Pure Storage FlashArray Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
324 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 199)

James Kelly | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray: Enterprise-wide Benefits More Than Worth the Cost

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Our FlashArrays have been 100% reliable. In the four-years-plus we have been relying on them, we have not experienced a single moment of unplanned downtime due to these arrays. Their hardware design is solid-state and fault-tolerant, redundant everywhere. This allows zero-downtime upgrades for all of their OS, management, and driver software. We've been through numerous (10+) software upgrades on two arrays and have never experienced any interruption in service or data loss.
  • Pure Storage's FlashArray support, phone-home, monitoring, and analytics services through their centralized Pure1 web portal have been head-and-shoulders above every other storage vendor we've worked with. Their tools allow their staff to be expert, professional, confident, and, best of all, proactive. Their platform allows them to know far more about the array than we do, and in real time.
  • Our FlashArrays have been blazingly fast. When we copied our production Oracle databases over to the first array for the first time, the databases immediately benchmarked out 2.5 to 3 times faster, with no other changes. Every one of the workloads we migrated to our FlashArrays experienced similar speed increases.
  • Compared to legacy hybrid or spinning-disk storage-array administration, managing our FlashArrays is extremely simple. No more external spreadsheets tracking raid categories, LUN sizes, or storage pools built on different underlying types and arrangements of disks. Allocate a volume, give it a name, hook it up to a host or a cluster. Rescan the storage, and start using it.
  • Pure's implementation of data reduction/data deduplification has been amazing for us. Absolutely a game-changer. It has allowed our arrays to function like arrays five or even ten times their actual size. It works especially well (really, really, really well) with large database and database-development environments, where dev/test/qa databases are close copies of production databases. You basically get all of the copies for free, storage-wise. Something very similar happens with array storage for VMWare VM's, also. Copies of VM's are basically free.
  • In our environment, Pure could provide additional network interconnect technologies. HPC is not that common a market niche, though. Pure could at least test and validate limited compatibility with third-party hardware, even if they then needed to limit their support or warranty if customers chose to implement it.
  • Pure provides a lot of API support for building your own integration solutions for things like VMWare administration, container orchestration, and hybrid cloud environments. They do seem to be investing in these technologies, but full-featured, pre-packaged, tested and supported solutions would be a lot better. Most enterprises don't want to build their own automation and integration, they want things to just work, out of the box.
Read James Kelly's full review
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure-ly fast storage!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The Pure Array does data reduction particularly well. We've seen a 7x reduction on some of our volumes.
  • It is easy to get used to the system after coming from other storage arrays.
  • It has some welcome additions such as a smartphone app that makes it easier to view your cases, etc.
  • It would have been good to see vvol support for ESX 6.0.
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
Toby Wenzel | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

The little array that could

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • They are excellent for virtual environments. The speed and dedupe/compression is extremely valuable.
  • We have had excellent performance running Oracle and SQL databases on the FlashArray.
  • The maintenance couldn't be easier. Downtime is virtually non-existent because of the design of the architecture.
  • With Evergreen, we will receive free controller upgrades with support renewal.
  • It would be nice to be able to perform storage copies directly between volumes on a FlashArray.
  • Integration with VMware where you could replicate a volume, then point vms to the new volume.
  • Bring the price of a disk pack (10 disks) down to a reasonable amount. It's almost the same price to purchase an entire new FlashArray.
Read Toby Wenzel's full review
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray helps keep the DBA's away

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Technical support from Pure has been great. They are very proactive and responsive when necessary.
  • Pure Storage FlashArray is very easy to install, configure and administer.
  • We have been very satisfied with the performance of FlashArray - under 1 millisecond latency.
  • Pure Storage FlashArray is not cheap, but you definitely get what you pay for.
  • We have seen a few too many necessary firmware updates to fix software bugs in 2019.
  • There is a bit of "sticker shock" to see how much usable disk you end up with from the raw TB total.
Read Mark McCully's full review
Tony Shoemaker | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 26, 2020

