QuickBooks Desktop Pro Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
632 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 76)

Ryan Husbands, MBA, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Quickbooks at a glance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

MS Dynamics has the Microsoft name behind it and everything that entails. It is a modular software system that has amazing support, and many software experts who can tailor make software solutions for any company. Yet this has a cost, and many companies don't necessarily need this kind of investment to satisfy their accounting needs. For a quick, reliable and relatively inexpensive software solution that can be bought and implemented almost immediately....QuickBooks Desktop Pro is hard to beat.
Read Ryan Husbands, MBA, CPA's full review
JaCoby Marston, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Off the Grid

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Pro is a great option if you just want to pay a one-time fee and are okay that the software does not have any updates included. QuickBooks Desktop Pro provides an affordable way to manage your accounting for your business no matter the size of the business. It can be a multi million dollar company or a brand new company just starting out. QuickBooks Desktop Pro is very easy to use and get set up.
Read JaCoby Marston, CPA's full review
Adam Montgomery | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Really Great Product to Handle All of your Bookkeeping Needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We tried out Zoho Books because we use Zoho for CRM purposes and we were were interested in exploring what type of integration there might be with our CRM to our financial books. However, we just found out that nothing really competes with QuickBooks when it comes to bookkeeping. One of the biggest differentiators was finding people who had experience with Zoho Books versus QuickBooks. So many people have experience with QuickBooks; we found very few who had experience with Zoho Books.
Read Adam Montgomery's full review
Alexander Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

For those who don't trust the cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

FreshBooks I believe is a better service-industry and solo-business tool, however for businesses that are mainly retail-based and are smaller than 100 employees, I would use QuickBooks. However, I would not recommend Desktop Pro to anyone who trusts the cloud. For the skeptics, it is perfect. I selected QuickBooks Desktop Pro because it does perfectly fit the niche of users who want all their data in one place, under their roof.
Read Alexander Cooper's full review
John La Belle | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

The go-to solution for all things accounting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Peachtree was a nightmare: We had tried using it in the late '80s but it was just too difficult to use. BizWiz was a customized accounting and quoting package, but back then it didn't have enough features to track accounts payable and receivables properly in anything but a retail or a contractor environment. Quicken Home & Business is where we initially were introduced to Intuit software, and we used it for a few years before upgrading to the more powerful QuickBooks, and we've been happy with it ever since.
Read John La Belle's full review
Leandro Utrera | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Good tool, but be careful with your database backups

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We use Compeat for our restaurant based entities and that works pretty well for restaurant management as it does have an integrated inventory count, that QB does not offer. To me, those are completely different system and it is difficult to compare, for our franchisor company we do not need to have a so complex system as Compeat and that is why we choose QB.
Read Leandro Utrera's full review
Brandee Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Easy, intuitive, and does it all!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Ten years ago at an architectural firm, we used a more "specialized" program for our field. It was awful! Cumbersome took so much time to do the things it did, and it didn't have anywhere near the capabilities of QuickBooks, let alone the ease. It was expensive, hard to use and only was able to do a few features.
Read Brandee Brown's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2020

Quickbooks Pro: Still “pro” for a reason

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Online is a great cloud-based accounting software that is easy to use and accessible from anywhere. QuickBooks Desktop Pro is a fantastic option for users who are stationary and rely on using the same computers on a weekly basis. For those on the go who may need to create and send invoices from a phone, iPad, etc., QuickBooks Online would be a better solution.
Read this authenticated review
Marc Petrine | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2019

Purchase the software you need, not the software the salesman says you need.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

We transferred our operations from Microsoft Great Plains to QuickBooks Pro. There's nothing wrong with Great Plains, but we were not using any of the functionality that makes it a good product. As a stand-alone accounting program, QuickBooks runs circles around it.
Read Marc Petrine's full review
Debra Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2019

QuickBooks Pro is a User Friendly Accounting Software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

On my full time job, I work with an accounting software called SAP IRIS. There is really no flexibility within the SAP software because if you make a mistake, you have to call the support desk to get help. It is rare that you can fix something on your own. That is why I prefer QuickBooks in my own personal business because I don't have time to call the support desk if I accidently enter something incorrectly. I can fix it myself plus they for forum that I can go to and find the answer. So, I highly recommend QuickBooks Pro.
Read Debra Johnson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2019

QuickBooks Desktop Pro makes accounting work quick

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Desktop Pro is much more suited for tracking multiple revenue and expense accounts. Quicken is much more suited for very small businesses. QuickBooks Desktop Pro makes it much easier to create and track invoices versus Quicken. QuickBooks Desktop Pro also makes it much easier to enter and track vendor bills and make payments. QuickBooks Desktop Pro is much easier to use in keeping track of your bank accounts and to reconcile your bank statements.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 20, 2019

Quickbooks can't be beat

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

Quickbooks owns their niche, so there really isn't a viable competitive product, however, several years ago I tried Peachtree accounting. The setup was not very intuitive. I don't have an accounting background so the setup was so difficult I eventually just gave up. Quickbooks just makes it so easy for someone with no accounting experience to set up and run their business.
Read this authenticated review
Bill Greganti | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

After 16 years in business I still use QuickBooks Pro

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks Online is very comparable and a good option for some of my clients. Capabilities are very similar and it supports people working from multiple locations and from mobile devices. However, it does not integrate with some server and desktop software.

Sage accounting is also very similar in capabilities, however I have found that clients without an accounting background find it more difficult to learn.
Read Bill Greganti's full review
Ariel Dunay | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

Accounting for the future, with a few minor improvements

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

QuickBooks is becoming the future of accounting software and is on top of the pack in terms of usability, client interface, and budget tracking. It could be a little cheaper, but you pay for the support online and thousands of training tools.
Read Ariel Dunay's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

QuickBooks is THE accounting software for business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

QB Non-profit was not as user friendly in the actual "non-profit" modules. We have had more luck adjusting the QB Pro version to suit our needs as a non profit organization. Business is business, however the ways in which we forecast and budget can be different, as well as reporting features.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2018

Meh

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Alternatives Considered

BillQuick has been nice but is pricey. We went with QuickBooks Pro because of cost and because it did what we needed it to do even though it didn't have all the bells and whistles BillQuick has to match our needs. If BillQuick lowered the price we may move because we aren't married to QuickBooks Pro but it's good for right now.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (53)
8.8
Benefit plan administration (29)
7.9
Direct deposit files (44)
8.7
Salary revision and increment management (42)
8.3
Reimbursement management (42)
8.4
API for custom integration (27)
7.9
Plug-ins (32)
7.2
Single sign-on capability (68)
8.7
Role-based user permissions (76)
8.2
Dashboards (79)
8.4
Standard reports (90)
8.9
Custom reports (88)
8.3
Accounts payable (90)
8.7
Accounts receivable (89)
8.4
Cash management (78)
8.2
Bank reconciliation (89)
9.2
Expense management (83)
8.2
Time tracking (39)
7.4
Fixed asset management (51)
8.0
Multi-currency support (23)
7.3
Multi-division support (43)
7.7
Regulations compliance (30)
7.5
Electronic tax filing (42)
8.7
Self-service portal (34)
7.7
Global Financial Support (13)
6.9
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (25)
8.4
Intercompany Accounting (23)
7.9
Localizations (13)
7.7
Journals and Reconciliations (50)
8.4
Enterprise Accounting (24)
7.7
Configurable Accounting (30)
7.6
Centralized Rules Framework (19)
7.7
Standardized Processes (35)
8.6
Inventory tracking (45)
7.7
Automatic reordering (26)
7.5
Location management (22)
8.2
Manufacturing module (12)
7.2
Pricing (42)
8.3
Order entry (42)
8.1
Credit card processing (40)
8.2
Cost of goods sold (48)
8.6
Order Orchestration (13)
8.0
End-to-end order visibility (16)
7.9
Order exception Resolution (11)
7.2

About QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Quickbooks Desktop Pro is accounting software from Intuit, Inc. It allows a user to create invoices and track sales, enter and pay bills from vendors, and download bank and credit card transactions directly into QuickBooks. It contains analytic features, and its reports can be exported into Excel. Its home page conveys an overview of business activity at a glance, providing insight into business processes. Quickbooks Desktop Pro for Windows Desktop can be obtained presently for a one-time purchase fee of $230, while Quickbooks Desktop Pro Plus is available for $200 annually as a cloud-based service with the support, data backup, and free updating typical of cloud-based services.

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Integrations

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Competitors

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No