PRTG Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
127 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 43)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Sam Livermore, MCP, iTIL | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2020

PRTG. Simple, powerful and reliable

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Monitor servers, CPU, memory, disk, services.
  • Monitor network and bandwidth, port up/down.
  • Provide options for custom solutions to meet your environment.
  • Support is great and always helpful, the often forgotten value of any product.
  • OID/MIB import tool.
  • SNMP error, doesn't point you in the right direction.
Read Sam Livermore, MCP, iTIL's full review
Michael O'Riley | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2020

PRTG is a need to have tool for IT

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Monitoring throughput through network devices.
  • Monitoring services for a critical application.
  • Alerting staff when devices go offline.
  • Providing a log of events and system status at any moment in the past.
  • PRTG Maps\Web Pages are cumbersome to setup and change.
  • The configuration interface is old and is not easy to work with at times.
  • Enhanced triggers with more options.
Read Michael O'Riley's full review
Eric Engardio | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

The perfect tool for the little guy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Consistent, real-time alerts.
  • A decent repository of MIB's and OID's for quick auto-discovery.
  • User-friendly interface.
  • Its MIB library could be expanded by quite a lot, I have to spend a lot of time with device manufacturer support when I need to monitor something specific (fan speed, firmware version, etc).
  • It's really not that scaleable beyond 10,000 sensors.
Read Eric Engardio's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2020

A solid product that is a good value for the price and works as advertised

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to setup new sensors (new endpoints to monitor).
  • High level of customization for various features.
  • User-friendly, intuitive web UI.
  • Documentation could be a little more thorough/easy to understand.
  • Built-in reports could be expanded a little bit more.
  • Does not support SSO or more than one Active Directory sync.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

PRTG is a long-standing company that provides great value!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Being able to customize sensors for each server or application (what is being monitored)
  • The variety of hardware and software sensors to choose from is great.
  • The accuracy of the sensors. If PRTG is reporting a problem then that event is really happening.
  • We can choose the thresholds for each sensor. So for example what is a down state or warning state.
  • A lot of options regarding notifications - email, text, timeframes, normal business hours, weekend hours, etc.
  • Ability to see and report on sensor history and get uptime stats.
  • There is a reporting feature but the reports are not necessarily "pretty".
  • The learning curve isn't real steep but it can be a little difficult to configure and get things the way you want them. Definitely trial and error.
  • The automatic scan of a server includes a lot of sensors that are not really usable. And considering licensing is based on the number of sensors, it's easier to just pick the sensors you want to monitor. It would be nice if could create a template of sensors to track.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

PRTG for MSP's

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • System Monitoring
  • Server Monitoring
  • Network Monitoring
  • UI can be confusing
  • Notifications can be difficult to set up
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

PRTG Network Monitor: Affordable, Effective Network Monitoring with Excellent Support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Huge array of sensors to allow detailed monitoring of varied systems.
  • Extremely configurable and tuneable to meet custom environmental needs.
  • Active Directory/LDAP integration is rudimentary and needs improvement.
  • Easy to introduce a lot of network noise and load with default sensor recommendations - care is required to avoid causing load problems on endpoints.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

Dive into the Traffic

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The graphical interface has been excellent in determining bandwidth issues.
  • The ease of setup between Cisco equipment and the PRTG.
  • Setup itself was particularly easy, I believe I had everything up and running within 10 minutes.
  • Granular formatting would be nice. Though I can narrow down several layers, it doesn't allow me to get to the nitty-gritty.
  • Security accessing the interface needs to be better. Able to limit access via certain users.
  • Template changing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2020

PRTG: best solution for small or big enterprises

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Best for small to big enterprises especially XL1 - unlimited licensing.
  • Auto-Discover of all the network devices, VMs in one shot and can easily monitor temperature, latency and such values with less efforts.
  • Customized dashboards for NOC, alerts which glimpse, API many other features are available.
  • Pricing model is very convincing for small to big business.
  • API which you can pull the data from PRTG of your whole network and you can integrate with SOC. This is the best in PRTG.
  • It has its own internal database and does daily auto-backups, just copy-paste is enough.
  • No need to worry about database.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

The right size for everyone

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Prompt notifications when a device goes down.
  • Beautiful history graph showing you uptime/statuses
  • Interface is a little difficult to navigate if you aren't tech savvy.
  • Configuration of hierarchy can take a bit of time to set-up.
Read this authenticated review
Dan Reynolds | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

