Pure Storage FlashBlade Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2020

Follow-up from a happy FlashBlade user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of manageability. A manual isn't needed to navigate the GUI. Config options are easy to locate.
  • The FlashBlade helps to overcome some of the performance limitations built into the NFS protocol.
  • Quick and simple installation.
  • Granular control of alerting.
  • Inability to serve FC block storage.
  • Performance analysis feature needs the ability to quickly pull up the heavy-hitters.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 20, 2020

FlashBlade review from a POD perspective (PCF, Kubernets, VRA)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to use interface.
  • Very customer eccentric upgrades with virtually no down time needed.
  • Performance and space savings through Dedupe and compression.
  • Synchronous replication functionality to DR sites.
  • More denser and price effective arrays for mass market.
  • Ability to perform Host migration using Pure tools.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2020

Pure Storage FlashBlade: No other solution needed

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very efficient.
  • The dashboard provides useful information.
  • We can utilize the dashboard to manage quotas, setup new snapshots, make adjustments, and review the health of the system.
  • When reporting out a user has exceeded there quote, it only references the UID. It would certainly be nice it calls out the UID name that is clearly present in the Dashboard.
  • The ability to determine a snapshot total size would be helpful.
  • Proactive reachout to discuss new versions and assist in planning the upgrade would be a key win.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2020

FlashBlade is almost ready

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Performance
  • Simple to use
  • Non-disruptive upgrades
  • Encryption at rest
  • Scalability
  • NFS version support, v4.1 is not fully featured to the RFC and v4 support would be nice.
  • Simple feature set, need to be more enterprise focussed.
  • No tool to clear NFS locks.
  • No expert mode for troubleshooting no ping, trace route, etc.
  • Logs are passworded.
  • RBAC roles are limited and not granular enough.
  • No local user options other than pure user LDAP/AD only.
  • No SSH key trust, so no ansible automation possibilities.
  • Replication needs work, can't manage bandwidth without involving support.
  • Replication can't mount replica as it only reads normal filesystems, only snapshot view.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2020

Pure Storage FlashBlade Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Very easy to administrate
  • Highly performant
  • Excellent support
  • I have a requirement for inexpensive on-prem archival storage. Partnering with another platform or developing an in-house solution to use cheaper storage for cold data would be a great benefit for me.
Read this authenticated review
Jeremy Calcamuggio | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

Flasharray review of awesomeness

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Eliminates any storage latency troubleshooting we used to do on other platforms for virtual machines.
  • Massive throughput!
  • Simple interface.
  • Eliminates volume sprawl as we can present much larger volumes and still enjoy very low latency and high throughput.
  • Need replication capability.
  • HTTP functionality to use Flashblade like an HTTP server with directory browsing would be great. For storing common content for internal use like package repositories, installers, system images, etc.
  • Syslog support for system logs and audit logs.
Read Jeremy Calcamuggio's full review
Chris Stotler | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

FlashBlade for NFS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • NFS Target.
  • Allows for fast 40GB uplinks.
  • Storage is resizable on the fly with no downtime.
  • The user interface is a little clunky.
  • Monitoring is a challenge - The flash array does send disk space alerts but proactive system monitoring is lacking.
Read Chris Stotler's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 26, 2019

FlashBlade: Lots of potential

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • NFS: for NAS use cases the FlashBlade excels/
  • Backup target: dumping SQL files to the FlashBlade is simple and fast.
  • The lack of CIFS support is a real shortfall.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

New to FlashBlade

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • High performance storage
  • Highly scalable solution
  • Simple management
  • SMB file sharing should be more user friendly and have more Windows file system-like features.
  • When turning on Window mode, it should impose limitations for future volume expansion to the next units.
  • Configuration screen for Directory service is confusing and difficult to setup.
Read this authenticated review
David Thornton, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Exceptional Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • This is a great product that addresses our security concerns
  • We are very pleased with the performance of the system
  • the system is highly available and we have no issues with it
  • We have found no issues with it, we just wish other vendors had products of equal quality.
Read David Thornton, CISSP's full review
Michael Cannella | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

A day in the life of a Flash Blade array @ SSTK

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Speed. We are seeing large transactions take very little time.
  • Upgrades- In-place upgrades of both hardware and software are extremely easy.
  • Ease of use- I have several engineers working on this and from setup to day to day operations it is extremely easy to maintain.
  • Replication- I know it is on the roadmap, but that needs to happen sooner rather than later.
  • Object-oriented Storage (ECS)- When we first brought it on board you had it but it needs to function in a more efficient capacity and have replication built into that also.
  • We would also like to see the VAAI interface to be more appealing and user-friendly. We have several operational support staff that view the GUI on a daily bases and for me to give them access via the VMware VAAI would be much easier if it were more user-friendly.
Read Michael Cannella's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Flashy, but don't be fooled by all the glitz

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Supports CIFS, NFS, and S3 for storage options.
  • Top level folder quotas for CIFS helps keep usage under control.
  • For basically secondary storage, it's very fast.
  • CIFS support is definitely an afterthought.
  • Inability to sort shares by quota utilization makes easy resizing via web UI difficult.
  • Some might care about or see the lack of fiber channel or FCoE as a problem. I don't believe it does iSCSI either.
Read this authenticated review

About Pure Storage FlashBlade

Pure Storage offers FlashBlade, a scale-out file and object storage – architected to consolidate complex data silos (like backup appliances and data lakes) while accelerating tomorrow's discoveries and insights.

Pure Storage FlashBlade Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No