Pure Storage: A Simplified Effective Flash Array

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Deduplication: Not counting thin provisioning and compression, we are realizing 4 to 1 on our deduplication. It works and it works well. I realize this is totally dependent on the workload. High-level summary, our workloads consists of Windows server, Application Servers, and SQL. And yes, it works really well with VDI.
  • Simplified Management/maintenance: Simple, simple, simple.
  • Support: support has been exceptional both on the phone and from our local SEs. Not that we've had many issues, but our local SEs are ready and willing to answer any questions we have.
  • After having used another storage vendor for years and now using Pure Storage, I'm struggling with improvements. There are some new tools that have been introduced to assist with troubleshooting and forecasting that can be somewhat challenging, but no complaints from an operational view.
Read Tony Shoemaker's full review
Francois Greeff | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2020

Very happy end user!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to assign storage to any server.
  • Really fast disk IO.
  • Uptime is remarkable!
  • Explaining to management that something so small with so little lights does so much is a challenge. So we always keep an old MFM drive around just to show them that size has changed. So I'd love some clever way or change to make it look flashier! Seriously, for what we use it for, it does the job.
Read Francois Greeff's full review
Mike McFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage is purely awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Increasing LUN sizes as the business needs grow is very easy. The easiest I have ever managed when I compare with other major vendors.
  • As stated earlier, the performance with Pure is the fastest available.
  • I never worry about growth because I know I just need to add more shelves and not redesign my architecture.
  • NFS support would be nice but not really needed. Some people feel NFS is a requirement but I don't agree.
  • Snap shots of SQL will be the biggest area of improvement that I can give to my business users. Giving them an almost real time copy of a production database that they can use without impacting production performance would be a huge win.
  • Support for Azure storage would also be helpful since it is our primary cloud provider.
Read Mike McFarland's full review
Wes Dunaway | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray makes me happy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Dedupe and compression. It always amazes me how much logical data we have compared to how much we are actually using on the array.
  • Speed. We measure response time in micro seconds, not milliseconds.
  • Support. They know something is wrong or misbehaving before I do.
  • As they grow, they become more like the large corporations that are frustrating to work with (EMC, NetApp, etc). I hope they don't lose the core qualities that made them so attractive to begin with.
Read Wes Dunaway's full review
Ezra Owen | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Is Pure Storage right for you?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Management: The interface makes it easy to define hosts, host groups and LUNs. Very quick, very intuitive and simple. AD authentication is also a huge bonus for us. Allows for customers to view but not manage their own array.
  • Performance Metrics: Pure Storage has good metrics across the array as well as at the individual LUN. We have begun separating LUNs based on customers and it has been huge when trying to trouble shoot performance for a single customer whose compute is on a multi-tenant cloud.
  • Speed: I don't have specific metrics, but all customers that are on the array have never complained about speed. We did have one customer that we were throttling based on the original contract. We opened that up to get them over a couple of initial deployment tasks and they were pleased with the speed.
  • VLAN support: The VLAN support in the newer version of Purity was also huge for us. It allowed us to keep SAN networks separate in a multi-tenant environment.
  • Support is great: We had a support engineer dig through Microsoft settings for multipathing on iSCSI iniators. He did this on two different occasions!
  • See more under the hood: I came from an array environment where there was a little more visibility into what was going on the in the background of the array. It would be nice to have the option to see what type of RAID is being used, and more details on the compression and deduplication that is going on.
  • The ability to throttle a specific LUN on the Pure Storage would be nice. Not sure of the implications though.
Read Ezra Owen's full review
Scott Brissenden | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Pure Storage is a leader in the all flash array market.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Pure's dedupe algorithm allows us to save storage space considering we have several stacks running the same software.
  • The evergreen program allows us to upgrade the controllers on our arrays every 3 years so we are always current.
  • Support is amazing, they will work at fixing a problem even if it isn't on their end.
  • There is nothing that I can think of that they could do better.
  • I would like better notifications of new features.
Read Scott Brissenden's full review
Will Fife | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

