PowerDMS

PowerDMS

Customer Verified
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.5 out of 100
PowerDMS

Overview

Recent Reviews

PowerDMS, great for everything!

10 out of 10
November 01, 2021
PowerDMS is used across the whole organization. PowerDMS has made such an impact with collecting, processing, storing, and disseminating …
Continue reading

PowerDMS for the win!

10 out of 10
October 28, 2021
We use PowerDMS for our policy and procedures first, then we incorporated our training into the system. After we set all that up, we …
Continue reading

PowerDMS Product Review

6 out of 10
May 17, 2021
It is being used across the whole organization and [I feel] the biggest issue I have seen is that it can be a little confusing to use …
Continue reading

PowerDMS is the way to go!

10 out of 10
May 12, 2021
We are using PowerDMS for everything we can. It will be our department's one-stop shop for awards, policies, documents, courses, training, …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of PowerDMS, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is PowerDMS?

PowerDMS is a document management system focused on compliance and industry policy regulations. It is commonly used by Law Enforcement, Healthcare, Fire/EMS, and Corrections organizations.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

18 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Laserfiche?

Laserfiche has two main editions: Rio and Avante: Laserfiche Rio is designed to meet the needs of large organizations that have more than 100 users. It combines content management functionality with business process management (BPM), security and auditing, unlimited servers and a thin-client…

What is Kofax Power PDF?

Kofax Power PDF is a solution to manage PDFs for businesses and individuals available with a one-time purchase with no subscription fees.Benefits to Power PDF users: Ease of use: Works like Office desktop products, so it's easier to learn Compatibility: Works across devices and…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

PowerDMS for Policy Management
02:52
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is PowerDMS?

PowerDMS is a document management system focused on compliance and industry policy regulations. It is commonly used by Law Enforcement, Healthcare, Fire/EMS, and Corrections organizations.

PowerDMS Features

  • Supported: Policy Management
  • Supported: Training Management
  • Supported: Accreditation Management
  • Supported: Approval Process Control
  • Supported: Audit Trails
  • Supported: Policy Library
  • Supported: Policy Training
  • Supported: Content search and retrieval
  • Supported: Workflow Management
  • Supported: Attestation
  • Supported: Policy Creation
  • Supported: Policy Metadata Management
  • Supported: Reporting/Analytics
  • Supported: Version Control
  • Supported: Document Control
  • Supported: Content publish & creation
  • Supported: Automated workflows
  • Supported: Mobile support

PowerDMS Video

PowerDMS for Policy Management

PowerDMS Competitors

PowerDMS Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android

Frequently Asked Questions

SAI360 are common alternatives for PowerDMS.

Reviewers rate Implementation Rating highest, with a score of 9.1.

The most common users of PowerDMS are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Law Enforcement industry.
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 130)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Mike Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Forms Management - always one version that is current. Old version gets archived.
  • Policy Development - workflow approval processes built in
  • Training - Documentation of courses and required training hours
  • Easily search thousands of documents using simple keywords in the "Find Anything" box
  • Workflows and the ability to stop and restart an approval workflow.
  • Very easy to use program with good functionality.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Document review reminders
  • Workflows
  • Employee e-signatures for important documents
  • Allowing modifications to existing workflows
  • I wish the search function would only search the current document, not the left task bar
  • No ability to print comment on documents without "editing on desktop"
May 19, 2022

