TrustRadius
Quality Center (formerly HP Quality Center) is a quality and test management option acquired by Micro Focus from Hewlett-Packard Enterprise.Comprehensive Cloud-based ALM that Feels a Bit OutdatedWe use HP Quality Center across the entire organization to manage defects and roll out enhancements. We track enhancement backlogs in QC by prioritizing, assigning responsibility, estimating level of effort and gathering user stories/requirements. We're working to make it a more robust regression testing solution by organizing our test plans better for repetitive use.,Easy to track defects within our Agile release cycle passing them from developers to project managers to the testing team Gives us visibility into previous release cycles and plan our future iterations Should give us the ability to make regression testing easier,Since all of our teams use HP Quality Center we're forced to use fields and page layouts that don't make any sense to our team. It feels very jerry-rigged sometimes and we don't have flexibility to add our own fields since there's no user permissions/roles to control what different groups of people should see. Our contractors don't have licenses to use HP Quality Center and the cost makes it a prohibitive option so we have to duplicate enter all of our items into SharePoint so our contractors can see. The design is rather dated and its clunky to navigate. On newer systems the resolution is extremely small and you have to force IE into legacy mode. This product could really use a new coat of paint.,7,We have much better visibility into the progress of our monthly releases and can get ahead of risks so we can launch releases on time whether its by applying more resources or scaling back a release. It helps us stay on the same page and document our work within items. Our centralized team that manages quality control testing helps us manage release processes since all of their work is within HP Quality Center.,JIRA SoftwareQuality Center - Core of Defect trackingQuality Center has been used by our organization for years for software testing. It is used by different departments, but not all, as different software requirements cater to different needs. Some of our projects follow Agile while some follow a waterfall strategy. Quality Center is not fully suitable with Agile. It is still being used as it is our primary tool. Quality Center is more useful when there is a standard waterfall practice. It helps to keep defect count, defect analysis, reporting, Tests bed management and acts as a primary tool for software certification.,It does particularly well to track defects and generate customized reports Test scripts upload and requirement mapping can be done on this platform. This helps the developer understand exactly where the requirement is for a defect. It has a role based model that lets developers do certain actions, and testers can play their own. You can use it in the cloud,Quality Center has a lot of room for improvement for reporting and analysis. Because it does not provide crystal clear reports by itself, we have a separate team that creates dashboards from Quality Center data. Some basic business and analytic reports should be available by default that can be published on the intranet so that anyone can view them. The software mandates a user to login and create reports, which is not practical for anyone in senior management. Quality Center is run as a web based EXE tool. It is appreciable how it has been implemented, but there is a little lag because of this. It does not let a user save a defect template. This results in tremendous redundancy of work. In a large scale organization, we are creating tools to minimize these efforts. A shortcut to save multiple defect templates helps testers avoid redundancy and focus on their own business functions.,7,Quality Center has greatly helped and done its own job in evaluating and reporting defects. It has helped in tracking some of the oldest issues logged and continued to keep track of them. This is an excellent feature and has great database capabilities. This has helped us reduce defects and spend any invaluable efforts in duplicate work. It has had a negative impact when it comes to logging defects in quantity. It does not have a mechanism to save defect templates. This takes a lot of time of testers and they tend to lose focus. It sometimes gets frustrating and the team tends to sit on defects and log them at the end of the day. This may cause them to forget some of the issues. Quality center does a great job for automation tests. It can be used in integration with QTP and SEE Test to run the tests.,Micro Focus LoadRunner (formerly HP LoadRunner), JIRA Software, Rallybound, Bugzilla and Umantis,Azure Search, Google Analytics, Bugzilla, Rallybound, Micro Focus LoadRunner (formerly HP LoadRunner)HP Quality Center ReviewIt is being used across the whole organization/multiple departments. It helps track defects and projects effectively.,Defect lifecycle/tracking. Script execution uniquely by projects. Ability to integrate with Microsoft Excel and email clients. Dashboard/reporting/SQL services.,Reporting - there is no network-based easy to use reporting process in QC. We had to build an internal website for this. Bug analysis - having an AI to understand bug patterns/similar bugs would be very helpful. Inherit queries like getting and reporting bugs that were logged the same day or fixed on a given day would help.,7,Positive impact as it keeps projects organized. Negative - it sometimes becomes an overhead if we are tracking smaller projects and changes. Customized reports are an integral part of an organization. We cant expect that QC is used at every level in an organization. It needs to have a reporting for users who cant access QC in an organization in a web format so that anyone can access in real-time. Add an option to copy/clone defects or store defect templates to prevent duplicate efforts.,See test and Perfecto Mobile,CA Agile Central (formerly Rally), IBM Rational ClearCase, JIRA SoftwareHP Quality center - The reality in IT industryIt is being used by my entire organization as a tool to manage testing and to log the defects and bugs that are found in our applications. It allows us to keep track of various scenarios used by testers for testing under various environments and also to log the results. It also provides us with enough metrics and other reports that enable us timely management of the defects and the various stages in a defect lifecycle.,It is an excellent tool to manage defects - and lets us see all the defects logged for that application. It has provisions to enter detailed test scenarios that can be listed to be run on the test labs. It has various metrics and reports that enable the entire team to keep an eye on the various stages of the defect lifecycle. It is also synced to another project planning tool of this organization called the RTC.,It could have better dashboard views of defects. The reverse sync between RTC and quality center could be a new area to explore. A new functionality to add the incidents and other walk-up tickets that are raised during the building of an application.,8,Positive impact - have been always been able to track the defect SLAs and resolve them in a timely fashion and have the business objectives met on time. Negative impact - it could have development tasks added to meet the SLAs on the development and other project deadlines. Negative impact - it does not flexibly encourage various methods of software development - like agile and waterfall and hybrid.,IBM Rational Team Concert,IBM Rational Team Concert, HP Quality Center, ServiceNow,Reports Filters Views,Assigned to team Breaking of filters Building new filters,7HP Quality Center is very very good for tracking defects - very fast and compactWe use HP Quality Control (QC) for tracking defects in our agile software development life cycle (SDLC) process. The global tech department is using it - unfortunately they are now deciding to get rid of QC and use JIRA only. I will explain why and why it’s a bad idea.,HP QC is not fancy - it takes seconds to load - it is fast and immediate. If I am on a call with a business client and if I need to find something on QC - it does not waste seconds over a call. The filters are great - plus there are exports for pivots on Excel. I like the fact that everything about a defect is compacted on one screen - the summary, the descriptions, and comments. I don't need to scroll unless the comments and summary are too long (which is NOT normally the case).,I am not able to filter by word, so If I want to search for the word "Tier" in all the defects - I can't find it. I have to export, and filter it via Excel. I want to be able to hit the"Tab" button on the keyboard to go to the next field. I don't think this works effectively today. Also I want to be able to choose what fields should be required (or not required) when creating a new defect.,8,Keeps all defects in one place - searching a defect could take a long time. As I said - the compact design is very efficient. The speed of working on the app is very good - unlike a web application like JIRA.,JIRA Software,JIRA Software, iRise, Atlassian Confluence, WebEx Meetings
Unspecified
Quality Center (formerly HP Quality Center)
51 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Quality Center Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Quality Center
51 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 51 vetted Quality Center reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
November 09, 2018

