PRTG Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
127 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 43)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Sam Livermore, MCP, iTIL | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2020

PRTG. Simple, powerful and reliable

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Small to medium businesses where they have an on-staff SysAdmin or Network Admin who can support the on-prem server and all the services. If this is not monitored or set up properly, the app can quickly get out of date, and the sensors not work properly with correct notifications to do the intended job of letting you know that there is a problem.
Read Sam Livermore, MCP, iTIL's full review
Eric Engardio | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

The perfect tool for the little guy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Our organization is quickly outgrowing PRTG as an SNMP network monitoring tool. We have around 20 total sites we monitor and we're pushing over 16,000 sensors. For a small organization, it's really great and affordable. Once you grow beyond the 10,000 sensor mark, however, it starts to get very pricey and not very efficient.
Read Eric Engardio's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2020

A solid product that is a good value for the price and works as advertised

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is an excellent real-time monitoring tool, good for things like device uptime and resource utilization. You can monitor parameters such as ping, CPU and memory usage, available disk space, and also generate reports and graphs based on historic utilization to help plan for future growth. What PRTG is not intended for is use as an Intrusion Prevention System, it will only report to you on what activities that are occurring.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

PRTG is a long-standing company that provides great value!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We are a small IT shop, but I could see if your environment is extremely complex with multiple sites and decentralized it would take some effort to configure everything correctly using PRTG Network Monitor. Even if your environment has 100+ servers but IT staff are centralized it's very realistic to configure everything correctly and get the notifications where you want them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

PRTG for MSP's

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PRTG Network Monitor is well suited for larger organizations who need to consistently monitor the health of multiple servers and multiple ISP's. The custom ping checks are a good tool to allow efficient alerting when a system could possibly be offline or inaccessible. It is extremely well suited for MSP's or larger organizations that monitor multiple sites.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

PRTG Network Monitor: Affordable, Effective Network Monitoring with Excellent Support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

  • We've found that PRTG Network Monitor is excellent for monitoring critical endpoints, VMware health, Microsoft Exchange, and other essential items of infrastructure. PRTG Network Monitor licensing is based on the number of sensors deployed, so it's wise not to accept all of the default recommendations. Spend some time thinking about what matters. For example, there's no need for a Ping sensor on a system where you are also monitoring service states - if the service is up, pinging it is unnecessary, and if the service is down. Still, the system is up; the fact that it responds to pings is not very useful. We've found that a good approach is to let PRTG Network Monitor recommend sensors and then remove those that are not relevant to our monitoring needs.
  • Paessler support is also excellent. They've been very responsive and worked with us to enhance the value of the product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Dive into the Traffic

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Ease of implementation when you are needing a quick and dirty. I mentioned earlier I had it up and running within 10 minutes and was able to narrow down bandwidth usage at multiple locations. Though I could do this manually at each location, having a single window to view and compare the data made it easy to fix. Only con I really have is the lack of AD integration to create security roles in PRTG since we would like to leave this up as a first look window when issues occur.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2020

PRTG: best solution for small or big enterprises

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PRTG is not restricted to one business, like you can do monitoring in Aviation, satellite division or in Medical Fields and even Electric substations. We do monitoring of temperature, latency, crc8 errors, monitor IOT devices, medical equipment. OID (object identifier) helps a lot in terms of monitoring any devices other [than] network devices. API are always available where you can easily pull the data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

The right size for everyone

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Particularly if you are a shop that has a lot of devices but not a ton of manpower to manage those devices, this software is a huge benefit. It's inexpensive compared to the big enterprise solutions and far easier to set-up than the open-source alternatives like Nagios. It's the right size for most groups. Node/monitor based licensing allows me to be flexible with what I need. Most devices are just up/down notifications, some have SNTP, etc. It's great!
Read this authenticated review
Dan Reynolds | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

PRTG - Dependable Network Monitoring for an SMB

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I guess I would have to say for small environments like ours it's perfect and you can't complain about the price - FREE. I have also heard of lots of enterprise situations where it has performed well. As I mentioned before I think one area they miss out on is have a few more intermediate levels on the lower end. For example I have thought that perhaps I could implement more VMware monitoring functions with PRTG but the price of entry point is just too high for us. If there was an intermediate level there maybe it would be more attractive.
But even with that said I LOVE PRTG. It gives me a level of confidence that things are being "watched" that I hadn't had before. In a small firm with very limited staff that is very important.
Read Dan Reynolds's full review
Shawn Gifford | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

