Postman

Postman

Score 8.9 out of 10
Postman

Overview

What is Postman?

Postman, headquartered in San Francisco, offers their flagship API development and management free to small teams and independent developers. Higher tiers (Postman Pro and Postman Enterprise) support API management, as well as team collaboration, extended support and other advanced features.
Read more

Recent Reviews

Time saver of engineers

10 out of 10
October 09, 2022
Postman just solves all the problem that developers had with the uses of API builidng and testing. It is baically an end to end solution …
Continue reading

Postman Review

10 out of 10
May 24, 2022
Postman is what we use to test our API systems. We have a variety of public and private API systems, all of which are tested by my team …
Continue reading

All About Postman

9 out of 10
January 17, 2022
I am working in the company as a Test Automation Engineer. I am using Postman for testing different services in different environments. I …
Continue reading

Postman Delivers

9 out of 10
September 17, 2020
We write and maintain several WCF applications and integrate with WCF services from other teams and departments. Postman has been great …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 7 features
  • API access control (32)
    9.3
    93%
  • API user onboarding (21)
    8.7
    87%
  • API monitoring and logging (32)
    8.5
    85%
  • API versioning (24)
    8.5
    85%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Postman, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Postman Free Plan

$0.00 US Dollars

Cloud

Postman Basic Plan

$12 US Dollars

Cloud
per month per user

Postman Professional Plan

$29 US Dollars

Cloud
per month per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.postman.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features

API Management

API management handles technical things like user permissions, version control,and security, in addition to business items like documentation and pricing

8.3Avg 8.2
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Postman?

Postman is an API platform, boasting users among more than 17 million developers and 500,000 organizations worldwide for building and managing APIs. Postman aims to simplify each step of the API lifecycle and streamline collaboration, enabling users to create better APIs faster. The company is headquartered in San Francisco and has a large office in Bangalore, where it was founded.

Postman Features

API Management Features

  • Supported: API access control
  • Supported: API versioning
  • Supported: Usage billing and payments
  • Supported: API monitoring and logging

Postman Screenshots

Screenshot of API design - You can design your API specifications in Postman using OpenAPI, RAML, GraphQL, or SOAP formats. Postman’s schema editor makes it easy to work with specification files of any size, & it validates specifications with a built-in linting engine.Screenshot of API documentation - Postman automatically generates documentation & supports markdown-enabled and machine-readable documentation. Docs automatically include request details & sample code. Share the docs with your team, in a public workspace, or in a dedicated portal.Screenshot of API testing - Build and run functional, integration, & regression tests directly in Postman or as part of your CI/CD pipeline with Newman (Postman’s a command-line Collection Runner that enables you to run & test a collection from the command line).Screenshot of Public workspaces - Public workspaces allow you to share your APIs publicly with anyone. You can use public workspaces to gather feedback on your APIs, onboard developers quickly, or just showcase your work.Screenshot of Reporting - Postman generates reports that enable you to visualize data for team metrics and usage, & for API activities such as creation, collection execution, and test runs. Use reports to get insights on performance, troubleshooting, & SLA adherence.

Postman Video

Postman Integrations

Postman Competitors

Postman Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Postman, headquartered in San Francisco, offers their flagship API development and management free to small teams and independent developers. Higher tiers (Postman Pro and Postman Enterprise) support API management, as well as team collaboration, extended support and other advanced features.

RapidAPI and Stoplight are common alternatives for Postman.

Reviewers rate API access control highest, with a score of 9.3.

