PowerDMS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
140 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 119)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 22, 2021
Laurence Van Alstine | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A police department runs on communication, and inevitably, paperwork. Adrian Police Department is leveraging PowerDMS to improve internal communication and simply workflows, document distribution, training, public access to records, policy management, and accreditation assessment. Currently, we are the only Department in our City using PowerDMS. The other Departments within the City use another product, that lacked functionality for police use. All employees and police reserve officers have access to PowerDMS, via a web-based application and smartphone app. This gives 24/7, world-wide access to all forms, schedules, and training, requiring only a web-enable device. We are also able to complete our accreditation compliance assessment within the application, using proofs that are real documents, updated in real time. In short, all business functions of the police department rely on PowerDMS, while all law enforcement functions are air-locked in a separate records management system.
  • Policy management- [Users] sign for, and can take [tests] to prove understanding of policy right in the application. As [the] policy is updated, old versions are retained, so that we not only know what a policy contains, we can track changes and provide information on what a policy was at any given time in the past.
  • Training- Users receive notifications when training is due and are guided to complete the training. If the training requires recertification, PowerDMS can be configured to alert the user that re-training is needed, without a supervisor needing to keep track. All documents used in training, including presentations and videos, can be contained in the PowerDMS course, so we can prove not only that an employee was trained, but exactly what curriculum was use din any given training.
  • Accreditation Assessment- [Our] accreditation standards manual is uploaded directly into PowerDMS. Proofs are accomplished using the actual policy and procedure, as well as the documents created during the workday. There is absolutely no duplication of effort.
  • Communications accountability- Email [can] be read and forgotten. With PowerDMS, a document can be distributed for user signatures, insuring that the user took affirmative action to read and understand the document.
  • Due to the immense capability of this product, learning the product can be daunting.
  • As with any new system, learning the "language" of PowerDMS is essential. Sometimes they don't call things the same thing you do.
  • Good software services are never cheap, and neither is PowerDMS.
Excellent for government agencies. The accountability features are excellent, and reports can be run simply, making it easy to see who has signed a policy, or check on a workflow. The ability to share any documents with the public in real-time is also outstanding, [as] I am a life-long government employee, and cannot comment intelligently on other industries.
Read Laurence Van Alstine's full review
February 05, 2021
Phillip Loth | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerDMS is being used mainly by my organization as a whole to put out policies for all shifts be it night or day. They can then use this information to look up best practices. Another tool that we use is testing, You can create a test in PowerDMS that is due on a certain date and time. Then you can create a sheet that shows compliance by all employees. This helps keep everyone on the same page. Lastly, it allows me as an Accreditation Manager to comply with CALEA requirements and upload any file type to show my department holds itself to a higher standard.
  • File Upload
  • Test grading
  • None
For any agency that is looking for an easy solution to put out training to all shifts during Covid, this is the product for you. Easy automatic grading and lists of who has completed the training save time and money doing it in person. It has a counter that shows how many trees have been saved and I believe our small department has saved 11 trees of paper.
Read Phillip Loth's full review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using PowerDMS for everything we can. It will be our department's one-stop shop for awards, policies, documents, courses, training, etc.. I feel it is going to boost morale in my department because users are going to know their certificates/awards are visible to their Supervisor. The accreditation process is going to be smooth and also the re-accreditation will be much easier.
  • The search engine find-anything is a lifesaver.
  • The certificates/trainings and keeping track of who needs what and when.
  • Accreditation and the files that need to be kept. The way proofs are kept with the policy.
  • Once a certificate is built the easy of awarding others the same certificate.
  • Making users and adding consulting personnel or assessors in to view items.
  • It is a lot at first but the coaching you get out weighs the volume.
[Well suited for] keeping certificates and training in order.
Read this authenticated review
November 12, 2020
Keri Higby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our agency uses Power DMS to conduct trainings in addition to keeping up to date with general orders and written directives. This platform helps to keep over 1,400 employees compliant and helps to greatly improve communication.
  • Power DMS is an excellent platform for conducting any type of online training that you create
  • Power DMS helps to keep a wide variety of users's files and documents very well organized.
  • Power DMS enables you to create certificates upon completion of a course and/or training.
  • I would like to see more improvement with functionality tabs for users.
  • I would like to see more options to edit and enhance user profiles.
  • I would like to see more options for importing documents and images.
Power DMS is extremely well suited to manage documents for users. I am also very impressed with the capability to conduct trainings.
Power DMS has the Power DMS University which is outstanding and provides very detailed information on thousands of topics and scenarios.
Read Keri Higby's full review
November 10, 2020
Aaron Chapin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization utilizes PowerDMS to manage different documents in the organization. The primary use is to manage our department policies. Staff members are able to access/review/sign off on policies in the program, and PowerDMS provides reporting tools for management to track these actions. PowerDMS is also used to provide the same policies to members of our community through the public-facing documents module as an add-on to the software. We also utilize PowerDMS to manage other documents, including but not limited to training bulletins, memos, forms, user guides, and releases.
  • Sign-off procedures for policies
  • Tracking training
  • Managing accreditation documents
  • It would be nice to be able to better redact documents in the public-facing add-on
  • I would like to see additional features in the mobile version of the software.
I recommend PowerDMS to others who need to manage a significant amount of documents. It is also incredibly valuable for organizations that are pursuing accreditation as a law enforcement agency. It is easy to manage the necessary documents if the accrediting body has the manual and standards for the accrediting organization.
Customer service has been very responsive when I have needed them (which has not been often). PowerDMS have a very large library of training resources available to users and the tools do a very good job of answering most questions or issues.
Read Aaron Chapin's full review
July 16, 2020
Jason Ammon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We rely on Power DMS for many things. We store our policy files through DMS, giving employees an easy method to search and study policy. We also publish new policies and policy changes through the system. Power DMS allows them to sign off on new policies both on the website and mobile app versions. They can review policy changes side by side with older policies to see what has changed.

