Pure Storage FlashBlade Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Edward Hammond | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2020

My Pure Storage FlashBlade Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The initial use case for our 1st FlashArray was for high performance VM storage. We were rolling our our initial Kubernetes cluster and needed a good storage solution. The Pure Storage Orchestrator plugged right into our initial deployment and worked so well we used it for all the storage for our new 150+ node Kubernetes deployment at our new datacenter with almost all our production systems utilizing it.
Read Edward Hammond's full review
Nathan Chitwood | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2020

If you want a 'Purely' superior experience!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Primarily, we use Pure Storage Flashblade as a backup target for high priority data. IT is the only department utilizing this. The main problem we wanted to address with backup, was actually the restoration. Many storage targets tout they are a great option for backup, but when it comes to restoring data, they fall down hard. The data is highly compressed and de-duped on slow low-tier storage. Getting it 'rehydrated' takes FAR too long. Pure Storage Flashblade solved that problem!
Read Nathan Chitwood's full review
Julie Ulrich | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashBlade Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a bit different than others. We got on early and were using Pure Storage FlashBlade as a tier 2 type storage. So we don't use it for analytics. It has served as file server storage, it has been used for backup archive, and it has been used to hold our security data.
Read Julie Ulrich's full review
David McKinney | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Overkill

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The device is used for backups in conjunction with Commvault. It is connected via NFS to windows physical machines and it the main storage library.
Read David McKinney's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2020

Follow-up from a happy FlashBlade user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our FlashBlade is an evaluation unit. My team tests storage arrays from various vendors to determine compatibility & performance with our software. We share results with our internal storage team and write white papers on how to best config an array for optimal performance without software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

FlashBlade review from a POD perspective (PCF, Kubernets, VRA)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pure Storage FlashBlade is primarily used in PCF and Kubernetes POD design. It is used in these POD designs for object storage and has been very reliant in uptime and has a very easy use to interface for external users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

FlashBlade, Always On, Always Up and Always Running at Lightning Speeds

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pure FlashBlade is used solely as a backup target for our enterprise backup solution. It stores all of our server backups both physical and virtual. We utilize two FlashBlades for this purpose, one at our primary data center and a second one at our offsite for long term retention and archiving.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2020

Pure Storage FlashBlade: No other solution needed

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We required a robust and fast file storage array for our engineering staff across the enterprise. It allows us to easily manage directories, quotas, and have real-time visibility into the various aspects of its usage and health.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2020

FlashBlade is almost ready

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We intend to replace our current storage infrastructure for a particular carrier in 2 data centers with FlashBlades due to our requirement for fast NFS storage with encryption at rest. We are still in the process of integrating and are possibly at a point of implementing. Until release 3 came out, the snapshots did not suit our needs and we were unable to integrate it with our 389ds LDAP, but after a bunch of RFEs, it's finally usable. We are still not out of the woods in that the new replication, it doesn't yet meet our needs. On the positive side, Pure is good to work with, my account managers and support engineers have been receptive to my requests and I think their product is improved by this process. The hardware and support are good, but it's very focussed on what it does and needs a better feature set.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashBlade Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My team manages a large number of Pure Storage FlashBlade systems that provide storage services to all departments in the company.
Read this authenticated review
Jeremy Calcamuggio | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

Flasharray review of awesomeness

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently using Flashblade as backend storage for VMs, utilizing NFS exports. Flashblade is only installed at our primary datacenter, so remote sites with local VMs are using local storage (non-Flashblade).
Additionally, we are working on proof of concept projects to use Flashblade for future analytics workloads.
Primary business problems solved by Flashblade:
  • secondary storage that is very fast and scalable (our primary storage is Pure Flasharray).
  • consolidating storage vendors and platforms to a single vendor Pure Storage.
Read Jeremy Calcamuggio's full review
Chris Stotler | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

FlashBlade for NFS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

FlashBlade is primarily used as an NFS target for log archiving, Database backups, and VM image-based backups. FlashBlade is used exclusively by the infrastructure team to facilitate backups at our remote data center. We had a business requirement to backup data in our remote data center, and it fit the bill.
Read Chris Stotler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 26, 2019

FlashBlade: Lots of potential

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use FlashBlade as a standard NFS share. It mainly houses large log data for security reporting and analytics. While the FlashBlade is capable of much more, it fit this small use case need very nicely.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

New to FlashBlade

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Pure Storage FlashBlade is being used primarily for our research department for certain data sets. It will also be used for digital imaging storage for certain clinical department. We were looking for something to provide reliable and fast access with attached storage to some applications.
Read this authenticated review
David Thornton, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Exceptional Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used by a specific financial department to address performance issues in the virtualization space. We have over two thousand users who use the system on a regular basis. We need secure systems that enable encryption at the drive level with high performance and redundancy that enable high availability.
Read David Thornton, CISSP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Flashy, but don't be fooled by all the glitz

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

At this point, it is used only internally by a few teams mainly as an endpoint for DB backups. The Flash Array is a larger (capacity only) endpoint that provided us with more room to grow into and better scale. The connectivity options, as well as drive speed, allowed us to significantly reduce backup times.
Read this authenticated review

About Pure Storage FlashBlade

Pure Storage offers FlashBlade, a scale-out file and object storage – architected to consolidate complex data silos (like backup appliances and data lakes) while accelerating tomorrow's discoveries and insights.

Pure Storage FlashBlade Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No