PRTG - Dependable Network Monitoring for an SMB

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very, very configurable. You can create all kinds of monitors for all kinds of things. Plus it has loads of suggestions out of the box. It can get complicated but monitoring is complicated. Pretty decent interface and good support - active community.
  • I really liked how easy it was to add alerts by SMS. So easy to setup.
  • I like their sizing models (for purchase). We're actually small enough that we are free. But it's not free as in stripped down - it's free because we don't use many "sensors" and don't honestly have the need.
  • Although I like their sizing model for pricing they do need an intermediate level at the lower end. The first jump in the pricing model is too big.
  • Because of the complexity of setting up sensors I do have some difficulty understanding what exactly I'm monitoring or what I could monitor. I figure it's there but I just don't have the time or motivation to figure it out. Not entirely sure how to solve that other than educating me...
Read Dan Reynolds's full review
Shawn Gifford | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

Great value for a very feature-rich product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Great for inexpensive monitoring of devices
  • There is a lot of customization options available
  • Integrates with Netflow information for detailed views
  • Dashboards integrate with other APM's and NOC views as well
  • Could use abilities for synthetic transactions
  • GUI is simplistic
Read Shawn Gifford's full review
Robert Paul | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 15, 2019

PRTG monitors everything, even my enthusiasm

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Monitoring: PRTG does more than just periodic pings to see if a system is up, it has all sorts of sensors to monitor CPU usage, memory, hard drive space, specific processes, &c. It's very granular and quite robust in its capabilities. But it isn't overwhelming, as you can set up which sensors you want or don't want.
  • Ease of Setup: PRTG can discover new systems, and automatically apply templates to their profile. This means, for example, a new server on the network will always get a CPU, RAM, Hard Disk, and Network sensor if you set it up that way. Even the default templates are pretty great, not a lot of extraneous sensors that clutter everything up.
  • Dashboard: One of the best things about PRTG is that all this information is in one place. The dashboard view shows everything in a color-coded way, so everything is green, no worries! Yellows and reds, they stand out. From there, you can drill down and find out which specific things are in alarm without necessarily having to log in to the system.
  • Alerts: PRTG also sends out e-mail alerts based on whatever parameters you configure. A hard drive is 90% full? Email the infrastructure team!
  • Historical Data: Because PRTG monitors all of these systems in real time, all the time, it maintains a database of historical performance data. You can check to see which servers need more resources, or even if it's just a specific time (e.g., development always runs a database query at 2:30 pm, and you can see what that does to the CPU). It's extremely helpful for analysis.
  • Horizontal Dashboard: The dashboard page is responsive, which is a good thing generally, but it works much better on a vertical monitor, especially if you have a lot of systems to monitor. If you have a horizontal layout, you have to scroll often to keep track of things (although the alerts do help). It would be nice to have an option to force a specific scale and layout.
  • Database: The database PRTG uses is an internal black box. It would be nice if it were something more standard, MySQL, Microsoft SQL, &c. That way it could be tied into other things more easily, or we could write our own SQL queries against it.
  • E-Mail: The internal SMTP server of the application is not always reliable. It took a lot of tweaking to get it to send alerts correctly.
Read Robert Paul's full review
Jeffrey Thoenen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2019

Enterprise PRTG Network Monitoring Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Gives a graphical output of circuit utilization.
  • Gives a home screen that alerts to possible problem areas in our environment.
  • Gives a historical overview of utilization over various periods of time.
  • Allows the installation of applications to monitor the circuits.
  • Needs to have an easier way of adding devices to the application.
  • Have seen interface instance numbers change, which results in the renaming of the interface in the application.
Read Jeffrey Thoenen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Easy to use and comprehensive network monitoring? - PRTG is the solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Visual overview of the whole network making it easy to spot any issues straightaway.
  • Email alerting that is fully customizable.
  • Proactive monitoring using hundreds of different types of sensors giving the ability to actively troubleshoot issues before customers are affected.
  • The probe service can be quite resource-intensive. This can cause false-positive readings from some sensors sometimes.
  • The software gets updated very regularly. Whilst this is usually a good thing to fix bugs etc, it does meantime downtime of the monitoring quite often while they are installed.
  • The ability to create Maps from Libraries. Very specific issue but a lot of people have been asking for it for years and it is still not available.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

