PowerSchool SIS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
45 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

Whitney Garnai, M. Ed. | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

PowerSchool Student Information System Review from an Educator

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I feel that PowerSchool Student Information System is well suited for the following settings:
- elementary schools
- middle schools
- high schools
- small community colleges
- private schools

On the other hand, I do not feel that PowerSchool Student Information System is well suited for universities or large community colleges because of their sheer size. I have seen PowerSchool SIS used with a student population of >500, but not more than 500 students.
Read Whitney Garnai, M. Ed.'s full review
Meg Inscoe | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Educator gives PowerSchool A+

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think it’s a great platform for taking attendance, doing grades on either a P/F scale or on a 0-100 level. Our cafeteria employees love how easy it is for the kids to type in their lunch number and it registers on the system. Attendance is easily calculated. The system updates frequently to keep our rosters current. I can’t think of where it wouldn’t be needed in my school setting, at least.
Read Meg Inscoe's full review
Terica Bergan | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Best-in-Class SIS that will take you well into the future!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PowerSchool Student Information System is flexible and customizable enough to facilitate districts of any size. It works out of the box, but can be heavily customized to fit the needs of individual customers. It also has externally available data connections so even if there is something you can't figure out how to do in the system, a simple data export or SQL query can make all the difference. Because we have many non-traditional schools in our district, virtual and alternative ed, we need PowerSchool to keep our state data clean and organized. It is constantly updated when our state makes changes to the rules. However I don't think it would be cost-effective for a district that has fewer than 1,000 students.
Read Terica Bergan's full review
Ai Ashe | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

PowerSchool Student System Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PowerSchool is well suited for the educational system to manage student information, grades, and progress. Our PowerSchool information system contains student data from the time they entered our school system. It also contains data on student accommodations and parent contacts. The interface is user-friendly and easy to navigate. You can change the display size to suit your needs.
Read Ai Ashe's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

PowerSchool SIS is Great!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is very appropriate for public schools who are trying to do everyday things like attendance and grades. It is not well suited for private schools where students are checking in and out during the day, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

PowerSchool SIS is the number 1 solution for schools both large and small

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PowerSchool's Student Information System is well suited for K-12 School districts as a solution for collecting, organizing and using student information. You can assign those students to a teacher's classroom, that teacher then has access to the important student information they need to monitor their classroom, connect with parents and keep their student information organized. It works well with other PowerSchool products as a complete K12 solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

PowerSchool: The Answer to all of your District's Educational Data Needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I honestly think PowerSchool is the best Student Information System available. It also may be the most expensive, but the flexibility it provides with worth every penny. Every other SIS that I have used does not allow for in-house customizations. You usually can get the SIS to build custom pages for you, but at a cost. PowerSchool allows the admin user to create custom pages on the fly without extra cost. This ability has allowed for the creation and growth of a huge network of users making unique and shareable customizations all over the country. If I can't figure out how to build something, I know I can find another user who already has.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Power up with PowerSchool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If districts are looking for an SIS solution that is robust and adaptable to their needs, I would recommend PowerSchool. There is a wealth of user-based groups to help find a solution to any unique solution you are looking for.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

PowerSchool SIS Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think PowerSchool works really well as an SIS system and we utilize the information for other systems.
Read this authenticated review
Isa Dunaway | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

PowerSchool - Solid and Flexible

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PowerSchool is well suited for a school that wants/needs a lot of flexibility to customize the system to their own needs. This will naturally require a certain amount of technical expertise. Schools that just need the basics and don't have the personnel to oversee a comprehensive system might be better off with a simpler student information system.
Read Isa Dunaway's full review
Erika Muller | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Praise for PowerSchool SIS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For anyone in education, primarily secondary education, PowerSchool is well-suited. In the digital age we live in, it provides optimal features for the teacher to make information tracking, attendance, and grading easy. It also provides instant information to the students when grades and other information are input.

