QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
390 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 95)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 11, 2020
Mariann Gerwig | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is the only finance program we use. Being able to create documents and templates allows us to bill directly within the program. Using Items we can do detail[ed] job costing. Being able to reconcile bank and credit cards by directly downloading the information from the financial institutions saves a lot of time.
  • Number of Vendors and Customers.
  • Ability to have several company files.
  • Batch Entry of bills.
  • being able to drill down from summary reports.
  • Being able to see the history of a transaction.
  • Warning you of double entry of invoice number, check numbers etc.
  • Would like the dollar amount to fill in when you are using items like it does when you are using expenses.
  • To be able to add items when using bank feed to jobs and items.
  • Be able to edit jobs as a sub account of a client after the job has been created.
  • Be able to import company letterhead as a template to be used for collections.
  • Work in Progress report.
You are able to set it up for a specific industry and it will fill in the most common[ly] used accounts. But you can actually modify it very eas[ily] to use in any industry.
We have experience[d] a large growth and it is seamless.
Since I have used the program for several years it was completed in less than one hour. However, it is easy to teach people that are doing simple AR and AP roles.
Read Mariann Gerwig's full review
November 11, 2020
Dwayne Witter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small organization supporting oil and gas operations throughout the Gulf of Mexico. Once we grew to two locations, I knew it was time for our accounting program to grow as well. Our issue centered around the management of inventory across multiple locations. I was also very concerned about the limited detail in our reporting.
  • We are able to quickly see our real-time inventory at each site and deliver just-in-time deliveries to our customers where they need it, when they need it.
  • Our reporting is now robust and paints the whole picture, helping in our decisions regarding cash management and future investments.
  • We are beginning to realize savings from accurate inventory movement and better control of Receivables and Payables.
  • Moving our accounts to new software, as expected, was painful. It involved a great number of resources and time to ensure accuracy.
  • Although robust, the reporting is not always intuitive. It takes time and effort to create reports specific to your individual needs. The "boxed" reports are thorough, but fairly generic. But, I suppose they have to be to meet the general needs of a wide and broad user base.
  • The program is fully featured, so, you can expect a long learning curve, especially when you roll it throughout the company at once.
I love the fact that I can access my data anywhere in the world! I can see inventory sales and orders, project future needs and most importantly, I have the data I need to negotiate better deals with our valued suppliers. Our customers are receiving better service more quickly than before, and our response time has improved because we don't have to guess about an in stock position. The Warehouse Manager app needs more functionality, but we're a small organization and I can understand the limits considering the intended users in larger organizations.
We've had to scale back due to COVID-19 impacts to our business, but we had better data to use when the tough decisions had to be made. We are rapidly serving our customers leading to robust sales in Q42020. We are better positioned to manage this growth now, and into 2021 because of our ability to see our company performance in new and exciting ways. I can't say enough about the clarity QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise has provided to our business. It gets better every week!
The training process was smooth and supported by our Accountant. I've been through this type of transition a few times and I expected (and planned for) the worst. Then COVID-19 hit. It was actually a blessing in disguise. By shutting our business down for a number of months, I was able to have my staff focused on the implementation while working from home. As a benefit, they were well experienced by the time we re-opened our doors!
Read Dwayne Witter's full review
December 05, 2020
Marybeth Jeffries | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is our accounting system. Encompasses inventory management, invoicing and reporting.
  • Inventory management.
  • Reporting.
  • Sales reporting.
  • Financial reporting.
  • Sales reporting.
  • Integration with Office 365.
Well suited to invoicing and Customer Management. We are able to invoice and stay in touch about payments.
Well suited to inventory management. Our inventory is key to our business success. QBE allows us to easily watch our levels.
Not well suited to sales commission reporting. This process takes us a long time every month to calculate.
Our business has grown and has been able to rely on QBE to support the invoicing, a/r and a/p functions. Invoicing never a problem. Reporting needs some help with regard to customized functions - we do not yet know how to use.
Set up process was easy. We moved over from Sage which was a clunky, slow set up process. QBE was easy, data integration was reliable. There was help if we needed it, everything went smoothly. We were able to start using the product right away and after 1 month left Sage completely.
Read Marybeth Jeffries's full review
November 19, 2020
