PTC Windchill RV&S Reviews

19 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 25, 2017
Rajesh Telampudi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Source Code management: This tool is very good at source code management. I've seen some clients, where there are teams of more than 4 members, who have tough time identifying which team member is working on which code, and when the team has to consolidate, the team have to spend considerable time to understand the code changes. PTC Integrity is best at it, wherein each member can checkout and lock the file, so that other users can't use it. Also, Labeling a specific version of the code will help in easy identification, assuming that a common naming standard is used for labeling the files.
  • Version Control: Even though version control is part of Source code management, this is an important aspect, since I had an instance when we wanted to identify the team who worked on a bug-fix in the code about 2 years back. Also, with the 4-digit versioning used, we were able to mark the specific version number based on the release, i.e., first digit for Major release, 2nd for minor, 3rd for Defect fix and 4th for very small bug-fix. Again, this versioning model is something we defined for our team. Versioning and branching of code is a very important aspect in IT.
  • Change Management / Defect Management tool: The other feature we used was for raising and tracking defects, as well as Change Management, i.e., promoting code from Environment to environment. The process defined thru the tool was such that, a user raises a request which would be routed to another Manager for approval, after which another 2nd level Manager can approve, and then the request would be finally routed the Admin team to implement the change. This workflow can always be customized based on a team to team use. Similar workflow was also tried out for Access requests in one other team.
  • Even though the tool has some cool features, the look and feel is more like an old JAVA applet view. If the GUI look and feel are improved, it would give the user a premium feel.
  • One other feature as a Qlik Architect I would suggest is to implement a code merge feature for applications, so that developers can work parallel and then merge their code. This would diversify the teams to work on multiple issues in the same application/code. I did see multiple users complaining regarding this issue, and feel that this feature could be good to have.
  • Integration with other servers, for easy deployment of code. Again from a QlikView perspective, if code had to be deployed, the code has to manually checked out to the administrator machine and then copied to the respective location, but this could be automated, the risk of manual intervention for promoting/migration of code will be much easier.
Read Rajesh Telampudi's full review
April 08, 2015
Ajay Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Independent development sandboxes that allows each team to work on projects without affecting the delivery of other projects.
  • Change packages - identifying exactly what artifacts were changed for a given request (bug fix, enhancement, user story).
  • Integrity objects - "building blocks" - ability to create any type of container for help desk, QA, development, requirements. These are highly customizable and some simple javascript code can help with validation and workflow triggers.
  • Connectivity/client loading issues - probably not as often as I would deem a show stopper for the solution, but we had experienced a lot of connectivity issues when trying to merge or perform a backfill. Or when trying to open the integrity client, we would experience some type of configuration file corruption. We had to keep a few command prompt scripts ready to go on our desktops to kill off the old corrupted files so that integrity would launch.
  • One of the selling points for Integrity was the quick rollback functionality. Yes, rolling back code was easier than other solutions with tools to inspect change packages, etc, but it required mostly manual effort.
Read Ajay Patel's full review
July 24, 2014
Jigar Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • As a Data Modeler when I created the DDL and pass it to DBAs to deploy or I deploy thru the Deployment tool, I need assurance that the same code is deployed in all the environments and it makes easy to manage all the packages in Integrity.
  • As a Data Analyst If I need to provide documentation to other teams or I need to open the previous versions of the same document, it is very easy to manage hsi in MKS Integrity.
  • As a Project Manager it helps us to assign the Version number to the document which is unique and assigned with in Integrity, makes easy to track the deliverables.
  • I do not see any area where Integrity requires room for improvement.
Read Jigar Patel's full review
July 23, 2014
Phyllis Camper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • PTC (MKS) Integrity is a great for adapting your business processes to a tool.
  • The dashboard and reporting tools are very helpful.
  • Importing data is not difficult
  • Development of types and fields are not difficult.