We utilize the program for CALEA accreditation purposes as well. We are able to store proofs as they relate to our standards. We can grant access to assessors so they can view our proofs remotely.

We also utilize Power DMS for training purposes. We store training records and certificates through the program. We can publish training courses and have employees sign up for courses through Power DMS. Employees can also submit training requests to their supervisors and up the chain of command. Through training requests, they are able to provide documentation on travel/training costs.

We are also looking at using Power DMS to track equipment and uniforms issued to our employees.
  • Policy storage and management
  • Storage and access to training files
  • Training requests
  • Workflows
  • Mobile application - training improvements (allow users to submit training requests)
  • Mobile application - side by side view of draft and old policies
  • Sometimes the application causes headaches through window expansions
I would recommend the program to anyone involved in policy management (storage, application, distribution, communication). I highly suggest any law enforcement agency utilize Power DMS due to the companies relationship with accreditation bodies. You can not only access your standards manuals but upload proofs, organize them, and provide access to an accessor within the program.
I just wish we had some in-state support. The contacts I have had with customer support have been great. Awesome communication, problem-solving, and support. I have talked to and met Stephanie Williams (CSA for Power DMS) at the most recent Entrust conference. She was professional and devoted time to addressing our agency needs.
Read Jason Ammon's full review
July 15, 2020
Ed Goodman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerDMS provides the user with a 'one-stop' database for all agency-related documents, training, surveys, and accreditation-related processes