Beau Sorensen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is currently being used as the accounting solution across our entire organization. We have accountants and data entry clerks who look through it and reconcile accounts, take care of bill payments, and handle electronic debits and credits through connections to our financial institutions. It handles our payroll, our accounts payable, and our financial metrics throughout the company. We consider it to be the single source of truth for our financial performance and profitability.
  • Solid basic reports on profit, loss, cash flow, and assets
  • Good structure for paying employees and handling deductions and other payroll functions
  • Solid AP functionality and good ability to handle multiple payment types, split transactions, and other needs
  • The software has gotten really slow over time as invoices are attached to reports.
  • Changes made to electronic payment filing have messed up managing electronic payrolls and necessitating additional steps and rights.
  • User management is a challenge.
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise occupies a bit of an interesting place in the QuickBooks family, with it being built for organizations that are too big for traditional QuickBooks, but that don't want or need to use the cloud functionality that they are using with QuickBooks online. As a result, it seems to make compromises on both ends that makes it an okay, but flawed, software for middle-sized organizations.
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise scales well with the growth in an organization, with an easy ability to change account structures and expand different aspects of the organization as it gets larger. Where it bogs down is when you add scanned images in. The capability is there, but even with a speedy hard drive, it slows things down dramatically.
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise was as simple to set up as could be. Granted, you have to input your starting data, including a chart of accounts, employees, vendors, pay accounts, and whatnot, but the actual setup was a breeze. A simple install program with just a few pieces of information and it took off on its own. Installing it on other machines and getting backups set up was similarly easy. This is the install experience that all software should aspire to.
If you're moving from another software, it's not as easy to import your data. QuickBooks does make data imports rather difficult, so as a result, we did a lot of hand-keying of information. While that was less than ideal, it was an expectation we had going into the implementation. As a result, we were very pleased with how things turned out.
Read Beau Sorensen's full review
November 11, 2020
Qumail Raza | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the software in whole organization. It addresses well the general trading and wholesale business. Although it does not address many general requirement[s], we are overall at [a] satisfactory level.
  • Advanced inventory.
  • Customized pricing.
  • Customized templates.
  • Users can see cost as well once we allow them inventory view access. We want them to see only inventory level/ stock, not the cost at all.
  • User[s] can change prices at create invoice stage. We should have function to allow certain user to change prices, not all users.
  • Reporting function is very comprehensive, but it should be further segmented in parts so we can allow users to view only such reports which we want them to. Right now, when we allow they see all sales/receivables report on just one tick.
I think the service and product depth. If we go for customize[d] software locally, implementation is too lengthy. The developers take too much time, and still we think the software [is] having trouble at the time of usage. We had a couple of bad experiences.
We have just started using the product five months back. We are yet to analyze how it is helping in growth.
We had so many problems in firewall and networking sort issues. Every morning it was headache to start software on 3 different computers. Unfortunately, QuickBooks support did not support. All the times they replied that we should ask the operating system provider I.E. Windows to resolve these issues. Windows did not support either. Finally we got all the help from web/FAQ to get our issues resolved. It was painful and took more than a month to get all the errors resolved.
Read Qumail Raza's full review
November 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise as an order system for our online and wholesale sales across the entire organization. It creates a one stop place for us to view all our sales data, creating orders, invoices, purchases, and item receipts. Along with applying payments and running strong custom reports we utilize in and outside of QB.
  • Huge community of apps and info.
  • Very flexible and customizable without paying a programmer.
  • Good support team.
  • With so many options, it will take a bit of research to cater to your company.
  • Does not do automation and has limited bulk capabilities "out of the box," but there's apps for that.
  • Needs to carry a few more fields across documents. Such as creating a PO to an SO: the SO should not automatically have the PO# on it. Same with Invoice and Item receipts.
I think it is suited for all startups as it has a very diverse system; easy but powerful to grow it. Those looking to spend a huge amount of money on custom built systems and programmers might want to skip directly to that.
Yes it is very powerful for a solution like this.
I felt it was fairly easy to use this system, and there are lots of communities and information simply on the web without even having to contact support.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is currently used only in our accounting department.
  • Robust accounting features - some online software are now oversimplified.
  • Numerous reports available to help manage our business.
  • Integrates nicely with our Inventory and Payroll Software.
  • Invoice Template creation - antiquated look and feel - text fields at the bottom where we enter our wire instructions is limited to a small field. We can't see how it looks until after we save it. It would be great if all editing could be right on the template.
