Proofpoint Email Protection Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
160 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 92)

Frank Haarmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Proofpoint Email Protection is a high performance worker and reliable system.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Proofpoint Email Protection is provided by us as a shared service for our clients who do not want to operate a dedicated email gateway.
  • System runs fast and stable.
  • The upgrade process is running very good without major issues.
  • The reporting system is very simple and needs improvement for business cases and investigation of incidents.
  • The log viewer section needs improvement regarding handling.
Proofpoint Email Protection is well suited in high performance environments where it can be used as multi-agent clusters. It is less appropriate in environments of small companies because of the high costs.
Read Frank Haarmann's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 07, 2020

Email Protection/DLP - not the first thing in mind when purchasing Proofpoint

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by Email and Security teams to protect both our on premise and cloud-based email. We use email protection, TAP, and TRAP. We monitor and encrypt outgoing sensitive data through DLP capabilities and detect and block incoming phishing and malware.
  • Ability to create logical and detailed DLP rules.
  • Ability to encrypt or block based on rules.
  • Integration with Active Directory works as expected.
  • Manual Report exports are very limited in row size.
  • There is no search feature for AD groups and users within DLP rule creation.
  • Each email can only be part of one folder, so it can only trigger one monitoring rule.
  • Because of #3, we have to order rule priority. This has to be done in a very manual way with upward and downward arrows. They cannot be ordered by typing in numbers. The page refreshes and goes to the top with every arrow click, and it's pretty slow to update each time.
  • The User Interface is pretty lacking visually.
  • We have to create a rule in both Email Protection and Information Protection to use Active Directory groups in the rule.
It works well for actual functionality of the DLP detection. It does has good dictionaries and identifiers built in. But most of the things involved in the UI are pretty cumbersome and not very visually appealing. There are many extra steps needed to get some things working as desired, and you have to prioritize every monitoring rule.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2020

Proofpoint: an integral part of our email defense platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it at the front of our organization's email. It is applied to all accounts across the organization. We use it to help identify and flag malicious and marketing emails as well as use the tools to encrypt emails that have sensitive data going out of our doors.
  • Allows for the quarantine of emails so that we have the ability to review and release emails if we deem that they are in fact legit. Some of our legit emails look spammy so the quick ability to view and release those emails is helpful.
  • With TAP having the ability to try and automatically remove emails from the inbox if it is a know bad e-mail is a lifesaver, especially during after-hours.
  • I love Tap, but the fact that it can only pull from the user's inbox is an issue with automated rules!
  • I would love to see automation uses the password in the email on the attachments to open them and find the bad emails so that Tap can remove them instead of passing them on because the attachment could not be opened.
Because we are in the financial sector many of our legit emails can look like scam emails. The intelligence feeds that we can take advantage of from Proofpoint gives us an advantage. The tools give us an easy to parse dashboard for deeper dives of real or perceived threats.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 05, 2020

Proofpoint Email Protection provides 98% reduction in unwanted inbound emails

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proofpoint Email Protection filters all inbound emails for our entire corporation. It filters our 98% of inbound emails due to spam, virus, or other malicious content, and bulk mailings. It helps protect our employees from unwanted and nefarious emails.
  • Recipient verification
  • Email filtering
  • Data loss protection
  • Email encryption
  • SPF, DKIM, & DMARC email authentication
  • Bug: Server config corruption if you click off admin web GUI while it is saving a network change
  • Provide more robust DR fail-over
  • Provide a way to determine a message rate baseline in order to establish better SMTP rate controls.
If you need a robust, dynamic, flexible way to verify, filter, encrypt, and protect from data loss, Proofpoint Email Protection is a great product, and their sales, professional services for setup, and support staff are very responsive and provide excellent efficient service. In regards to email protection, they have proven themselves over and over again, and I don't see a scenario where they would not fit.
Read this authenticated review
Fraser Clark | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Proofpoint email security, everything you need and more!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proofpoint is being used across our sister companies and we have an admin in each of the countries.
It is our main email security tool and is used by all of our users.