Some of the features may be less suitable for lower elementary. However, I am in secondary education, so there may be other uses for lower el. that I am unaware of. Given that most lower el. teachers do not track grades using points to formulate a letter grade, this feature in PowerSchool would not be entirely useful for them.
Read Erika Muller's full review
Steve Bynum | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2018

Wonderful Product Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It allows me to connect from the backend using a variety of third-party software to query the database. Being that you can only query and not writeback through this connection, it cuts down on any protentional mistakes with uploading data. I can write lots of queries against the database to get data very easily.
Read Steve Bynum's full review
David Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

PowerSchool Student Information System

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PowerSchool is a great option for tracking student information. It is the most widely used student information system, so there are some great communities out there for support, and when you are looking to add on, there are plenty of existing customers to talk to.
Read David Murphy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

To PowerSchool, or not to PowerSchool...

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I don't believe I have any situations where PowerSchool wouldn't be appropriate. It helps to keep student information readily available for teachers to gain contact info, health info, grades, and attendance. It has made it nice for myself to not have paper files for each student in my desk for four sections since I can look everything up on my computer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2018

PowerSchool offers a customizable platform for K-12 schools to manage student information in a way that all stakeholders can utilize.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

There are times when classroom assignments need to be weighed instead of received an equal portion of a grade. PowerSchool allows teachers to weigh assignments.

The new add-on products allow for more information to come from the same place. Everyone loves having one place to go with one login to remember. Being able to access student progress with graphs and charts really helps us monitor student success.

PowerSchool is customizable to your school needs. Teachers can add their own assignments and administrators can determine what data they want to collect.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

PowerSchool SIS, the Best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PowerSchool Student Information System is well suited for school districts of any size, any location. I believe that PowerSchool Student Information System is the most widely used information system in the US and in the world. This kind of familiarity makes it easy for any teacher to adopt. PowerSchool is also working on a LMS which the SIS would be fully integrated into.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

PowerSchool SIS is the total package

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Any district or school can benefit from it. I am not sure there is a better SIS out there, as I looked into every other one I could find and I think you would be hard pressed to find another. There is always room for improvement, and they would do well to try not to do so many things. Some of these things are broken, and I have to question who is telling them to fix them.
Read this authenticated review
Jennifer Kauffman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2018

PowerSchool? Power cool!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PowerSchool Student Information System is well suited to putting in grades for both formative and summative assignments for multiple classes. It is good for creating report cards, taking attendance, and obtaining a quick overview of how a student is doing in not only your class, but all the other classes they have taken for the year as well. PowerSchool is most well suited to schools, including primary and secondary, because it is able to not only use letter and numerical grades for final reports, but standards based grades for primary years as well.
Read Jennifer Kauffman's full review
Joanne Riker | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2018

PowerSchool is very user-friendly, but lacks visually pleasing data

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PowerSchool is user-friendly for checking grades, taking attendance, and viewing basic student information. It is easy to use for support staff who are not savvy with advanced technology. PowerSchool has some limits for those same support staff members, such as a communication log, overall attendance, and a viewable schedule. PowerSchool is well suited for basic information and viewing grades, however, doesn't allow for great data viewing without being an administrator.
Read Joanne Riker's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2017

PowerSchool Student Information System Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For a school, PowerSchool is a powerhouse. In the old days, every service we had to provide (grades, registration, lunch service, emergency notifications, etc...) was under its own system. Trying to sync information between providers became a hassle for the Technology department, and complicated things for our users. We can now bundle most of these services under one vendor - which is greatly reduces our overhead and labor. Also, as a large player in the SIS market, PowerSchool is widely supported by a ton of other vendors/services we use as a school.

For businesses/organizations, I wouldn't see it as useful tool - but for schools it works great!
Read this authenticated review

About PowerSchool SIS

The PowerSchool Student Information System covers administrative needs, such as scheduling, attendance, reporting, data management, faculty management, emergency/medical and health management, registration, and more for K-12 schools and districts. It is easy to use and boasts an industry-leading gradebook, PowerTeacher Pro. Users enjoy a fully web-based SIS that is flexible, configurable, and scalable with real-time updates on any operating system, browser or device.
Categories:  Student Management

PowerSchool SIS Screenshots

PowerSchool SIS Competitors

Infinite Campus, Skyward, Aeries

PowerSchool SIS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
0%

PowerSchool SIS Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

PowerSchool SIS Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Greek, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Vietnamese