations on your collections, environments, mocks, and other objects.
  • Postman used to be a platform where people worked alone and independently tested APIs. Working together has never been easier with features like commenting, forking, branching, pull requests, tagging, and more.
  • In the Pre-request and Test script tabs of Postman, you can use a set of external libraries. These libraries make life easier for developers by providing functionality that isn't always available in JavaScript.
  • Wherever you need to automate tests that involve database verification or rely on data from databases, Postman is less suitable.
  • Postman's disc usage is extremely high, and it occasionally causes the computer to fade.
  • It doesn't have the ability to generate random data. To achieve randomness in my tests, I've been working around scripts.
When dealing with a collection of requests, it's common to run them in the order they were received. Other times, skipping or repeating certain requests is beneficial. The mailman arrives. The method SetNextRequest. You can programmatically choose which requests run and in what order by using conditional logic in the Pre-request or Tests tabs.
Haroon Akmal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Postman for testing of our API systems. We've got many different API systems, public and private, and all those systems are tested by my team using Postman. We've created different collections for each, as Smoke tests, that we run at each test-deploy and then we also have Functional tests collection. We're continuously maintaining these tests (collection). The problem I've is that it lacks the connectivity with databases, either relation or trendy-document DB like MongoDB/ CosmosDB. I have to rely on exporting data from these DBs and to feed it in Postman. This is the only manual step a user has to perform, otherwise our tests are based fully on automation.
  • Loading APIs (Just put the URL and hit send, if it doesn't require security token)
  • N-level of organizing collections into folders/ sub-folders
  • Sharing the collection across team
  • Create documentation, adding examples for each scenario
  • Run Feature
  • Assertion scripts snippets are really helpful in tests
  • Environments can be organized as per users' need.
  • Database connectivity - To get data directly from DBs (traditional plus new like MongoDB or CosmosDB)
  • Data Generator - Random data generator like email, names, zip/postal codes, addresses, mobile number. Although there's a public API but it has limits.
Postman is well suited where APIs are involved. I've been testing many backend systems and are well organized into many tests like Smoke for each system and then functional tests as well. Along with that I've few created monitors for production-critical endpoints/API-methods.

Postman is less appropriate where you need to automate your tests that involves verification from databases or depends on data from databases. Also, it lacks functionality to generate random data. I've been using work around using scripts to achieve randomness in my tests.
Bimal Subedi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being an IT Company, our organization was in need of an API testing and management tool. It had been a lot of hard to maintain APIs that connect the backend and frontend of our applications. Postman helped our company to manage and test the existing APIs as well as has been helping us to create new APIs. With the help of API documentation feature of Postman, it has been easy to provide guide to our clients within few clicks.
  • Managing the created APIs in a flexible way
  • Testing the APIs with GET, POST, PATCH, DELETE any many more requests
  • Creating API documentations for future reference
  • Disk usage of Postman is a lot high, sometimes it causes computer to flicker
  • The UI of Postman can be made more cleaner
  • API deployment services can also be added
Postman is best suited for the web and application development companies in which we constantly need to create APIs and test them. It is less appropriate for Graphic designing firms, animation companies and other companies that don't need to create APIs.
January 17, 2022

