TrustRadius
Puppet Enterprise (formerly Puppet Data Center Automation) is IT workload automation software from Puppet in Portland, Oregon.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/zS/s0/HSU35K4Q7IJO.pngMature product with an expansive online communityPuppet Enterprise is being used to deploy and manage patching of Linux servers, primarily CentOS, across a wide array of customer systems from web servers to app and database servers we are able to patch in a consistent and reliable manner with proper notifications for our monitoring system and on-call resources.,certificate management for new device trusts viewing all systems currently under puppet control view logs from all systems to detect errors and missed runs clean interface to navigate through system,web UI could use quite a bit more functionality to differentiate it from the free version multi-tenancy would be a big benefit in our use case view and edit puppet code within console ui,8,Less manual patching of our Linux system We now sell patching as a product to customers Our customers are more secure with puppet patching our systems,Chef and Ansible,Ansible, Opsview Enterprise, Zenoss Service DynamicsIs Puppet the right tool for the jump?The company is really engineering driven, so Puppet is being used across the entire organization in order to maintain the configuration and also as a deployment tool when it comes time to GM a new version of one of our applications. Before the use of puppet in this organization there was a longer, more drawn out deployment process which required manually interacting with every host being updated.,Maintain configurations Create a more organized look at what it takes to run a particular application Automate deployments,Coming from Chef, I was much more used to everything being executed from the top down, Puppet executes actions at random and so if you need something like a directory to be created before a file is placed you will need to explicitly declare the order of execution. Coming from Chef I also learned to love the knife command, this allows you a few things, but a very valuable action allowed by the knife command is the ability to list nodes that are currently running Chef. The ability to use commands across multiple host in parallel(once again, a knife command).,7,Cut deployment times down to around 1 hour from 4-5 hours. Allows us to get a fully running system up from scratch in around 30 minutes. Allows for a more clear view of what is required to get a host running.,Chef and SaltStack,Kubernetes, Chef, SaltStackPuppet: No strings to hold me down, to make me fret, or make me frownPuppet Data Center Automation is being used throughout our organization to quickly and reliably deploy and maintain various systems. We currently pull our manifests from Git via Puppet to stand-up brand new (virtual) servers and configurations without worrying about configuration drift on each independent snowflake. Using Puppet allows us to automate and streamline multiple aspects of our day-to-day operations and works well within our release process to provide us with solid infrastructure-as-code solution.,Provides a reliable mechanism for deploying infrastructure-as-code, especially when integrated with source control (such as Git). Manages system configuration drift to provide greater stability and system up-time; the same configuration-as-code can be pushed out over and over. A strong asset when moving teams towards DevOps by providing development a way to take control of their own assets.,A bit of a steep learning curve but something that can be easily understood once a few basics are grasped and use of Puppet is put into practice. Does not fit well with existing infrastructure but that is not necessarily a failing with Puppet but can require a radical shift in thinking and procedures to reliably implement.,9,Allows our infrastructure teams to focus on other tasks besides system maintenance and constant configuration drift. Gives our development teams a way of reliably knowing that each development environment is similar.,Chef and Ansible,XL Deploy, XL Release, JIRA Software, Atlassian ConfluenceThe most robust, battle tested, and affordable automation software available!I use it to roll out configuration changes with variables stored in Hiera for all parts of our infrastructure(From LDAP to Apache Vhost configurations). It addresses the need to keep all systems uniformly identical with a clear map of each system as well as a simple way to update each machine as well as ease in automating their deployment.,Provides a clear map of how a system is configured Eases the creation of a system in a specific cluster as it is scripted in code Simplifies configuration changes to a cluster or to every system such as rolling out vhost configurations, updating ldap roles, NFS mounts, etc The syntax is very easy to read and carries a lot of fluidity once the language is learned.,It is occasionally squirrelly such as if I want a tarball to decompress once, I have to do run a exec command and onlyif => 'test ! -d /directory_name'. I cant for the life of me figure out how to execute it based on environment(production, development, staging) so I am still using puppet 3.7 that utilizes manifest nodes. I would like to utilize puppet 4 because it supports Lambdas and a very Ruby-like syntax for iterations but it requires the use of environments which we do not need. It would be nice to allow for both methods(manifest nodes AND environments) like 3.7 supported. It would be nice if the language still supported inline ruby. The new generation language is great for basic tasks but being able to do things like pulling data from a MariaDB database and utilizing that data in a manifest is very nice when operating at scale. We personally do not need it but I can see that being something very useful for those who code their own front ends for larger organizations.,9,We utilize Puppet Community Edition and coded in some enterprise features our self so we certainly haven't lost any money at all by utilizing it and the time saved in provisioning has been invaluable.,SaltStack and Docker,Red Hat Ceph Storage, Nutanix Acropolis, Elasticsearch, Nutanix, VMware ESXiThe Power of PuppetLet me start by saying like any configuration management software, there is a learning curve and there must exist a respect for what it can do across hundreds or thousands of servers with a single Puppet run, or what it can break with that same ease of use! That being said puppet, working in unison with The Foreman, Mcollective and Hiera, are some of the most powerful, and for me personally, the most enjoyable and rewarding set of admin tools I've used in years.At my current company we needed to automate deployments and configuration consistency across multiple data centers both Colo and Cloud internationally while remaining flexible enough to change parameters, environment settings and application code in a timely and controllable manner. We needed a full server life cycle management system that automated provisioning, configuration, changes and clean removal of dynamic resources such as on demand server capacity.,Create a specific role based server from a vanilla provisioning template and maintain configuration state via Puppet automated catalog runs. Add new functionality, services or configuration data to all servers or a subset of servers without ever needing to log into them. Integrates seamlessly into other server life cycle technologies such as The Foreman and Mcollective for even greater management and automation.,Steep learning curve for first time users. The complexity can get a little overwhelming in a more collaborative deployment methodology across multiple platforms and data centers. Some external changes to Puppet like the new Puppet 4 architecture can cause considerable time consuming migration efforts especially if you have a lot of legacy classes and configuration that do not conform readily to the new design.,10,Less time spent doing simple repetitive server maintenance tasks. Server to Admin ratio is dramatically increased when using Puppet automation. Initial setup and implementation can be time consuming if you need/want a "zero impact" integration.,
Unspecified
Puppet Enterprise (formerly Puppet Data Center Automation)
40 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Puppet Enterprise Reviews