We were in need of a product that could handle higher volumes of email traffic and Proofpoint regularly features as one of the top email security products. It addresses many of the issues we were having with email security, some we didn't even realize we had. It has helped us get a very detailed overview of our email. We have extremely granular control of our inbound and outbound email.
  • Granular control of inbound and outbound email.
  • The rules that can be configured for mail are extremely impressive. An example is that you could configure rules so that if your CEO sends an email that cannot create a TLS link with the receiving MTA, then it will reinject the mail into the queue and send it again with encryption configured.
  • To ensure emails are never sent over plain text. This is but one of the examples.
  • Spam detection is amazing. Proofpoint can detect and stop around 99% of spam and this is shown in the reporting available.
  • End-user services are fantastic and cut down on admin work greatly.
  • End-users can create their own filters, release their own mail and also get end-user digests so they can see all mail that has been delivered to them.
  • The pricing is high and there are many licenses for things I feel should be part of other products.
  • The UI is slightly dated and has a lot of room for improvement.
  • The separate products should have one pane of glass for administration. Currently, if you own several of the products it feels quite disjointed when using them.
In mid-large companies, this is an excellent solution, especially if you require complex filtering. Perhaps due to regulatory reasons or maybe different departments require different rulesets. This is where Proofpoint excels in my opinion, the granularity is mind-blowing.
Companies with very large inbound & outbound mail flow are also where Proofpoint will excel.

In smaller companies that don't require the complex options that Proofpoint offers is where I would recommend a different product. Especially if they do not get large amounts of mail or aren't doing bulk sends.
Read Fraser Clark's full review
Laurie Keith | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2019

ProofPoint is the bomb!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proofpoint is being used across the entire organization. It is invaluable for providing protection against spam, bulk email, spoofed email, etc. It provides protection for not only our users but ultimately for our customers as well. While we provide on-going training for our users on what to watch for in suspicious emails, Proofpoint takes a lot of the guesswork out of the equation.
  • Spam - catches these emails before hitting the inbox.
  • Daily digest - provides users with a list of the emails that were blocked and allows them to choose to release them if they are legitimate emails.
  • Ensures that emails coming into our organization is safe for our users and verifies the email is coming from stated senders email server.
  • Configuration can be complex at times. there are multiple areas to track a path of a configuration setting.
  • Would like to be able to assign roles to helpdesk staff with more granularity.
  • Navigation within the product could be more streamlined.
Proofpoint does a great job at protecting our users and ultimately our customers and their personal information. It provides a means to block unwanted emails that may be spam, spoofed, bulk, etc. Users are also able to determine if they want a blocked email and release it to their mailbox without assistance from IT.
Read Laurie Keith's full review
Rich Curtis | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

ProofPoint has proven their value and saved us from thousands of attacks

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Proofpoint email protection to filter all inbound and outbound email for the corporation worldwide. As opposed to our previous mail filter solution, Proofpoint is able to stop all malware, viruses, and nearly all spam. Additionally, we heavily use the impostor detection feature. Our executives are very commonly impersonated in an attempt to gain gift cards or other goods. Proofpoint has been able to drastically reduce these attacks.
  • Impostor detection
  • Virus detection
  • Malware prevention
  • The cost is significantly higher than other similar products on the market.
  • The administrative interface can be difficult to use. There is no search function and it can be browser-specific.
In our case, the biggest payoff is impersonation and phishing detection. Due to our industry, we are victim to a wide variety of phishing attacks. These include attempts to solicit fraudulent payments, gain customer information, or purchase gift cards to give to the attacker. Proofpoint has been able to drastically reduce these incidents. Some attacks still get through, but they are manageable with end-user training.
Read Rich Curtis's full review
Casey Ketcham | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

Proofpoint is pretty much foolproof

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Proofpoint Email Protection across our whole company to protect our users from getting malware, viruses, spoofed emails, phishing emails, etc. We use Office 365 as our backend email system and it works seemlessly with it. Before getting Proofpoint Email Protection we used to get tons of phishing emails and spoofed emails but 99% of those have stopped since implementing it.
  • Can send daily emails to users showing what emails got caught in their individual spam quarantine
  • Very extensive search engine to search for emails sent/received
  • Easy to block or allow emails in the system
  • It seems there are too many options to let you block or allow emails. It is easy to do still but can be confusing as there are like 5 different places you can do it so maybe simply that somehow.
  • Make an easy way to block email names vs their email address, for example if the email name says Joe Smith but the address says sweet1@hotmail.com when it should be joe.smith@yourcompany.com there should be an easy way to block that kind of email.
  • When doing searches for emails, the from address a lot of times looks weird, different than what you searched for. For example you searched for an email from bobsmith@gmail.com but the from field in the search results may say emailsender101138383093@email.server.number2113.org which is confusing.
I'd say it's well suited for medium to large businesses for sure. For a small office you could definitely get by with just using Office365/Exchange transport rules to block many bad messages. Plus with with a small business you will definitely not be getting the vast amount of message traffic as you would in a large business to justify the cost. However for med/large business it's a no brainer as it's helped a lot.
Read Casey Ketcham's full review
Jatin Rai | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Proofpoint - Something proves its security points very well

