Pure Storage FlashArray Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
324 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 199)

James Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray: Enterprise-wide Benefits More Than Worth the Cost

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

All-flash storage is expensive, and full-featured all-flash, like the FlashArray, is even more expensive. You need to have a need for it. If you use virtual desktops in your environment, or if you have performance-sensitive databases or database-integrated applications, or if you are doing any sort of significant machine-learning, deep-learning, or data analytics, these are all workloads that will benefit from FlashArray storage. Anyone of those, much less all of them, would easily rationalize spending the extra money to get the benefits of a FlashArray.
Read James Kelly's full review
Ben Moore | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

PureStorage - Why look at anything else?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

PureStorage is well suited for any situation where performance is the top requirement. Since implementation, we have not been able to throw anything at it that has caused any latency above 1ms. It would not be well suited as a backup endpoint, or NAS type storage simply due to the cost and available performance.
Read Ben Moore's full review
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure-ly fast storage!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The array is quite well suited as a general-purpose storage device for VCenter. We also have some volumes directly zoned to some Windows servers and it is equally adept at handling that.

I would, however, not recommend using Pure Storage FlashArray as a backup target. Use a purpose-built appliance for backups and, for goodness sake, keep backups on a separate storage device to production!
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
Toby Wenzel | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

The little array that could

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It works very well for single purpose workloads (think databases or same type applications). It seems to struggle with good compression and deduping mixed workloads. We have noticed about a 6:1 ratio with DBs, and <3:1 on mixed workloads or large file servers. It is still extremely fast, just not as good compression and dedupe.
Read Toby Wenzel's full review
Tony Shoemaker | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Pure Storage: A Simplified Effective Flash Array

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's ideal for any environment that has similar data, such as VDI. For low latency needs, it exceeds our DBA's expectations. Where we do not see a good fit for the flash array is for any media type content. Sure, it would work, but wouldn't make sense for the cost/TB.
Read Tony Shoemaker's full review
Francois Greeff | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2020

Very happy end user!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Database apps love the IO speed. Media files (videos) also like Pure Storage FlashArray, but it is an expensive option for things that cannot compress/dedupe well.
Read Francois Greeff's full review
Mike McFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage is purely awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Our databases and application servers is well suited for the flash array. File server and other servers are wasted a bit with flash. Still, because there is no faster available storage then this is the best solution in terms of performance.
Read Mike McFarland's full review
Wes Dunaway | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray makes me happy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Any dataset which requires tremendous speed and response times would benefit from PureArray.
As for less appropriate use cases, there really is not a bad spot to use PureArray, but there may be situations where it would not provide the most bang for your dollar. Storing cold/rarely accessed data on a PureArray would be a waste.
Read Wes Dunaway's full review
Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage is the most effective storage I've ever used

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pure Storage FlashArray works extremely well as an on-premise high-performing storage array. It has worked very effectively for us in our virtualization environment, throwing workloads like Oracle, PeopleSoft, OpenShift, VDI, etc. at it. Their APIs and software support makes integrations with hypervisors and hardware very straight forward. If you need low performing disk arrays with simply a lot of storage capacity, this may not be appropriate for your environment - you can definitely get a ton of cheap capacity elsewhere.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
Ezra Owen | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Is Pure Storage right for you?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

When you are talking thousands and thousands of IOPS, Pure Storage is a good choice. If you have a need for multi-speed disks, Pure Storage might not be for you.
Read Ezra Owen's full review
Scott Brissenden | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Pure Storage is a leader in the all flash array market.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

VDI is a great use case for FlashArray. Users benefit from solid state drives that can help drive productivity. Placing fileservers on the array can cause the dedupe ration to drop and there is less benefit to having them on an all flasharray, we moved them off to a hybrid array.
Read Scott Brissenden's full review
College325 Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure Storage is very innovative and simple to manage