  • More
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is well suited for companies that have inventory concerns and a lot of transactions. It handles integration from our industry-specific inventory software fairly seamlessly, and allows us to generate a variety of reports that keep our company on track.
We have experienced a considerable growth in our business and QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise has been able to accommodate that growth!
We paid for the software and handed it over to our IT guys. We were set up in a day! :)
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise in the accounting function to track job costs and revenues, as well as all of our g/l reporting and cash management. Reports are provided to project managers on a weekly basis. Project managers and management staff rely on these resources to stay on top of progress and costs.
  • It is user-friendly and logical to use.
  • The system allows for ease of edits and changing transactions during the learning curve.
  • As a consultant, it is easy to go from job to job, because even different types of businesses use the same functions.
  • The reporting is quite flexible.
  • Import and Export functions could be expanded or more obvious, especially during the set up process. Historical information uploads would be great.
  • Seeing the g/l entries behind the transactions can be difficult at times.
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is quite easy to learn. This makes it good for smaller businesses with basic bookkeeping staff to keep the day to day processes going. A business owner can keep up with minimal knowledge of bookkeeping or accounting. Most of the reports needed by a basic business are already included in the package, and it takes very little time to learn how to produce more specific reporting.
When we first started considering QuickBooks Desktop there were 12 projects to be tracked. By the time implementation had taken place, there were over 30 projects. There was no issue with expansion. In addition, we utilize some of the features differently than originally written, but it works.
The set up of vendors was the easiest part. Inputting historical job data, which is needed to track progress, was much more time consuming and difficult. It would have been nice to have been able to upload this information, but it was not possible without the purchase of additional software, which was not guaranteed to work. Several online solutions that claimed to be the answer were not. When researching on line (such as the QB website) it is difficult to know which comments apply to which version. That can be quite frustrating, and can make the implementation process a series of dead ends for a while.
Read this authenticated review
November 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Fixed Asset Manager and it is performing very well. We are a non-profit organization and only need to use fixed asset software that tracks depreciation for in-house adjustments. We had been using a different software that provided more information than we needed. The QuickBooks Fixed Asset Manager provides us the information we need, without inundating us with unnecessary complications.
  • Reporting.
  • Tracking.
  • Detailed analysis.
  • Excel integration.
  • Easier printing to PDF files.
  • Automatic generation of fixed asset numbers.
The QuickBooks Fixed Asset Manager is a perfect solution for our business line. We are a non-profit organization that does not pay taxes. The Fixed Asset Manager gives us the tracking and information we need to manage our fixed assets and depreciation, without the added cost of unnecessary reporting and tracking applications.
We have not experienced growth - however, it is very easy to add new assets to the QuickBooks Fixed Asset Manager. Admittedly, we are a rather small organization when it comes to purchasing fixed assets, but I have used other software in the past ,and QuickBooks makes adding assets far simpler and easier than other fixed asset software.
There was some confusion as to what number to call to purchase the QuickBooks Fixed Asset Manager. I reached out to the main sales number and was told I would have to buy the full suite of applications when all I wanted was the fixed asset piece. After some further investigation and internal re-routing, I was put in touch with the correct department and was able to purchase the software I needed. If I have one complaint about the process, it is that the full sales team might not be all on the same page, and training on purchasing individual modules might be advised.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is used by two employees - one accountant and one administrator that assists with accounting and book keeping. It helps us track the finances of multiple companies that we manage.
  • Book keeping.
  • Accounting.
  • Expense Tracking.
  • The software tends to freeze.
  • The interface layout could be a little more organized for easier learning process.
  • Better connectivity.
Well suited for accounting and book keeping. Our company does not use it for much else currently, mostly because we are a small growing company.
The product has made it easier to track finances of multiple companies.
The set up was easy, and I was able to learn within an hour when trained by my Manager.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBooks is without a doubt an industry leader. There isn't another product on the market that can offer the same capabilities. Making the QuickBooks decision wasn't hard as I had previously used at all other companies I worked for. The reporting and forecasting features are unmatched and can be tailored to all businesses. QuickBooks offers customized pricing plans for each business no matter the size. There is an option for everyone and an option that works financially. Taking shortcuts with your accounting and reporting will only result in issues down the road and to be successful you need a solid company to help manage the financial side of the business. The free trial is a huge plus as you can see how it works for your company RISK-FREE!! The trial gives enough time to see the positive effect it can have on your bottom line.
