PowerSchool SIS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
45 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-24 of 24)

Meg Inscoe | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Educator gives PowerSchool A+

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of Use: the menu is very straight forward and easy to navigate through.
  • Mobile site/App: I appreciate that there’s a mobile version of the site as well as the app so I can input grades from my smartphone on the go.
  • When going to the GA LDS site for our TKES performance review, we don’t get an email like we used to (when the system was not through PowerSchool) when our administrator fills out a document we need to complete.
  • I wish it were linked to my email and reminders for inputting grades could be set up on a certain day each month to send me an email reminding of when they’re due.
Read Meg Inscoe's full review
Terica Bergan | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Best-in-Class SIS that will take you well into the future!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • PowerSchool SIS has made reporting much easier. The ability for us to have instant reports for our administrator is very important, but the ability to pull the raw data and customize our own reports is crucial.
  • Tracking attendance is very important as we have truancy issues in our district and often have to provide documentation for court. It is very easy to track, print reports and customize our attendance codes.
  • The good is that PowerSchool is easy to use, the ugly is that you will need a dedicated person if you ever want to do a lot of customizations. So someone with a basic technical knowledge of relational databases is key to getting your money's worth out of PowerSchool. Frequently we need additional reports not already offered in PowerSchool, so we have someone that is familiar with sql that can create them inside of PowerSchool.
  • The built-in report card module for standards based report cards has always been my biggest disappointment. It's not that it's not there, it's just that you need someone with a programming mentality to be able to make a nice clean report. And changes are tedious and time-consuming to make.
Read Terica Bergan's full review
Ai Ashe | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

PowerSchool Student System Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • A wonderful student grade management tool. Easy interface to navigate. Used to add assignments, grade assignments, and categories and percentages.
  • Can print detailed reports with the option to select features to print.
  • Able to review a student's schedule, classes, grades in other classes, teacher's name and student demographics.
  • When creating assignments sometimes a feature is blocked by a pop-up window.
  • Would like to be able to print a student's overall attendance record for management.
Read Ai Ashe's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

PowerSchool SIS is Great!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows me to find all my students information in one place.
  • It calculates all my grades for me and weights it so I do not have to do extra work.
  • Sometimes I struggle to find the correct classes because I am not able to change the names that my school put in.
  • I sometimes cannot easily locate information I am trying to find.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

PowerSchool: The Answer to all of your District's Educational Data Needs

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Manage demographic data to help us manage constantly changing state reporting requirements.
  • Provide an excellent Gradebook for teachers that provides instant sync of grades to both the PowerSchool database and parent apps.
  • At this time I wish PowerSchool would do a better job in attendance tracking. The current system works without errors, but can be cumbersome with the amount of data available.
  • Uploading standardized test scores is also cumbersome. It can be done but takes some time to complete, and we had to create custom screens for people to be able to utilize that data effectively.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Power up with PowerSchool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The mobile app for students and parents is user-friendly and always up to date.
  • Information for master scheduling is well done and of vital importance.
  • Custom reports and settings are accessible.
  • There is a need for a mobile app for the administration to easily view information while away from their desks.
  • It would be nice if it had a more robust data warehouse for assessment data.
Read this authenticated review
Isa Dunaway | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