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pure Storage is a very nice array and easy to manage. It can serve up data in normal environments that do not require fast IO. The speed of the array for applications that require very fast IO is lagging. We are not using the Pure Storage Array for our most critical servers and use NVMe for those servers instead.
Read College325 Hess's full review
Omar Khalid | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray replaced outdated NetApp and the benefits were outstanding

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I believe if the budget allows that a Pure Array or multiple arrays can be used in any configuration or any density regardless of how much data needs to be stored or how much performance is required.
Read Omar Khalid's full review
Ivan Sytchev | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Ultra Fast Array with Simple UI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I would recommend this array for any scenario. I have yet to find any faults in this product, sales team, support team, or anything else. This array is a well worth it upgrade for any data center and I would be hard-pressed to think of any scenarios where this array would not be appropriate.
Read Ivan Sytchev's full review
Christopher Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Why Pure Storage FlashArray Should Be Your #1 Choice!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pure FlashArray has moved from being a niche array for VDI deployments to being an overall storage array to handle pretty much any workload you can throw at it. We have replaced all of our legacy "blue" storage arrays with the Pure FlashArray, and have seen nothing but positive results across the board.
Read Christopher Mills's full review
Max Tevs | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

"Flashy" Next Level Deduplication and Performance with the FlashArray

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The FlashArray is well suited in a high utilization environment. I believe the best use for the FlashArray is for cloud/managed service providers, however, the FlashArray has its place in on-prem high utilization environments as well. The FlashArray is also well suited in environments where there will be multiple FlashArrays as you can set up pods and interconnect the arrays.
In smaller and lower utilized environments, the FlashArray may not be as well suited due to the cost of the array. For example, the FlashArray is not the best use for backup storage (as backup storage does not need to be fast and does not typically carry production workloads).
Read Max Tevs's full review
Jon McDowell | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2020

VDI Game Changer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In a VDI environment the storage has been a game changer. Deploying machines, refreshing machines - it works very well.
Read Jon McDowell's full review
Jeeva Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure - The leader of the future.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pure Storage FlashArray has completely replaced our existing EMC storage and we started noticing performance getting better. The Datastore migration used to complete in 30 seconds compared to 30 minutes before. This is one of the major differences that we noticed during our POC with Pure Storage FlashArray. Creating and provisioning a LUN to a host can be done in a max of 3-4 steps thus reducing the complexity and the time.
Read Jeeva Kumar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2020

Pure Storage Flash Array, the Only Storage you will Need!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pure Storage shines in the area of virtualization. An all-flash array helps database servers perform at a very high rate and if you deploy Pure Storage in a VMware environment, you can expect to see the deduplication and compression ratios off the charts! Many of us run hundreds of VMs with the same OS and due to this, the ratio of space that you save becomes worth it.

An example where you probably would not want to implement Pure Storage FlashArray is in an unstructured data environment. For this, you would use another product they have called Flash Blade.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

5 years with Pure Storage FlashArray

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited to workloads that require fast Flash storage and that can support a reasonable level of deduplication and compression. Most cost-effective when the workload supports data reduction. Data that cannot be deduplicated and/or compressed may not be as good a fit as it increases the cost of the storage.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Pure Storage is simple to use, implement and manage.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

FlashArray is well suited to general virtual workloads, especially where there are low latency and high I/O requirements. We run all kinds of virtualized SQL workloads without issue and we run our VMware Horizon VDI deployment right alongside the virtual server infrastructure without any performance problems. If you have a lot of test/dev environments, it is a great solution as well because of the deduplication technologies built into Array.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (145)
9.4
Flash Array Integration (136)
9.2
Data Compression (144)
9.3
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (139)
9.5
Simplicity (145)
9.4
Power Savings (123)
9.0

About Pure Storage FlashArray

Pure Storage in Mountain View, California offers all-flash array data storage promising affordability, high availability, and consistent performance.

Pure Storage FlashArray Integrations

Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Pure Storage FlashArray Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No