PowerDMS is used by the agency for both accreditation purposes, assessment management, and as a document resource center. All policies and procedures are created in PowerDMS which provides a real-time tracking of the approval related activities. Once the document is approved, we track user review and signature for the document. Additionally, we use PowerDMS to provide remote web-based training to staff by incorporating video, PowerPoint presentations, policies, and other documents. The Training module is used to track all training requests, courses, and certificates.
  • PowerDMS provides management with a real-time tracking of policy reviews, approvals, and signatures. This is a great benefit for risk management.
  • PowerDMS allows users to incorporate remote, web-based training in a variety of formats including, but not limited to, video, PowerPoint, miscellaneous documents, interactive activities, and tests.
  • PowerDMS provides a very robust search engine that is very user-friendly.
  • PowerDMS has a mobile application that is available, however, at this time functionality is limited. That being said, the developers are very active in communicating with their customers and are constantly looking to improve all of their services.
PowerDMS is an excellent tool to be used in a law enforcement setting. Being able to run reports on policies and procedures gives management the ability to verify that these documents have been reviewed, received and understood by staff. It also provides a central repository for all critical documents including policies, procedures, training courses and certificates, accreditation related materials, maps, and countless other activities.
PowerDMS Support has been outstanding. From the time of initial purchase, an on-boarding specialist is assigned to provide all of the orientation and training needed to get started with the program. In the rare event that a problem occurs, staff is always available to quickly guide the user and remedy the issue. Additionally, PowerDMS actively seeks out input from their clients on how to improve the product and its delivery.
Read Ed Goodman's full review
July 28, 2020
Bethany Elliott-Thul | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerDMS houses all of our policies, forms and training. Before PowerDMS we had policies on 3 different sites, now they are on one easy to search and use site. We would run into problems of policies not be updated in all spots, so now that they are in one location, updating is no longer messy and it removes room for error.
  • Support desk is fantastic!
  • Organization
  • Listening to requests of customers
  • All Staff are helpful
  • Course/certificate can get confusing
  • Large focus on police work
I would recommend PowerDMS for any company or group that is looking to organize things. Or if you have staff that need to be more involved, the workflow function is perfect!
The PowerDMS support team is fantastic! There are different levels of staff, so you are always able to get an answer.
Read Bethany Elliott-Thul's full review
July 19, 2020
Michael Hass | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerDMS is used by everyone in our organization for policy sign-offs and to view/search policies. It retains all version history and also documents when policies were signed by every employee. All policies are now in one location that can be accessed by everyone at work or remotely using the mobile app. The search feature on desktops and the mobile app makes looking for what you need very simple.
  • Retains version history.
  • Allows supervisors to view employee status with sign-off of policies.
  • Works amazingly for accreditation.
  • Allows for a one-stop-shop for all policies.
  • It would be helpful if PowerDMS would allow administrators more options with the Timeout feature. Allowing different timeout options for different users would be great.
  • Training can be difficult for new users. The Success Community and University are very helpful. An additional example may be helpful because not all tasks are the same as the example.
PowerDMS highly recommend for accreditation purposes and is the only option for accreditation management with CALEA. All policies can be loaded and then highlighted to the appropriate bullets in the CALEA standard. The same is for the proofs or examples that are required yearly. One can load Word files, PDFs, photos, videos, and links for proofs, training, policy, etc.
PowerDMS support is fantastic. Many times one can get the needed question answered by using the Success Community. If not, one can call or email PowerDMS and get prompt, courteous, English speaking assistance. They know everyone has different learning curves and never make one feel like a dumb question was asked. If it's more of a technical glitch, then there is a constant and quick follow-up on the issue.
Read Michael Hass's full review
July 17, 2020
Marci Ware | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our department uses both sides of PowerDMS (training and compliance). We use it for CALEA compliance and we also use it to send out all of our policy changes and updates. In addition, we use PowerDMS to distribute training to reduce the number of hours officers have to be off the street for training and we track training certificates from both internal and external training.
  • PowerDMS provides the user learning tools that make mastering the programs easier.