Quality Center Review: "Comprehensive Cloud-based ALM that Feels a Bit Outdated"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HP Quality Center across the entire organization to manage defects and roll out enhancements. We track enhancement backlogs in QC by prioritizing, assigning responsibility, estimating level of effort and gathering user stories/requirements. We're working to make it a more robust regression testing solution by organizing our test plans better for repetitive use.
  • Easy to track defects within our Agile release cycle passing them from developers to project managers to the testing team
  • Gives us visibility into previous release cycles and plan our future iterations
  • Should give us the ability to make regression testing easier
  • Since all of our teams use HP Quality Center we're forced to use fields and page layouts that don't make any sense to our team. It feels very jerry-rigged sometimes and we don't have flexibility to add our own fields since there's no user permissions/roles to control what different groups of people should see.
  • Our contractors don't have licenses to use HP Quality Center and the cost makes it a prohibitive option so we have to duplicate enter all of our items into SharePoint so our contractors can see.
  • The design is rather dated and its clunky to navigate. On newer systems the resolution is extremely small and you have to force IE into legacy mode. This product could really use a new coat of paint.
HP Quality Center is a solid product for release management and testing. It's got a pretty singular focus which is great in that it does that one thing well and keeps everything in one ecosystem from conceptualization of a solution to rollout and future regression testing. It's just sorely in need of a remodel. The product is far from perfect or refined.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 17, 2018