All About Postman

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am working in the company as a Test Automation Engineer. I am using Postman for testing different services in different environments. I basically use this tool to test REST requests. My job is to test various services for the organization, do regression testing, smoke testing, functional testing, and much more. All of my business problems are addressed by this product. I love the simple, nice UI it has. It is a very useful and user-friendly tool for making API calls. Postman has many features I like. It keeps the history of your last used requests and this helps in re-using those requests if you want to. It also allows you to maintain your own workspace. [Postman] has folders to make your work easy, it's easy to share with your colleagues, and also allows me to save the request info in my local machine. I think the most important feature is it's free to use. Overall, I find this tool very helpful. It's a good platform for user testing services.
  • It helps with testing different services easily
  • Load time of the application is very quick
  • Useful product for making API calls
  • It should allow for easier use when many tabs are open at the same time
  • Sometimes loading the collections in JSON format is not easily done
  • While testing SOAP APIs there is definitely some room for improving the user's experience
Scenarios where [Postman] is best suited: It is best used for making API rest calls. It is easy to use. [Postman] allows you to maintain your own workspace/collection of new or repeated requests. Scenarios where [Postman] is not best suited: Sometimes JSON files are difficult to import, so it needs improvement in that respect. It is not good support for SOAP API calls.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Postman is used to testing our backend talking to through the API, simulating several 100 use cases directly on the backend.
  • Use to use, thanks to snippets and in line IDE.
  • Quick test runner.
  • Headless running in deployment pipeline.
  • Autocomplete in IDE.
  • Folderwise selection of Requests to run in test runner.
  • Copying requests through drag'n'drop.
  • Linking of requests to, so that not every copy has to be maintained.
  • Get support.
Postman is very good for easy entry into testing. Thanks to snippets it is easy to use, but also provides a lot [of] possibilities for testing thanks to the in-line editor. Easy to use on multiple environments (versioning) thanks to sets of environment variables. The Collections view can get very full with time and it is not possible to reuse or link requests so that they have always been copied and maintained manually for each copy if changes have to be applied.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use postman for API-related development as well as testing. it is open-source and a good tool to have. It's the best for Rest and Soap's best services. Postman is being used almost every day by our developer and also by the tester if automation, as well as manual testing, is involved.
  • API testing
  • API development
  • Mock API services
  • Authorization
  • Dashboard View
  • Updates are less frequent
It is the most flexible and go-to tool for any techie, I would recommend everyone to go for it once and you will love it. It has such a huge community that any problem has multiple solutions.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Postman is our primary API automation testing tool. It is used both by developers and QA engineers. Postman offers a free solution to tackling our test automation needs at a lower level than UI testing. Test cases are added and updated based on application functionality changes, exported and stored in source control, and tests are run as part of an automated regression suite with every feature.
  • Simple and quick to create requests.
  • Built in snippets for simple assertion generation.
  • Externalizes parameters in environment files to allow simple swapping between development and test environments.
  • The ability to integrate with a 3rd party source control system is frustrating. Needing to export a singular large raw file and store that in source control myself introduces a number of merge conflicts. Postman does offer their own source control system, but this does not allow me to parallelize my test code alongside my development code, and diverges from our development strategy.
  • There [are] no elegant means of conditionally executing a particular step. Postman includes the ability to "go to" a request, but this requires looking deep into the implemented test or pre-request code to know that this behavior is present.
  • There is no good solution to code reuse. I cannot define a particular request structure and parameterize it for future use. I am forced to replicate requests over and over and modify them all when changes are needed.
Postman began as a development tool for making API calls to systems while under development. The testing side of postman feels like an afterthought (particularly the source control integration) and doesn't lend itself to large-scale applications. Small to medium use, primarily for the development of APIs, is the ideal use case for this kind of tool.
Rafael Grandizoli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Postman in my organization only for personal use. Some other colleagues (with some technical skills) also use it, but it is not a tool for everyone in the company, because its purpose is only technical and, for example, the business team don't need to use it on their work.
  • Organize how to use an API
  • Generate codes 'ready-to-use' for implementation
  • Simulate API calls (for API development or test)
  • Create process for data extraction via API
  • Read paginated data
  • Schedule requests
On everyday use for development or to understand how an API works Postman is the best tool to explore: it's free to use, and you can create and organize all APIs you have access to in one place. Also, it has the possibility to use variables and code, which turn the experience more dynamic.
Art Bukowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a website based on micro services. Sometimes we are not sure why the system works in the way it works so we need to connect to API to get "raw" info. In most cases that solves the problem or gives a background about where to look at.
  • Shared API connections.
  • Building collection of API calls.
  • So universal.
  • Would be great to have "simple UI" for business users.
If you need to connect to number API to get better understanding of the situation you need Postman. It needs some time for a "business user" to understand the process, but it's still a ways faster than asking someone for help.
Kerry Haupt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Postman is a platform where I can provide the API to my consumers so that they can better discover, explore, and share APIs with one another without any breakdown. through its public network, I am capable of providing the services to my consumer sector and for my organization It has provided the facility of the private APU network due to which we sharing our work and carry on with a flow without any security threats.
  • It has opened a door for me to explore more out of it, as it is associated with so many APIs that I never felt any difficulty in finding the right API template, which are well organized and easily available.
  • It is very secure to use and provides great services which are user-friendly.
  • Due to this software I have got rid of the excessive emails and the slack channels, Now I am using my own private API and even it give me an option to produce my personal Postman’s API Builder from its Private API Network and this features has shared my excessive workload.
  • It is quite technical and complicated too.
  • I think the reporting features needs to be modified so we won’t be able to miss important features.
  • It does not tackle efficiently the SOAK APIS and it is limited in the area testing as well.
I consider [Postman] a universal platform every business type can get much benefit from it. In addition it is very easy to configure and it handles the URLs in most effective way. It keeps users up to date by its efficient alert functions.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the whole organization for testing live and offline api's. We deploy refined code to production with the help of postman.
  • API TESTING
  • API PRODUCTION MODE TESTING
  • REQUESTS
  • should not save every call
  • UI is good but need little improvement
Awesome at calling api's or putting requests.
There is not any major issue i have detected in postman while using.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Postman is used to verify and build API in our company. It's used in three departments- back-end, front-end and QA. Connecting server side back-end logic with front-end and vice versa. Currently, we are team of 8 developers (a mixture of above 3 departments) which are using Postman as our daily go-to API visualization tool.
  • Ease of access.
  • Supports multiple header, raw data and param options.
  • Response can also be visualized in different forms.
  • Response code can be copied.
  • Full API code can be imported in almost all major languages.
  • Software stuck sometimes when there are lots of database API.
  • Not so beginner friendly, I needed help when I first started to use Postman.
As a new[bie] to software engineering, specially back-end, I was [not] very [knowledgeable] about how API worked and how to integrate it. The first major blockage of my career was, "How does API work?" One of my colleague screen shared his PC, and let me go through how API works by demonstrating it on Postman. Since then, my life became much more easier.
September 17, 2020