PowerSchool - Solid and Flexible

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • PowerSchool is highly customizable. We are able to create any field or table that is not part of the stock product.
  • PowerSchool's list of partners is extensive. If you use any other system for information relating to student data, chances are that they will be able to integrate with PowerSchool
  • Whenever I call Support, only rarely have I been put on hold. My call normally goes straight through to a support person.
  • There are also several very active user forums. I have had many questions answered through one of those.
  • The user interface could be more intuitive. Because of the many features, it can sometimes be difficult for administrators to find what they are looking for.
  • A recent upgrade allowing for more flexibility in the relationship between students and parents was long in coming and didn't go very smoothly. We are now dealing with a ton of clean-up after the upgrade. Even after we have cleaned everything up, there is still a ways to go before PowerSchool is on par with other SIS systems in that area. In their defense though, they are actively working on getting caught up.
Read Isa Dunaway's full review
Erika Muller | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Praise for PowerSchool SIS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Intuitive to use - Many of the features are those that you would easily be able to easily use simply by testing them out
  • Comprehensive Student information-- PowerSchool is the one tool needed to view, log, and track student and parent information. Everything from student birthdays to their individualized educational needs can be logged and tracked in PowerSchool. This makes it very easy for multiple teachers and school personnel to be aware of what students need to be successful.
  • Multiple functions-- PowerSchool tracks attendance, holds/creates seating charts, has a "gradebook" for teachers, provides many options to make the gradebook authentic and specific according to the content one is teaching, provides the ability to send out mass emails to students and/or parents, and much more.
  • Gradebook Application quits or times out sometimes -- The GradeBook portion of PowerSchool will sometimes randomly quit as I am putting in grades. Although I can easily log back in, it can be a nuisance to deal with this.
Read Erika Muller's full review
Tracey Longway | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2018

PowerSchool Makes Databasing Student Information a Breeze.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • PowerSchool can be customized to fit your exact needs. Pages and content can be modified/added or substracted to fit exactly what you need to save for each student.
  • Students can be transferred from one location to another easily. This makes continuity of data and reocrds seamless.
  • PowerSchool can be set up to work with other systems like IEP Direct and SchoolMessenger. This allows for easier communications with parents and easier communications between schools for special education services.
  • My district has customized PowerSchool to fit what we need it to do and is constantly updated as the State of CT comes up with new laws and regulations we need to abide by.
  • My biggest issue is not being able to see what the teachers see. PowerSchool and PowerTeacher are not the same and what they see isn't always what I see.
  • Cross-platform usage isn't always easy.
Read Tracey Longway's full review
Steve Bynum | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2018

Wonderful Product Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Web based solutions running a very reliable oracle database.
  • Very user-friendly.
  • It has a very strong support team!
  • The state reporting is written to the specs of our department o0f education with makes reports easy.
  • They are improving it every day by staying on top of the ever changing technology world!
  • Again it is very user-friendly so it is hard to say that is hard to use.
  • Don't change a thing!
Read Steve Bynum's full review
Terry C. Wood | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2018

PowerSchool SiS-continued growth

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Excellent searchability for locating student information
  • Compatibility with other systems is a major asset
  • Highly customizable for storing unique information needed in a non-public school
  • Roll out of new features sometimes needs debugging first
  • Responsiveness support has become slightly more difficult with the increase in the clientele of the product
  • Rapid expansion of the company over the last 12-24 months has resulted in some issues
Read Terry C. Wood's full review
David Murphy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

PowerSchool Student Information System

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Clean and user-friendly user interface that works in any web browser
  • Solid partners that sell additional products to extend the core functionality of PowerSchool
  • Offers the ability to customize the interface with basic HTML and SQL syntax
  • Although it houses a lot of data, extracting that data often requires the use of data export and manipulation tools or writing SQL queries so only the technically-minded can do it
  • Core functionality missing: digital report cards in the Parent/Student portal/app
  • Support is hit-or-miss with low response time or a knowledgeable representative
Read David Murphy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

To PowerSchool, or not to PowerSchool...

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Automated calling/messaging for delinquent lunch balances
  • Ease of accessing student information quickly
  • Ability to view how students are doing in other classrooms and not just classes with you
  • It can be difficult adding assignments to the gradebook if you don't click the right sequence of boxes
  • Some information is buried in reports where you wouldn't expect them to be
  • Setting up the gradebook for the first time may not make sense, especially if you are using standards based grading
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2018