  • Reporting features customized for all business types and sizes.
  • Implementing and using QuickBooks for the first time is an extremely quick process. QuickBooks offers all the tools for a fast and successful integration that is tailored to each individual company.
  • The free trial is a risk-free way to see first hand how essential QuickBooks is and how affordable it is compared to the benefits you will be getting. It's a no brainer!
  • Superior features that stay current and even ahead of the industry.
  • Customer service is fast and they don't cut corners on hiring enough people and the right people to assist their customers.
  • They have been industry leaders for many years with a proven track record - staying power in the industry!
  • The login can sometimes take precious time with it's authentication requirements which are safety measures implemented for a company's privacy. However, it can be frustrating sometimes when you are under a time crunch. If there was a way to have the security feature be a question or something similar where you didn't have to either check your email or your phone each time you had to login. For the first login I understand the email and phone check but after that it becomes tedious. If security is a factor maybe have password reset after a certain period of time or like I suggested above use a security question or symbol for a quick verification.
  • I am sure there is a way to fix this but I haven't found it. It's a little frustrating that QuickBooks requires a customer email when sometimes I don't want to send the invoice directly to the customer i.e. when we are preparing bank draws for a customer and need to referenced invoice but have already received payment.
  • It can be daunting to wade through all the different features and plans QuickBooks offers, it seems there could be a easier/better way to represent the information for customers who want a quick snapshot. This would include some small changes visual or content wise in how the information was presented. Overall this isn't a huge issue but it was definitely something I found to be a little overwhelming and I had experience with QuickBooks previously - I am sure this is a problem when marketing to new customers in my honest opinion.
All businesses can benefit from QuickBooks. In certain cases companies may not need all the features but in some way shape or form QuickBooks is essential to all businesses.
Yes, we have experienced growth. We have taken on an increased workload and have been able to organize our finances in a way that works for us and results in a faster revenue stream. Our ROI as a result has greatly improved and will continue to improve.
Easy and very helpful and informative customer support.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QB is the enterprise accounting system for the company and interfaces cleanly with ServiceTrade which we use to run the operations side of the business.
  • Interfaces easily with ServiceTrade.
  • Captures time reporting.
  • Pays payroll taxes easily.
  • Job costing is weak.
  • Progress billings are difficult.
  • More clarity with setting up a chart of accounts.
QB is best when used in conjunction with a construction specific system for the operations side of the business like Proxies, Red Team, ServiceTrade, etc. Unless your construction business is pretty simple, job costing can be a challenge to make sure it is complete and accurate.
We haven't had much growth in the last year.
Self-paced video training we bought was perfect - I have used that to help train new employees.
Read this authenticated review
July 13, 2020
Arcoma L. Lambert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QB in all of our businesses. We have used QB for a long time, both the Desktop and Online versions. It interfaces well with our other programs, exports well to Excel, and has been very easy to export for taxes and other purposes. We pull reports every couple of months to redirect our marketing budget.
  • Reports.
  • Tax prep.
  • Budgeting.
  • Interface with TurboTax.
  • Difficulty posting payments.
  • Sometimes missing payments.
QuickBooks Desktop has to be updated...every year to every couple years, for which you have to pay an additional fee. QuickBooks Online is a better product because it is always updated and you pay as you go.
Also, on its integration with TurboTax, it is not possible to upload the transactions unless you are using the same computer you do QB on...which means my bookkeeper can't upload from QB.
QuickBooks saves time, labor hours, delay in processing, quick reports to keep things on track, and allows us to budget the company. We have 5 S-corps, so keeping everything straight is essential to functioning on a daily basis. Because of the reports, we are able to project future outcomes and have a good idea where we should spend more or less time and money resources.
I had to do a lot of tutorials at the beginning and learning it was not seamless. It is a complex program with many bells and whistles. I didn't know what I needed at that time, so I was trying to use everything. Once I realized that the basic program capabilities was all I needed, I felt better and my learning curve tightened.
Read Arcoma L. Lambert's full review
May 12, 2020
Leslie Ornelas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a nonprofit organization, we use QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise across our entire organization. We create invoices for pledges that we receive and apply payments once the money is in hand. We have many special events throughout the year and QB allows us to create special classes to identify each event. Special grants that we receive are also easier to manage with the system's capabilities. Every department of our organization utilities the benefits of QB on a regular basis.