PowerDMS processes

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Allow you to upload documents.
  • Allow you to publish training.
  • Allow you to capture signatures of policies being review.
  • Allow for larger sized video to be embedded.
  • Setting up a scheduling system in PowerDMS to allow users to schedule training in a Calendar View.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Fully automated policy management system.
  • Serves as a central repository for our departmental forms and other frequently used documents.
  • Created a paperless accreditation management system.
  • Great customer service and support staff!
  • Bulk uploading and archiving of documents would be helpful.
  • Individualized emails notifying users of specific tasks.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Creating and managing department required training (HIPAA, OSHA, etc).
  • Organizing and managing policy documents.
  • Streamlines communication between staff and policy review.
  • Provides easy access to all documents (including policies, reporting forms, training reports, etc).
  • When running a report for a course/test, there is not an option for selecting only those persons who have not started the course. It can filter for those who have completed (whether passed or failed) and those who are pending completion, but, I have not found a way to filter those who were assigned the course/test yet haven't even attempted to start, let alone open, the request.
Emily Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • PowerDMS makes collaborative policy writing easy. It allows you to have multiple sign-off options which help to ensure that users agree before a policy is fully approved. The notes section allows for changes to be suggested without multiple people accessing the document at a given time.
  • Training and Documentation Storage is wonderful inside PowerDMS. The folders feature allows you to sort material and different types of documentation as if you had a copyright in front of you. The different file type uploading option for documents makes it so we can also store videos.
  • Accreditation assessments are a breeze with PowerDMS. I love all of the features of the assessment. I am able to schedule task reminders to pop up for standards that are coming due. You can choose a file that you've already uploaded on PowerDMS as a proof and this feature is also very nice.
  • PowerDMS does not allow you the ability to reassign a document or policy to an individual without republishing an already signed off document. This makes remedial training very hard and cumbersome because everytime one individual needs to review a policy we have to republish it for the entire department.
  • Users cannot receive individual notifications for documents or policies. This is a big issue when it comes to our Personnel Orders which are stored within PowerDMS because people only receive a group notification. If the developers would create this it would make the product much more user-friendly.
  • As of right now, PowerDMS is a very functional, but basic software. The lack of customization, outside of website photos and material, is very problematic for end users. If users had a place to store and manage their own records it would be very helpful. As of right now, our training team is storing them under each user's file tab, but the users themselves do not have access. When we are in a situation where we need a person's entire file it makes it difficult to have to go through and print every certificate individually.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Provides the ability to capture training.
  • Notifications when a document has been updated as well as the ability to compare without having to search.
  • The ability to search all agency documents quickly.
  • I think Power DMS currently is doing everything right.
October 28, 2021

PowerDMS for the win!

Alicia Schotter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • PowerDMS allows you to create groups so that supervisor is able to see what their shift has to do within PowerDMS.
  • PowerDMS allows use upload our subpoenas into the system to push out to the employees.
  • PowerDMS does well at tracking who has viewed a document and who has signed a document.
  • I have no cons at this time.
July 19, 2021

Happy PowerDMS User

Stephen Green | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Serves as a one stop repository for the most current forms.
  • Manages our policies and provides proof of acknowledgment.
  • Provides controlled access to designated forms and policies to the public without having to duplicate effort or host a different site.
  • Tracks training statistics and compliance.
  • Facilitates our Accreditation program and eliminates the need for paper files.
  • Hope to see the ability to view analytics (page and item views) on our Public Facing Documents portal soon.
  • Would like to expand our ability to use PowerDMS to store and manage records of training that occurs outside of PowerDMS.
  • Would like the ability to flag new items on the site for a short period of time to draw user's attention for things they are not required to sign but should notice.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • I do like that it sends me emails when I need to view a new document or course.
  • It makes it easier to get certain documents to be seen by multiple people at one time.
  • The fact that they have site specific keys is nice since I don't have to worry about any other companies stuff.
  • They do not require people to use an email address so unless everyone is keeping an eye on things then not everyone knows they have stuff to do.
  • There are times when a document is viewed and signed and it still shows that it hasn't been done yet.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The search engine find-anything is a lifesaver.
  • The certificates/trainings and keeping track of who needs what and when.
  • Accreditation and the files that need to be kept. The way proofs are kept with the policy.
  • Once a certificate is built the easy of awarding others the same certificate.
  • Making users and adding consulting personnel or assessors in to view items.
  • It is a lot at first but the coaching you get out weighs the volume.
Laurence Van Alstine | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Policy management- [Users] sign for, and can take [tests] to prove understanding of policy right in the application. As [the] policy is updated, old versions are retained, so that we not only know what a policy contains, we can track changes and provide information on what a policy was at any given time in the past.
  • Training- Users receive notifications when training is due and are guided to complete the training. If the training requires recertification, PowerDMS can be configured to alert the user that re-training is needed, without a supervisor needing to keep track. All documents used in training, including presentations and videos, can be contained in the PowerDMS course, so we can prove not only that an employee was trained, but exactly what curriculum was use din any given training.
  • Accreditation Assessment- [Our] accreditation standards manual is uploaded directly into PowerDMS. Proofs are accomplished using the actual policy and procedure, as well as the documents created during the workday. There is absolutely no duplication of effort.
  • Communications accountability- Email [can] be read and forgotten. With PowerDMS, a document can be distributed for user signatures, insuring that the user took affirmative action to read and understand the document.
  • Due to the immense capability of this product, learning the product can be daunting.
  • As with any new system, learning the "language" of PowerDMS is essential. Sometimes they don't call things the same thing you do.
  • Good software services are never cheap, and neither is PowerDMS.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Power DMS is an excellent platform for conducting any type of online training that you create
  • Power DMS helps to keep a wide variety of users's files and documents very well organized.
  • Power DMS enables you to create certificates upon completion of a course and/or training.
  • I would like to see more improvement with functionality tabs for users.
  • I would like to see more options to edit and enhance user profiles.
  • I would like to see more options for importing documents and images.
Aaron Chapin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Sign-off procedures for policies
  • Tracking training
  • Managing accreditation documents
  • It would be nice to be able to better redact documents in the public-facing add-on
  • I would like to see additional features in the mobile version of the software.
July 24, 2020