  • PowerDMS has amazing employees that no matter what problem you are having they help come up with solutions.
  • PowerDMS listens to their customers and their needs and is constantly making their product better and implementing many of the suggestions from their customers.
  • The use and implementation of advanced workflows is difficult to follow even after watching the videos or attending training.
PowerDMS is a great tool for sending out policy changes and updates. We are constantly changing policy and this program allows you to see the latest version of that policy, but you can also see and compare the version just prior to the one published if you want to make comparisons. In addition to seeing the latest version, it also archives all the prior versions so you can see the history of the document and also what would have been signed off at that time if needed.
I have never reached out to PowerDMS whether it was through an email, live chat or on the phone and not gotten a resolution to my question or direction as to where I can get an answer. Their customer service is one of the best I have ever dealt with.
Read Marci Ware's full review
July 16, 2020
Teri Horton-Sandlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PowerDMS across the entire organization for policy acknowledgment, training and signatures, and accreditation. The main problem PowerDMS addresses for our organization is the ability to track changes in policy and new training.
  • PowerDMS allows for quick dissemination of documents to all employees
  • PowerDMS allows for pretty much any document to be uploaded to it
  • PowerDMS allows for public transparency
  • Uploading videos seems to be difficult as most must be in MP4 format
  • Sometimes in the help section it is hard to find exactly what you are looking for
I don't believe PowerDMS really has any negatives unless it is for the cost aspect. In the longrun though, I think the benefit outweighs the cost. PowerDMS is an excellent choice for policy management. You can track changes to policies, disseminate them quickly, and track who has read and signed the documents.
It is an excellent choice for policy management, not to mention for training and accreditation purposes. The PowerDMS staff is great to work with and always ready to help. I fully recommend this software on the fact of just knowing that my documents are safe and secure.
Read Teri Horton-Sandlin's full review
July 15, 2020
Brenda Gisewite | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mainly use PowerDMS for tracking accreditation for law enforcement, communications, and corrections. We also use PowerDMS for issuing policies and tracking employee signatures, as well as agency training. Prior to PowerDMS, we had filing cabinets full of accreditation compliance files. We also had piles of sign-off sheets for employee's signatures after the release or revision to a policy. Those are now all electronically stored and easily assessable in PowerDMS.
  • Stores employee signatures for policy release and revision. No more filing 400+ sheets of paper every time we issue or reissue a policy.
  • Stores accreditation compliance files. We used to have four filing cabinets full of files. Now they are electronic and easily assessable.
  • Allows easy and timely distribution of training materials. Also, easily assessable when needed.
  • It would be greatly helpful if assessment tasks could be assigned to an individual person as opposed to a group who are in the same role.
PowerDMS is a great timesaver when switching from one assessment to another. It saves time on filing paperwork, as well as saves trees.
PowerDMS always responds in a timely manner. They keep you apprised of the situation until it is resolved.
Read Brenda Gisewite's full review
July 15, 2020
Stephanie Erb | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize PowerDMS for our accreditation, training, policy review, continuing education hours, tracking training attended, and certification tracking
  • customer service....they listen to their customers and dont just listen but they then act on what the customers say, if you need something there are many ways to reach out to them and all of them are very efficient with a turnaround time of about an hour
  • education.....they provide many opportunities to learn about what all of the features of PowerDMS and what they can do for you
  • they provide many different functions within their system so that it benefits many different departments within a business
  • I would like to be able to customize things a little bit more
It is very appropriate if your agency has many documents that you need all employees or specific group of employees to sign off on to then hold them liable for having read and understood the content of the documents. It is also great to keep track of training employees have or have not attended. Along those same lines is the capability to track certificates. Whether a certificate is mandated by law or your employer it reminds the employee to get it taken care of you then have easy access to where all of your employees stand as far having certain certificates.
Read Stephanie Erb's full review
July 15, 2020
Shelby Howard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerDMS is an easy way to update and share our department's policies and procedures. It is convenient when we want to get information out and allows us to track that information.