  • User friendly.
  • Memorized reporting abilities.
  • Assisted Payroll.
  • Costly.
  • More reports centered to specific departments i.e. marketing.
  • Lack of direct support.
QB Desktop Enterprises is well suited for organizations and businesses of all types and sizes. I can't think of a specific scenario where it would be less appropriate over another similar product. For our organization we are very pleased with the capabilities we have through QB and plan to continue using it for many years. I would recommend this product to other non-profit organizations as well as business owners.
As we have grown, QB Desktop Enterprise has allowed us to maintain proper accountability to our donors with reporting and other functions. We expect to continue growing but are not looking to switch products anytime soon. The dashboard and memorized reports makes it easy for me to providing training through new staff.
I was not involved in the implementation process.
Read Leslie Ornelas's full review
May 04, 2020
Matthew Haineault | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise in our Accounting department. I was being used as a full-scale accounting system when the company first started up. It addressed all the basic needs of the accounting department for a manufacturing facility, from AP and AR to Inventory and Sales. The payroll and employee function was not being utilized.
  • User-friendly
  • Quick set up
  • Works for multiple companies
  • Inventory function could be more robust.
  • Could integrate some ERP functions.
  • Switching database files could be easier.
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is a great piece of software to get a newer company rolling. It is very user friendly and it works with multiple companies, so having a pair of sister companies works well. The database set up is very easy and allows you to get going within the day. The AP functionality is easy to transition from other software.
Our business grew very rapidly in the first four years. QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise was able to keep up with that. Adding new vendors and new customers were very simple. Keeping track of new assets was seamless. It made month-end very easy in a fast-growing company. It also helps us manage the inventory levels as they began to rise.
The set up of QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise was very easy to accomplish. With minimal staff, we were able to get things set up and running very smoothly. Production started right away so we could not afford to take a long time setting up the system. QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise was able to come online quickly to meet the demand for production.
Read Matthew Haineault's full review
May 01, 2020
Jenny Spidell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of our employees use the QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise. It is easily used by more than one employee at a time. We are able to enter all of our financial transactions through QuickBooks. We are able to track Fixed Assets and Inventory by location through QuickBooks.
  • Easy to reconcile bank and credit card accounts
  • Easy to enter any transaction or journal entry
  • Built-in reports are great and easy to read.
  • Reports are easy to customize for your particular needs.
  • Better inventory tracking needed for larger locations.
  • Actual depreciation calculations would be a great improvement.
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is well suited for mid to large companies that need more than QuickBooks Online can provide; however, it does have to be on a server for more than one employee to use at a time.
Our office has remained constant
Very easy to set up and the tutorials we reviewed were very helpful. Also, there are a lot of resources and chats online to help when you cannot figure out a problem.
Read Jenny Spidell's full review
April 28, 2020
Abe Degnan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All accounting in our company runs through QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise. We use it for our payroll system as well as accounting reports and job costing.
  • Payroll
  • Balance sheet, Profit & Loss, and other financial reports
  • Invoicing clients
  • Job costing, usually.
  • There have been problems with job costing reports providing inconsistent results.
  • Memorized job costing reports mysteriously change settings.
  • The specific reports "Job Estimates to Actual" and "Job Profitability Detail" display inconsistent results to each other! The "actual cost" on each of them should be identical!
  • QuickBooks premium support is included with the plan, but reaching them has become much harder, and the quality of the individual technician has been inconsistent. We've spent hours upon hours, over multiple days, trying to solve some of these problems.
If you need to do payroll, QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is an excellent solution. If you need to do standard accounting reports like P&L, BS, AP, AR, it's excellent. Not being able to trust the Job Costing Reports has cost us much time and misery. We now need to run multiple reports on the same job every time, to ensure consistent data, before we can trust the numbers. (IT WAS NOT LIKE THIS BEFORE! Something changed about 2 years ago to cause this problem.)