PRTG Monitoring System

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple and Intuitive: PRTG is very easy to use and get into. Its interface is highly intuitive and allows you to very quickly set up credentials and add devices to monitoring.
  • Low customization effort required: immediately out of the box, PRTG can provide very good detail monitoring without having to customize or add packages or plugins. It can automatically discover and model many types of device and monitor that device in great details without much tinkering.
  • The vendor provides 100 free sensors which make it very easy for you to start using the product without requiring a license and get a very good understanding of the tool before making a purchase decision. The tool allows you to continue to use it for free permanently for the first 100 sensors.
  • If you already have a bigger and more powerful tool, PRTG can be very good as a secondary monitoring tool which some times can help you troubleshoot, validate, and compare with your main tool.
  • Windows Only: PRTG does not support any other platform. Personally, I do not like tools that run on Windows because Windows requires a frequent update, which means downtime. You want your monitoring tool to be as highly available and low maintenance as possible. That and you also require a server license and Windows consume more hardware resource than other platforms. PRTG needs to add support for Linux.
  • Limited ability to do things in bulk. There is no way I know of to mass onboard devices or to mass edit devices. So you will by modifying 1 device at a time. For instance, it would be useful to modify the name or company of 200 devices in one shot.
  • Somewhat weak widgets and dashboard. If you put a lot of effort into it, you can probably come out with a very useful dashboard to keep an eye on key systems/devices. However, some widgets can look nice at first but they are not so useful or easy to understand. Again, it can be done, but a lot of effort is needed to get it right.
  • White interface only. This might not seem like a big deal, but if you have people who use the tool all the time to keep an eye on the system, it can strain your eyes. Need a dark theme.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Monitoring Tool for every business

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use
  • Very powerful sensors
  • Create custom sensors (SQL, Powershell etc.)
  • Good support from paessler
  • A lot of KB articles
  • In some points limitated (You cannot change a sensor, you have to delete them)
  • Create a SQL sensor is not that easy
  • You have to search in your system language (Example. In German RAM is called "Arbeitsspeicher" so when you search for RAM he will not find the sensor)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Improved IT infrastructure reliability

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • PTRG allows us the customization of alerts from very basic to very granular.
  • It's very simple to get PTRG up and running and you can use PTRG to monitor 100 endpoints free of charge.
  • PTRG is cheaper than most competitors.
  • The mobile app needs work. You're not able to add sensors from the mobile app.
  • I wish PTRG was cross-platform for those running Linux Servers.
  • Being able to geo-tag locations.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

An easy to use, cost effective monitoring system

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • PRTG's mobile app is great for me. Previously I would need to be at my computer to acknowledge or pause an alert. I am not able to do that from anywhere.
  • I am able to very easily purchase new licenses or renew my licenses through PRTG's website without needing to get a sales pitch. The website also offers upfront pricing. You can see right away what licenses will cost you.
  • PRTG's user interface is very intuitive. I am able to even create dashboards to show non-technical admins the current health of our environment. Showing an administrator a red gauge easily gets the point across that something is wrong.
  • I moved to PRTG from SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor. I was able to save a great deal of money moving to PRTG while still gaining functionality and ease of use.
  • I wish the mobile app would allow me to add sensors and devices. I am only able to manage existing sensors.
  • Moving from Solarwinds I lost the ability to backup switch configurations. This is the only feature I miss and causes me to utilize other methods.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

PRTG is Great for what it's designed to do.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Monitor up/down status.
  • Provides historical and current data of utilization of circuits.
  • Has numerous sensors of different variables to monitor.
  • Would like to see a more intuitive user interface.
  • Provide backup configs where necessary.
  • Update MIBs for more compatibility.
Read this authenticated review
Graham Murison | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2019

Don't pass on Paessler's PRTG Network Monitor

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Setup was easy.
  • Adding devices/sensor is so easy.
  • Support is great.
  • Cost is reasonable.
  • Updates are automatic.
  • A more built-in dashboard would be nice.
  • Licensing can be tricky since it is not device based. Currently, each sensor (IE interface) counts as a sensor license
Read Graham Murison's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 20, 2019

PRTG real time traffic monitoring

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Bandwidth utilization.
  • Historic data of circuit health.
  • Monitors device health.
  • Addition of new Sensors to accommodate new networking vendors.
  • Support of Google Maps for geographical mapping.
  • Support of new APIs on the PRTG.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automated network device discovery (39)
8.7
Network monitoring (42)
9.4
Baseline threshold calculation (37)
8.3
Alerts (43)
9.2
Network capacity planning (29)
7.8
Packet capture analysis (21)
8.5
Network mapping (28)
7.6
Customizable reports (37)
8.1
Wireless infrastructure monitoring (28)
7.9
Hardware health monitoring (41)
9.2

About PRTG

PRTG Network Monitor is the flagship offering from German software company Paessler, for monitoring local and wide area networks (LANs & WANs), servers, websites, apps, and more. It also includes free VoIP monitoring software.

PRTG Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No