  • The workflow view for each record type is very helpful when training new users.
  • The reporting tool could be easier to edit when it comes selecting how output is viewed.
Read Phyllis Camper's full review
July 09, 2014
Aman Sehgal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Graphical file history representation
  • Release management of software builds
  • Change set management
  • Hot fix and feature releases
  • Main trunk is not protected and has no pre-conditions before committing a fix or feature to it.
  • Conducting reviews is not possible. there is no avenue for people to comment on a check in
  • When working with multiple snadboxes, the client seems to freeze up and needs to be started.
Read Aman Sehgal's full review
July 22, 2014
Rohan Kapkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Requirement Mangement
  • Feasibility Analysis
  • Test Mangement
  • Useability
  • Ease of access
  • Functionality
  • Speed
Read Rohan Kapkar's full review
February 18, 2014
Roberto Meza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Configuration Management
  • File control version
  • Creating and assigning tasks between project members
  • Share common files among several projects
  • Connectivity issues sometimes becomes a problem.
Read Roberto Meza's full review
January 05, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • PTC Integrity provides full traceability from requirements down to the source code that implements the requirement.
  • The GUI interface is relatively easy to understand.
  • Requirements entry is easy to manage.
  • Configuration of PTC Integrity can be intimidating.
  • Would be nice if importing from Excel was available.
  • Would be nice if more canned import wizards were available.
Read this authenticated review
January 08, 2016
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracing. I can trace right from the requirement until the unit test.
  • Automating the tracing based on the category.
  • Simple to use.
  • Editing is cumbersome.
  • Cannot directly import the documents into Integrity.
  • Configuring PTC integrity is not easy.
Read this authenticated review
September 09, 2015
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • PTC Integrity helps engineers write better requirements. Better written requirements mean less issues for warranty.
  • PTC Integrity provides a database that is virtually limitless. Product size or scope no longer has to be an issue.
  • You don't have to save.....PTC Integrity does this for you.
  • PTC Integrity lacks design and flow. It could be presented better.
  • PTC Integrity does not do a good job at linking items and tracking results.
  • PTC Integrity error messages do not make sense to the average user.
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It allows the user the ability to link all aspects of the SDLC together so that there is only one source of documentation and information rather than having to search in multiple places.
  • It is very customizable to suit a particular businesses needs.
  • It is helpful for all areas of software development.
  • It can be overwhelming with the number of tabs, functions and ways to achieve the same result. The average user may struggle with learning the tool.
  • The text editing in Integrity is weak and does not provide many options. Because of this, many user decide to use MS word instead, to document requirements.
Read this authenticated review
July 23, 2014
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Version Control
  • Reporting
  • Traceability
  • Requirements Management
  • Software Build Management
  • It will be nice if MKS could include features such as inline editing of documents such as a word file or an excel file, Mind-map, tagging and searching using tags
Read this authenticated review

What is PTC Windchill RV&S?

PTC Windchill RV&S (formerly Integrity Lifecycle Manager of the Integrity suite) is an MBSE (model-based systems engineering) suite. The former Integrity suite contains an Asset Library which supports systems-of-systems approach to design (i.e. linking models into higher-level models that subsume them), a Process Director which is designed to articulate, manage and improve the design process, and a Modeler for visualizing and controlling the product design process. The Integrity suite is rebranding and being integrated into PTC's Windchill product suite.

PTC Windchill RV&S Competitors

PTC Windchill RV&S Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is PTC Windchill RV&S?

PTC Windchill RV&S (formerly Integrity Lifecycle Manager of the Integrity suite) is an MBSE (model-based systems engineering) suite. The former Integrity suite contains an Asset Library which supports systems-of-systems approach to design (i.e. linking models into higher-level models that subsume them), a Process Director which is designed to articulate, manage and improve the design process, and a Modeler for visualizing and controlling the product design process. The Integrity suite is rebranding and being integrated into the Windchill product suite.

Who uses PTC Windchill RV&S?

The most common users of PTC Windchill RV&S are Enterprises from the Information Technology & Services industry.