TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/F0/xp/X1RDAHLZ8KLM.JPEGProofpoint is an excellent tool for medium to large size companies for managing exchange filtering.We are using Proofpoint Email Protection for all users in our company. We host our Exchange services and use Proofpoint Email Protection as our primary spam filter. All users have their mail filtered by our Proofpoint system, and each user has their mail which meets the "bulk" signatures filtered out, and given back to them each day in the form of a morning digest. Proofpoint does an excellent job of filtering mail and giving insight and granularity into the IT team for making changes and releasing email.,Powerful , Intelligence-based Smart filtering system, which categorizes and filters out malicious email in real time. Incredible Granularity in filtering rules, custom email policies, and user management Useful Proof of Concept period for initial deployment, as well as the ability to set any new custom policies to audit mode to test for extended periods of time what impact they will have.,The new Technical support portal is frustrating to use. You must login and fill out web forms to create a case before you call their technical support line, or they will refuse to assist until you log into the portal and create the case manually. Support can take some time to respond to cases unless they are contacted regularly,10,Proofpoint's largest positive Return on Investment has been in reducing risk from malicious attacks, including prevention of resolving malware, cryptoware, and phishing attacks. Proofpoint has reduced the time IT department spends performing email filtering work, as the software automates much of the process.,Yes our organization is noticed a vast decrease in number of threats since moving to Proofpoint from our old default spam filter system. 95%+ of all malicious, phishing, or threat emails are being blocked by proofpoint, as well as thousands on bulk/spam/etc. mail every day, causing much less exposure to negative mail items for our user base.,Our organization has definitely benefited from the machine learning of Proofpoint's email protection filter. We don't receive too many zero-day threats being a small company, so many of the email threats that are sent to our domain have been added to the filtering signatures by being exposed to previous users in other organizations, and then Proofpoint identifying those signatures.,,Proofpoint Targeted Attack Protection for Email, Proofpoint Threat Response Auto-PullProofpoint Email Protection is a good investmentProofpoint is used to process incoming and outgoing email for Canisius. The spam/malware protection is essential to ensuring our email infrastructure is operating at a high rate of efficiency. The data it collects allows us to investigate issues and track trends.,Smart search addon is an amazing tool that allows us to track the flow/processing of an email Spam scoring is very good Recently added ability to look at dmarc/spf/dkim for validating emails,Would like the ability to create custom queries in smart search Reports need improvement...ability to create a custom report would be nice,10,ROI is mostly in time saved. It is easy to manage and provides very good spam scoring that enable end users to efficiently handle their email.,Virus/malware delivery via email has seen a significant reduction. We still deploy endpoint protection to prevent other vectors of infection. We have always prevented spoofing of emails and Proofpoint allows us to continue that trend.,Proofpoint allows us to continue to prevent spoofing of our email addresses.Standard in E-Mail ProtectionProofpoint is the standard in e-mail protection. It has extremely powerful tools in ensuring you are guarded against phishing and ransomware attacks. It also keeps copies of the e-mails that are sent to your Exchange server in the event you need to go back and check something. It quarantines files and does its own virus scans.,Phising and Malware Detection Ransomware Detection Organizational Safe and Block Lists Support,It can be very expensive for small-to-medium based businesses. The GUI is not intuitive Wish they had some sort of training or Proofpoint University to become proficient.,9,It has protected us against ransomware and several phishing attacks. We have guarded against several large spam / bulk mailings Our MX record is very clean because outbound e-mails are also guarded.,Yes, it has been extremely effective in reducing phishing, malware, ransomware and bulk spam attacks. Prior to the use of Proofpoint we had a couple of ransomware attacks that caused us to have to revert back to backups and resulted in loss of work, productivity losses and ultimately lost monies.,I believe the AI / machine learning that is evident in Proofpoint has helped us stay ahead of the curve on targeted attacks to our users. We no longer receive domain-like messages as they are taken out of the system prior to an attack - many companies around us have been fooled; but, we have been in much better condition.,SpamTitan and Microsoft Office 365Like the Tidy Bowl Man, works so you don't have to.Proofpoint is our email gateway protecting all inbound and outbound email users. We use it for spam, imposter, and threat remediation.,Implementation was the best I have ever encountered. They reviewed every switch, setting, and their implication during a half dozen sessions. This allowed me to almost achieve a set it and forget it installation which has lasted years. Their periodic reviews are helpful as well as this is a deep product and you need to stay current. And of course why we bought it, Proofpoint has contributed to stopping malware infections. We have not had an infection since it was installed!,I have a few issues with their support. First, it is an external site so you must go there and login to request assistance. This is inconvenient, especially with 2 sets of credentials. Second, no phone support until/unless you put in the ticket. I get the point, but sometimes time is of the essence. Third, as with many companies, sometimes you get into a ping pong 'battle of the SysAdmin wits'. I think their personality is that they like toying with you. In other words, multiple question and answers back and forth unless/until you call. I would expect they pick up the phone and call after the first question, so I do. Getting to know the product is challenging, but this is only if you don't use it daily and because it is so deep of a product. Not a negative, just a fact.,9,Can't really measure it but not having infections, ransomware, or breaches is priceless.,as I said, none since implementation.,We get an imposter alert a day, on the average. Look forward to the DMARC functionality.,CylancePROTECT, Zscaler Web Security, LogRhythmGreat product, great support, highly recommend it.The BC Forest Practices Board uses Proofpoint Email Protection organization-wide. It is an effective tool that we have been using for many years. The support is also very good.,It is a great Anti SPAM solution The support provided is extremely good. The user interface is well laid out.,Updates don't always play well without some interaction from support,8,Proofpoint has been a good investment. I like the fact that it is largely set it and forget it.,Proofpoint Email Protection has significantly reduced the number of SPAM incidents that the organization has had to deal with.,I am not sure whether we have benefited from this feature as it happens in the background and it is not apparent to me that it has reduced the threat footprint, although it most likely has. But there is not specific way of determining this.,
Windows, Linux, Mac
Proofpoint Email Protection
17 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Proofpoint Email Protection Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Proofpoint Email Protection
17 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 17 vetted Proofpoint Email Protection reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Alec Towle profile photo
November 23, 2018

