PRTG Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
127 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 38)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2020

A solid product that is a good value for the price and works as advertised

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

In comparison with two other similar tools I have used in the past, I would put PRTG in the middle strictly in terms of features/performance, but at the top when overall value is considered. While SolarWinds does have some features that PRTG lacks, it comes at a much higher price point so it does not have the same ROI. On the other hand, Nagios, while open source, is not as user-friendly nor as robust as PRTG, thus making PRTG an excellent product choice if you are in the market for a robust, yet budget-friendly, network device monitoring tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

PRTG is a long-standing company that provides great value!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I found Nagios very difficult to manage and use. I used it on a Linux server and we are a Windows shop so it was not as easy for other IT staff to administer. It was also mostly text-based configuration so it was more difficult to configure.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

PRTG for MSP's

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I have had a brief interaction with SolarWinds, but in my opinion, PRTG is a better product for our needs. The cost is justifiable and it provides all the tools we need to monitor our products.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

PRTG Network Monitor: Affordable, Effective Network Monitoring with Excellent Support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We used a product called Total Network Monitor for a time, but it was fundamental and was not suited to enterprise environments. PRTG Network Monitor was the only platform that provided the flexibility and configuration that we required at a reasonable price point. There are certainly other products that offer similar functionality (Solarwinds Orion, for example), but the licensing models and initial investment costs could not compete.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Dive into the Traffic

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The big use was the user interface that PRTG offers for net-flow traffic. Whatsup and Splunk both trap net-flow information but PRTG's was a bit easier to weed through to figure out the issues. I did mention quick and dirty and PRTG can be installed and run perfectly on a simple desktop unlike WhatsUp Gold and Splunk.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2020

PRTG: best solution for small or big enterprises

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Compared to SolarWinds licensing model on monitors, we bought PRTG xl-1 unlimited license monitoring any device without any difficulty and not specific to servers, devices, network devices. We monitor any device in our organisation. We monitor location, temperature, specific dashboards and plenty of things. PRTG loses its compatibility when it comes to load handling, need to do proper balancing or else face a number of issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

The right size for everyone

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Cost and feature set was the biggest reason we went with PRTG. You get a ton of functionality for what you pay for. The ease of setup was a bonus once we started working with it. After working with Solarwinds and Nagios - I can't imagine going back to those solutions.
Read this authenticated review
Dan Reynolds | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

PRTG - Dependable Network Monitoring for an SMB

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I tried some freeware products and Spiceworks. Some of the free/open source stuff was so complicated I couldn't even figure out how to set it up. I used Spiceworks network monitoring but it just wasn't reliable (not Spiceworks Inventory - the network monitor product). I was even a beta tester on the product. I just don't think there were the resources or desire for Spiceworks to make it more than what it turned out to be. PRTG is an enterprise class monitoring product that just happens to be able to be used by any size organization. And that's what we needed.
Read Dan Reynolds's full review
Shawn Gifford | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

Great value for a very feature-rich product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

This product was far cheaper than the SolarWinds packaged solutions I have used in the past, and provides nearly as much value, though you may have to put more work in initially to realize that value. I thought it was far more useful than WhatsUp, whose value went down markedly with subsequent versions.
Read Shawn Gifford's full review
Robert Paul | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2019

PRTG monitors everything, even my enthusiasm

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Nagios and Icinga (which is itself a fork from Nagios) are decent enough solutions for free, being open source. They do take more to set up and maintain, with quite a lot of manual work and agent installs in some cases. So in comparison with PRTG, they require more labor, but PRTG requires more capital. I also feel like PRTG is more robust, and stable; it's never crashed or required a complete reinstall, which I've definitely had to do with Icinga in the past.

PRTG runs on Windows, while the other two are Linux. That only matters if you're more familiar with one or the other, of course, but it does take more to set up a LAMP server sometimes.
Read Robert Paul's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Easy to use and comprehensive network monitoring? - PRTG is the solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

With PRTG it comes down to ease of use. Compared with products like Nagios, PRTG is so much simpler and more straightforward to set up, use and maintain, making it easy to manage existing sensors as well as add new ones, and create a clear and easy monitoring platform. Users with little or no experience in the product can easily set up new sensors from the library from the hundreds available and more experienced users can write their own.
There is a wealth of information available online as well giving answers t almost every question I've ever had to ask with regards to the product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

PRTG Monitoring System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PRTG is much better than some tools in its class like ManageEngine Application Manager for example due to it's easy to use interface. Its workflow is also more streamlined and intuitive. It is probably more expensive and I am not a fan of the sensor licensing system. For example, monitoring memory on a server, that consume a sensor. Another sensor for monitoring CPU and etc... and this can make hard estimate cost or have cost certainty. The license should just be based on the number of devices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Improved IT infrastructure reliability

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Being able to monitor multiple networks and devices all over the country. and easy of deployment has set PTRG apart from the competition. I have used multiple monitoring tools in the past 20 years and PTRG works right out of the box with minimal configuration compared with others.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

An easy to use, cost effective monitoring system

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

The mobile app and ease of use set PRTG apart from the others. PRTG can be up and running in a much shorter time than any other product I have used or evaluated. Templates can be set up so once a system is detected the appropriate sensors will be created automatically.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Solid option that sets the standard for its competitors

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PRTG wins on price. Other tools have similar capabilities. However, there was always some trade-off to make. Products like Zabbix and Nagios are overly complicated to configure, so there is a significant time cost. Tools like Datadog and OpManager just cost too much for a small I.T. operation. PRTG has found the middle ground in cost and capability, plus the choice between cloud or on-premise.
Read this authenticated review
Graham Murison | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Don't pass on Paessler's PRTG Network Monitor

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PRTG is much simpler to implement than both Nagios and Zenoss; mind you, this was before Zenoss released their cloud option.

It has a wide range of sensors and some are specific to both storage and network devices. The previous version didn't have any NetApp reporting at the time of the evaluation, which is something that was important to us.

Pricing was pretty competitive for what is being offered. I also recently needed additional licenses and the ease of upgrading was shocking.
Read Graham Murison's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2019

PRTG real time traffic monitoring

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PRTG is a great tool for real-time traffic monitoring. It gives you a perfect graphical representation of bandwidth utilization on any of the network interface. With its ability to detect packet loss and utilization in real time, it gives us an oversight of our network.
Most of the tools in the market do not provide real-time data with such accuracy.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (39)
8.7
Network monitoring (42)
9.4
Baseline threshold calculation (37)
8.3
Alerts (43)
9.2
Network capacity planning (29)
7.8
Packet capture analysis (21)
8.5
Network mapping (28)
7.6
Customizable reports (37)
8.1
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (28)
7.9
Hardware health monitoring (41)
9.2

About PRTG

PRTG Network Monitor is the flagship offering from German software company Paessler, for monitoring local and wide area networks (LANs & WANs), servers, websites, apps, and more. It also includes free VoIP monitoring software.

PRTG Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No