PRTG Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
127 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 43)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Eric Engardio | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

The perfect tool for the little guy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • PRTG as an SNMP tool makes it possible for us to support all of our environments remotely and that is invaluable.
  • It was great until we had to deploy a second server to support more than 10,000 sensors (the license itself costs way more than it should have compared to competitors).
  • Some extra cost is added when you consider the amount of time I've had to spend with device manufacturers getting certain OID's and MIB's since PRTG didn't have them in its repository.
Read Eric Engardio's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

PRTG is a long-standing company that provides great value!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We can track uptime % on servers and even websites so ability to report on this is great.
  • I think PRTG is a great value. The cost versus what we get is well worth it.
  • Once set up, we don't have to continually monitor it so my staff can do more value-added tasks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

PRTG for MSP's

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Allows us to proactively catch server outages
  • Allows proactive Network outage discovery
  • No negative impact
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Dive into the Traffic

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The bandwidth issue was a big one. By resolving this issue we increased the production level of our users.
  • Less calls from level 1 by giving them access to traffic usage at our locations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2020

PRTG: best solution for small or big enterprises

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • PRTG XL1 license profits more for any bigger organisations.
  • Less time consuming, can deploy fully within a week.
  • Load balancing is very crucial, if it is not done properly it cannot handle even 1200 sensors (like approx. 1 device = 10 sensors).
  • Database upgrade, dashboard customizing, html codes are also supported which helps a lot.
  • API which you can pull all the network devices' monitoring data and can be sent to SOC which greatly reduces effort.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

The right size for everyone

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Saved countless hours when troubleshooting an outage.
  • Saved overtime from our technicians who previously needed to call electrical when something was down - electrical knows the same time we do.
Read this authenticated review
Robert Paul | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2019

PRTG monitors everything, even my enthusiasm

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The ability to analyze multiple pieces of information in one place, especially with historical data, has saved our IT department time and headaches. It would be so much more difficult to trace an issue without PRTG, just relying on event logs and an open task manager window.
  • The cost is not cheap, so it's an expense that hits the bottom line like everything else. Figure in hardware costs as well, ideally a server outside of your main environment.
  • I keep saying this, but the historical data piece is worth so much. There's really no good way to collect all of that information in one place without something like PRTG. And that definitely saves time and money in the long run.
Read Robert Paul's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Easy to use and comprehensive network monitoring? - PRTG is the solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • PRTG has definitely had a positive impact on the business as monitoring can all be done from a central location and is easily accessible by all the relevant stakeholders.
  • It can easily give us stats on up time etc which is used for statistics and SLA monitoring etc - this provides customers with detailed information which we wouldn't' otherwise be able to provide.
  • For the price, I think it is the best product available on the market
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

PRTG Monitoring System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • Since the tool is easy to use, it doesn't require a whole lot of effort to train people.
  • Since the license is based on sensor, the more detailed you monitor a device (the more sensor is required), the more it cost you. So makes it less likely that you will monitor as much as possible if a license is limited. If you add everything to monitoring, it can consume a lot of sensors per device.
  • There are many strong alerting/notification features that allowing you to stay informed without a lot of effort to monitor the tool directly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Improved IT infrastructure reliability

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • The ROI has been returned tenfold. Being able to be proactive vs. reactive is a key selling point.
  • IT and Dev operations have improved reliability dramatically.
  • PTRG is fully scalable and will grow with your IT infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

An easy to use, cost effective monitoring system

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • I was able to combine multiple licensed products into one by implementing PRTG.
  • Licensing for PRTG can get expensive based on the way an organization is set up. Licensing per sensor rather than per device may not work for everyone.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Solid option that sets the standard for its competitors

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • We have better insights into overall performance.
  • Since deploying PRTG we have been able to be more proactive on some matters.
  • Proper configuration did pull time away from other projects, more than it should have if PRTG had more built-in capabilities.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2019

PRTG real time traffic monitoring

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Return on Investment

  • PRTG gives us real-time traffic monitoring on our bandwidth, including both internal and external.
  • With PRTG, we can set up alerts for circuit latency and downtime.
  • More SNMP support and features could be added to make it a more robust monitoring platform.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (39)
8.7
Network monitoring (42)
9.4
Baseline threshold calculation (37)
8.3
Alerts (43)
9.2
Network capacity planning (29)
7.8
Packet capture analysis (21)
8.5
Network mapping (28)
7.6
Customizable reports (37)
8.1
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (28)
7.9
Hardware health monitoring (41)
9.2

About PRTG

PRTG Network Monitor is the flagship offering from German software company Paessler, for monitoring local and wide area networks (LANs & WANs), servers, websites, apps, and more. It also includes free VoIP monitoring software.

PRTG Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No