Proofpoint Email Protection Review: "Proofpoint is an excellent tool for medium to large size companies for managing exchange filtering."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Proofpoint Email Protection for all users in our company. We host our Exchange services and use Proofpoint Email Protection as our primary spam filter. All users have their mail filtered by our Proofpoint system, and each user has their mail which meets the "bulk" signatures filtered out, and given back to them each day in the form of a morning digest. Proofpoint does an excellent job of filtering mail and giving insight and granularity into the IT team for making changes and releasing email.
  • Powerful , Intelligence-based Smart filtering system, which categorizes and filters out malicious email in real time.
  • Incredible Granularity in filtering rules, custom email policies, and user management
  • Useful Proof of Concept period for initial deployment, as well as the ability to set any new custom policies to audit mode to test for extended periods of time what impact they will have.
  • The new Technical support portal is frustrating to use. You must login and fill out web forms to create a case before you call their technical support line, or they will refuse to assist until you log into the portal and create the case manually.
  • Support can take some time to respond to cases unless they are contacted regularly
Proofpoint Enterprise Email Protection seems like a great fit for any medium to large size corporations. The powerful tools and functionality of the software scales seemlessly with the size of the user base, and can support large user bases and changing company sizes without issue.

For small companies, although Proofpoint would work great; tt's an expensive, powerful tool which may not be within an IT budget.
Read Alec Towle's full review
Andrew Chaplin profile photo
December 09, 2018

Review: "Proofpoint Email Protection is a good investment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proofpoint is used to process incoming and outgoing email for Canisius. The spam/malware protection is essential to ensuring our email infrastructure is operating at a high rate of efficiency. The data it collects allows us to investigate issues and track trends.
  • Smart search addon is an amazing tool that allows us to track the flow/processing of an email
  • Spam scoring is very good
  • Recently added ability to look at dmarc/spf/dkim for validating emails
  • Would like the ability to create custom queries in smart search
  • Reports need improvement...ability to create a custom report would be nice
Our organization is mid-sized and has generally had a centralized infrastructure for handling inbound/outbound email. Proofpoint would be a good fit for this type of organization.
Read Andrew Chaplin's full review
Riccardo Francese profile photo
November 23, 2018