PowerSchool offers a customizable platform for K-12 schools to manage student information in a way that all stakeholders can utilize.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • PowerSchool houses student or staff information that can be easily accessed by those teachers and administrators who need the information. This allows everyone to go to one place to access information.
  • Parents can view their child's grades at any time with their protected login on a parent portal. This allows teachers to keep parents informed and involved in their child's progress at school. When everyone works together it increases our students' chance for success.
  • PowerSchool offers videos to train new users. When we have new employees, the videos can be accessed at any time the employee needs as opposed to them waiting for someone to help them.
  • It would be great if PowerSchool had an alert pop-up for teachers when they use an assignment category that is not set up in Final Grade Calculation. As it is, if a teacher used an assignment category that is not set up, they cannot print a report card.
  • PowerScheduler does not work for our secondary schools because we have limited classes available. We would love a solution that could help with this.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

PowerSchool SIS, the Best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It's easy to use.
  • Student data can be as rich as you would like.
  • Parent Portal accounts allow parents to have access to basic information about their child.
  • Once data is in, a moving district like ours it can be difficult to move students quickly from one school to another when they transfer.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

PowerSchool SIS is the total package

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It organizes your student data for you and allows you to let others (teachers and parents) access the data they need access to daily.
  • It allows Administration to control the scheduling, discipline, and administration of the data behind the scenes.
  • The Oracle backend is easy to query and stable.
  • It allows for too much customization.
  • The mobile app causes large districts problems.
  • They cater to small districts.
Read this authenticated review
Jennifer Kauffman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2018

PowerSchool? Power cool!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows teachers to add in formative and sumative assignments into their grade book with ease
  • It allows for easy attendance taking
  • It allows for quick reference of students performance not only in your class, but in others as well.
  • The function to enter in comments on report cards could be easier to access.
  • I think there should be a function to re-use weights for categories ( e.g. classwork, homework, quizzes. etc.) that you have previously used for classes.
  • After assigning the same assignment for multiple classes, if you have taken the shortcut to create them by simply filling out the information on the assignment form and then clicking on multiple classes grade books for it to be added to, if you then decide not to give said assignment to one of the classes you chose, you cannot only delete the assignment from that class, the system will delete the assignments from every class!
Read Jennifer Kauffman's full review
Joanne Riker | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2018

PowerSchool is very user-friendly, but lacks visually pleasing data

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Having one linked system for student information including grades, data, attendance, etc., linked up to the grade-book (Power Teacher Pro) is very convenient for teachers.
  • PowerSchool allows support staff, administration, parents, and students to all view overall grades as well as detailed information. This is a nice feature so that all members of a student's team can be on the same page, especially when there are missing assignments.
  • PowerSchool has the feature to alert parents when students are absent from a class. Parents can check student's attendance at any time, but also can be alerted.
  • While administrators have the ability to view schedules in a format that is easy to view, students and teachers are unable to have a yearlong or trimester long schedule that is printer friendly.
  • The view available for looking back on attendance is not user-friendly. The grid per block is hard to read on both the screen and after being printed.
  • As a teacher, there is no place within PowerSchool to document communication with students or parents. Having a log would be a nice feature so that there is a record and other staff members could see the history of communication.
Read Joanne Riker's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 09, 2017

PowerSchool Student Information System Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • User Friendly for both our students and staff.
  • Very customizable, and supported by a lot of other vendors/services.
  • Solid performance.
  • Has shown to be very secure, and is trusted by families.
  • Sales department could be better.
  • Some features or settings can be hidden.
  • Installing certain services can require a complex series of steps, and things are sometimes not very intuitive.
Read this authenticated review

About PowerSchool SIS

The PowerSchool Student Information System covers administrative needs, such as scheduling, attendance, reporting, data management, faculty management, emergency/medical and health management, registration, and more for K-12 schools and districts. It is easy to use and boasts an industry-leading gradebook, PowerTeacher Pro. Users enjoy a fully web-based SIS that is flexible, configurable, and scalable with real-time updates on any operating system, browser or device.
Categories:  Student Management

PowerSchool SIS Screenshots

PowerSchool SIS Competitors

Infinite Campus, Skyward, Aeries

PowerSchool SIS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
30%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
70%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
0%

PowerSchool SIS Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

PowerSchool SIS Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Greek, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Vietnamese