  • Easy to upload documents.
  • Easy to modify documents within the program.
  • Easy to search for a particular document.
Read Shelby Howard's full review
July 24, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our agency has used PowerDMS for about 8 years as Accreditation software, but we recently obtained the rights for the Training and Policy manuals. PowerDMS helps with accountability and accessibility.
  • The mobile app is great for the things that it has available.
  • I love that PowerDMS is very responsive to customer feedback. We have representatives from PowerDMS at all of our conferences and they will sit down with you to troubleshoot issues and take feedback for usability improvements.
  • The online training is wonderful. They have PowerDMS University, which has in-depth videos to teach users how to use the product.
  • The PowerDMS app is great, but it doesn't have Assessments available. I use PowerDMS mostly for Assessments, so it would be great for when I am away from my desk.
  • Documents uploaded to PowerDMS aren't searchable by using CTRL + F. The mobile app will allow you to search the document, though.
  • In Assessments, it would be useful to be able to select multiple items to delete or move. If I wanted to delete or move more than one attachment, I have to do each one individually. It would be nice to be able to use CTRL or SHIFT to be able to select multiple items.
  • Highlights (in Assessments) should be more of a "highlighter" selector, instead of a rectangle. It is nice to be able to select certain sentences or words in a paragraph instead of having to "highlight" a large rectangle of text.
  • In Assessments, Proofs of Compliance should have a boxes available to attach documents. (Like the Bullets and Required References currently have boxes to link items.)
  • In Assessments, it would be nice to add a page to an uploaded file. If I had my proof uploaded for Year 1, I would like to be able to add the Year 2 proof to the existing file. Currently, I bind the files in Adobe, upload the new file, and delete the old file.
PowerDMS is required by our accrediting body, so it is well suited for any agency being accredited by the CFA. If would be less appropriate for an agency that is accredited by a body that requires another software.
I love that PowerDMS is very responsive to customer feedback. We have representatives from PowerDMS at all of our conferences and they will sit down with you to troubleshoot issues and take feedback for usability improvements. PowerDMS also has PowerDMS Champions, where power users are often asked for their feedback and opinions about the software.
Read this authenticated review
July 19, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for distribution of all policies and procedures, allows for easy proof of these policies being received by employees. Storage of forms used within the agency as well, easy access for everyone. Recently we've increased our online training courses issued through it as well, with easy testing to monitor retention and certificates issued to track completion.
  • Great tracing of employees receipt of documents.
  • Being able to build online training. testing, and certificates issued upon completion.
  • Reports can be easily run for any proofs of compliance that are needed.
  • Being able to mark the "auto grade" feature after starting to build a test.
  • Lower cost for the public facing document feature.
Excellent for all public safety fields for training issuance and documentation. The ability to track and record issuance documents would benefit all workplaces, not just public safety. I see the training feature being the biggest attribute in the future as the need for increased training and proof of that training being done becomes critical.
Good support, very few issues but when there are issues they are quickly addressed. Excellent training and tutorial programs as well for easy learning on the go training sessions. The community support option is great also, any question you may have has already been asked and answered with a good explanation.
Read this authenticated review
July 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerDMS is being used by all members of our police department. It is efficient in distributing policies and memos. It also helps our department go green by saving on so much paper. It's easy to use, easy to track documents and changes, and nice to have everything in one place with quick access.
  • Able to see changes easily to documents
  • Able to confirm user has seen and read a document by obtaining signatures
  • No "next" button when reading messages
  • Unable to edit a document once added to an assessment
  • Not fully personalized, but still manageable
PowerDMS is great for keeping policies and procedures in a convenient location, and it is even easier to update these policies. We can easily track document changes and pass it between users. It's also wonderful for keeping track of training records and expiration dates for training that expires. PowerDMS has the capability of creating tests which are useful for in house trainings.
PowerDMS customer service is amazing. Quick question or hard question, they are on top of your assigned case and getting answers to you as fast as possible. The chat feature is also very nice, because quick questions can be answered within minutes. Everyone is always friendly and professional. We've been very impressed!