Proofpoint Email Protection Review: "Standard in E-Mail Protection"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proofpoint is the standard in e-mail protection. It has extremely powerful tools in ensuring you are guarded against phishing and ransomware attacks. It also keeps copies of the e-mails that are sent to your Exchange server in the event you need to go back and check something. It quarantines files and does its own virus scans.
  • Phising and Malware Detection
  • Ransomware Detection
  • Organizational Safe and Block Lists
  • Support
  • It can be very expensive for small-to-medium based businesses.
  • The GUI is not intuitive
  • Wish they had some sort of training or Proofpoint University to become proficient.
Proofpoint is the best e-mail security programs to be in front of your Exchange servers. It is truly better than any other one on the market and is completely cloud-based with several redundancies to ensure unprecedented uptime.

It probably would not be very suitable to budget restrained small-to-medium businesses. It is quite expensive.
Read Riccardo Francese's full review
Rod Payton profile photo
November 23, 2018

Proofpoint Email Protection Review: "Like the Tidy Bowl Man, works so you don't have to."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proofpoint is our email gateway protecting all inbound and outbound email users. We use it for spam, imposter, and threat remediation.
  • Implementation was the best I have ever encountered. They reviewed every switch, setting, and their implication during a half dozen sessions. This allowed me to almost achieve a set it and forget it installation which has lasted years.
  • Their periodic reviews are helpful as well as this is a deep product and you need to stay current.
  • And of course why we bought it, Proofpoint has contributed to stopping malware infections. We have not had an infection since it was installed!
  • I have a few issues with their support. First, it is an external site so you must go there and login to request assistance. This is inconvenient, especially with 2 sets of credentials. Second, no phone support until/unless you put in the ticket. I get the point, but sometimes time is of the essence. Third, as with many companies, sometimes you get into a ping pong 'battle of the SysAdmin wits'. I think their personality is that they like toying with you. In other words, multiple question and answers back and forth unless/until you call. I would expect they pick up the phone and call after the first question, so I do.
  • Getting to know the product is challenging, but this is only if you don't use it daily and because it is so deep of a product. Not a negative, just a fact.
I canot think of an inappropriate use. If you want gateway protection, this ProofPoint is 'the one'.
Read Rod Payton's full review
Tim Slater profile photo
November 19, 2018

Proofpoint Email Protection Review: "Great product, great support, highly recommend it."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The BC Forest Practices Board uses Proofpoint Email Protection organization-wide. It is an effective tool that we have been using for many years. The support is also very good.
  • It is a great Anti SPAM solution
  • The support provided is extremely good.
  • The user interface is well laid out.
  • Updates don't always play well without some interaction from support
I would highly recommend the product.
Read Tim Slater's full review
Andy Groll profile photo
August 27, 2018

Proofpoint Email Protection Review: "Simply a great product if you need to protect your company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the organization. It is used for email encryption, URL protection in emails, scanning emails for viruses, and the like.
  • Encryption
  • Ease of use of administration interface
  • Support is very knowledgeable
  • None so far
I personally think it is well suited for every organization
Read Andy Groll's full review
No photo available
January 18, 2019

Review: "Proofpoint Email Protection: A Must-have in Email Security"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proofpoint Email Protection is deployed for the entire email domain. It adds stronger security protection and control for virus/malware, phishing, etc.
  • Ability to set custom policies and rules
  • Ability to re-route or block emails based on policies and rules
  • Proofpoint has a Dynamic Reputation feature which is more comprehensive in blocking IPs sending spam / phishing/ malware.
  • Handles spoofing and impersonator emails
  • For the cloud-hosted product, it is sensitive to disk space and database size for storing messages. If the size is too big, it affects performance of the mail flow.
  • The administration interface can be organized better for navigation
  • The Add Mailing List feature is limited as compared to a Distribution List or Listserv
Proofpoint Email Protection is well suited for granular policies and rules to control and protect organizational emails. One major protection is the Dynamic Reputation - real-time filtering of harmful and malicious emails, including attachments. Without this Proofpoint product, organizational emails - both inbound and outbound - will be harder to deal with spam, phishing, viruses, and malware. It will cost time and resources of IT staff to deal with the issues that come with not being well-protected by Proofpoint.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 17, 2018

