PyCharm Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
85 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 31)

Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Best editor for Python

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PyCharm is the default IDE to use for Python development in our company. Among other IntelliJ products, this turns out to be one of the most comfortable IDEs, with excellent plugin support, tooling, and look and feel. It serves as an excellent support tool to develop any kind of Python application, from backend applications through data science scripts to Python web apps.
  • Data science scripting.
  • Frontend development based on Python.
  • Community edition is, while quite usable, far behind the paid alternative. At least a basic database support would be nice.
Just as for a new intern, or for the experienced pro, this IDE is well suited for most programmers. With high customization options, or well designed default configurations, PyCharm is a must and a powerful tool if used right.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Diego Pacheco | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Everything a developer needs in one place

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using the PyCharm Community version. I've been working with this version for a few years and in several companies, I've been through and had the need to develop some application or maintain.
  • Connectivity with various databases, to perform queries in the IDE itself.
  • Integration with major version controllers. Performing all commands in the IDE itself.
  • Quickly and conveniently install, update and remove plugins in the IDE itself using the repositories.
  • Real-time coding verification to warn of misuse of methods and/or functions.
  • Process of searching for files by name or by source code snippets.
  • Access to files that refer to their encoding as a native file that contains one class declaration being used in another by clicking on the class name, for example.
  • The process of upgrading IDE versions can be improved for the Linux environment as we need to download a new version and use it. This does not happen when it works on Windows.
  • Failure to learn to learn all the features of the IDE, making the most of all its functions. At least I didn't find this description.
  • The value of the full version is very expensive, thinking about the location I am in.
  • These new versions use a lot of machine feature. Java consuming a lot of memory.
When I need to change something punctual I prefer to open the file in a text editor since the IDE is very heavy and to execute it would take some time. It is very suitable for correcting multiple files at the same time using the find and replace function on files. And do all version control without having to go to terminals or run external applications.
Read Diego Pacheco's full review
Vahid Azizi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Great IDE

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PyCharm is mostly used for data science and analytics.
  • Good tools for debugging
  • Easy package searching and installation
  • Easy to learn
  • It is not lightweight
  • Expensive
  • Rendering the notebook is frustrating
PyCharm is good for debugging, but it is heavy when it starts to load. Some times even it can take 3-4 minutes to be loaded. Overall, I think this is a powerful IDE with a wide variety of useful tools.
Read Vahid Azizi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Extensive Python IDE

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by several departments in the organization to develop Web applications, and machine learning algorithms/pipelines. For the case of Web applications, it is used because it is a great IDE for web application with its built-in support for Django. And for the case of machine learning models/pipelines it is used because it conveniently allows to use SQL queries, so convenient that it recommends/fixes the query during the process of writing it.
  • Software development.
  • Debugging.
  • Code completion.
  • Git visualization.
  • Package management.
  • Python.
  • Its great and huge feature set comes at the cost of space, complexity and speed.
PyCharm is great for software development in Python, whether it's a Web/Django application or a machine learning model development/deployment. It has many awesome extra features such as auto code completion, data type illustration, git visualization, package management (pip), visualization and version management of code history. It's highly flexible in customization, too. For example, once as I was using NumPy, it recommended me to allow the scientific mode so it is as if PyCharm actually understands your needs and makes great recommendations. It has nice shortcuts, for example, CTRL + Q explains the pointed function. It contains a lot of plugins and themes, integrated web framework Django, interactive console and virtual environment. It's also great for students since PyCharm provides 1 year of student license for them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Best IDE tool for Python

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PyCharm as an Integration development environment tool using python as a programming language. Most of our organization, whoever is working on python, prefers to use PyCharm due to its ease of installation and ease of use. The suggestions that PyCharm provides is one of the best and helps the developer's time. Packages and plugins installation is also made easy with its default settings, thereby making the developers work easily.
  • Default indentation picks up, which helps developers a lot as most of them (who are new to Python) makes an error while creating a method, using a loop or such thing.
  • Switch between one project to the other is done very easily using Pycharm when compared with other tools.
  • Syntax highlighting and printing different colors for a method, variable, code, and comment also helps in concluding what is what.
  • One can create a java file, can connect to DB, can connect to different servers with Unix, and can also create an automation framework using a robotic framework, which in turn makes it an RPA tool.
  • Light and dark theme also helps a lot while working at late nights and during the daytime.
  • Copy-paste does not work correctly. The default printing is in the form of Insert. I always need to press the enter button to come out of the insert mode and also have to right-click and select copy or paste instead of default CNTRL c and CNTRL V. It is working good for some others in the team, and I am not able to fix this.
  • Too much of underlining the code considering negligible errors make the code look bad.
  • Auto suggestions sometimes does not work as expected.
  • Perfect Integration development environment tool for python as the language
  • The best tool for robotic framework automation.
  • Bash and markdown support is also available.
  • PyCharm helps a lot with version control. The version control helps in Progressively developing the code while committing it.
  • Supports most of the popular web technologies
  • Scenarios where it is less appropriate:
  • Copy-paste does not work and makes it a problem.
  • More resource and memory usage
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2020

