Progress WhatsUp Gold Reviews

49 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
October 04, 2019
John Glenn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would definitely recommend the product for monitoring disk, processor, memory, and server availability. It has been very accurate for us and a life saver. We have also left several other products behind now that we can also receive notifications about service availability on a server. I don't believe it is very good at monitoring other hardware that we own. Mostly we have had trouble with getting switches and APs to alert properly.
Read John Glenn's full review
March 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

WhatsUp is suitable for network inventory, device health, and status. However, it is not suitable for large scale configurations/backup configuration features as provided by different vendors. A tabular user interface can be replaced by graphical representation for much better understanding.
Read this authenticated review
February 01, 2019
Michael Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is definitely suited for people to learn quickly. There aren't as many bells and whistles, but it is reliable. I would recommend it from small shop to large enterprise.
Read Michael Singh's full review
May 01, 2018
Victor Adebayo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's best suited for large/multinational organisations with complex networks with limited qualified personnel across every location. However, I wouldn't recommend it for a small organisation with a very simple network architecture.
Read Victor Adebayo's full review
August 15, 2018
Alex Leung | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use WhatsUp Gold to identify issues quickly and monitor repeated issues to help develop a more complete root cause. Keep in mind you can accomplish all of your inventory needs by using WhatsUp Gold.
Read Alex Leung's full review
March 29, 2018
Jamie Elliott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Currently, the main use for WhatsUp is to monitor our broadband connections and cellular backup swings. We converted from T1's to "a less cost"/"a less reliable" connection but added the cellular to make up that 2% difference. WhatsUp monitors this via SNMP/syslog trapping to alert us when this swing happens. The imports of this we have on a 1 gig cellular limit so getting it swung back is very important. WhatsUp provides us with this quick alert.
Read Jamie Elliott's full review
March 31, 2017
Gary Lamontagne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

WhatsUp Gold is perfect for organizations who need to be notified in the event of a system or service going down so that a technician can be dispatched before the phones start ringing from end-users not being able to access whatever might be out of commission. It is an investment of time and money to get up and running, so if you are looking to monitor only a few devices, or aren't looking for many bells and whistles, WhatsUp Gold might not be an appropriate choice.
Read Gary Lamontagne's full review
March 24, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We use it as a basic server monitoring tool, and find it very effective in that capacity. We primary use the space monitor and the ping monitor, and that has alerted us to sudden server failures many times; and with the space monitor it has allowed us to proactively manage the disk space for mission critical servers.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It works great in our environment, which is highly centralized and has very few cloud-based systems. In a cloud heavy scenario, I don't think it would perform as well without a great deal of additional configuration.
Read this authenticated review

Progress WhatsUp Gold Scorecard Summary

What is Progress WhatsUp Gold?

Progress WhatsUp Gold (WUG) is designed to help network admins find and fix network problems before end users notice. Its web-based interactive mapping interface lets users see up/down availability and performance at-a-glance for everything connected to a network, on premises and in the cloud.

WUG is an on-premises solution designed for IT enterprises and MSPs. The solution helps them to manage their IT infrastructure and network activities. It offers tools for discovering, visualizing and monitoring network devices, displaying connections between devices and monitoring network status.

WhatsUp Gold can automatically discover anything connected to the network, including physical servers, cloud resources, storage devices, VMware and Hyper-V virtual machines as well as wireless devices. It helps IT admins to view, analyze and manage cross-device connections from a single interactive map. Admins can also monitor application performance and network traffic and manage network device configuration and change control processes. Any network activity falling outside of customizable thresholds triggers alerts sent via email, web, SMS or Slack. Alerts can also trigger self-healing actions or PowerShell scripts.

Progress WhatsUp Gold Features

Additional Features
Has featureAutomated Discovery
Has featureNetwork Mapping
Has featureServer Monitoring
Has featureCloud Monitoring
Has featureWireless Monitoring
Has featureApplication Monitoring
Has featureBandwidth Monitoring
Has featureTraffic Monitoring
Has featureVirtualization Management
Has featureConfiguration Management
Has featureDistributed Monitoring
Has featureMSP Monitoring

Progress WhatsUp Gold Screenshots

Progress WhatsUp Gold Video

Watch WhatsUp Gold On-Demand Demo

Progress WhatsUp Gold Downloadables

Progress WhatsUp Gold Competitors

Progress WhatsUp Gold Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Progress WhatsUp Gold Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
25%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
40%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
35%

Progress WhatsUp Gold Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Progress WhatsUp Gold Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, Latin America, EMEA, APAC, APJ
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Russian, Japanese, Korean, Chinese