Review: "Why we recommend Proofpoint Email Protection"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proofpoint Email Protection is being used by across our whole organization. It is currently used to handle all of our inbound spam, malware and threat detection. The nature of our business relies on supporting corporations, so Proofpoint Email Protection allows us to securely communicate with our customers while minimizing our risk to bad actors.
  • Proofpoint Email Protection allows granular control of inbound and outbound spam and email firewall rules, providing the opportunity to narrow in on a specific threat while not introducing false positives.
  • Proofpoint Email Protection does an excellent job of managing DKIM and DMARC for our corporation.
  • Proofpoint Email Protection's email digest allows flexibility for our end users to manage their own spam inbox, minimizing the need for IT overhead.
  • Proofpoint Email Protection's admin console could benefit from a UI update. There are several modules and many settings within each module, so its easy to get lost.
  • Proofpoint Email Protection's remote syslog configuration should be made easier to setup and manage.
  • Proofpoint Email Protection's import and export of settings could be more flexible.
The product was fairly easy to install. The ProofPoint Professional Services proved to be very knowledgeable and walked us through the entire deployment. They worked with us to provide a process for migrating users for testing, and then slowly migrating the bulk of the user community while keeping the existing system running. The product has greatly outperformed our previous product with our user community also seeing a better, much more consistent outcome with spam filtering.

My only criticism is the user interface.


Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 06, 2018

User Review: "Proofpoint email protection"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use Proofpoint as our incoming and outgoing email gateway. Proofpoint manages all of our spam, virus checking. Proofpoint also manages our URL and attachment checking for all emails.

Proofpoint also delivers all of our internal application traffic to internal and external email addresses. Proofpoint provide targeted attach protection and helps us mitigate any threats to our Email landscape.

  • Proofpoint Email Protection scans all of our email for URL links which provides safe sites for our user to click on when they receive their email.
  • Proofpoint Email Protections scans all of our email for attachment defense which means all attachments that we receive in emails are safe to use.
  • It would be helpful to better understand DMArc and Dkim and how they help protect our environment and how to properly set them up without user email loss.
Proofpoint Email Protection is very helpful with URL and attachment checking. We try to teach our users to not click on links and attachments but it is hard with all the email we receive daily to not click on things that may look legitimate. We know that when our email is delivered with a link or attachment that it is has been thoroughly checked and we can use the information safely.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 05, 2018

Proofpoint Email Protection Review: "Excellent Email Protection and peace of mind."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Proofpoint Email Protection service was implemented on-premises and utilized for the entire organization and protects roughly 18,000 active mailboxes. Given that e-mail based threats are some of the most successful attack vectors it was critical for our organization to have a solid protection system in place. We utilize the services for anti-spam, anti-virus, internal e-mail policy enforcement, advanced threat protection along with it's reporting and smart search capabilities.
  • The services provide a very high accuracy level related to anti-spam/virus detection with very few false positives. The services are also routinely evolving to address the latest attack profiles while at the same minimizing any type of disruptions to normal business e-mail traffic. To date the service have been an extremely stable platform with very few problems. Proofpoint mentions that most if not all of their support techs have a minimum of a Master's degree. Having worked with their support over the years, I can readily say that their support is top notch compared to their competitors.
  • Proofpoint's Email Protection is implemented in a modular format where protection components can be added as needed and managed within a single framework. This has minimized the footprint for these services in our datacenter.
  • The Email Protection services have a Smart Search capability that basically aggregates all of the log data and is extremely useful in getting quick answers to any type of questions related to message delivery.
  • The services are also extremely flexible in terms of mapping one's policies into the set of services. The screens are intuitive to use and have enough aids to be readily understood without having to routinely consult reference manuals.
  • The only real stumbling block we used run into was with application updates which in recent years has been automated to the point where it can literally be as simple as clicking on a button to initiate. It can perform updates with loss of service and if it runs into problems it can readily revert itself back to the prior release. Very well engineered update process.
  • My only real complaint if any would be the pricing of the services, yet having said that Proofpoint has been pretty flexible in negotiating a price that we can actually afford.
The Email Protection services are deployed in our environment as the first layer of defense for inbound internet traffic. As such they have held up extremely well under load with very few if any issues. We utilize the services for screening and protecting internal e-mail which is routed from our Office 365 deployment through the Email Protection services.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 17, 2018

Proofpoint Email Protection Review: "Proofpoint Provides Excellent Email Protection"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proofpoint is being used across the entire organization to prevent spam and malware. The additional features, sandboxing, URL rewrite, and spoofing protection protect our organization against other threats over email. Proofpoint also provides and in depth dashboard to gain insight into what sort of attacks we are experiencing and which users are being targeted.