Puppet Enterprise
40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 39 vetted Puppet Enterprise reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-11 of 11)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
June 05, 2018

Puppet Enterprise Review: "Mature product with an expansive online community"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Puppet Enterprise is being used to deploy and manage patching of Linux servers, primarily CentOS, across a wide array of customer systems from web servers to app and database servers we are able to patch in a consistent and reliable manner with proper notifications for our monitoring system and on-call resources.
  • certificate management for new device trusts
  • viewing all systems currently under puppet control
  • view logs from all systems to detect errors and missed runs
  • clean interface to navigate through system
  • web UI could use quite a bit more functionality to differentiate it from the free version
  • multi-tenancy would be a big benefit in our use case
  • view and edit puppet code within console ui
[It's] best suited for those that need a user interface to visualize their environment.
Read this authenticated review
Alan-Michael Barnes profile photo
November 03, 2017

Puppet Enterprise Review: "Is Puppet the right tool for the jump?"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company is really engineering driven, so Puppet is being used across the entire organization in order to maintain the configuration and also as a deployment tool when it comes time to GM a new version of one of our applications. Before the use of puppet in this organization there was a longer, more drawn out deployment process which required manually interacting with every host being updated.
  • Maintain configurations
  • Create a more organized look at what it takes to run a particular application
  • Automate deployments
  • Coming from Chef, I was much more used to everything being executed from the top down, Puppet executes actions at random and so if you need something like a directory to be created before a file is placed you will need to explicitly declare the order of execution.
  • Coming from Chef I also learned to love the knife command, this allows you a few things, but a very valuable action allowed by the knife command is the ability to list nodes that are currently running Chef.
  • The ability to use commands across multiple host in parallel(once again, a knife command).
Puppet is good enough to get the job done, you can use it to automate deployments and maintain files and configurations, if this is all you're looking for it's great.

If you're looking for more control over your systems as a whole without having to write your own scripts or install multiple configuration management systems then Puppet is not what you're looking for.
Read Alan-Michael Barnes's full review
Anthony Parcero profile photo
November 06, 2017

Puppet Enterprise Review: "Puppet: No strings to hold me down, to make me fret, or make me frown"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Puppet Data Center Automation is being used throughout our organization to quickly and reliably deploy and maintain various systems. We currently pull our manifests from Git via Puppet to stand-up brand new (virtual) servers and configurations without worrying about configuration drift on each independent snowflake. Using Puppet allows us to automate and streamline multiple aspects of our day-to-day operations and works well within our release process to provide us with solid infrastructure-as-code solution.
  • Provides a reliable mechanism for deploying infrastructure-as-code, especially when integrated with source control (such as Git).
  • Manages system configuration drift to provide greater stability and system up-time; the same configuration-as-code can be pushed out over and over.
  • A strong asset when moving teams towards DevOps by providing development a way to take control of their own assets.
  • A bit of a steep learning curve but something that can be easily understood once a few basics are grasped and use of Puppet is put into practice.
  • Does not fit well with existing infrastructure but that is not necessarily a failing with Puppet but can require a radical shift in thinking and procedures to reliably implement.
Well-suited for:
  • Deploying infrastructure-as-code from a central version-control repository
  • Providing a reliable mechanism for quickly building out new datacenters or recovering from a major disaster-type event
  • Standardizing middleware, code, and configurations running systems and applications
  • Automatically pushing configurations out to multiple clients from a central repository
Not well-suited for:
  • Managing existing infrastructure and/or forcing a standard configuration onto already-deployed and running infrastructure
Read Anthony Parcero's full review
Colby Shores profile photo
May 06, 2016