We've been using QuickBooks Desktop since 2001 and grew to use Enterprise in the last several years. The transition through the various forms (pro, premiere, enterprise) has worked for us. The payroll system has been fantastic. We've never had to hire an outside payroll service for any of our work. The problem that has somehow developed for us is in job costing for construction work. We have always used the "Job Estimate vs Actual Report" to see whether our budget is on track for both costs and revenue. However, something broke a few months after we started using Enterprise where by common sense we were able to see that all of our job costs were not showing up. (A category for which we had time in payroll, or for which we had a vendor bill, was still at zero or was way too low.) We looked and discovered these were not reporting. They were inconsistent. We've worked countless hours with various support techs who have given us workarounds that seem to be working, but we need to run extra reports, every time, to verify whether we have accurate data or not. This is frustrating and extra work.
Easy, and intuitive--I had no accounting experience when I first started using QuickBooks and am self-taught.
Read Abe Degnan's full review
April 28, 2020
Dan Hyland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quickbooks Desktop Enterprise to manage the full company accounting and reporting for our $3 Million per year revenue component manufacturing company. We primarily serve the automotive industry.
  • Excellent list of standard reports
  • Great flexibility to customize reports
  • Clean and intuitive interface
  • I'd like to see cloud-based hosted solutions made more affordable for smaller companies like ours.
  • Why is this still a 32-bit program? 64-bit has been the norm for many years and it would speed up the response time significantly I'm sure.
  • Different forms and reports seem to use different printing coding. Some of my forms print well and some have trouble while I'm using the same computer.
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is very well suited for smaller companies like ours. I suspect that it would not be as appropriate for a company with several locations unless the cloud hosting functionality gets more affordable.
Our initial setup of QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise wasn't entirely successful because we tried to duplicate our existing chart of accounts numbers which were not organized as well as they should have been. Once we got more familiar with how to make GL accounts sub-accounts of other heading accounts we were able to get the reporting to look much better and be more useful.
Read Dan Hyland's full review
February 11, 2020
John Bevilacqua | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as our Base Accounting Application for Internal & External Financial reporting, Accounts Payable for posting and paying bills, General Ledger use for journal entry posting, and Accounts Receivable & Collections for tracking the age of invoices and posting of payments.
  • Aging of outstanding bills & invoices
  • Financial reporting by class
  • Financial Reporting: We cannot produce one report that shows both monthly and year-to-date results
  • Voiding of a check in a closed period
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise allows for the use of all Accounting modules, which is convenient & efficient. The reporting is very good (for the most part), and the processing of transactions is easy to manage. This application is well suited for large and small businesses in the service area especially; however, I believe that manufacturers and companies with inventory can use this with a strong degree of accuracy.
The support for the basic needs of the program and addressing basic issues is good. However, we have been disappointed with the support for our reporting questions.
Very easy to use the program. The features are well labeled and easy to follow
Read John Bevilacqua's full review
April 28, 2020
Julia Harper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses this program. Customer Service uses QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise to reconcile jobs completed to invoices. Our accounting team uses it to manage the day to day account books for multiple QuickBooks files. Sales uses it to generate and request reports from others on our team. We use the chat feature mainly for our accounting team to facilitate quick feedback between the moving parts.
  • Easy for Professionals and New Users
  • Not Overly Complicated
  • Tracking Audit Histories
  • Shortcuts
  • Lack of Multiple Usable Windows
  • Software blending bugs that cause deletions or duplication.
I find that QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise works well for generic, broad reports and the items needed to calculate from the reports, however, it lacks some customization that would make things like tax reporting much easier. Some of the filters and columns are only available at specific times.
We have not grown our user-base in the length of my employment.
It was already implemented when I was hired.
Read Julia Harper's full review
April 28, 2020
J Brennan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise in the accounting and finance department only. Other departments utilize 3rd-party software outside of the ERP. QuickBooks Enterprise takes care of all the accounting needs allowing for no out of ERP 3rd-party programs to keep the books clean and accurate. All of the usual reporting as well as the payroll functions are included allowing us to have fingertip access to all data in real-time across dozens of users.
  • Ease of use
  • Detail, customizable reports in seconds
  • Error correction, within authority, is super easy, no need to reverse and go again
  • Error correction is a double-edged sword, easy to "correct" something incorrectly and further compound the error
  • Doesn't include a lot of project management pieces we have to get from 3rd party
  • Payroll for union contractors is a bit tedious since there is no integration.
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is great for small to medium-size businesses that just need to track the costs and incomes of projects and overhead. The fees are very reasonable and the software if learned can be the only tool you need. I recommend QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise for job costing construction companies on a smaller scale.