Great value for a very feature-rich product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Great for an NPM software to supplement your existing APM solutions. It is very easy to implement and control. PRTG Network Monitor integrates well with ticketing and APM systems for detailed monitors. It also works very well as a pipe for your Netflow data from your switches for a comprehensive view of network flows.
Read Shawn Gifford's full review
Robert Paul | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2019

PRTG monitors everything, even my enthusiasm

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PRTG is fantastic for a medium or large business with many servers, switches, firewalls, and other systems. Having all of these monitored in one space is a lifesaver, and it helps analyze where an outage might actually be ("13 servers are offline, and so is this switch right where those servers happen to be"). It can be pricey, depending on the model, but it's worth it for the efficiency and ease of use.

That said, a small business, especially one with one or two servers and a couple of switches, probably won't find it cost effective. There would be less value in that kind of small shop to monitor everything this way, and one of the free solutions out there would probably be fine.
Read Robert Paul's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Easy to use and comprehensive network monitoring? - PRTG is the solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PRTG is well suited to any organization that needs to monitor devices and systems on their network. Compared to other products on the market, it is is easy to set up, manage and use on a day-to-day basis.
The only place where it would be less appropriate would possibly be an environment where multiple probes were required for geographic purposes and a probe device (ie, a PC) isn't available in each location. This is fairly unlikely, however, but would depend on the network infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

PRTG Monitoring System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

If you want to setup a tool to quickly monitor a group of device or do troubleshoot/validate then PRTG is a very suitable tool as you can get setup and going very very quickly.

If you have a smaller environment, PRTG is a very suitable tool as it is easy to use and low cost.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Monitoring Tool for every business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

First you have to create a tree with all the servers and services. Here i would recommend to create a plan before, else you do this step twice. The thing that you have to decide a few things when you create a sensor and after this is not changeable. When you want to change this, you have to delete the sensor and create a new one.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Improved IT infrastructure reliability

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PTRG is great at monitoring your critical IT infrastructure. The alerts can go from basic to granular. The reporting is great during quarterly meetings with management. Being able to show management within 1-2 minutes how reliability has gone up with new equipment investment is a great selling point to PTRG and justifying your yearly IT budgeting to management.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

An easy to use, cost effective monitoring system

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PRTG is very easy to get up and running. In less than an hour, I had a fully functioning monitor. PRTG is very scalable and works for small to very large environments through simple licensing and the availability of remote sensors. I am able to set up automatic discovery jobs which can scan networks and automatically add newly detected systems based on a template.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Solid option that sets the standard for its competitors

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PRTG is great for our small team, it provides the higher-level insights we need. We do not need much depth at this point, so we disable those sensors. Having a couple maps up on a screen in our office is also great eye-candy for our users when they walk in, it always impresses the head of our institution.

Getting more in-depth monitoring and general analytics will require significantly more work. Sensors will need to be adjusted and added, and there are no pre-built maps of any kind. It just seems to lack some serious built-in "power tools."
Read this authenticated review
Graham Murison | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Don't pass on Paessler's PRTG Network Monitor

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We are using PRTG to monitor our NetApp storage device and Cisco switch network activity. It also has uptime and ping sensors to help notify us when network nodes are down or unavailable i.e. we are using it to monitor our information displays (tv's) to make sure we are notified when they go down. All monitoring is done using SNMP.
Read Graham Murison's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2019

PRTG real time traffic monitoring

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PRTG is well suited for real-time bandwidth utilization. You can also view traffic based on specific segmentation and VLANs. PRTG, however, is less robust when it comes to SNMP monitoring of devices. Device hardware details and monitoring can be improved. It does provide sensors to monitor Virtual machines and their health. It is great if only bandwidth, CPU load, disk space, and memory need to be monitored.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (39)
8.7
Network monitoring (42)
9.4
Baseline threshold calculation (37)
8.3
Alerts (43)
9.2
Network capacity planning (29)
7.8
Packet capture analysis (21)
8.5
Network mapping (28)
7.6
Customizable reports (37)
8.1
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (28)
7.9
Hardware health monitoring (41)
9.2

About PRTG

PRTG Network Monitor is the flagship offering from German software company Paessler, for monitoring local and wide area networks (LANs & WANs), servers, websites, apps, and more. It also includes free VoIP monitoring software.

PRTG Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No