Puppet Enterprise Review: "The most robust, battle tested, and affordable automation software available!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to roll out configuration changes with variables stored in Hiera for all parts of our infrastructure(From LDAP to Apache Vhost configurations). It addresses the need to keep all systems uniformly identical with a clear map of each system as well as a simple way to update each machine as well as ease in automating their deployment.
  • Provides a clear map of how a system is configured
  • Eases the creation of a system in a specific cluster as it is scripted in code
  • Simplifies configuration changes to a cluster or to every system such as rolling out vhost configurations, updating ldap roles, NFS mounts, etc
  • The syntax is very easy to read and carries a lot of fluidity once the language is learned.
  • It is occasionally squirrelly such as if I want a tarball to decompress once, I have to do run a exec command and onlyif => 'test ! -d /directory_name'.
  • I cant for the life of me figure out how to execute it based on environment(production, development, staging) so I am still using puppet 3.7 that utilizes manifest nodes. I would like to utilize puppet 4 because it supports Lambdas and a very Ruby-like syntax for iterations but it requires the use of environments which we do not need. It would be nice to allow for both methods(manifest nodes AND environments) like 3.7 supported.
  • It would be nice if the language still supported inline ruby. The new generation language is great for basic tasks but being able to do things like pulling data from a MariaDB database and utilizing that data in a manifest is very nice when operating at scale. We personally do not need it but I can see that being something very useful for those who code their own front ends for larger organizations.
Most of the major issues that people had with the language have been addressed in Puppet 4 which primarily pertain to the limitations of the language and its ability to scale. It would be nice to allow for full ruby support as an unsupported option though so developers are able to reference their own data sources dynamically.
Read Colby Shores's full review
Mark Gargiulo profile photo
May 09, 2016

Puppet Enterprise Review: "The Power of Puppet"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Let me start by saying like any configuration management software, there is a learning curve and there must exist a respect for what it can do across hundreds or thousands of servers with a single Puppet run, or what it can break with that same ease of use! That being said puppet, working in unison with The Foreman, Mcollective and Hiera, are some of the most powerful, and for me personally, the most enjoyable and rewarding set of admin tools I've used in years.

At my current company we needed to automate deployments and configuration consistency across multiple data centers both Colo and Cloud internationally while remaining flexible enough to change parameters, environment settings and application code in a timely and controllable manner.

We needed a full server life cycle management system that automated provisioning, configuration, changes and clean removal of dynamic resources such as on demand server capacity.

  • Create a specific role based server from a vanilla provisioning template and maintain configuration state via Puppet automated catalog runs.
  • Add new functionality, services or configuration data to all servers or a subset of servers without ever needing to log into them.
  • Integrates seamlessly into other server life cycle technologies such as The Foreman and Mcollective for even greater management and automation.
  • Steep learning curve for first time users.
  • The complexity can get a little overwhelming in a more collaborative deployment methodology across multiple platforms and data centers.
  • Some external changes to Puppet like the new Puppet 4 architecture can cause considerable time consuming migration efforts especially if you have a lot of legacy classes and configuration that do not conform readily to the new design.
Our company deploys across multiple data centers and cloud providers with a need for consistency, scalability and repeatable results. Puppet allows us to achieve this in a way that would be very tedious and time consuming and with very little confidence that the end result would be a "known good" state if we did not utilize the power of Puppet.
Read Mark Gargiulo's full review
Charles Inglese profile photo
February 15, 2016

Puppet Enterprise Review: "Puppet Data Center Automation is a great addition to our organization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Puppet Data Center Automation in our integration and test environments as well as in operations. The systems integration team uses Puppet to automate redundant tasks as well as simplify deployment of complex system configurations to benefit system maintainers and installers that are not trained in the intricacies of the platforms and tools being implemented.
  • Automation of redundant tasks
  • Abstraction of complex tasks
  • Integrates well with other community/open-source projects (e.g. Cobbler, Foreman)
  • System user interfaces (e.g. Puppet Dashboard)
  • Integrated support for password management
  • Backend Ruby scripts are very embedded and cumbersome to find/edit in cases where manual bug workarounds are necessary to implement
Puppet Data Center Automation is well suited where the system configuration is to remain as static as possible (minimal changes to operating system and environment) and across more than 3-5 nodes. The amount of overhead to stand-up a robust Puppet solution is not worth it if managing less than 3-5 systems. It is not well suited for development environments where developers and engineers are constantly changing the baseline, and subsequent Puppet runs will modify targeted files back to their original configuration.
Read Charles Inglese's full review
Ethan Tran profile photo
February 12, 2016