Postman Delivers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We write and maintain several WCF applications and integrate with WCF services from other teams and departments. Postman has been great for testing method calls for parameters sent and data being returned. We use it for testing these services and for testing other APIs that we're considering using, just to make sure we're getting the data we expect to get.
  • Easy to configure, just point to the service URL and you're good to start.
  • Easy to set up parameters on method calls.
  • Limited reporting: it would be nice if we could export a log file of failed calls.
  • Not a ton of automation: would be really useful for QA/integration testing.
Postman's a tool that's pretty easy to set up and get started with, and it's very handy for testing API calls for internal and external APIs. This is invaluable when troubleshooting issues with calling the API methods or just confirming the team's understanding of the API methods involved. Teams that don't do much integration with APIs or REST services probably won't see much benefit from Postman.
I was able to find answers to my questions in the Postman FAQ/forums. I didn't contact Postman support so I can't speak to that.
March 12, 2020

My review on Postman

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a software developer working for an enterprise-level company. I work on developing software using Java and Kotlin for developing restful web services. In order to test those web services, we use Postman for testing the behavior of services. In my organization, most of the developers use Postman for testing purposes. It is a very good tool to use, as it can be understood very easily and supports different formats like JSON XML.
  • It has a group environment through which different teams can integrate and work together.
  • Easy to switch between different modes i.e JSON XML. Authenticating using different protocols is easy.
  • Pricing is also very comfortable.
  • Enterprise version is easy to setup and use but the number of requests is limited. I feel it would be great if there were more requests.
  • Pricing for enterprise should be less.
  • I don't have any more complaints as it is very good tool.
I don't think there are very good alternates to Postman, as of now at least. It is the industry-standard tool and is very easy to use. I recommend every developer start using Postman because it will reduce development time significantly. I don't have complaints apart from that.
I barely got a chance to interact with customer care because I've never had any problem with it.
February 14, 2020