Read this authenticated review
July 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented PowerDMS in 2015 to manage our policy and our CALEA Accreditation. The entire department uses PowerDMS for our agencies Policy and Forms Library, Internal Training Course, and Career Development. As the Accreditation Manager, I utilize the software to manage our policy development, distribution, and tracking and document management and facilitation of our accreditation assessment.
  • Document management: paperless organization and distribution method
  • Paperless tracking
  • Training module is a seamless product to streamline internal training needs
  • The Developer and Product Innovators are very open to idea to streamline functionality
The software provides a way to streamline paper documents into a electronic document management system that flows into accreditation assessments seamlessly. Makes it quite easy to go paperless.
PowerDMS Helpdesk representatives are knowledgeable and go above and beyond to ensure product support and satisfaction.
Read this authenticated review
April 29, 2020
Eric Talbot | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Accreditation program of PowerDMS, and the administration and supervisors are the only ones using it in our department. It has helped us organize our files and make them available online for inspection.
  • Their support staff is awesome.
  • Their product is easy to use.
  • The training on how to use their program is extremely helpful and I would recommend it to everyone who is a first time user.
  • The workflow process can be improved a bit but we do not use it very much for accreditation.
  • We also use Lexipol and with them merging it might make things easier for our policy and accreditation to work better together.
Having only used the Accreditation program I can not speak for the other programs, and I have yet to run into a problem. The Accreditation program has become very valuable during this time of COVID19 because we can set it up for assessors to review our files without them having to leave their offices and travel to our department. I have found nothing less appropriate in the use of the program we have.
They have been able to answer all my questions and return phone calls and emails promptly. They are all very polite and professional and very knowledgeable about the programs.
Read Eric Talbot's full review
March 13, 2020
Peggy Tennyson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerDMS is used by our agency for policy, updates, training and documents as well as the storage of certificates. The entire agency uses the program at various levels. The program offers one stop shopping for most everything we need. The ability to retrieve docs from one location and to validate user review is priceless.
  • Stores Training
  • Tracks time spent as well as items reviewed
  • Easily searchable
  • Security safe
  • Certificate printing
  • Sorting
  • Speed of downloads
  • Lack of IT help for transfer of files
Well suited for policy / handbook tracking. Great for managing certificates and training. Not so good for anything finance related or Human Resources. Good for tracking guidelines and proofs for accreditation. Good for getting a message out and tracking it was received. Not good for non-computer users. Signature proof is perfect for recalling all requirements for standards.
Hard to get a return call.
Read Peggy Tennyson's full review
March 09, 2020
jeff Hamer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use PowerDMS to manage my accreditation assessment for state-level accreditation through the Illinois Law Enforcement Accreditation Program (ILEAP). I have done both methods of ILEAP accreditation - Paper and PowerDMS. Currently, PowerDMS is used only in the accreditation function, but we foresee training and policy being added later. PowerDMS streamlines the ILEAP process, saving not only trees and paper costs, but also time, energy, and the administrative footprint associated with managing police accreditation.
  • Avoids paper files and costs associated with printing, shipping, and storing files.
  • Quickly and efficiently organizes accreditation files.
  • Allows for remote file review by assessors.
  • Not a PowerDMS problem, but training officers to use new software is problematic when the agency can barely afford to keep up with training mandates.
  • PowerDMS does offer a robust help community to help solve this issue though.
Through ILEAP, I routinely recommend PowerDMS as the most efficient and easiest method to conduct an ILEAP accreditation assessment. I've personally urged 50+ departments to look into PowerDMS. Many have signed on and made their assessment easier.
Support has been phenomenal. There is a robust Help Community with searchable documents that can quickly answer questions. I have used the help chat feature a few times where I can connect with a live P-DMS support tech. They've quickly helped me figure the problem out but also showed me other tips and tricks to avoid the headache I had to begin with.
Entrust 2020 - a conference Power DMS holds to train, inform, and teach users how to use all (basic and advanced) features of their product.
Read jeff Hamer's full review
December 12, 2019