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Proofpoint in our Cyber Defense team not across all the organisation. As it is used to protect the unwanted traffic from being communicated to our organisation's users. We use Proofpoint to block communication based on the domain, the content of the mail, malicious site, or link present in the mail. For example if I learned that some malicious content (for example a malicious phishing site) in being spread using the mail in our organisation we reach out to Proofpoint to block the content of the mail being communicated to our users with the help of Proofpoint (in cases that it's the same in all the mail). We also use the domain being used to send the mail to our users (we used to attach a sample mail for better understanding of content). According to the priority of the case they take desired action. So ultimately it helps to stop any malicious phishing content from being spread across our organisation and protect all the users being targeted of such unwanted content from the web. Once a site is being blocked by Proofpoint it will not be accessible to the organisational user if if they clicked on it accidentally.
  • When a bulk of unwanted mail start triggering against your organisation and removing them from web in an instant node is not possible, Proofpoint help as an instant measure to stop such flow.
  • In case, when something malicious being spread in your organisation and you want user to remain uninfected even after clicking on the malicious link, Proofpoint proves as a major solution as it prevent blocked domains to be open by any user.
  • It also act as an AD-HOC measure when you have to know in advance about some threat and you have the IOC of the threat you can add that in advance in block lost in Proofpoint. That helps to prevent any future harm to the organisation.
  • UI can be improved for better and easy understanding of all features.
  • They should have a chat-bot type assistant for better understanding of all its features and easy understanding while raising or working on any issue by the user.
  • AI might help to improve threat hunting and make it more useful for a security organisation, Where using AI Proofpoint suggest a number of existing threat list to organisation. Help in pro-active steps to stop being targeted by any malicious content over the web.
A very useful and beneficial application for almost all of the organisation operating over the web as being on the web means being in danger to get phished or spoofed, to safeguard a large number of user base it is required to have Proofpoint so one can easily block a content that proves harmful for the whole organisation. Can be blocked using Proofpoint within minutes. A number of times we have scenarios where hackers are trying to get the user spoofed using false content and send a large number of emails to almost all users. If our organization at that time reached out to all the users to stop them from being targeted from the mail - it seemed impossible. So we use Proofpoint to get the malicious content inaccessible for anyone in the organisation.
Read Jatin Rai's full review
Lorrie Amerson | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Big Thumbs up for Proofpoint Email Protection

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using the Proofpoint suite across our entire campus. Proofpoint has proven to be a wonderful tool for alerting us when a malicious or phishing email comes in. We are most appreciative that it is so much easier to pull the messages by using the smart search feature. Also the automatic pulling and quarantining the message.
  • The ease of use of the system. The initial setup can be daunting but once it is up and running it practically runs itself.
  • The quick response from Proofpoint when an email that was sent to a mailbox but was later found to be malicious.
  • One thing I like is the fact that if we pull an email which later turns out to be good we are then able to un-quarantine the messages, either a few or all.
  • The ease of use of the smart search feature. This makes putting together a CSV file to use in TRAP to pull messages from mailboxes on campus much easier than having to run a exchange PowerShell to remove mail from mailboxes, especially when you have multiple exchange servers
  • Search feature
  • Easier location to block URLS and or email addresses
  • Unable to locate emails which have been quarantined
Using Proofpoint email protection helps assist in our daily routine of ensuring our email system is safe and secure. The feature where it pulls emails from the user's email accounts and displays to us whether the email was read or unread helps us in determining if a user needs to have further training.
Read Lorrie Amerson's full review
Jane Updegraff | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Proofpoint Rocks