Best IDE for Python development, but pricey

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PyCharm is used when developing code in Python across the company. We have Python developers mostly as data devs and data scientists, and all of them use PyCharm to gain velocity in development and remove boilerplate code. It helps to develop fast and provides important help while coding.
  • Code hints.
  • Large plugins marketplace.
  • Heavy on machine resources.
  • Ultimate license is not cheap.
The best IDE for Python development. It provides many helpful tips and tricks while coding and help saving time. Easy on debugging and testing your code. Pricy ultimate license.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 10, 2020

PyCharm - the best Python IDE out there.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PyCharm to write Python codes for our desktop applications. These desktop applications are built primarily to automate processes for the Water Engineering and Bridge Engineering teams.
  • Lot of plug-ins.
  • Huge community.
  • Slightly bulky.
  • Pro version is tad expensive.
Excellent for big data projects because it supports some of the widely used scientific libraries for Python — NumPy, Anaconda and Metplotlib.
PyCharm makes it easier for programmers to write various web applications in Python supporting widely used web technologies like HTML, CSS, JavaScript, etc.
Debugging of Python scripts on PyCharm is a bit cumbersome especially when there are a lot of lines of code.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

PyCharm is my go-to IDE for Python prototyping and development.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use PyCharm for the development of Machine Learning solutions. I use it for the preprocessing of datasets, implementation of algorithms, and API development. As Python is the primary language of use for ML development, Pycharm is a natural choice.
  • Machine Learning
  • Data Processing
  • Selection of virtual environment seems a little janky
  • Access to library code needs more transparency - some seem available to browse, some don't.
For ML or data munging prototyping or even application development, PyCharm is my go-to IDE. It would be less appropriate for the development of other languages like TypeScript or node. Some users may prefer a more lightweight IDE.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Nothing like my lucky PyCharm

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PyCharm is currently being used by our development group in our department. It's a self-explanatory IDE perfectly suited for Python.
  • Python debugging feature is better than what we were using in the past.
  • Integrates well with Git.
  • Memory consumption can be high at times.
  • Can be a bit heavy at times.
We have an ETL tool which is integrated in Python. As a dev group we can easily write our Python functions and test them before deploying to the ETL process.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Amazing scripting software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to write scripts, and all of us use it. You do not even have to go the terminal. You can run the script directly from PyCharm. It helps a lot with debugging, and suggests so many tricks. It also helps developers to follow scripting standards like PEP 8. It's a really good product, and I definitely recommend it.
  • You can debug easily.
  • We can execute code directly from PyCharm.
  • It also can install packages.
  • It gives suggestions while scripting.
  • It can commit code on Git through PyCharm.
  • I don't see any issues whatsoever.
It has made scripting very easy. It suggests all the scripting tricks. It has also made the code checking in process very easy. Debugging is easy, and package installation is effortless.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

Best Python IDE

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire Python development team uses PyCharm as the primary IDE for developing more complex and modularized projects, focusing on higher productivity as it is a robust IDE with many features and practicalities.
  • Support for multiple frameworks.
  • You can easily manage virtual environments, including choosing different instances of Python.
  • Embedded package manager (pip).
  • Pricing is too high.
  • In the community edition lack of framework support.
For Python developers PyCharm is the best option, it is an IDE that integrates all the needs for projects of various frameworks. You have handy features to send commands to the terminal, access its database (view and make changes), run your code and debug simply. But it is an IDE that requires a lot of RAM, besides for simpler tasks like scripts it is better to use IDLE.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2020

PyCharm

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for software development. It is used only by the Engineering dept and a few folks from other departments who code regularly. It is used for product development.
  • Searching files
  • Search content inside files
  • Shortcuts for navigation
  • Auto re-load
Fast development due to a lot of shortcuts. It can make life easy for a programmer. It can have issues with opening multiple PyCharm apps as it takes a lot of your ram memory.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2019

Integrated development environment for Python development

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PyCharm is being used as the primary editor for Python code on my data and analytics team. I introduced this tool a while back, and it has been rapidly adopted as the Go-To integrated development environment for running Python scripts in a scalable format. The business problems it is solving primarily revolves around developing Python programs for automating and running different types of tests in a Python virtual environment.
  • Integrated development environment.
  • Python.
  • Program debugging.
  • It has a complex interface.
  • Virtual environment management.
  • Pricing.
PyCharm is a great tool that should be used when writing and debugging Python programs. It has great package management capabilities, but when you have to multiple virtual environments, it gets slightly complicated at times. I think this is a great integrated development environment that should serve well for local development and then as a facet to push changes to staging and production environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

Full service python IDE that makes python coding easier

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pycharm is being used by the data engineering team at our organization. Other teams may be using it, each team makes this decision independently.
  • Really easy to navigate to files and code within the project.
  • Embedded terminal is very convenient.
  • Easy refactoring.
  • Takes up a lot of system resources.
  • Could do with better SQL support (SQL server).
It is well suited for writing Python code and maintaining coding standards by sharing code style settings, which is something that isn't so easy in Sublimetext. The embedded terminal ensures that you don't need to switch windows to run your scripts. Very easy to navigate to different files, search in code throughout the project, find and replace, navigate to function definitions, etc. It does, however, eat up a lot of resources and support for other languages (SQL, Javascript) is limited.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2019

PyCharm - Easy Life for Python Programmers.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use PyCharm every day within my team, and it's being used across the whole organization. We have our project based on Python for scheduling Airflow jobs and so far I've PyCharm best for Python projects and Django frameworks. Python always has these formatting and syntax issues while you're coding, but in PyCharm you don't have to worry about anything. It's being used by other teams for Python flask framework/full stack development.
  • Auto completion which is great for Python projects.
  • Shows errors on the fly.
  • Exploring the codes in different modules.
  • Fixing of code errors is easy.
  • A lot of keyboard shortcuts to jump to different sections of code, find/replace things in file whole module or path.
  • Paid version is needed to better support HTML/Javascript.
  • Programming in R is not fully supported.
  • It's a bit more bulky then other IDE's but I guess that's needed for complete software development.
I think it's well suited if you're working for Python modules/projects, Django frameworks, or Python flask frameworks. It might be a bit annoying using PyCharm for HTML/Javascript/R, unless you've been paying for the premium version.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Pycharm charms you by its plethora of features

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pycharm is an excellent IDE for python programming used across the company. It helps programmers to write robust python code rapidly. It has a plethora of unique and useful features that set it apart from competitors and make it an irreplaceable part of a python coders' set of tools.
  • Auto code-complete suggestions are very useful.
  • Debugging breakpoints enable quick debug.
  • integrated python interpreter allows one to test code immediately.
  • The IDE project environment setup is not intuitive and can be difficult for a naive user.
  • It does not have good integration with Jupyter notebooks.
  • The integrated python interpreter runs in a virtual environment which needs to be maintained separately when using new imports .
It is very well suited for Python projects with multiple files and folders, and it has a built-in project explorer and the whole environment is project oriented. It is not recommended for single file projects due to the project setup overhead.
Read this authenticated review
Nitin Pasumarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

PyCharm - A feature rich IDE for Python and Web Development

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LinkedIn recommends PyCharm for all Python development. Everyone gets a Professional License which opens up advanced tools. Being an IDE with regular updates, it takes complete care of Python project management. It integrates with git making it very easy to work in large teams. Its robust UI dialogs, removes the need most commonly used complex command lines
  • Git integration is really essential as it allows anyone to visually see the local and remote changes, compare revisions without the need for complex commands.
  • Complex debugging tools are basked into the IDE. Controls like break on exception are sometimes very helpful to identify errors quickly.
  • Multiple runtimes - Python, Flask, Django, Docker are native the to IDE. This makes development and debugging and even more seamless.
  • Integrates with Jupyter and Markdown files as well. Side by side rendering and editing makes it simple to develop such files.
  • Abstracting commands into UI dialogs is nice. However, due to this the language changes, making it non-obvious to use sometimes. Tooltips for text boxes can eliminate the need for additional googling
  • Memory intensive - only a beefy machine can host this IDE in its full glory. Modular and plugin based approach like VS Code can only load those features into memory as per need
  • When Python is the main language of choice, an IDE like PyCharm is a great choice
  • Web development and server development (services) development is also very well supported
  • React programming needs some additional assistance as JSX is a new file format which mixes HTML as a JS string. That is amazingly integrated as well
  • However, this IDE has heavy memory requirements and needs a good machine
Read Nitin Pasumarthy's full review
Leah Jakaitis | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Exemplary IDE for Python Development

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PyCharm is used as the IDE for Python. It is used for developing Python code. Additionally, Pycharm is used for descriptive stats, visualization, cleaning, prepping, and other data analysis applications. It is used across the entire organization for Python development and deployment. PyCharm supports both 2.x and 3.x versions of Python.
  • Customizable interface: layout, color scheme, hot keys, etc may all be individually tailored to a user.
  • Platform intelligence: debugging, code analysis, dependency resolution, and auto completion make the PyCharm IDE efficient and a pleasure to use
  • Support / tutorials guide the user through learning the different capabilities (this was a big deal for me when I switched to using Python / PyCharm after coding in a text editor and R Studio)
  • The biggest complaint I have about PyCharm is that it can use a lot of RAM which slows down the computer / IDE. I use the paid version, and have otherwise found nothing to complain about the interface, utility, and capabilities.
PyCharm is well suited for any individual or organization looking to use Python for development and deployment. Additionally, PyCharm supports a number of different languages/apps: Javascript, Markup (XML, HTML, CSS), Django. It has an extensively customizable interface to change color schemes, code highlighting, macros, and hot keys. PyCharm's coding assistance - including syntax/error highlighting, code completion, and documentation - make it a standout IDE for developers. Additionally, if you're trying to learn Python, JetBrains has a PyCharm Ed(ucation) edition that offers basic instruction on the use of the IDE and how Python syntax works.
Read Leah Jakaitis's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

Instructional/learning IDE

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pycharm is the preferred IDE for our less experienced Python users. Users are allowed to select their own IDE of choice or use the command line but most newer users have found Pycharm to be their favorite. Most of what Pycharm does for us is provide an easily understandable platform for developers to learn Python, debug scripts, and create their own projects.
  • Easy to understand interface
  • Custom built for students learning Python
  • Open source and free of licensing costs
  • Easy to learn to use
  • Performance is an issue with larger scripts compared to command line processing times
  • Keyboard shortcuts cannot be rebound so you have to learn preset hotkeys
  • Could be more intuitive for completely new coders
Great for a free, relatively less complex IDE where the main users are newer learners of Python. Less suitable for more complex/performance heavy operations that should be done on the command line or on a VM.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2019

A powerful and good-looking IDE for Python

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a Data Science team in our company, we often need to perform different analyses using Python programming language. However, it is used not only in our department but also throughout the whole organization. It helps to address various business problems such as tasks related to Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence as a whole, implementation of the backend part for internal applications, etc.
  • Single time analyses in terms of Data Science projects. PyCharm Professional provides users with a special Scientific View which allows gaining a better feeling of the application.
  • Debugging of applications is well-designed: it is simple to follow changes in variable values and to evaluate expressions.
  • Subjective: the application is quite stylish and pleasant to work with in comparison with its competitors.
  • Indexing and skeleton building has to be improved. It takes some time even with SSD inside the machine. If one has an HDD and also wishes to use a full-fledged Anaconda, then indexing will become a nightmare.
If you have a powerful machine and want to perform a data analysis job in Python, then this piece of software is for you. However, if you are more of a fan of the script nature of Python, then this IDE is not suited for you, because PyCharm cannot run code by chunks of the single file.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2018

PyCharm - Great IDE for Automation and Data Work

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PyCharm is used across the analytics department as the defacto Python IDE. It's allows us to integrate seamlessly with our data infrastructure, ETL pipelines, version control platform. We have also been it within our data analysis stack.
  • PEP8 warnings help to avoid messy code.
  • Built in version control support helps novice git users manage and integrate with the Team's code.
  • Great library management. Again helps junior team members be valuable on day one, abstract some of the trickier python packaging issues.
  • Jupyter Notebook support is a little buggy.
  • Not a standard software package so incoming analysts need to be trained on it.
  • Can be too powerful and complicated depending on the task.
PyCharm is the perfect general Python development environment. It's value becomes apparent once your codebase reaches a certain size. It has excellent support for finding and updating references.

In the data analysis space it's probably easier to just use Jupyter Notebook.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 04, 2019

For OOPs style coding in Python - PyCharm is preferable

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using PyCharm for developing Data Science applications for various clients. It is used across all the Data Science sub divisions of the company. We provide various data science and related solutions to our clients to help solve their problems using data science. It is generally used to organize, develop and debug a project with multiple Python files.
  • Helps creating project specific environment
  • One can view all the files while developing the codes
  • The data files are easily accessible and inspectible
  • Creates very neat graph
  • Hangs while operating with heavy data files.
  • Needs to restart to see effects of changes made in the codes.
When a project requires OOPs style of coding calling multiple Python files across the project, this tool is well suited. Also, to inspect the changes made while manipulating data, it gives a good environment to see the 2 dimensional data in a nice format. The graphs and the User Interfaces are very informative.
Read this authenticated review
Paolo De Grazia | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2018

Works like a Py-Charm! Look no further for the best Python IDE!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PyCharm is the weapon of choice in our organization for the Quality Assurance and the DevOps team in the Engineering department. In combination with plugins for Robot Framework, it helped us manage our projects and increase delivery speed, thanks to all the power features it has, from Version Control to Code Inspection.
  • Syntax Highlighting: helps us read-write better code and understand what is going on with a simple glimps
  • Version Control: being able to see a history of the file(s) I am working on lets me know straight away who I should contact in case I need it
  • Virtual Environments: don't need to get back to the console, I can do whatever I need within my IDE
  • Cross Product compatibility: being based on IntelliJ IDEA, it's very easy to move from PyCharm to IntelliJ or WebStorm
  • Startup speed: could be faster
  • Runtime environment: needs to change the runtime everytime I want to switch from code to test cases
  • Updates: on Ubuntu 14.04, updating is a little bit troublesome: must be done manually, cannot be updated automatically
PyCharm is wonderful for handling Python code and, in my experience, very good for Robot Framework files, thanks to the Intellibot plugin I would not suggest using it for creating/editing/manipulating web files (html, css, js)
Read Paolo De Grazia's full review
Maike Holthuijzen | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2018

One of the best Python IDEs out there

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Overall, members of my organization use IDEs relatively infrequently, but there are a few employees who do use PyCharm. Those of us who have the program use it for developing code and doing reproducible research (PyCharm has options to set up version control with Github or any other similar version control software). PyCharm has loads of options--it is not at all limited to writing Python code, which makes it very versatile. I like it because it helps conduct reproducible research, which is a crucial part of the research my organization conducts.
  • Pycharm supports different languages, which is very convenient. It also has an option for creating Jupyter notebooks.
  • Pycharm is similar to JetBrain's other products (such as CLion), which makes it easy to learn once you are used to IDEs made by JetBrains.
  • It works great with Python distributions like Anaconda. It is super simple to set up if you have Anaconda installed.
  • Pycharm is expensive if you cannot get a license through work (although you can get a lightweight version for free)
  • When starting up Pycharm, it can take a while to load (up to a minute or more), which is somewhat annoying.
  • The initial setup can take a little while, and I found that customizing the appearance of PyCharm was very cumbersome.
Pycharm is great for experienced programmers who want an IDE with many options. Since the full version of Pycharm is expensive, I personally do not think it would be worth spending my own money on Pycharm. However, if for those who have access to a license, it's one of the best IDEs. It is great for academic and non-academic work environments and could be used for research, software development, and student projects. With built-in version control, it is a great choice for anyone. I would not recommend it to those new to programming or Python, as it can be a little tricky to get used to.
Read Maike Holthuijzen's full review
David Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2018

PyCharm for Big Data Analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PyCharm is being used by the Business Intelligence department because Python is their language used for big data analytics. We needed a comprehensive IDE for Python in order to utilize good debugging tools and plugin managers, and we needed a one-stop-shop to take care of all of the Python dependencies including Anaconda.
  • Debugging tools are great, and coming from experience with other IDEs, this was a breeze and was absolutely needed.
  • Switching Python versions easily from 2.x-2.x whenever we needed.
  • The package manager was great, and I'm very visual and appreciate good UIs that let me see what I have installed and manage them.
  • The easily added scratch pads are great, especially if I don't want to make another project to try a simple snippet.
  • You can't fire it up on a big project and expect to get right into the game. PyCharm has to scan everything every time it runs, which can take time and is very annoying.
  • If you have many versions of Python, it can take some fiddling to get PyCharm to recognize them all in the proper order.
It's great for data analytics due to the debugging tools allowing you to step into any part of your process. It worked well with Anaconda and we could visually inspect data frames and how they were evolving with our functions.
Read David Crawford's full review

About PyCharm

PyCharm is a Python IDE which also contains static code testing capabilities.

PyCharm Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No