Review: "Quality Center - Core of Defect tracking"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quality Center has been used by our organization for years for software testing. It is used by different departments, but not all, as different software requirements cater to different needs. Some of our projects follow Agile while some follow a waterfall strategy. Quality Center is not fully suitable with Agile. It is still being used as it is our primary tool. Quality Center is more useful when there is a standard waterfall practice. It helps to keep defect count, defect analysis, reporting, Tests bed management and acts as a primary tool for software certification.
  • It does particularly well to track defects and generate customized reports
  • Test scripts upload and requirement mapping can be done on this platform. This helps the developer understand exactly where the requirement is for a defect.
  • It has a role based model that lets developers do certain actions, and testers can play their own.
  • You can use it in the cloud
  • Quality Center has a lot of room for improvement for reporting and analysis. Because it does not provide crystal clear reports by itself, we have a separate team that creates dashboards from Quality Center data. Some basic business and analytic reports should be available by default that can be published on the intranet so that anyone can view them. The software mandates a user to login and create reports, which is not practical for anyone in senior management.
  • Quality Center is run as a web based EXE tool. It is appreciable how it has been implemented, but there is a little lag because of this.
  • It does not let a user save a defect template. This results in tremendous redundancy of work. In a large scale organization, we are creating tools to minimize these efforts. A shortcut to save multiple defect templates helps testers avoid redundancy and focus on their own business functions.
I would recommend Quality Center to track defects for anyone who wants to do a waterfall project and requires a very detailed defect /test analysis to be completed. It is less appropriate when someone is using Agile technology or an iterative model. For Agile, we have user stories and templates that are only suitable with other software like Rally. Unit testing is done at every level and requires a quick and ease with which defects can be logged. Quality center can take forever to achieve this. It is also less appropriate for a mobile project. The reason is that mobile projects require a totally different structure to log defects. There is also no AI that tells the user of any duplicate defects. Although this might sound very advanced, AI is becoming available slowly.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2018

"HP Quality Center Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization/multiple departments. It helps track defects and projects effectively.
  • Defect lifecycle/tracking.
  • Script execution uniquely by projects.
  • Ability to integrate with Microsoft Excel and email clients.
  • Dashboard/reporting/SQL services.
  • Reporting - there is no network-based easy to use reporting process in QC. We had to build an internal website for this.
  • Bug analysis - having an AI to understand bug patterns/similar bugs would be very helpful.
  • Inherit queries like getting and reporting bugs that were logged the same day or fixed on a given day would help.
HP is well suited when you are a part of large projects in a waterfall methodology. It is useful to track bugs, scripts, and execution status of projects.

It is less appropriate for Agile methodology as requirements are done in the form of user-stories. So, in that case, we would not be able to use this tool at all. Some reporting features require refinement and major changes. No bug learning/AI features. QC has a few bugs in itself when it comes to caps ON/OFF when searching for defects. That small improvement would help.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 06, 2017

Review: "HP Quality center - The reality in IT industry"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by my entire organization as a tool to manage testing and to log the defects and bugs that are found in our applications. It allows us to keep track of various scenarios used by testers for testing under various environments and also to log the results. It also provides us with enough metrics and other reports that enable us timely management of the defects and the various stages in a defect lifecycle.
  • It is an excellent tool to manage defects - and lets us see all the defects logged for that application.
  • It has provisions to enter detailed test scenarios that can be listed to be run on the test labs.
  • It has various metrics and reports that enable the entire team to keep an eye on the various stages of the defect lifecycle.
  • It is also synced to another project planning tool of this organization called the RTC.
  • It could have better dashboard views of defects.
  • The reverse sync between RTC and Quality Center could be a new area to explore.
  • A new functionality to add the incidents and other walk-up tickets that are raised during the building of an application.
I would suggest this tool for testing and the defect lifecycle. It could have a better way of managing the requirements of a project. Also if it has a way to track development then it would serve as a go-to tool from the start of a project through the implementation.
Read this authenticated review
Abbas Virji profile photo
April 14, 2016

Review: "HP Quality Center is very very good for tracking defects - very fast and compact"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use HP Quality Control (QC) for tracking defects in our agile software development life cycle (SDLC) process. The global tech department is using it - unfortunately they are now deciding to get rid of QC and use JIRA only. I will explain why and why it’s a bad idea.
  • HP QC is not fancy - it takes seconds to load - it is fast and immediate. If I am on a call with a business client and if I need to find something on QC - it does not waste seconds over a call.
  • The filters are great - plus there are exports for pivots on Excel.
  • I like the fact that everything about a defect is compacted on one screen - the summary, the descriptions, and comments. I don't need to scroll unless the comments and summary are too long (which is NOT normally the case).
  • I am not able to filter by word, so If I want to search for the word "Tier" in all the defects - I can't find it.
  • I have to export, and filter it via Excel.
  • I want to be able to hit the"Tab" button on the keyboard to go to the next field. I don't think this works effectively today.
  • Also I want to be able to choose what fields should be required (or not required) when creating a new defect.
One really strong reason for using HP Quality Control is - I am not sure how to describe this technically because it is something to do with the local laptop (desktop). I can open HP Quality Control without worrying about getting signed out from the actual production application.
Read Abbas Virji's full review
Brad Jennings profile photo
December 14, 2015