Since i am the one using the software, whenever I go to a new company I implement and use the software. Sometimes there is little to no training needed based on the previous programs or the size of the department. Typically i am able to use the software within a day or two.
Read J Brennan's full review
January 23, 2020
Shaina Saadaie | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise for bookkeeping for one of my non-profit clients. I was the only one who used it. It helped organize all the transactions for the company, as well as writing checks and reconciling with it.
  • Recording transactions
  • Classifying transactions
  • Flexibility
  • Accessibly
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is excellent for a nonprofit to record information. Allow for unlimited payees.
Read Shaina Saadaie's full review
July 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small corporation and we use QuickBooks for AR, AP, 1099, Sales taxes, liquor taxes. It is very easy and user-friendly software. It has plenty of help options if you need to learn how to do something new. You can easily build a new corporation based on a corporation that you already have. Bank reconciliations are easy to do with this software, you can even link them with your bank account.
  • P & L's
  • Bank Reconciliations-user friendly and simple to link to your bank
  • Paying Bills - easy
  • Billing Customers-mail or email
  • Would love to see more functionality with tax forms-being able to print form and fill in
  • Attaching documents to invoices and them emailing them with the attachment
  • Setting up more than one type of sales tax with tracking and paying
It is very easy to use the software, perfect for smaller businesses. It may not have enough features for large corporations, but for small businesses, it is very easy to learn. There are plenty of help options and places to get more detailed help if you need it. You can build the software specifically for your business and customize it to your needs.
Haven't had any growth with the pandemic, the desktop version is helpful because there is no monthly fees.
It is very easy to setup. You just go through the wizard and set it all up.
Read this authenticated review
May 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is currently being used as the accounting solution across our entire organization. It handles our payroll, our accounts payable, and other financial metrics in the organization.
  • Online integration with several financial institutions.
  • Great structure for paying employees, handling deductions and other payroll functions.
  • Not super complex.
  • Could use more project management functionality.
  • Configuring automatic reports to be emailed would be nice.
  • More granular user permissions.
QuickBooks Enterprise is a great overall software for the average business which can no longer use the Non-Enterprise version of accounting software. It does have a few drawbacks for smaller companies with very unique billing or payroll sets.
QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions works well if you are a company that buys and sells products. It is great at keeping track of quantities remaining from previous purchases and time periods, adding new inventory purchased, and subtracting inventory sold. We have grown as an organization and have not had any issue with scalability of the product.
The product was rather INTUITIVE out of the box, you certainly have to dig for some things with trial and error, but overall with a 30min tutorial online, we were able to get up and running with relatively few issues.
Read this authenticated review
April 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QuickBooks for just about everything, to input all client orders, vendor orders, and to build, track and sell our inventory. We also use it to run payroll and to manage all of our payment accounts both here in the US and in Mainland China.
  • Inventory management.
  • Purchase order management.
  • Sales and cost tracking.
  • More than one admin, as even with all restrictions off, secondary users are restricted.
I think it works great in our manufacturing environment with the things it allows us to do, but I was a bit disappointed to find out you have to use a much more upgraded version of Online to access the same manufacturing features, as we have to pay for more seats than we need to get the functions we want in Mainland China, so online versions would be nice.
The switchover and implementation process was a bit harder than I anticipated due to a miscommunication from my account rep who did not provide enough support, I was able to go around him and get it myself through the 800 service number.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (56)
8.7
Benefit plan administration (36)
7.2
Direct deposit files (55)
8.4
Salary revision and increment management (47)
8.0
Reimbursement management (48)
8.3
API for custom integration (27)
6.1
Plug-ins (33)
6.1
Single sign-on capability (64)
8.6
Role-based user permissions (73)
8.2
Dashboards (75)
8.0
Standard reports (82)
8.7
Custom reports (79)
8.3
Accounts payable (83)
9.3
Accounts receivable (84)
9.2
Cash management (75)
8.6
Bank reconciliation (83)
9.0
Expense management (74)
8.5
Time tracking (38)
7.1
Fixed asset management (59)
7.9
Multi-currency support (30)
7.7
Multi-division support (53)
8.1
Regulations compliance (37)
7.9
Electronic tax filing (42)
8.2
Self-service portal (32)
7.3
Global Financial Support (14)
7.8
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (24)
7.8
Intercompany Accounting (27)
8.2
Localizations (17)
8.2
Journals and Reconciliations (49)
9.0
Enterprise Accounting (34)
8.2
Configurable Accounting (31)
8.5
Centralized Rules Framework (19)
7.7
Standardized Processes (38)
8.6
Inventory tracking (51)
7.8
Automatic reordering (28)
6.9
Location management (34)
7.5
Manufacturing module (28)
6.8
Pricing (52)
7.9
Order entry (53)
8.4
Credit card processing (44)
8.3
Cost of goods sold (55)
8.5
Order Orchestration (20)
7.3
End-to-end order visibility (21)
7.6
Order exception Resolution (18)
7.6