PowerDMS Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The mobile app is great for the things that it has available.
  • I love that PowerDMS is very responsive to customer feedback. We have representatives from PowerDMS at all of our conferences and they will sit down with you to troubleshoot issues and take feedback for usability improvements.
  • The online training is wonderful. They have PowerDMS University, which has in-depth videos to teach users how to use the product.
  • The PowerDMS app is great, but it doesn't have Assessments available. I use PowerDMS mostly for Assessments, so it would be great for when I am away from my desk.
  • Documents uploaded to PowerDMS aren't searchable by using CTRL + F. The mobile app will allow you to search the document, though.
  • In Assessments, it would be useful to be able to select multiple items to delete or move. If I wanted to delete or move more than one attachment, I have to do each one individually. It would be nice to be able to use CTRL or SHIFT to be able to select multiple items.
  • Highlights (in Assessments) should be more of a "highlighter" selector, instead of a rectangle. It is nice to be able to select certain sentences or words in a paragraph instead of having to "highlight" a large rectangle of text.
  • In Assessments, Proofs of Compliance should have a boxes available to attach documents. (Like the Bullets and Required References currently have boxes to link items.)
  • In Assessments, it would be nice to add a page to an uploaded file. If I had my proof uploaded for Year 1, I would like to be able to add the Year 2 proof to the existing file. Currently, I bind the files in Adobe, upload the new file, and delete the old file.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Document management: paperless organization and distribution method
  • Paperless tracking
  • Training module is a seamless product to streamline internal training needs
  • The Developer and Product Innovators are very open to idea to streamline functionality
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Great tracing of employees receipt of documents.
  • Being able to build online training. testing, and certificates issued upon completion.
  • Reports can be easily run for any proofs of compliance that are needed.
  • Being able to mark the "auto grade" feature after starting to build a test.
  • Lower cost for the public facing document feature.
Michael Hass | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Retains version history.
  • Allows supervisors to view employee status with sign-off of policies.
  • Works amazingly for accreditation.
  • Allows for a one-stop-shop for all policies.
  • It would be helpful if PowerDMS would allow administrators more options with the Timeout feature. Allowing different timeout options for different users would be great.
  • Training can be difficult for new users. The Success Community and University are very helpful. An additional example may be helpful because not all tasks are the same as the example.
Marci Ware | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • PowerDMS provides the user learning tools that make mastering the programs easier.
  • PowerDMS has amazing employees that no matter what problem you are having they help come up with solutions.
  • PowerDMS listens to their customers and their needs and is constantly making their product better and implementing many of the suggestions from their customers.
  • The use and implementation of advanced workflows is difficult to follow even after watching the videos or attending training.
Return to navigation