Puppet Enterprise Review: "Puppet For The Win"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Puppet to automate installs and configure out environment after the initial OS install. It is only used by our engineering area. The problem it addresses is defeating manual repetitive tasks.
  • Automating software install.
  • Configuring software after post install.
  • Taking the same Puppet code to another environment and have it easily deploy there.
  • Decrease the learning curve.
  • Introduce ways easy ways to write Puppet code to those who have not done it.
  • Introduce a UI for those who are fearful of command line.
Puppet would be more suited for a linux environment and those who want to save time.
Read Ethan Tran's full review
No photo available
February 15, 2016

Puppet Enterprise Review: "Easy to Use and Free for All"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Puppet Data Center Automation to establish the communication between our master server (database) and the other computers that are being used by the employees in order for them to have access to the most up-to-date files in our server. With the software we ensure that the database is running properly and easy to access.
  • It's compatible with all the operating systems that the employees use at our organization.
  • Easy to install and initial setup is easy.
  • It provides good tools for testing if everything is running properly and in order.
  • If you want to do advanced tasks with it, you need to be familiar with Ruby, which not everyone has knowledge about it.
  • It doesn't have its own dashboard.
  • The support for the tool is not very high due to being an open source software.
Although we run it in a small server infrastructure, while using it we can estimate that it's use would be more suited for a larger scale of server infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 12, 2016

Puppet Enterprise Review: "Puppet is Free and Powerful"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Puppet is a great tool. Puppet used in conjunction with other open sourced tools makes VM automation work like magic.
It is currently in development, but will hopefully make it out to be used throughout the organization.

There are few business problems, mainly with the limitation in support for open sourced software, which would be solved by using the closed sourced counterpart, but that would defeat the purpose of open source...

If people helping people is a powerful thing... then Puppet helping Puppet is also a very powerful thing.
  • Plays well with other open sourced software
  • A generally accepted open sourced tool for automation
  • Easy to understand
  • It is most importantly free
  • Support... support.... support
  • Does not always work well with other software
Currently Puppet can be suited to be used in any application that is redundant.
The coding is easy to understand and can be as complex as you make it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 12, 2016

Puppet Enterprise Review: "Puppet is a great tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Puppet Data Center Automation as a configuration management tool in our organization. It allows us to maintain a constant baseline as well as make easy updates across many servers.
  • Maintain a solid baseline across many servers.
  • Apply updates to many servers.
  • Easy to make changes all in one place rather than on 50 servers.
  • No GUI for non sys-admin users.
  • Ruby syntax is troubling at times.
  • No automated deployment.
Puppet Data Center Automation is more suited for many servers. It is less appropriate for a one server architecture.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 16, 2015

Puppet Enterprise Review: "The wonderful world of Puppet"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Puppet Data Center Automation to standardize our server deployments. This allows us to maintain a uniform configuration across application servers ensuring specific production level standards are met and kept in sync. We are able to be sure accounts are provisioned and deprovisioned in a timely manner as well as centrally control application configuration updates/changes.
  • It allows for uniform configuration.
  • It allows you to deploy software effectively without having to learn specific nuances of it.
  • It allows you to be OS agnostic in that it can translate commands between OS distributions.
  • The OpenSource branch of the product does not come with a reasonable dashboard. A third party one must be used.
  • Puppet by itself, while good, needs additions made to it to become great, such as Heira, r10k, GIT, etc...
  • Puppet has a learning curve. It is best to start with something small, such as NTP and work your way up from there. Do not start with something like Apache.
  • Deploying MCollective really helps to round out the Puppet experience.
If you are primarily a Windows shop, Puppet Data Center Automation is less suited to your environment. While it works, and there are modules for Windows, the community is less developed than the Linux/Unix community. If you already have a background in Puppet on Linux or a supportive management, Puppet on Windows could use help in the community. The more who start using it, the better it will get.
Read this authenticated review

Puppet Enterprise Scorecard Summary

About Puppet Enterprise

Puppet Enterprise (formerly Puppet Data Center Automation) is IT workload automation software from Puppet in Portland, Oregon.

Puppet Enterprise Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No