Progress WhatsUp Gold Reviews

49 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
October 04, 2019
John Glenn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We purchased What's Up Gold to monitor our server uptime but quickly realized the potential for monitoring and alerting on more aspects of our servers. We use it to send notifications on low disk space, server uptime, processor, and memory notifcations.
Read John Glenn's full review
February 01, 2019
Michael Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company uses WhatsUp Gold for monitoring thousands of network devices across the country for our customers in Managed Enterprise Solutions. We are able to get a better grasp at trends with the help of this NMS. The newer versions also allow a cleaner user experience, which we like.
Read Michael Singh's full review
May 01, 2018
Victor Adebayo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

WhatsUp Gold is being used to monitor multiple sites owned by the organization across different countries across Africa. It's being used by the Networks Department to holistically manage the network across these various locations. WhatsUp Gold has helped the organization not only to monitor multiple sites but also provides real-time status of every endpoint device at each site. Through SNMP configuration, real-time and periodic well-detailed reports on each device can generate proper analysis and performance of the network in general, which could impact in futuristic strategic planning.
Read Victor Adebayo's full review
August 15, 2018
Alex Leung | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using WhatsUp Gold to monitor up/down time for our Network Devices, including Cisco Routers, Switches, VPN and Firewall. When any one of the monitored devices go down, it will send me an alert.
Read Alex Leung's full review
March 29, 2018
Jamie Elliott | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently, we use WhatsUp Gold for monitoring and maintaining our extended grocery chain infrastructure. This includes the Cisco routers, switches, and wireless APs. The main use is to monitor when a connection drops, switches between our primary connection and secondary connection or any hardware issues that may arise. I do use it a little for NetFlow tracking and Syslogging when needed.
Read Jamie Elliott's full review
March 31, 2017
Gary Lamontagne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use WhatUp Gold Premium Edition by Ipswitch to monitor our important network devices and services for uptime and notifications via email and text in the event of downtime. It is used by the IT Department, but deployed across the whole organization. We needed to find a software that alerted us to devices and services going down unplanned. WhatsUp Gold solved that problem for us.
Read Gary Lamontagne's full review
March 24, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use WhatsUpGold as our server monitoring service across our whole organization. We use it to proactively monitor our servers' uptime.
Read this authenticated review
March 03, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use WhatsUp Gold (WUG) to monitor our servers (physical and virtual), as well as our internal network traffic. It allows us to be proactive about our server and network performance, as well as access perfomance history for capacity planning.
Read this authenticated review

Progress WhatsUp Gold Scorecard Summary

What is Progress WhatsUp Gold?

Progress WhatsUp Gold (WUG) is designed to help network admins find and fix network problems before end users notice. Its web-based interactive mapping interface lets users see up/down availability and performance at-a-glance for everything connected to a network, on premises and in the cloud.

WUG is an on-premises solution designed for IT enterprises and MSPs. The solution helps them to manage their IT infrastructure and network activities. It offers tools for discovering, visualizing and monitoring network devices, displaying connections between devices and monitoring network status.

WhatsUp Gold can automatically discover anything connected to the network, including physical servers, cloud resources, storage devices, VMware and Hyper-V virtual machines as well as wireless devices. It helps IT admins to view, analyze and manage cross-device connections from a single interactive map. Admins can also monitor application performance and network traffic and manage network device configuration and change control processes. Any network activity falling outside of customizable thresholds triggers alerts sent via email, web, SMS or Slack. Alerts can also trigger self-healing actions or PowerShell scripts.

Progress WhatsUp Gold Features

Additional Features
Has featureAutomated Discovery
Has featureNetwork Mapping
Has featureServer Monitoring
Has featureCloud Monitoring
Has featureWireless Monitoring
Has featureApplication Monitoring
Has featureBandwidth Monitoring
Has featureTraffic Monitoring
Has featureVirtualization Management
Has featureConfiguration Management
Has featureDistributed Monitoring
Has featureMSP Monitoring

Progress WhatsUp Gold Screenshots

Progress WhatsUp Gold Video

Watch WhatsUp Gold On-Demand Demo

Progress WhatsUp Gold Downloadables

Progress WhatsUp Gold Competitors

Progress WhatsUp Gold Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Progress WhatsUp Gold Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
25%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
40%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
35%

Progress WhatsUp Gold Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Progress WhatsUp Gold Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, Latin America, EMEA, APAC, APJ
Supported Languages: English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Russian, Japanese, Korean, Chinese