PyCharm Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
92 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Extensive Python IDE

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PyCharm is probably the best IDE for Python, whether it is Web or Machine Learning as in the cases I witnessed so far. It has much variety in terms of functionality, such as auto code completion, data type illustration, git visualization, package management (pip), code history visualization, SQL query recommendation, mode recommendation according to imported libraries, easier debugging, lots of plugins, integrated web framework Django, interactive console and virtual environment. All these lead to faster and more convenient software development and these are the reasons I prefer PyCharm.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Best IDE tool for Python

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PyCharm is the best tool to switch between different projects. One can connect to various technologies at a time. Package and plugin installation is easy. Dark and light mode helps in working according to the mood. One can extend it to IntelliJ, depending on the need for custom development. Version control can also be done easily when compared to that of other tools.
Read this authenticated review
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Best editor for Python

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Simply one of the best IDE's of our time. It has a lot of features, a big user base, and a professional developer team behind it. It simply surpasses most of its competitors, as there are not too many Python-specialized IDEs anyway.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Diego Pacheco | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Everything a developer needs in one place

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PyCharm has all the features that ACIM software has, such as version control, real-time coding correction, misuse, and documentation. Now what has determined is the integration of this IDE with features that we would normally have to perform in external applications like BD Clients, GIT, Github, plugin installation. All this in a practical and fast way.
Read Diego Pacheco's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

PyCharm is my go-to IDE for Python prototyping and development.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used Sublime, VSCode, Wing IDE, Visual Studio, IntelliJ, WebStorm. For Java development, Intellij is best - being built by the same company as PyCharm it provides a helpful familiarity. The same can be said for WebStorm, although more lightweight IDEs are usually preferred, especially if we like having the team on the same IDE. Visual Studio is far too bulky and cumbersome. Sublime and VSCode are great when I project involve multiple languages.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Amazing scripting software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Debugging, code execution, package installation, standard following, and giving hints for better and more efficient code. All of these are my observations and differences between the two.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

Best Python IDE

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

All other IDEs do not have as many tools and practicalities as PyCharm has. To run code or manage your virtual environments sometimes you need to have multiple terminals or other applications open, when with PyCharm all this integration is present in itself.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Pycharm charms you by its plethora of features

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Pycharm works great for multi-file projects that span across directories thanks to its intuitive UI and easy navigation. It has many integrated features like built-in support for github etc. that let users do multiple related tasks from within the IDE itself. This acts as a huge time saver and results in quick development.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

Full service python IDE that makes python coding easier

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Compared to bare bones editors like Sublime and Notepad++, Pycharm is a full-service IDE with all the bells and whistles that makes python coding easy and convenient. There is no need to use the terminal or Mac finder to navigate to different files or use CMD+F to find where a function is defined. All this can be done from within PyCharm which saves time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 27, 2019

PyCharm - Easy Life for Python Programmers.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I've used IntelliJ with Python extensions in past for working in Python but it's not best suited for that it doesn't give all the flexibility for Python projects like auto-indentation for Python code. Its paid version is a bit cheaper than IntelliJ. PyCharm offers integration of fancy things like Jupyter notebook, Docker, Conda which are really great features.
Read this authenticated review
Nitin Pasumarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

PyCharm - A feature rich IDE for Python and Web Development

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

  1. Editors like Sublime and VS Code are light weight and many addons are community developed. They are general purpose unlike PyCharm
  2. IntelliJ is useful for JVM based developed including Scala
  3. Eclipse is popular for Java development
Read Nitin Pasumarthy's full review
Leah Jakaitis | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Exemplary IDE for Python Development

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PyCharm is the only Python IDE I've used - all my prior experience was with text editors like Sublime, Notepad++, Atom, etc. The only other IDE I've used is RStudio, which has been fairly limited to small, individual projects. PyCharm's capabilities, stability, integration/packages, and code assistance all make it an excellent decision for Python development. It integrates with most common databases, which in turn makes working with big data sets much easier/straightforward within the development console. Definitely the industry standard as an IDE for Python dev.
Read Leah Jakaitis's full review
Maike Holthuijzen | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2018

One of the best Python IDEs out there

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I used to use Enthought Canopy, but I prefer Pycharm. I like the appearance of Pycharm much more, and I personally feel that it is more intuitive than Enthought Canopy. Plus, I have had great experiences with the JetBrains support team. When I had issues with installation, I received a response to my email within a day.
Read Maike Holthuijzen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2019

Instructional/learning IDE

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Other options we have used are Wing IDE, Pyscriptor, and PyDev. They all are great options but I would recommend them for more advanced users that are not necessarily just trying to learn the language.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2019

A powerful and good-looking IDE for Python

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Eclipse is one of the commonly used alternative IDEs for Python programming language. It's a matter of preference whether to choose PyCharm or Eclipse. However, there is also an IDE called Spyder which is, for example, distributed along with the Anaconda Environment. It enables users to run code by chunks. Its environment also resembles that of RStudio. So, if one has been working with R most of the time, then using Spyder is pretty much intuitive, which, one the other hand, cannot be said regarding PyCharm.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2018

PyCharm - Great IDE for Automation and Data Work

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

PyCharm was selected due to it's first class treatment of Python. Visual Studio is more general "Do everything" IDE which contains a lot of features our team didn't need. PyCharm strikes the balance of power and complexity.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2018

Py-Charm your developers with this amazing IDE!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

What differentiates PyCharm from other products is that it is built for a particular language (Python) and works great while doing it, without losing efficiency with the rest of languages. It's simple, easy to use, fast and efficient, what else could you need?
Read this authenticated review
Paolo De Grazia | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 18, 2018

Works like a Py-Charm! Look no further for the best Python IDE!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

I needed a Python dedicated solution Pycharm is the best suited, giving no hassle in setting up and providing an off the shelf solution for python development. Using Eclipse is cumbersome, some additional plugins must be installed and configured
Read Paolo De Grazia's full review
David Crawford | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2018

PyCharm for Big Data Analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

There isn't a ton of great competition for PyCharm, aside from text editors. Atom came closest to functionality but required a lot of plugins to be added, and it's not stable when interacting with massive data frames. A full Python IDE with commercial support was what we needed, and most of the tools out there couldn't offer a good experience, good support, or a well-made tool.
Read David Crawford's full review

About PyCharm

PyCharm is a Python IDE which also contains static code testing capabilities.

PyCharm Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No