Great API testing tool

Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Postman is used by several departments: QA, Dev, IT monitoring. Each of them is having their use cases by checking performance and response times during development, testing, or on production environment. Also, teams are connected around one tool, and data sharing or cross-checks for SLI/SLO parameters get easier. It can be integrated into the CI/CD pipeline.
  • Easy to use
  • Integration was possible everywhere I tried.
  • Sharing option is limited between the team
  • Its not possible to test more than 1 API simultaneously
With using Postman, it's possible to create different types of API requests: POST, PUT, UPGRADE, GET, DELETE, get data, which is crucial before deployment. Also, it supports the following response types: HTML, XML, raw data, Js, JSON. Dev team can get coded APIs availability and performance data during development. Easy to integrate in CI pipeline, that automates performance quality checks flow and accelerates the process.
When we started implementation, there were some questions regarding integration. The support response was for 12h, and we got a detailed explanation about what the team asked. They are ready to help and share knowledge.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Postman is used by our software development teams, quality assurance teams, as well as our site reliability team. We use it to test API endpoints that we develop, as well as for calling APIs that we interact daily with, such as Microsoft Azure's API. We also use it for building collections of API endpoints that you can call for a specific API. We circulate the collection to teams who need to call that API so they can get onboarded with the API quickly.
  • Execute HTTP requests seamlessly using a lightweight client.
  • Configure HTTP request headers and body payloads easily.
  • The user interface is complicated, especially when you need to dig into one of the many settings.
  • I don't know where else Postman can perform better. So far, I haven't had many issues with Postman other than the learning curve.
Getting started with Postman is relatively easy, which is what I like about the software. Digging into one of the many settings presents a bit of a learning curve, but it is nothing too tricky. I like the collection features because I don't need to dig into documentation on what endpoints are available for a specific API. Or what configurations I need to make to call a particular endpoint; I load the collections for an API I'm interested in, select the endpoint I am interested in and configure the minimum that is required for that endpoint to make a successful call.
I have not had any issues with receiving support for Postman. Documentation is readily available online.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Postman is being used by our software development team to test multiple APIs we develop internally. Postman allows the development team to see responses to our APIs for troubleshooting purposes. It also allows us to create API documentation on the fly, easily, organically through the process of testing API endpoints.
  • Submit API requests and view responses without the need for a browser or browser extensions.
  • Archive and group API requests by type, application, or any way you see fit.
  • The documentation produced is useful, but it could provide more information.
  • Sharing the documentation could be made easier.
Postman lends itself to testing APIs. Teams that develop web applications using RESTful APIs would benefit greatly from using Postman and its features, that are designed for repeatability and troubleshooting. Developers can install extensions into browsers that allow them to see, effectively, the same things Postman does, but it would be difficult to find a one-stop-shop of features specifically designed to see the interaction of user requests with the web application. Postman is a must if you're developing a web application that leverages an API in any way.
I've never had a need to request support from Postman.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our platform uses a lot of microservices. It has a lot of REST API for various purposes such as to get the information about what task is being currently handled by the CI, is there something which seems to be failing, etc. In order to address all of these problems, we use Postman to query the current state of our microservices.
  • Ability to store commands
  • Integrates with Jenkins
  • Faster bug fixes
If you are planning to run different test cases on different environments and it is kind of a repetitive job, I believe it is always better to use Postman since it just gives you an amazing, resilient UI. Its integration with Jenkins makes it easier to execute tests within the build systems itself. Also, they have a Newman feature which enables running Postman form systems that dont have GUI.
January 22, 2020

My Postman Delivers...