Monzon Miriam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our agency uses Power DMS for three different assessments. Employees are able to add proofs, send notifications, look at progress reports, and many other tasks without having to keep several files on hand.
  • One of the best programs to create, share, test, and conduct training on policies and critical information.
  • Reduces risks and maintains records and access to records which enables staff to access the most recent documents from anywhere and at any time.
  • It would be nice to be able to upload larger files, such as videos. Currently the capacity is 100 megabytes.
PowerDMS is well suited for my agency because of the large number of employees. It allows for multiple licenses for usage and for employee access. Being able to access the program from anywhere is a definite plus, and it is a very good asset when working from home. I have no complaints about this program. It gets the job done.
Great customer service, prompt answers to questions and various resources and networking
Read Monzon Miriam's full review
April 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerDMS is used for policy and procedures. We send tests and surveys out to officers. During social distancing it has been very helpful.
  • Review and sign new and revised policies
  • Can do tests
  • Accountability
  • Tracking
PowerDMS is very helpful.
Casey from PowerDMS is awesome.
Read this authenticated review
November 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerDMS is used company-wide to manage education and policies. We use it to stay compliant with accreditation. Our users can read and sign our policies and we can keep track of which ones they have done or need to read. They can also have their annual education on the site and take tests to be sure they have read and understood the material.
  • It is easy to navigate
  • There is simple troubleshooting
  • It holds all policies needed and more
  • For health, it is hard to keep groups in line with every department and every supervisor we have.
  • There are too many departments to have access to certain documents.
  • Users always need the view function, but then they can access things they do not need.
It is very helpful to keep track of who has done training and set an expiration date. This helps us keep track of licenses or certificates that employees must renew every year or more. It also allows supervisors to run reports to see which employee needs what. It is helpful for them to keep track of their department.
The people that have been helping us with PowerDMS integration has always gone above and beyond what we needed. They are helpful and truly like what they do. They have answered our questions and then gone above that to show us the necessary basic functions. They have also always had time to answer us or give a callback.
Read this authenticated review
October 14, 2019
Tracy Kizer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerDMS is used by every employee in our department. Our general orders, standard operating procedures, employee notifications, employee benefit memos, and department information is all kept in PowerDMS. You are able to sign-off on written procedures and documents, while they are there for future reference.
So much easier to update and make corrections or changes in GO or SOP.
  • The ability to have employees sign off on documented procedures or GO. If you just want the information to be available, you do not have to have them sign off.
  • Very quick and easy search of all documents. If the word is mentioned in a document, it is in the search.
  • The tracking of certificates is great. It keeps up with dates of expiration and notifies the individual.
  • We have administered the test to employees, which can be multiple-choice, true/false or written response.
  • For our purposes, I think we are able to use to its full extent.
It keeps the documentation that we need. We dispatch for multiple departments and lots of information has to be sent to everyone and that information has to be easily accessible.
Very seldom have we needed support, but when we did, we had no issues.
Read Tracy Kizer's full review

What is PowerDMS?

PowerDMS is a document management system focused on compliance and industry policy regulations. It is commonly used by Law Enforcement, Healthcare, Fire/EMS, and Corrections organizations.

PowerDMS Features

Additional Features
Has featurePolicy Management
Has featureTraining Management
Has featureAccreditation Management
Has featureApproval Process Control
Has featureAudit Trails
Has featurePolicy Library
Has featurePolicy Training
Has featureContent search and retrieval
Has featureWorkflow Management
Has featureAttestation
Has featurePolicy Creation
Has featurePolicy Metadata Management
Has featureReporting/Analytics
Has featureVersion Control
Has featureDocument Control
Has featureContent publish & creation
Has featureAutomated workflows
Has featureMobile support

PowerDMS Video

PowerDMS for Policy Management

PowerDMS Competitors

SAI360, Navex Global, Lexipol

PowerDMS Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

PowerDMS Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

PowerDMS Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

What is PowerDMS's best feature?

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses PowerDMS?

The most common users of PowerDMS are from Mid-size Companies and the Law Enforcement industry.