PowerSchool SIS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
45 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

Whitney Garnai, M. Ed. | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

PowerSchool Student Information System Review from an Educator

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used Desire 2 Learn (D2L) and Synergy Student Information System (Synergy SIS) and PowerSchool Student Information System stacks up against them this way:

CONS for PowerSchool Student Information System
- Does not have IEP functionality for special populations

PROS for PowerSchool Student Information System (PowerSchool SIS):
- Effective for student management when it comes to attendance, behavior, etc.
- Easily connects with PowerSchool Assessments
Read Whitney Garnai, M. Ed.'s full review
Pamela Wisecup | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

PowerSchool Student Information System is a Win, Win

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PowerSchool replaced an old version of Apple School. PowerSchool outperforms Apple's product and is so much easier to use. It was even simple to convert the old Apple student files to the PowerSchool system for a seamless transition. Once we transitioned, we were able to see more data and run reports easily on our own without having to have the office run the reports for us.
Read Pamela Wisecup's full review
Terica Bergan | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Best-in-Class SIS that will take you well into the future!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Our previous SIS went out of business, and we needed something fairly soon. PowerSchool was the SIS that had the best ability for our state reporting. We liked what we heard from other states and districts about the innovation and continued improvement by PowerSchool.

Admin, Teachers, Parent and Students all have access to the system. The ability to customize the product is also a huge advantage over competitors.

Read Terica Bergan's full review
Ai Ashe | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

PowerSchool Student System Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used a different grade management system over 5 years ago that was efficient but not as user-friendly as Powerschool. I cannot remember the name of that application. Our school system has been using PowerSchool for over 5 years and so far it has served our purpose. Each year we added more features: including assessments.
Read Ai Ashe's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

PowerSchool SIS is Great!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I was a huge advocator for Boardingware and worked closely with them to try and create a more well-rounded program for the private school I worked at, but definitely think PowerSchool works best and most effectively for public school. In terms of grading PowerSchool works much better than PCR. I really did not like working with PCR as a whole, and I wish we had had PowerSchool instead.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

PowerSchool: The Answer to all of your District's Educational Data Needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nothing stacks up against PowerSchool in terms of usability and flexibility. Every other product I have used has not come close to the user friendliness of PowerSchool, nor they do not allow immediate flexibility.
Read this authenticated review
Erika Muller | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Praise for PowerSchool SIS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Each of the above products has great features, but PowerSchool has features that each of the above products has, all in one system. This means that you could more easily use JUST PowerSchool without needing extensions and other systems to supplement features. This is less confusing for all involved, as it is far easier to track information in one place than it is to do it in multiple. This leaves less room for error as well.
Read Erika Muller's full review
Steve Bynum | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2018

Wonderful Product Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have used a product called SASI. It does not compare to this at all. SASI was a site based system and the backend was not a true database. I have also use Sungard Pentamation before. Although it was a centralized system, it wasn't as user-friendly and the interface was has to get used to.
Read Steve Bynum's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

To PowerSchool, or not to PowerSchool...

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used Blackbaud at a different school system so there was not a choice or selection. I feel that it was pretty similar to PowerSchool so I had a very smooth transition from one platform to the other. The gradebooks felt very similar, along with the recording and reports aspects of each platform.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2018

PowerSchool offers a customizable platform for K-12 schools to manage student information in a way that all stakeholders can utilize.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We found that PowerSchool Student Information System provided the platform we needed to manage student information, assignments and grades, school schedules, etc. Although Schoolnet provided assessment and instructional management tools, it did not allow us to keep track of the other informational pieces. We like the parent portal available with PowerSchool that allows parents readily access to their child's grades.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

PowerSchool SIS, the Best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PowerSchool Student Information is the gold standard for Student Information Systems. They know what they are doing, how to serve K-12 schools and school districts. The other Student Information Systems did not meet our districts minimum standards for the needs that we have, nor do they have the support that PowerSchool has.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

PowerSchool SIS is the total package

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

As noted, I think it would be hard to find anything else that is better than this tool for your school or district, this SIS is really the total package. It has a great teacher grade book, and while there are always things that can be improved, because you can customize it, the things you cannot live without you do not have to live without.
Read this authenticated review
Jennifer Kauffman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2018

PowerSchool? Power cool!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  • Student Data Syste
PowerSchool blows the other Student Information System that my school used out of the water. The other Student Information System was a glorified grade book/report creator, and had no other function. PowerSchool has so many functions and elements inside of one program that it is literally one of the only programs that my school needs for staff to keep records for grades, attendance, and demographics all in one place.
Read Jennifer Kauffman's full review
Joanne Riker | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2018

PowerSchool is very user-friendly, but lacks visually pleasing data

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used Infinite Campus previously while working at a different school. My position was the same at both schools. PowerSchool is more user-friendly than Infinite Campus for those staff members who are not strong with utilizing technology. Infinite Campus allows users to print more viewable information - such as attendance and schedules. The other benefit of Infinite Campus is that there is an online log option, where all staff members are able to log communication. This communication can be delineated between another staff member, student, parent, or another team member. This is very beneficial so that the team can be aware of all communication home.
Read Joanne Riker's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2017

PowerSchool Student Information System Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The systems seem to stack up pretty well, however we have stuck with PowerSchool mostly due to our history with the product. The cost and feature set differences wasn't substantial enough to warrant a migration. The amount of work involved with training staff and end users is too prohibitive. Other than that, Infinite Campus does appear to be a very comparable solution.
Read this authenticated review

About PowerSchool SIS

The PowerSchool Student Information System covers administrative needs, such as scheduling, attendance, reporting, data management, faculty management, emergency/medical and health management, registration, and more for K-12 schools and districts. It is easy to use and boasts an industry-leading gradebook, PowerTeacher Pro. Users enjoy a fully web-based SIS that is flexible, configurable, and scalable with real-time updates on any operating system, browser or device.
Categories:  Student Management

PowerSchool SIS Screenshots

PowerSchool SIS Competitors

Infinite Campus, Skyward, Aeries

PowerSchool SIS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
0%

PowerSchool SIS Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

PowerSchool SIS Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Greek, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Vietnamese