What is QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise?

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise is a widely-used accounting and business management software designed for small to mid-sized companies. Enterprise is the most powerful of the QuickBooks solutions, with core accounting features plus customizable reporting, financial dashboards and advanced tools to manage employees, payments and different locations. Features include inventory management and order fulfillment from start to finish, job costing for end-to-end tracking of construction projects, and advanced pricing controls with integrated inventory.

Built to scale with companies, QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise enables up to 40 users, and has over 200 3rd party integrations including industry specific apps. Dedicated versions for construction, manufacturing and wholesale, retail, nonprofit, and professional services are available as is hosting for remote access. Dedicated account management, on-demand training, and 24/7 technical support comes automatically with the Priority Circle loyalty program. Pricing starts at $1,200 annually with multiple packaging options to fit business needs.

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features

Has featureAccounts payable
Has featureAccounts receivable
Has featureCash management
Has featureBank reconciliation
Has featureExpense management
Has featureTime tracking
Has featureFixed asset management
Has featureMulti-currency support
Has featureMulti-division support
Has featureRegulations compliance
Has featureElectronic tax filing
Has featureSelf-service portal
Has featureGlobal Financial Support
Has featurePrimary and Secondary Ledgers
Has featureIntercompany Accounting
Has featureLocalizations
Has featureJournals and Reconciliations
Has featureEnterprise Accounting
Has featureConfigurable Accounting
Has featureCentralized Rules Framework
Has featureStandardized Processes

Inventory Management Features

Has featureInventory tracking
Has featureAutomatic reordering
Has featureLocation management
Has featureManufacturing module

Order Management Features

Has featurePricing
Has featureOrder entry
Has featureCredit card processing
Has featureCost of goods sold
Has featureOrder Orchestration
Has featureEnd-to-end order visibility
Has featureOrder exception Resolution

Payroll Management Features

Has featurePay calculation
Has featureBenefit plan administration
Has featureDirect deposit files
Has featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management

Reporting & Analytics Features

Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports

Customization Features

Has featureAPI for custom integration
Has featurePlug-ins

Security Features

Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Additional Features
Has featureJob Costing for end-to-end tracking of construction projects
Has featureAdvanced pricing controls with integrated inventory
Has featureCustom reports including industry specific reports
Has featureDedicated account management, on-demand training, and 24/7 technical support
Has featureDedicated versions for construction, manufacturing and wholesale, retail, nonprofit, and professional services are available
Has featureHosting is available for remote access

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Integrations

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Competitors

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Gold with Remote Access1,785.60per year
Platinum with Remote Access2,083.20per year
Diamond with Remote Access3,600.36per year
Gold1,261per year
Platinum1,522per year
Diamond3,060.34per year

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No