Quality Center Review: "Great Test Management Tool..."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HP Quality Center is used to store and execute test scripts. I am leading an effort to streamline our testing efforts, which includes integration to Worksoft and integration to SAP Solution Manager. The tool is the enterprise tool for our company. However, many groups that are using an agile methodology do not use the product.
  • Requirements Traceability
  • Integration with other tools
  • Reporting for testing
  • Pricing & Licensing
  • Support
  • User Management

HP Quality center is well suited for a traditional, waterfall methodology. It is also useful for large implementations where many applications and teams need to be involved. The requirements traceability feature works well, in conjunction with the reporting capabilities, to ensure testing is complete and successful.

HP Quality Center works well with SAP Solution Manager to help streamline testing efforts. It includes requirements traceability, change analysis and semi-automatic test set creation.

Read Brad Jennings's full review
John Berek profile photo
December 11, 2015

Review: "HP Quality Center/ALM Great Tool or Greatest Tool?"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use HP Quality Center for our internal testing and we configure QC/ALM for our clients. HP QC is a fully functional software lifecycle tool, but it is strongest in its test management capabilities. We further extend its functionality by adding on a custom layer of coding that enhances its features and brings advanced functionality to the tool.
  • Test Case and Run Management
  • Requirements Management
  • Release and Cycle Management
  • Defect Management
  • Flexibility
  • Interface
HP Quality Center is well suited to any company looking for a robust and full fledged application lifecycle management tool. Once extended by the tools that Tx3 Services provides, HP QC is an excellent choice for any company looking to control and track requirements, tests, runs, defects and more. It may be less appropriate for smaller companies who cannot afford the "Top-Shelf" software.
Read John Berek's full review
No photo available
May 27, 2016

Quality Center Review: "Test faster, test faster with HP QC"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HP Quality Center is being used for IT quality management of complex healthcare applications. It is used for managing requirements, tests, and business components for sales and enrollment applications.
  • It works well with Automated Unit testing. Test scripts can be written once and executed multiple times. This saves a lot of time otherwise spent in manual testing.
  • HP Quality center provides a concise way to write the requirements, create test cases, link them to requirements, create test sets and execute the tests, create defects and link them back to test cases and eventually to requirements, linking all the test assets (test cases, requirements and defects) on multiple levels to Releases and cycles.
  • It is possible to associate requirements with more than one release. This was particularly handy when we needed to move the requirement to another release or have to split the requirements across multiple releases.
  • Task tracking was a challenge, especially with the development community and integration with the development tool was difficult.
  • If we are creating a large number of test scripts, and storing it in QC, and using QC to kick off tests, then it's overkill and probably not worth the license fee.
  • HP QC defines relational database as supporting the relationship between test and test sets. These are primarily undocumented tables. The tests are not stored in a database, though, and so there is no rollback if Quality Center or QTP has problems. Cleanup is manual and depends on your knowledge of the disk directory structure and the database layout and table relationships.
It is good for a Windows operating system. You have to use a virtual machine for other operating systems.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 29, 2016

Quality Center Review: "Moment_of_Truth"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HP Quality Center is used for continuous integration, reporting, managing projects, and defect management purposes.
  • Great tool for project management and handling everything in one tool.
  • Great tool for reporting, documenting business requirement documents, managing test cases, and converting them for daily continuous integration.
  • Great tool for defect tracking alongside of project management and reporting makes it easier to handle one tool for everything.
  • Some more user friendly server navigation process and reporting can an area of improvement.
Well suited for a large corporation where everything can be managed in one tool. Handling projects is easier.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 15, 2015

Quality Center: "Basic HPQC review focussed on test documentation/report capabilities"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HP Quality Center was used to document test cases, track what versions of SW/HW test cases were run on, and to create test reports for both internal and external entities.
  • Easily create database for test cases.
  • Easily breaks down large tests into steps for better documentation and to easily reproduce tests from team member to team member.
  • Look/feel of tool was old - not sure what version was used in company, however, it had what seemed to be older Windows 98 type panels, icons, etc.
  • Test reports difficult to create.
  • Difficult to sort database by tester, owner, etc., - would be beneficial for scheduling/planning purposes.
HP Quality Center is well suited for documentation. It is less appropriate for test reports and planning test strategy for some products/releases.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 11, 2015