One of the only vendors whose claims of hidden magical knowledge have stood the test of time!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Speed. It is fast, really fast. I'm not sure where Pure gets their magical go faster pixie dust, but it is the good stuff.
  • Reliable. No problems and that is amazing.
  • We are booting 400 render nodes off of 4 of the smaller FlashArrays and the deduplication is nothing short of magical.
  • The UI can be confusing, but the CLI more than makes up for it.
  • I would love to see more statistics, graphs help prove to users that their gut instinct about where the problem is, is wrong.
Read Will Fife's full review
College325 Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure Storage is very innovative and simple to manage

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • IT servers up data with < 1ms
  • It is very easy to configure new storage
  • Make zoning data and expanding storage sizes very well
  • The data can always be faster. We purchased NVME storage as the data was slower than what we were using before.
Read College325 Hess's full review
Omar Khalid | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Pure Storage FlashArray replaced outdated NetApp and the benefits were outstanding

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of Administration: Great web console with the ability to configure everything. Little to minimal console knowledge required.
  • Deduplication and Compression: These features work extremely well at ensuring that our data usage remains low on the array even as the business grows.
  • Support: Pure's support is quick to respond and able to connect directly to and manage the unit in the case of any issues we encounter.
  • Performance: Pure's array is the best performing array according to Gartner's reviews of all-flash arrays (AFA).
  • Better connectivity to cloud: While Cloudsnap supports AWS natively, it would be nice to see other vendors and platforms added.
  • Better enhancements to reporting: While reporting is good, HPE has the edge when it comes to their Nimble Insights software.
Read Omar Khalid's full review
Ivan Sytchev | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Ultra Fast Array with Simple UI

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Customer service is fantastic. We have not had any issues with the array, but even doing a code upgrade is simple as support is very friendly and quick to respond.
  • The array is FAST! Being an all-flash array that is expected, but bundle that with their architecture and this thing is lightning quick in all storage operations.
  • We have not yet had the opportunity to take advantage of the Evergreen Model, but are looking forward to a hardware upgrade. This model is great and allows for quick and easy uplift to the newest hardware without replacing the array.
  • The array is so simple and easy to use that, we rarely need to manage it or do anything really. It really feels like a set and forget kind of system because it just works.
Read Ivan Sytchev's full review
Christopher Mills | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Why Pure Storage FlashArray Should Be Your #1 Choice!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The integration with VMware's vSphere has made creating and expanding datastores/volumes easy for all of our admins. They can do everything from one browser tab.
  • The ability to run future planning scenarios has been helpful in knowing what we need to purchase in future budget cycles.
  • The preemptive parts replacement that Pure Storage provides has led to us never having an outage on our arrays.
  • We have not seen much, as they seem to be keeping up with requested features and functions over the 5 years we have been consumers.
Read Christopher Mills's full review
Max Tevs | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

"Flashy" Next Level Deduplication and Performance with the FlashArray

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The Pure Array is scalable (easy to add more storage, easy to split up/provision existing storage).
  • The Pure Array handles deduplication and compression better than any storage array I've worked with.
  • Pure Support is very knowledgeable and responsive to issues and questions.
  • The Pure Web GUI is very intuitive and easy to use.
  • VM Analytics is a great and easy to enable feature.
  • While the GUI is easy to use, some management features are only available in the CLI.
Read Max Tevs's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2020