  • Blocks Spam
  • Blocks Phishing emails
  • Blocks malware attachments
  • Quarantines email and provides and easy to use search utility to find and release those emails if needed.
  • My only recommendation here is that Proofpoint should provide a longer time frame of logs in the threat dashboard.
I believe Proofpoint is one of the foundational controls every organization should have. You are leaving your organization open to a variety of email threats if you are not using it. I cannot think about any situation where it would not be appropriate. Proofpoint is well suited to provide email protection, secure email, and email management.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 02, 2018

Proofpoint Email Protection Review: "Proofpoint is an industry leader for a reason!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proofpoint is a corporate solution. It is used at the gateway for email protection. It is also used for mail routing, etc. It is our primary source of email protection.
  • Spam prevention including URL defense.
  • Bulk Mailings - Proofpoint helps us cut down on unwanted bulk mail for our executives.
  • Anti-virus protection and targeted attacks.
  • End User Digest and reporting messages.
  • Documentation does not seem to be updated and might be lacking.
  • Knowledge base could use some updating. It's not always easy to find answers.
I believe Proofpoint is probably the best solution available. I am impressed with their ability to keep up with all the latest threats and offering many modules to increase their services and protection levels.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 17, 2018

Proofpoint Email Protection Review: "Proofpoint is worth its weight in gold."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Proofpoint Email Protection for our 3 MX entries in DNS. All external email flows into Proofpoint before we distribute it to Exchange and SAP. It is being used enterprise-wide (5000+ users) and the SPAM/virus/malware detection is excellent. It does all of the heavy lifting so that Exchange can focus on distributing the email internally.
  • SPAM/virus/malware detection - works well and you can add custom rules for known good domains.
  • Software upgrades always go off without a hitch.
  • Hardware refreshes are simple with the high quality assistance from Proofpoint's case focused engineers.
  • I would like to see better supported Microsoft Outlook plug-ins that allow SPAM submission. I occasionally have some error messages pop-up regarding the existing PP plug-in when Outlook starts up.
  • Self-diagnosing emails sent to PP administrators if any part of the cluster is experiencing issues such as storage, CPU, or RAM related.
Any enterprise that needs a frontline barrier for on-premise email should be using a fine product such as Proofpoint.
Read this authenticated review

Proofpoint Email Protection Scorecard Summary

About Proofpoint Email Protection

Proofpoint Email Protection; available as an on-premise or cloud based solution; blocks unwanted, malicious and impostor email, with granular search capabilities and visibility into all messages. Outbound controls include encryption and data loss prevention, while continuity capabilities ensure business communications can continue as normal in the event of an email outage.

With Proofpoint's Email Protection, you can protect your people, data, and brand from today’s threats with:

  • The ability to detect BEC or malware-free threats using our machine learning impostor classifier (Stateful Composite Scoring Service)
  • Nearly unlimited email routing capabilities utilizing our advanced email firewall.
  • Robust reporting and email tracking/tracing using Smart Search.
  • TAP, DLP and Encryption built into the same console providing a single pain of glass for management purposes.
  • Unwanted email management that allows users to decide which emails they would like to see in their inbox.

Proofpoint Email Protection Features

Has featureAbility to detect BEC or malware-free threats using our machine learning impostor classifier (Stateful Composite Scoring Service)
Has featureNearly unlimited email routing capabilities utilizing our advanced email firewall.
Has featureRobust reporting and email tracking/tracing using Smart Search.
Has featureTAP, DLP and Encryption are built into the same console providing a single pain of glass for management purposes.
Has featureUnwanted email management allows users to decide which emails they would like to see in their inbox.

Proofpoint Email Protection Downloadables

Proofpoint Email Protection Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Proofpoint Email Protection Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Proofpoint Email Protection Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Germany, France, Italy, Australia, Japan
Supported Languages: Arabic, Bulgarian, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian (Bahasa), Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Korean, Malay, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese (Brazilian), Romanian, Russian, Sinhala, Slovak, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese