Skip to main content
TrustRadius

Overview

What is PyCharm?

According to the vendor, PyCharm is an extensive Integrated Development Environment (IDE) specifically designed for Python developers. Its arsenal includes intelligent code completion, error detection, and rapid problem-solving features, all of which aim to bolster efficiency. The product endeavors to support programmers in composing…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

PyCharm, a widely used IDE for Python development, has gained recognition from various users and organizations for its versatility and …
Continue reading

PyCharm for Python

9 out of 10
August 16, 2021
Incentivized
I use PyCharm professional edition mainly for my school work and some office work to program in python for data science and other needs. …
Continue reading

Extensive Python IDE

9 out of 10
March 11, 2020
Incentivized
It is used by several departments in the organization to develop Web applications, and machine learning algorithms/pipelines. For the case …
Continue reading

PyCharm

9 out of 10
February 22, 2020
Incentivized
We use it for software development. It is used only by the Engineering dept and a few folks from other departments who code regularly. It …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

For Individuals

$99

On Premise
per year per user

All Products Pack for Organizations

$249

On Premise
per year per user

All Products Pack for Individuals

$289

On Premise
per year per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.jetbrains.com/store/#person…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $9.90 per month per user
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Hotel Management System Project in Phyton on JetBrains Pycharm IDE live demo with code all informati

YouTube

Python : Pycharm Introduction and Demo

YouTube

4.3 PyCharm Inspect Demo

YouTube

13.4.2020 - Pycharm Installation demo

YouTube

PyCharm debug DF Extensions

YouTube

Lecture#1 Blockchain Demo using Python in Pycharm Urdu/Hindi

YouTube
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is PyCharm?

According to the vendor, PyCharm is an extensive Integrated Development Environment (IDE) specifically designed for Python developers. Its arsenal includes intelligent code completion, error detection, and rapid problem-solving features, all of which aim to bolster efficiency. The product endeavors to support programmers in composing orderly and easily maintainable code by offering PEP8 checks, testing assistance, intelligent refactorings, and inspections. Moreover, it caters to web development frameworks like Django and Flask by providing framework-specific aid. The vendor asserts that PyCharm is suitable for industries or professions engaged with Python programming. It also boasts remote development capabilities alongside integration with prominent tools such as IPython Notebook and Anaconda. According to them, industry experts highly favor PyCharm with a global recognition within numerous companies.

Framework-Specific Support

The product aims to offer a variety of features such as debugging capabilities for Django templates, integration with manage.py and appcfg.py tools, special autocompletion and navigation functionalities. Additionally, PyCharm provides extensive support for various Python web development frameworks, specific template languages, as well as JavaScript, CoffeeScript, TypeScript, HTML/CSS, AngularJS, Node.js, among others. This comprehensive framework-specific support facilitates efficient workflow within preferred frameworks and enhances the overall development process.

Intelligent Code Completion

The PyCharm tool includes an intelligent code completion feature that claims to provide developers with accurate suggestions as they write their code. This functionality is intended to increase productivity and reduce errors in software development projects. Leveraging its understanding of the codebase, PyCharm offers context-sensitive, schema-aware code completion which considers factors such as table structure and foreign keys in database-driven applications. It also supports multiple programming languages including Python, JavaScript, CoffeeScript, TypeScript, CSS, and popular template languages. Additionally, PyCharm provides time-saving features such as automatic code formatting and indentation, code snippets/live templates, braces matching, code commenting capabilities, and autocompletion with type inference. Overall, the product aims to simplify the coding process for developers through its extensive intelligent code completion capabilities.

Remote Development Capabilities

PyCharm offers a unified user interface (UI) for version control systems, including Git, SVN, and Mercurial, with the goal of improving efficiency in full-stack development. The product enables developers to streamline remote deployments to virtual machines or remote hosts by integrating Vagrant and Docker infrastructure management capabilities. Additionally, PyCharm provides a comprehensive suite of tools such as an integrated debugger, test runner, Python profiler, built-in terminal, integration with major version control system (VCS) and database tools, support for remote interpreters via an integrated SSH terminal, and seamless integration with Docker and Vagrant for running and debugging local code in remote or container environments. These features facilitate effortless project configuration using SFTP or FTP scenarios for deployment while also enabling IDE-based terminal access to remote systems via SSH. Overall, PyCharm's functionality around VCS, Deployment, and Remote Development significantly contributes to enhancing developer productivity.

SQL Support

The product offers features such as editing tables and schemas, refactoring capabilities, import/export functionalities, and more. Its main objective is to improve productivity by providing direct access to popular SQL databases like Oracle, SQL Server, PostgreSQL, MySQL, etc., from the integrated development environment (IDE). It assists users in editing SQL code, executing queries, browsing data, and modifying schemas. The tool enables seamless data movement into and out of databases using formats like CSV/JSON/XML or through programming-based Data Extractor utilities. PyCharm Professional also incorporates intelligent code editor functions for integrating SQL with Python strings. Autocomplete functionality is available for both SQL commands and schema definitions of the specified datasource. Visualizing database objects organized within folders by schemas is supported as well. The tool's user-friendly interface facilitates adding/editing tables, columns, indexes, constraints, etc. Additionally, it supports introspection of shared databases along with their contents while considering any datashares associated with these databases.

PyCharm Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

PyCharm starts at $9.9.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.3.

The most common users of PyCharm are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(209)
Loading...

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 38)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
August 27, 2022

My review on PyChram

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use PyCharm for doing machine learning experiments and quickly writing task-specific scripts in python, it is very useful when we want to perform multiple experiments with minor changes as it is very fast to do code changes and run experiments in PyCharm because it gives us useful suggestions whenever we need them.
  • Good code completion suggestions.
  • Better git support.
  • Easy to create virtual environments.
  • It will be better if Jupyter Notebook can be integrated with it.
  • Some ready-made frequently used python code can be provided for quickly doing machine learning experiments.
  • Git support can be improved.
It's easy to create virtual environments and install packages for different projects as we may need project-specific packages for doing our experiments, also it's easy to see what changes we have made and create pull requests faster. But sometimes we want some light python editor like Jupiter notebook as PyCharm is relatively heavier, also Jupiter notebooks are a good option when we need to run remote code on local machines.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PyCharm is used as an Integrated Development Environment (IDE) for Python code. We have close to a hundred python micro-services. These micro-services are quite complicated with millions of lines of code. We tried many IDE(s) however none of those was able to handle the complicated services we have. PyCharm makes it quite easy to develop, refactor, test, and maintain the Python code. Managing different virtual environments is very easy with PyCharm as well. Built-in version control tools help with the day-to-day task of comparing/merging. Above all, it has increased developer productivity significantly.
  • Manage Python virtual environments
  • Easy development of Python code, refactoring, and auto-indentation
  • Integration with Docker
  • Integration with GitLab and Git
  • PyCharm text editor automatically inserts whitespace at the end of each line which can cause issues when doing text comparisons.
  • The package requirement checker and installer does not work well all the time and can be improved
  • Integration with GitLab pipelines can be made better.
PyCharm is an excellent IDE that helps with increasing developer productivity by abstracting the complexities of Python development from developers. It is suitable for the development of Python micro-services using frameworks like Flask/Django. It allows developers to develop/re-factor/test and deploy the micro-services. It is quite suitable for the development of small-large Python projects with more than 2 Python files. Although I can confidently recommend PyCharm for any team, it would not be suitable for writing independent (isolated) scripts. There are other tools available to solve that problem
Avinash Saklani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Pycharm is used for Python Development. It was my first ever IDE that I started using for my Python, Machine Learning Projects and it's been the easiest IDE I find using till now. It has a simple User Interface to understand and is very beginner friendly. It can be installed on any Operating System that you use. From a Frontend Developer's perspective if you use Django Framework then PyCharm is the best tool for you as it supports many additional packages to work on. The Code Playground is very interactive and has many features like Code Coloring, auto-completion, etc. Its saves a lot of time for debugging the code too.
  • Auto Code Completion
  • Easy debugging Tools
  • Fast and Reliable
  • Errors are not clearly stated
  • Launch of Application is slow
  • It consumes a lot of memory
The best thing about PyCharm is that it is simple to use which makes it beginner-friendly. It is interactive and has many features like auto-completion of code and suggestions. The programmer feels very convenient and comfortable working on a project which is bug-free. It also provides add-ons or plugins that make you more productive which is a great advantage.
Jonathan Warren | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
This environment was selected for use by the back-end software developers at Strata, developing an AWS application. It was selected because of its versatility and ability to effortlessly synthesize all the project files and software relationships, and its flexibility for working in different development environments, user permission levels, etc. It is a full-featured development suite!
  • Synthesizes large projects (lots of files, references, etc.)
  • Provides code testing, stop points, and integration with venvs
  • Excellent cross-referencing functionality for tracking variables and workflows
  • Allows nearly all development work to be contained within its environment
  • Can run pretty slow on older hardware
  • Feature-dense - hard to know how to unlock value immediately, big learning curve
  • Somewhat confusing git integration - merging is very confusing
PyCharm is a great tool, and once you start to learn how to leverage its features for your daily activities and testing, it simply becomes more and more indispensable. It's a very well-designed, fully-featured environment available for every major OS, and would be my first choice for any large-scale development project. However, if working with single files, this environment is likely overkill.
August 16, 2021

PyCharm for Python

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use PyCharm professional edition mainly for my school work and some office work to program in python for data science and other needs. It's a great idea from Jetbrains it seems to be built on Eclipse from the look and feel of it. I think it's like Eclipse on steroids.
  • unit testing
  • great shortcuts
  • build
I think python programs can best be written and managed in PyCharm. As part of my school work, I use PyCharm extensively when I am not using Jupyter notebooks. We can manage packages and unit the code easily from PyCharm.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Most of the Python Developers across my organization and Data Scientists use Pycharm as Integrated Development Environment for developing python abased applications. It has so many built-in functionalities that make developer life a lot easier.
  • Very intuitive and Simple IDE for developers.
  • So many plugins are available and are free to use which improves the productivity.
  • Inbuilt virtual environment creation makes dependency management very easy.
  • Terminal is inbuilt and again improves the productivity.
  • Source control management is baked in to easily resolve any code conflicts.
  • Some time add ons don't work as expected.
  • It takes up lot of memory when 2 or more projects are open at the same time.
  • Setting up proxies is not straight forward.
  • Most of the features in paid version are now available in VS code for free.
It improves the productivity of developers when writing code for application development. The tool is intuitive and is packed with very powerful features that makes developer life so easy. Many available themes and colors make it perfect to distinguish small nuances of code. It clearly shows errors and helps fix those with recommendations. Lot of add ons again make it perfect for python developers.
Improveme[n]ts:
Free version has most of the features but not all. VS code is free and offers more features.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PyCharm is used by de DevOps and Data Statistics department as an IDE for Python. Usually, different people across an organization use different IDEs according to their needs. Thanks to PyCharm we can all use the same IDE, and it's always good to have a unified platform in a company.
  • It's really intuitive and easy to use
  • It's easy to switch between versions of Python, which is something pretty useful in this language
  • The syntax highlights help us when writing code, making our time more efficient
  • Even though it is meant for Python, it works really well with other languages, which makes it a very versatile tool.
  • It can be a little slow to startup
  • It's expensive for amateur work, so if you are a freelancer DevOp this probably won't be affordable
Even considering its cons (which aren't much,) you won't find any IDE that works as good as this one with Python. Considering this is a language that is growing faster all the time, investing in this could be a great opportunity to make things easier for your developers, especially when working with Data Analytics.
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PyCharm is the default IDE to use for Python development in our company. Among other IntelliJ products, this turns out to be one of the most comfortable IDEs, with excellent plugin support, tooling, and look and feel. It serves as an excellent support tool to develop any kind of Python application, from backend applications through data science scripts to Python web apps.
  • Data science scripting.
  • Frontend development based on Python.
  • Community edition is, while quite usable, far behind the paid alternative. At least a basic database support would be nice.
Just as for a new intern, or for the experienced pro, this IDE is well suited for most programmers. With high customization options, or well designed default configurations, PyCharm is a must and a powerful tool if used right.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use PyCharm for all our Python development. It makes it easy to develop on an IDE, and managing a project becomes a simple task. Some tools, like interpreter selection, git versioning, auto complete, and debugging features are what makes it my IDE for anything related to Python.
  • Debugging
  • Auto complete
  • Git versioning
  • Interpreter selection
  • Very slow on initial load
  • Debugging takes time
  • Could be more lightweight
PyCharm is definitely useful if you have a team working and they want to collaborate on it. It is a very clean IDE and someone who wants a debugger while developing might definitely consider working on this IDE. It has an auto complete feature that eases the development as well. If you're looking for an IDE, PyCharm is the one.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Not everyone uses it. It is the individual's choice to use PyCharm IDE. It doesn't solve any business problems but helps the developer in Python development process.
  • Autocompletion and auto-suggestions
  • Code comparison
  • Spelling Correction
  • Language Injection
  • Improvements in dedugging console
  • More default themes
  • Fresh look and feel
If you extensively work on Python and are considering IDE/Editor to use then PyCharm is a good choice. Professional edition supports almost all Python frameworks, web development and database support, etc.
March 11, 2020

Extensive Python IDE

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is used by several departments in the organization to develop Web applications, and machine learning algorithms/pipelines. For the case of Web applications, it is used because it is a great IDE for web application with its built-in support for Django. And for the case of machine learning models/pipelines it is used because it conveniently allows to use SQL queries, so convenient that it recommends/fixes the query during the process of writing it.
  • Software development.
  • Debugging.
  • Code completion.
  • Git visualization.
  • Package management.
  • Python.
  • Its great and huge feature set comes at the cost of space, complexity and speed.
PyCharm is great for software development in Python, whether it's a Web/Django application or a machine learning model development/deployment. It has many awesome extra features such as auto code completion, data type illustration, git visualization, package management (pip), visualization and version management of code history. It's highly flexible in customization, too. For example, once as I was using NumPy, it recommended me to allow the scientific mode so it is as if PyCharm actually understands your needs and makes great recommendations. It has nice shortcuts, for example, CTRL + Q explains the pointed function. It contains a lot of plugins and themes, integrated web framework Django, interactive console and virtual environment. It's also great for students since PyCharm provides 1 year of student license for them.
February 28, 2020

Great IDE

Vahid Azizi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PyCharm is mostly used for data science and analytics.
  • Good tools for debugging
  • Easy package searching and installation
  • Easy to learn
  • It is not lightweight
  • Expensive
  • Rendering the notebook is frustrating
PyCharm is good for debugging, but it is heavy when it starts to load. Some times even it can take 3-4 minutes to be loaded. Overall, I think this is a powerful IDE with a wide variety of useful tools.
February 28, 2020

Best IDE tool for Python

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use PyCharm as an Integration development environment tool using python as a programming language. Most of our organization, whoever is working on python, prefers to use PyCharm due to its ease of installation and ease of use. The suggestions that PyCharm provides is one of the best and helps the developer's time. Packages and plugins installation is also made easy with its default settings, thereby making the developers work easily.
  • Default indentation picks up, which helps developers a lot as most of them (who are new to Python) makes an error while creating a method, using a loop or such thing.
  • Switch between one project to the other is done very easily using Pycharm when compared with other tools.
  • Syntax highlighting and printing different colors for a method, variable, code, and comment also helps in concluding what is what.
  • One can create a java file, can connect to DB, can connect to different servers with Unix, and can also create an automation framework using a robotic framework, which in turn makes it an RPA tool.
  • Light and dark theme also helps a lot while working at late nights and during the daytime.
  • Copy-paste does not work correctly. The default printing is in the form of Insert. I always need to press the enter button to come out of the insert mode and also have to right-click and select copy or paste instead of default CNTRL c and CNTRL V. It is working good for some others in the team, and I am not able to fix this.
  • Too much of underlining the code considering negligible errors make the code look bad.
  • Auto suggestions sometimes does not work as expected.
  • Perfect Integration development environment tool for python as the language
  • The best tool for robotic framework automation.
  • Bash and markdown support is also available.
  • PyCharm helps a lot with version control. The version control helps in Progressively developing the code while committing it.
  • Supports most of the popular web technologies
  • Scenarios where it is less appropriate:
  • Copy-paste does not work and makes it a problem.
  • More resource and memory usage
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PyCharm is used when developing code in Python across the company. We have Python developers mostly as data devs and data scientists, and all of them use PyCharm to gain velocity in development and remove boilerplate code. It helps to develop fast and provides important help while coding.
  • Code hints.
  • Large plugins marketplace.
  • Heavy on machine resources.
  • Ultimate license is not cheap.
The best IDE for Python development. It provides many helpful tips and tricks while coding and help saving time. Easy on debugging and testing your code. Pricy ultimate license.
February 22, 2020

PyCharm

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for software development. It is used only by the Engineering dept and a few folks from other departments who code regularly. It is used for product development.
  • Searching files
  • Search content inside files
  • Shortcuts for navigation
  • Auto re-load
Fast development due to a lot of shortcuts. It can make life easy for a programmer. It can have issues with opening multiple PyCharm apps as it takes a lot of your ram memory.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use PyCharm to write Python codes for our desktop applications. These desktop applications are built primarily to automate processes for the Water Engineering and Bridge Engineering teams.
  • Lot of plug-ins.
  • Huge community.
  • Slightly bulky.
  • Pro version is tad expensive.
Excellent for big data projects because it supports some of the widely used scientific libraries for Python — NumPy, Anaconda and Metplotlib. PyCharm makes it easier for programmers to write various web applications in Python supporting widely used web technologies like HTML, CSS, JavaScript, etc. Debugging of Python scripts on PyCharm is a bit cumbersome especially when there are a lot of lines of code.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I currently use PyCharm for the development of Machine Learning solutions. I use it for the preprocessing of datasets, implementation of algorithms, and API development. As Python is the primary language of use for ML development, Pycharm is a natural choice.
  • Machine Learning
  • Data Processing
  • Selection of virtual environment seems a little janky
  • Access to library code needs more transparency - some seem available to browse, some don't.
For ML or data munging prototyping or even application development, PyCharm is my go-to IDE. It would be less appropriate for the development of other languages like TypeScript or node. Some users may prefer a more lightweight IDE.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PyCharm is currently being used by our development group in our department. It's a self-explanatory IDE perfectly suited for Python.
  • Python debugging feature is better than what we were using in the past.
  • Integrates well with Git.
  • Memory consumption can be high at times.
  • Can be a bit heavy at times.
We have an ETL tool which is integrated in Python. As a dev group we can easily write our Python functions and test them before deploying to the ETL process.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it to write scripts, and all of us use it. You do not even have to go the terminal. You can run the script directly from PyCharm. It helps a lot with debugging, and suggests so many tricks. It also helps developers to follow scripting standards like PEP 8. It's a really good product, and I definitely recommend it.
  • You can debug easily.
  • We can execute code directly from PyCharm.
  • It also can install packages.
  • It gives suggestions while scripting.
  • It can commit code on Git through PyCharm.
  • I don't see any issues whatsoever.
It has made scripting very easy. It suggests all the scripting tricks. It has also made the code checking in process very easy. Debugging is easy, and package installation is effortless.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I am using the PyCharm Community version. I've been working with this version for a few years and in several companies, I've been through and had the need to develop some application or maintain.
  • Connectivity with various databases, to perform queries in the IDE itself.
  • Integration with major version controllers. Performing all commands in the IDE itself.
  • Quickly and conveniently install, update and remove plugins in the IDE itself using the repositories.
  • Real-time coding verification to warn of misuse of methods and/or functions.
  • Process of searching for files by name or by source code snippets.
  • Access to files that refer to their encoding as a native file that contains one class declaration being used in another by clicking on the class name, for example.
  • The process of upgrading IDE versions can be improved for the Linux environment as we need to download a new version and use it. This does not happen when it works on Windows.
  • Failure to learn to learn all the features of the IDE, making the most of all its functions. At least I didn't find this description.
  • The value of the full version is very expensive, thinking about the location I am in.
  • These new versions use a lot of machine feature. Java consuming a lot of memory.
When I need to change something punctual I prefer to open the file in a text editor since the IDE is very heavy and to execute it would take some time. It is very suitable for correcting multiple files at the same time using the find and replace function on files. And do all version control without having to go to terminals or run external applications.
November 16, 2019

Best Python IDE

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The entire Python development team uses PyCharm as the primary IDE for developing more complex and modularized projects, focusing on higher productivity as it is a robust IDE with many features and practicalities.
  • Support for multiple frameworks.
  • You can easily manage virtual environments, including choosing different instances of Python.
  • Embedded package manager (pip).
  • Pricing is too high.
  • In the community edition lack of framework support.
For Python developers PyCharm is the best option, it is an IDE that integrates all the needs for projects of various frameworks. You have handy features to send commands to the terminal, access its database (view and make changes), run your code and debug simply. But it is an IDE that requires a lot of RAM, besides for simpler tasks like scripts it is better to use IDLE.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Pycharm is an excellent IDE for python programming used across the company. It helps programmers to write robust python code rapidly. It has a plethora of unique and useful features that set it apart from competitors and make it an irreplaceable part of a python coders' set of tools.
  • Auto code-complete suggestions are very useful.
  • Debugging breakpoints enable quick debug.
  • integrated python interpreter allows one to test code immediately.
  • The IDE project environment setup is not intuitive and can be difficult for a naive user.
  • It does not have good integration with Jupyter notebooks.
  • The integrated python interpreter runs in a virtual environment which needs to be maintained separately when using new imports .
It is very well suited for Python projects with multiple files and folders, and it has a built-in project explorer and the whole environment is project oriented. It is not recommended for single file projects due to the project setup overhead.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
PyCharm is being used as the primary editor for Python code on my data and analytics team. I introduced this tool a while back, and it has been rapidly adopted as the Go-To integrated development environment for running Python scripts in a scalable format. The business problems it is solving primarily revolves around developing Python programs for automating and running different types of tests in a Python virtual environment.
  • Integrated development environment.
  • Python.
  • Program debugging.
  • It has a complex interface.
  • Virtual environment management.
  • Pricing.
PyCharm is a great tool that should be used when writing and debugging Python programs. It has great package management capabilities, but when you have to multiple virtual environments, it gets slightly complicated at times. I think this is a great integrated development environment that should serve well for local development and then as a facet to push changes to staging and production environments.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Pycharm is being used by the data engineering team at our organization. Other teams may be using it, each team makes this decision independently.
  • Really easy to navigate to files and code within the project.
  • Embedded terminal is very convenient.
  • Easy refactoring.
  • Takes up a lot of system resources.
  • Could do with better SQL support (SQL server).
It is well suited for writing Python code and maintaining coding standards by sharing code style settings, which is something that isn't so easy in Sublimetext. The embedded terminal ensures that you don't need to switch windows to run your scripts. Very easy to navigate to different files, search in code throughout the project, find and replace, navigate to function definitions, etc. It does, however, eat up a lot of resources and support for other languages (SQL, Javascript) is limited.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use PyCharm every day within my team, and it's being used across the whole organization. We have our project based on Python for scheduling Airflow jobs and so far I've PyCharm best for Python projects and Django frameworks. Python always has these formatting and syntax issues while you're coding, but in PyCharm you don't have to worry about anything. It's being used by other teams for Python flask framework/full stack development.
  • Auto completion which is great for Python projects.
  • Shows errors on the fly.
  • Exploring the codes in different modules.
  • Fixing of code errors is easy.
  • A lot of keyboard shortcuts to jump to different sections of code, find/replace things in file whole module or path.
  • Paid version is needed to better support HTML/Javascript.
  • Programming in R is not fully supported.
  • It's a bit more bulky then other IDE's but I guess that's needed for complete software development.
I think it's well suited if you're working for Python modules/projects, Django frameworks, or Python flask frameworks. It might be a bit annoying using PyCharm for HTML/Javascript/R, unless you've been paying for the premium version.
Return to navigation