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Proofpoint as our primary perimeter defense for all email traffic. Inbound email goes first to Proofpoint's servers for checking and then once vetted by Proofpoint, email goes to our on-premise Exchange servers for distribution. Proofpoint also rewrites all URLs contained in emails so that users cannot open URLs without them being tested in a Proofpoint sandbox first.
  • Proofpoint does a nearly perfect job of rewriting URLs in emails to our users. They can very rarely click on a link that does NOT go to a Proofpoint sandbox URL.
  • Proofpoint does a fantastic job of detecting "imposter" emails where the sender is attempting to impersonate a C-level officer for the purpose of fraud. All we had to do was tell it which names to look for as "sender" and match up the sender display name with the sender email address. when there is a mismatch, Proofpoint re-directs the email straight to our MIS team and the recipeitn doesn't even see it.
  • Proofpoint does a very good job of identifying email-transported threats. We often get notified immediately that an end user has received a malicious email and even when it is a zero-day threat, they generally notify us within minutes of the nature of the threat.
  • I think that Proofpoint could potentially speed up their identification of certain kinds of threats. Other than that i can't think of anything, they are just that good.
I think Proofpoint is probably the best perimeter email defense out there. The only area that could potentially improve is their cumbersome GUI on their portal pages. It's hard to navigate. But once you get used to it, it does everything that you could ask for it to do.
Read Jane Updegraff's full review
Manoj Rana | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

Proofpoint in my Organization.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proofpoint is used to protect our email communication. Proofpoint is used in our whole organization as a gateway server for mailing. Proofpoint does a good filtering mail which reduced the number of cyberattacks and also allows us to add some exceptions to mail filtration. That way, we can allow secure mail to be delivered to our users without it getting blocked by Proofpoint.
  • Mail filtration: Proofpoint has its own algorithm but we still can create a rule for mail flirtation.
  • Organizational blacklist: We can block domains, SMTP addresses, or any IP.
  • Inbound mail: Only added or authorized domain mail will be passed by ProofPoint to the internal mail server.
  • Quarantine: This is a good feature which allows us to control the blocked mail and if we feel mail id good, then we can take the action.
  • Spam: Spam detection is also good.
  • Quarantine storage: We receive lots of emails and we feel the storage capacity of Proofpoint is lacking. We cannot keep the mail in the quarantined folder for more than a week.
I feel that wether the company is mid-level or enterprise and require any complex mail filtering, then ProofPoint is best. Again, each department has its own requirements related to mail rules, so ProofPoint plays a very good role in these scenarios. For a small organization, I don't think they require any complex filtering and cost is a big factor.
Read Manoj Rana's full review
Hasan Sayed | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Proofpoint Reveiw | used for a 150k-plus org

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

It is being used throughout the organization. We use various features like TAP, TRAP. It is efficient and the global updates help in minimizing threats.

Sometimes it behaves weirdly in reporting FP due to which quarantined legitimate emails. We are planning to use PP to directly connect applications to send emails to clients especially for marketing purposes.

  • TAP
  • TRAP
  • Cloud Updates from various clients of Proofpoint.
  • Policy routes don't work correctly at times.
  • False Positive is a pain at times, essential business emails are quarantined.
  • DNS routing can be an issue at times.

If you want a global threat to be identified before entering your organization, you have this information readily available pre & post-delivery of emails to the vulnerable clients. It also allows you to restrict emails to be delivered to vulnerable users and delete emails from the affected users.

False Positive is good at times as it quarantines affected emails

Transport rule, suspicious sender, etc are some features which help differentiate between legit senders.

Scheduled reports to identify potential issues and analyze the daily/weekly/monthly traffic.

Read Hasan Sayed's full review
Keith Krus | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Proofpoint leads the industry in email protection.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Proofpoint for email protection. We use Office 365 to host email, and ProofPoint alongside with Office 365 across our entire organization and we have been able to reduce virus, spam, and malware emails by over 95%. The biggest security threats we encounter nowadays are sent via email and Proofpoint is able to help protect us.
  • Spam protection. Spam emails as we all know are annoying and can contain phishing material.
  • Virus protection. Protecting our entire network from threats.
  • Malware protection. Prevent spammers/hackers from creating back doors into our network.
  • No changes in my opinion.
Proofpoint not only protects against threats via email but its also a helpful tool for tracking/tracking down emails if a user on our network believes they have not received an email. On multiple occasions, I have used Proofpoint smart searches to assist with tracking emails.
Read Keith Krus's full review
Jose Arroyo | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2019