Sharmin Promi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has been used by the whole organization but mostly by my department.
  • Fast API calls can be made for http protocol and restful service prospective.
  • Free and open source tool.
  • Tool has limited automation capability.
  • Tool has limited report generation capability.
It resolves fast delivery of http calls and API calls and testing team. Many cases on CI/CD env it resolves fast tracking for API calls. Full application flow from a restful service prospective. It is one of the great tools for API testing. It has limited reporting capability and very limited capacity for DB connection.
It is an open source tool so not much liability and dependency involved. Thus support is limited. Also due to some limitations of the tool, online user support is also very limited.
Joshua Cariño | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Postman is our go-to Application for testing all our Rest APIs. It's very userfriendly and has most of the features we look for as devs in testing our APIs. It is also the only testing application we were introduced to even in our Bootcamp as newly hired Associate Software Engineers the last year and no doubt of its capabilities as the whole organization is using it.
  • Send Rest Request easily.
  • Modify different types of parameters with ease.
  • I hope they could develop a trace log like that of Apigee Edge where I could visually see what happened as the request gets processed.
  • Add the auto Beatify or AutoCorrect formats of JSON texts.
Postman is very helpful in testing Rest APIs as request could be made easier with the very easy to use User Interface. Even QAs use this for testing our APIs as a base for determining whether the API works or just due to integration issues.
Never used any support from Postman really, as most if any issues we encountered could be found on forums on the internet anyway.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Postman is used by our Development team to test and debug APIs. This allows us to begin testing earlier in our projects than we would have been able to otherwise, which saves time and money on programming projects. It also reduces the ramp-up time required for new employees to become productive when working with our existing codebase.
  • Intuitive interface - Postman's desktop client is well designed and easy to use.
  • Collaboration - Coworkers can share a work space and work together from any location.
  • Configuration - Postman offers hundreds of settings for extensive customization.
  • Desktop based - While it's possible to run Postman on a phone or tablet, it works best on desktop environments.
  • Data analysis - It would be helpful to be able to run more data analysis directly within the tool. Exporting isn't always as straightforward as it could be.
Postman works great for development teams of any size. It is especially helpful for programmers who regularly work with REST APIs and want to reduce friction in the development process. The pricing is relatively affordable, which makes it a good option even for organizations with a limited budget.

Teams that don't use REST APIs or develop for the web are less likely to benefit from Postman.
There is a lot of in-depth documentation for Postman available online, including detailed guides with screenshots and videos. They provide example APIs for new users to explore while learning how to use the tool. Generally, bugs in the client are quickly addressed through frequent free updates. Community and professional support options are available - most of the time, the free/community level support is adequate.
Gary Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Postman is used by several developers in the organization. This program is one of my primary tools in the development of web services/APIs and also in calling external web services. Prior to actually programming calls to external web services, this tool lets you try out calls passing parameters and viewing responses. Tweak as necessary, including authorization, and once satisfied, craft your software to do the same.
  • Issue GET and POST calls to external APIs to verify headers and responses.
  • Verify developed internal APIs.
  • Build a library collection of useful API calls to be used as needed.
  • The history of previous calls is easily searched to pull up calls to be modified and repeated.
  • It is difficult to move a folder from one collection to another.
  • It may be necessary to subscribe to the professional edition to get needed functionality. So far, I have been able to use the free edition to do a substantial amount of work. For example, sharing with teams with large collections would require the paid edition.
  • Switching from team back to individual may result in lost collections that were archived. Export the archive before you do this so you can import it. this area can be confusing.
Postman can run a series of API calls to verify your APIs are working as expected. This functionality is very flexible.

Collections of calls can be shared with teams for effective collaboration.

If your application has some sort of error in the API call, use the browser developer tool (generally F12) to view the call and response in the Network tab. Reproduce the call in Postman to reproduce the unexpected result. Fix your application and re-test with Postman. Iterate until the application behaves as it should.
I did have a case recently where I had to contact support on recovering lost collections and I quickly received a response with details on how to recover (which I did, successfully). In addition, documentation and community forums were very good.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to make test API calls to my own APIs and 3rd party APIs.
  • It allows us to share API calls.
  • Easy to create test API calls.
  • Easy to install.
  • Easier to share to non-workspace users.
Postman is great for testing API calls and diagnosing the results.
There is a lot of support out there for this utility.
Return to navigation