The most common users of Postman are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 30)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
October 09, 2022

Time saver of engineers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman has the ability for an end to end development of API. Others apps available don't have this ability. They lack in one or more cases. But Postman here is developed itself by an IT engineer working in Banglore, the IT city of india. He understands the issues faced by the developers hence it solves all the issues.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
There isn't much between them, really we just picked Postman as it was slightly better but the others are still good. We also had a few people that had a good experience of using Postman join the team when we were looking at what tools to use and with them using Postman before it allowed for us to get started much quicker.
Lankit Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
NGL first of all was word of mouth. my teammates were already using Postman so I was told to use it as well. I tried exploring other alternatives but most of them seem to provide a particular service. On the other hand, Postman is a whole bundle to manage almost everything related to APIs
Bimal Subedi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman is a lot more affordable and maintainable than its competitors. Also, it is easy to use and deployment takes less amount of time. So, we selected Postman as it best fits our requirements.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
ReadyAPI is a nightmare for source control integration but gives you a huge plethora more tools to create automated tests for APIs. With Visual Studio you can use a unit test framework to create test cases that can instantiate a WebClient class and make API calls. It takes more development-specific knowledge, and the setup is much more involved than the abstraction offered through postman. A postman falls somewhere in the middle, you give up on some things in favor of others.
Rafael Grandizoli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Before using Postman it was a big issue when we had to study and understand how a new API works. Even if we have all documentation from the 3rd party, doing requests (POST/GET/etc.) was always a problem since it was needed to develop a small code by the back-end team and asks for the data returned. It took a long time! Postback came to speedup the process and let me do it by myself.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is used by the for testing live and offline api's. We deploy refined code to production with the help of postman so that our front-end developers get rid of errors. In comparison with other's postman is well designed and handle calls very perfectly.
September 17, 2020

Postman Delivers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman is a great out-of-the-box tool for API testing. SwaggerHub is also good but requires a bit more configuration to integrate with the API you're going to test (if the API isn't set up for it, you probably won't get much out of SwaggerHub).
March 12, 2020

My review on Postman

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is a tool like Insomnia. I used it for some time but all the developers are addicted to using Postman. Soap UI also came up with testing the rest of the services. Before they only offered soap services testing but the soap UI is also not that great when compared to Postman.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Chrome DevTools doesn't compare to Postman. One supplements the other. I haven't used or evaluated any other software compared to Postman. I have used PowerShell to make HTTP calls against our API's, though that is all command-line based and doesn't stack up nearly as high as Postman.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman is NOT an API management tool, it is an API testing tool. If you're expecting to use Postman to manage API requests stats and usage stats, read no further: Postman is NOT for you. If you want to see the JSON output of a RESTful API, you're in the right place. There are other tools like Insomnia and SoapUI that I know of, but I haven't tested directly. Once I found out about Postman I downloaded, used it, and haven't looked back since. Postman really hits all the features you could use if you're testing an API in a nice, elegant package.
January 22, 2020

My Postman Delivers...

Sharmin Promi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman has pros and cons both and keeping them in mind we are using multiple tools to leverage our Services, integration, automation, and testing needs.
Some of the above mentioned tools have better automation or complete framework implementation capabilities. Having all the tools including Postman available to the organization is making us more efficient.
Joshua Cariño | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Although Apigee Edge platforms Trace UI does the same job as Postman. Postman is the most advanced of the two. Browser extensions I know of that does the same thing as Postman are too bad of apps to use even to have a mention here. Either they are limited in features or the user interface is very hard to use.
Gary Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Other tools I have used include LINQPad which allows coding to call APIs and while not as friendly as Postman, is one of my go-to tools for development and templating. Swagger for C# APIs generates web pages that can show the required parameters for a GET/POST call and allow testing. This can be useful in generating classes for API calls and also executing the API calls but Postman is preferred for its collections, history, and functionality.
Anthony Aziz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Previous to using Postman, I would either use browser tools directly, or write an in-house tool to send requests. Postman eliminates that need while providing a much better experience and more features. At the base level, Postman is as simple as typing in the address as you would in a browser. Authentication can be provided simply as well.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I used Fiddler before, and while it does a lot, it's not as good as Postman. Postman is so unique, and helps you test specific API calls with specific tokens, etc. You can modify it in a way that Fiddler can't. It is definitely a more secure tool to test API calls than many others out there.
Return to navigation