The best email solution that I have used

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for email for 85% of Mass State agencies and as a mail relay for thousands of in-house applications. It is our highly dependable spam solution.
  • Great spam protection.
  • TAP option works very well.
  • Configuring policy routes is very helpful.
  • Master console configurations and push to agents is very simple.
  • Improve message search to include more details.
  • More details when a message has a status of incomplete.
  • Log info needs a little improving.
So far the Proofpoint Email Protection has worked well for the Comm of Mass. The solution with the TAP Option has really cut down on the amount of spam being released. Proofpoint support is also great and very helpful with any cases we open with them. For the amount of e-mail traffic received/sent this solution works very well.
Read Jose Arroyo's full review
Alan Daniel | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

A Market Leader for Good Reason!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Proofpoint Email Protection is used across the entire organization. Since phishing attacks are the largest threat vector, the Proofpoint cloud solution provides a rock-solid level of protection for our end users that utilize email on a daily basis. The solution not only protects our users from malicious activity but also the loss of productivity by weeding out spam and other useless emails.
  • Effectively discards spam definite emails.
  • Protects users from malicious activity.
  • Performance of inspection is very efficient.
  • Operational availability is very high.
  • Features such as TAP and others are separate packages from a price point (not bundled).
  • Email quarantines are not always 100% accurate.
  • Some occasional false positives with email delivery.
Proofpoint Email Protection is a mission-critical security solution for any large enterprise. Email is usually the blood life of the company and its operations. With that, users are targeted via email for harvesting credentials and phishing attacks. The effectiveness and operational state of this security solution are what makes Proofpoint excel compared to its competitors. Proofpoint is always trying to stay one step ahead of the bad actors.
Read Alan Daniel's full review
Mallinath Doddamani | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

My Proofpoint Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has been used across the whole organization to protect us against spam and unwanted suspicious emails from the internet.
  • It identified the spam or mails which are malware, then classified them as quarantined or discarded.
  • It helps the end-user to allow/block externals users. Users can add a sender to a safe list or block list.
  • It provides the end-user the option to release emails that are blocked.
  • It would be good to have a stand-alone application instead of a web-based portal for the admin console.
  • It should ask for confirmation from admin/user before save or delete operations like Microsoft applications.
  • Admin should be able to open a ticket via the same portal, like the Office 365 portal.
Really, it is a great product.
Read Mallinath Doddamani's full review
Kote Sudhakar | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

End-to-end security for email.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Healthcare client is using Proofpoint Protection Server and we manage the complete environment of email security.
  • It’s customisable and policy based.
  • Management interface is user friendly.
  • It’s dynamic.
  • I am happy with whatever is provided.
It’s suitable for all types of industry from small-scale to enterprise.
Read Kote Sudhakar's full review
Sateesh Konijeti | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Proofpoint Email Protection Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Proofpoint currently for email security (TAP) and this is for our global level implementation.
  • Very strong and good at identifying threats
  • Very good to block the unwanted and new phishing attacks along with Spam and Malware attacks
  • Very strong and cooperative support from Proofpoint
  • Very good experience with Proofpoint support - always very fast and immediate assistance
  • Maybe need to be stronger at capturing the URL and attachment defences before we report attacks.
  • I do agree no product will be able to block all sorts of new malware/phishing attacks, however Proofpoint could be more proactive rather than reactive.
  • Maybe more options for search queries and for easier administration. I am good with the config, consoles etc. But I could see people getting confused with the few options and consoles we have. They may feel like it is a bit complicated.
We have had many spoofing and malware attacks which have been proactively identified by Proofpoint and reported to us as well. And also the monthly newsletters are very useful. I am very happy with Proofpoint's tech support and the way we get support very quickly.
Read Sateesh Konijeti's full review
Jorge Golvano | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2019

Proofpoint Email Protection Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole organization nationwide.
  • Spam detection
  • Phishing prevention
  • Virus detection
  • Management interface
  • False positive reporting
  • System performance
It's a very good filtering solution but not without its problems and issues, especially their so-called cloud implementation which is nothing more than an appliance with storage and performance limitations.