Quality Center Review: "HP QC - You can not go wrong with this!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HP Quality Center is used as one place for all test management activities. All the stages of test life cycle are covered. It includes documenting test plan, test cases, test scripts, requirement to test cases tractability matrix, test execution management as well as test defect management. Along with HP QC, we use HP QTP to manage all the test automation needs. It has helped us streamline the test process and help achieve satisfaction and joy for our clients by delivering quality products.
  • Test Plan Management
  • Test Case/ Script Management
  • Test Execution for automation and manual test cases
  • Defect Management
  • Traceability of test assets
  • Test Reporting
  • Remote access to HP QC is slow and can be looked at
  • Open architecture is a good feature but not very user friendly.
Good for Test Management where test team size is more than one person. It is helpful for any project which gives importance to quality of the product delivered to the client.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 11, 2015

Quality Center Review: "QC/ALM: Great Product, but understand your needs before choosing licensing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used HP QC/ALM primarily in the QA Department, although the business analysts and project managers leveraged information that was generated out of QC/ALM. We were still able to use all of the different modules though, as QA added all requirements to the Requirements Module.

As Royal Caribbean is a very large company with many verticals running simultaneously, it provided QA leads, managers, project managers and business stakeholders a one stop shop in understanding the progress being made of any of the projects happening that were in the QA cycle. Less time was used generating manual reports in spreadsheets and disseminating them via email by implementing the Dashboard module and making the dashboards available to all stakeholders so that they could at any time, at a glance, understand the status of any given project in QA.
  • One of the most important aspects of QA/ALM is the total trace-ability that it can perform: Test Case to Requirement, Requirement to Release, Cycle to Release. May products try to to this and in some cases accomplish it, but its usually at the standard level; Test Script to Requirement. They don't trace back to specific releases, or cycles within that release.
  • Multiple variations on a single test script: At RCL you don't just test a function one time. You need to test it multiple times to take into consideration different brands, locations and agency types. QC allows the user to write a single scripts, but add in variations that will, when imported into the Test Lab, creates multiple versions of that script that needs to be run, with each having its own variation and results, while only having to maintain a single when requirements or functions change.
  • Reporting is very flexible and allows the user to query just about anything they need to, which is very important when generating the dashboards for stakeholders. Different Stakeholders want to see different things, and this platform allows that to be done much easier the with spreadsheets of other products that are available in the marketplace.
  • Licenses: The license structure can be very confusing and very expensive if you don't understand your usage needs. They are also not very flexible so take extra time upfront understanding your needs as you will be stuck with that for the next year.
  • Support: I have used QC in some form or fashion since it was owned by Mercury, and over time the call in support has gotten worse and harder to use. 1st, the skill level of the different support specialists varies greatly. You may have to call back a few times before you get someone who really understand the problem and can assist you. It was not like this when it was still Mercury. Also, because the support is tied to your licenses again it makes it difficult to get help quickly, unless you want to spend LOTS of money. Again when it was Mercury I could call in, give them my company specifics and start getting support right away.
In small IT shops, the cost greatly outweighs the benefits. The same is to be said at a very large shop. A mid-sized company seems to be the sweet sport of HP QA/ALM.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 01, 2015

Quality Center: "'Quality' Center Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the software to create, edit and track test plans and test cases. We also upload requirements to HP Quality Center and attach them to the appropriate cases to ensure coverage and to ensure that they pass validation. HP Quality Center is also used for defect tracking purposes. It is a widely used tool by internal employees as well as external vendors.
  • Easy to use for defect creation and tracking from opening to close.
  • Easy to create test plans and test cases within the software.
  • Easy to pull status reports.
  • Easy to import and export test cases from Excel.
  • Clients running on IE will crash randomly.
  • No easy way to export cases from HP Quality Center Test Lab.
  • HP Quality Center runs slowly at times.
What is the main purpose of using the product? If it is going to be used for test plan, test case and defect creation, HP Quality Center is a good product to use. If you are looking more for report creation, this may not be the best product to use. This is a good tool to use if you have hundreds of test cases.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Centralized test management (12)
8.7
Manage test hosts and schedules (11)
8.0
Map tests to user stories (10)
5.6
Test execution reporting (11)
5.5
Defect management (13)
9.0

About Quality Center

Quality Center (formerly HP Quality Center) is a quality and test management option acquired by Micro Focus from Hewlett-Packard Enterprise.
Categories:  Test Management

Quality Center Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No