Pure Storage FlashBlade Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
39 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Nathan Chitwood | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2020

If you want a 'Purely' superior experience!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

In our situation, the primary use for Pure Storage Flashblade is data protection. We wanted a performant backup target. Most of these options are slow, and data restoration is abysmal. This is not the case with Flashblade.

NFS works great. We use NFS between the Flashblade and our backup environment.

I personally don't care for it as a NAS in a Windows heavy environment. It does support basic Windows SMB, but not well. If IT is well suited for Linux/Unix sysadmin, then Pure Storage Flashblade is highly recommended.
Read Nathan Chitwood's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2020

Follow-up from a happy FlashBlade user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Shared file systems are needed in nearly all large environments. most options are considered exotic & many of SAS's customers do not want to run them. Everyone knows NFS, but traditional NFS lacked performance. Pure offers a performant NFS with their FlashBlade
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

FlashBlade review from a POD perspective (PCF, Kubernets, VRA)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Pure Storage FlashBlade has been really useful in POD designs in our environment because of being very denser and small but providing the same performance and resilience. Its space savings through Dedupe and compression also helped us oversubscribe the array and helped us reduce power and rack usage. FlashBlade being a 1RU panel has helped us be in 1 rack but serve multiple AZ (availability )zones.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2020

Pure Storage FlashBlade: No other solution needed

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's a very easy system to manage and monitor. The speed and efficiencies have completely stifled our previous issues with the previous system we had in play. Adding blades can be done in minutes, requires no downtime and no maint window. We have had a couple of NFS response issues, which were not founded, so we had to reset the unit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2020

FlashBlade is almost ready

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

FlashBlade is well suited to performance NFS applications that require encryption at rest, it is good with metadata and scale-out, it would make a good backup target. Integration requires a bit of work since the infrastructure like LDAP servers, etc. are required since the features are external to the device. Compared to my other arrays like NetApp, Oracle, etc., it lacks features that mean I have to log support calls where I could otherwise reasonably troubleshoot or fix the issue myself. I think this is a Pure Storage design choice that has been taken a little bit too far. In my case, this means it has taken a lot longer for me to be productive with the array. We had to rewrite backup scripts to use REST since that was the only option, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashBlade Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

We're currently using Pure Storage FlashBlade to provide high-speed storage for our container environments.
I'd like to expand its use more widely, but with no option to tier out to less performant storage for cold data, I have not been able to expand the footprint.
Read this authenticated review
Jeremy Calcamuggio | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

Flasharray review of awesomeness

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's not appropriate for storage workloads that need replication to another site, for instance, disaster recovery.
It's also not appropriate for storage processes that rely on cloning and snapshot capability, for instance, database server volume cloning for refreshing data between application environments.
Read Jeremy Calcamuggio's full review
Todd Crouse | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

FlashBlade EDA review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

EDA scratch workloads. Less appropriate for our software side of the house where SMB is required and mix mode authentication between NFS and SMB is not mature.
Read Todd Crouse's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

New to FlashBlade

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It's well suited for high-performance storage requirements used to support NFS. Windows SMB share is less flexible than other NAS storage.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Flashy, but don't be fooled by all the glitz

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

First and foremost, it's a NFS and/or bucket storage, implementing S3 for the latter. It does those well. If you want CIFS, don't expect to run many shares on it. It works. It is supported. But not the primary use case.
Read this authenticated review
David Thornton, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Exceptional Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The product is well suited for Data centers with space issues -- a high density of racks and lack of space to install equipment. The size of the Pure Storage Flashblade units, combined with the de-duplication features, helps to effectively use rack space while having great performance. While the product is somewhat expensive, if it is needed, it has great value.
Read David Thornton, CISSP's full review
Michael Cannella | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

A day in the life of a Flash Blade array @ SSTK

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

The product really ROCKS. We handle all of our FTP front end traffic via the FBA and we never have any bandwidth issues. It handles very high IOPS in a short period of time. I wish we could also use it as a traditional array. As of now we are ONLY using the NFS mounts. If we could use it as a flash array also, it would improve productivity.
Read Michael Cannella's full review

Pure Storage FlashBlade Scorecard Summary

About Pure Storage FlashBlade

Pure Storage offers FlashBlade, a scale-out file and object storage – architected to consolidate complex data silos (like backup appliances and data lakes) while accelerating tomorrow's discoveries and insights.

Pure Storage FlashBlade Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No