Pure Storage Flash Array, the Only Storage you will Need!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of installation – The Pure system was by far 10x easier to setup/configure and begin to use than our NetApp devices were
  • Simplicity – The GUI of PureStorage is by far the simplest storage solution I have had to manage in my 10 years of IT. This makes is really simple to create and provision storage to any host.
  • Better Data Reduction – Compared to our NetApp it uses 4k block sizes, while our Pure implements a variable block size for data reductions, yielding better results. With the combination of deduplication and compression we are currently getting a 4.3 to 1 ratio with our data! This is compared to our NetApp which we were only able to get about 1.5 data reduction ratio since It wasn’t recommended to do both deduplication and compression with the NetApp due to overhead on the controllers. We have provisioned 18 TB of data on our Pure storage and are only using 3.20 TB with the rates were getting with Pure. This is amazing and we are only at 50% disk utilization.
  • Upgrades – When updating the software with NetApp it is a pain staking process since you have several components to update (Controllers, Hard Drives, RLM, Shelves, etc.). During the upgrades you also have to bring your CPU and disk utilization down to 50% before you can perform the upgrades. This forces us to shut down servers to decrease the utilization. The Pure makes it so simple since the technical support teams schedule the upgrades with us and then do them for us! This requires no shutting down of servers and also we will never lose any performance on the controllers during an upgrade.
  • Performance – This is the key to the Pure storage since they offer 100,000 IOPS as opposed to our NetApp which was barely getting a maximum of 7,000 IOPS. Also NetApp was unable to retain performance during an upgrade or failure of a drive compared to Pure which retains performance period!
  • Customer Support – During the times that I have had to call support they have responded and resolved things very quickly compared to NetApp.
  • Forever Flash – This was a huge sales point and a great advantage to our team since we normally always refresh our systems every 3 to 4 years. The Forever Flash model now makes this process painless to our department.
  • Security – Pure offers us by default an encrypted “at rest” volume compared to NetApp which has no such feature. This was huge for us to meet certain security requirements for compliance.
  • Rack Space – This Pure storage solution is a no brainer when it comes to rack space. We will be saving almost a full rack of space once we have fully migrated over to our new M-series which will save us money!
  • Metrics – Pure has built in to the console analysis metrics that you can obtain quickly to monitor and troubleshoot compared to NetApp which you have to build a separate server to configure and license! It’s a no brainer!
  • I honestly can't think of anything. I love Pure Storage!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

5 years with Pure Storage FlashArray

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Simple management
  • Dedupe and compression
  • Snapshot replication
  • Display of different data reduction rates can be confusing and could be noted better in the interface
  • Pure doesn't have an easy way to note who at the customer is responsible for management/maintenance of different units under the same overall account
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

A flash array that improves performance and overall ROI for many many years.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • The latency and IOPS on our Pure SAN are incredible. After moving over VMs the performance improvement was noticed immediately.
  • Pure support is fantastic. They are constantly modifying the firmware to improve compression performance.
  • The Pure array is very pricey.
  • Deduplication and compression were oversold pre-purchase.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

Pure Storage is simple to use, implement and manage.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Performance: heads and tails above and beyond what a traditional array ever brought to the table.
  • Manageability: 8 hour, overnight upgrades are a thing of the past. Open a case with Pure's Support Team, give them an operating window for the upgrade and then they do the upgrades remotely, generally within an hour.
  • Deduplication: because of the 4:1 deduplication ratios that we are seeing in our environments, we reduced from a full rack of EMC VNX hardware, to 5RU of Rackspace in one of our data centers, while the rest of our arrays are sitting in a single 3RU chassis, providing all the storage we need for 100s of Windows Server and Desktop VMs.
  • I really cannot think of anything that Pure needs to do differently. They are constantly innovating their Pure1 SaaS interface with more benefits and providing on-array software updates that provide value to our IT Team.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Flash Array Performance (145)
9.4
Flash Array Integration (136)
9.2
Data Compression (144)
9.3
Non-Intrusive Upgrades (139)
9.5
Simplicity (145)
9.4
Power Savings (123)
9.0

About Pure Storage FlashArray

Pure Storage in Mountain View, California offers all-flash array data storage promising affordability, high availability, and consistent performance.

Pure Storage FlashArray Integrations

Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Pure Storage FlashArray Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No