The configuration is very detailed, but at the same time it's not very intuitive and some things are very hard to set up.
Read Jorge Golvano's full review
Oliver Strojan | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

My experience with Proofpoint E-Mail protection

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the central E-Mail Gateway. It filters out e-mails. It protects user by using url defense for example impostor, dmarc…..
  • It is "easy" to manage, it works stable and they do have a fantastic support.
  • I even worked with a PPS Consultant helping to implement EFD (email fraud defense).
  • He has a very good knowledge in his area and is very helpfull.
  • As all PPS Systems consists as clusters there never was an outage. Even patching the Systems is more or less one click.
  • If I compare this with oter systems it is pretty simple and it always has worked. Not a single issue during patching.
  • Impostor function may be improved so it detects this more reliable. We opened many tickets to report impostor mails. Now it is a little bit better.
  • Message tracking gui (the display of the results) is sometimes broken depending on the results returned. That was working fine in the past and with one patch this issue was introduced and never fixed
Good product, good support.
Read Oliver Strojan's full review
Scott Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

Pro-Proofpoint!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Proofpoint Enterprise Email Filter, Tap and TRAP. Have had really good experience with Support and implementation and have seen really good results in protection. TRAP has came in handy as well, love it.
  • Prevents Phishing
  • Rewrites bad URL links in emails
  • SPAM
  • Admin User interface is ugly
  • regular health checks up for your cuastomers
  • send SWAG to guys that implemented it
Not sure where it would not be suitable
Read Scott Johnson's full review
Andrew Maledy | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2019

Really not happy with Proofpoint or their customer service

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to filter spam. We aren’t using it for much more really and aren’t getting much value beyond that.
  • Stop spam
  • That is literally it
  • Our users hate how they can’t see URLs in emails
  • We don’t like that our users can’t release their own emails
Scenarios where Exchange is hosted on-prem or no other options are available.
Read Andrew Maledy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Protect Your Users with Proofpoint Email Protection

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Proofpoint Email Protection to protect our emails from malicious content coming into the organization. We also use it for DLP on outgoing emails.
  • Good email protection and spam filtering
  • Easy search for identifying emails coming in
  • DLP protection has customization options to fit business needs
  • Until you get to know why sections and config options are in a certain area it seems random and confusing.
  • It would be better if it interacted with their other products more smoothly.
  • Customizing the spam filtering can take a little while to dial in.
Well suited:
Proofpoint does a pretty good job at protecting us from spam emails. I was able to block a lot of emails coming from SendGrid by blocking SendGrid emails with a custom spam filter. However, SendGrid has a lot of legit emails too so I was able to create another rule to allow those emails from certain people, then block the rest. That way business need was met but spam emails are blocked.

Less Appropriate
If you are trying to monitor internal to internal emails Proofpoint is probably a little over featured for that.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-malware (72)
9.2
Cusomizability (71)
8.8
Data Loss Protection (45)
7.1
Threat Detection (71)
8.8
Sandboxing (54)
7.5
End-to-End Encryption (54)
7.6
Management Tools (70)
7.8

About Proofpoint Email Protection

Proofpoint Email Protection is available as an on-premise or cloud based solution and blocks unwanted, malicious and impostor emails with granular search capabilities and visibility into all messages. Outbound controls include encryption and data loss prevention, while continuity capabilities ensure business communications can continue as normal in the event of an email outage.
With Proofpoint's Email Protection, you can protect your people, data, and brand from today’s threats with:
  • The ability to detect BEC or malware-free threats using our machine learning impostor classifier (Stateful Composite Scoring Service)
  • Nearly unlimited email routing capabilities utilizing our advanced email firewall.
  • Robust reporting and email tracking/tracing using Smart Search.
  • TAP, DLP and Encryption built into the same console providing a single pain of glass for management purposes.
  • Unwanted email management that allows users to decide which emails they would like to see in their inbox.

Proofpoint Email Protection Features

Has featureAbility to detect BEC or malware-free threats using our machine learning impostor classifier (Stateful Composite Scoring Service)
Has featureNearly unlimited email routing capabilities utilizing our advanced email firewall.
Has featureRobust reporting and email tracking/tracing using Smart Search.
Has featureTAP, DLP and Encryption are built into the same console providing a single pain of glass for management purposes.
Has featureUnwanted email management allows users to decide which emails they would like to see in their inbox.

Proofpoint Email Protection Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Proofpoint Email Protection Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Proofpoint Email Protection Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Germany, France, Italy, Australia, Japan
Supported Languages: Arabic, Bulgarian, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian (Bahasa), Italian, Japanese, Kazakh, Korean, Malay, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese (Brazilian), Romanian, Russian, Sinhala, Slovak, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese