QuickBooks Desktop Pro Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
631 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 103)

David Friedman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

An excellent accounting program, does everything I need, and more!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I love QuickBooks. I can't speak for organizations of other sizes, but for small-medium sized companies like us, it's the perfect bookkeeping solution. It has all the features we need, and several we're not even using (payroll, job profitability, inventory tracking, etc.) that make it the all-in-one suite that any company can use.
Read David Friedman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Accounting software that is a good value for the money.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Perfect for any type of accounting needs with small businesses. Easy to use. Quickbooks allows us to track purchases, monitor bank accounts & credit cards, lookup customer or vendor information, track all deposits, and manage all aspects of the financial side of the business (for the most part).
Read this authenticated review
Ryan Husbands, MBA, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Quickbooks at a glance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

QuickBooks Desktop Pro is ideal for small business owners who want the option of controlling their management costs by maintaining accounting in-house with limited staff/budget. It is easy to purchase, install and use...especially for those who are not necessarily accountants by trade. I would say that above all, its simplicity is its best asset. It can perform the majority of accounting functions quickly and easily, and it counts many users...which is always an advantage in my opinion.
As a disadvantage, I would say that it does have a limit in terms of size of organization for which it be of optimal use. Its low price would be attractive to anyone when factoring accounting software costs, but the fact is that I have seen other software suites that are much more robust, and subsequently more viable for larger enterprises with more complex accounting needs....for example, multiple users, international accounting needs, etc...
Read Ryan Husbands, MBA, CPA's full review
JaCoby Marston, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Off the Grid

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

QuickBooks Desktop Pro is a great tool to use if you only have one user and you have limited internet access. I use to love using QuickBooks Desktop Pro, but found that QuickBooks Online is far better because your data is always backed up and you can access on any computer as long as you have internet.
QuickBooks Desktop Pro is great because you only have to pay a one-time fixed fee instead of having to pay for a monthly fee. The downside of this is that your software can quickly get outdated and you will have to pay for new software every few years. I recommend using QuickBooks Online because the software is always getting improvements and they are included in the reasonable monthly fee.
Read JaCoby Marston, CPA's full review
Gary Gray | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

You can't beat QuickBooks for stable, easy and powerful accounting software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I already recommend QBDP to friends and clients. It's easy to learn, and powerful enough to run most businesses without causing a financial strain. Its integration with countless banks enable ease of downloading transactions and reconciling accounts. If you need payroll services it's built right into QBDP, and it'll generate the checks, track fees and withholding payments with ease.
Read Gary Gray's full review
Adam Montgomery | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Really Great Product to Handle All of your Bookkeeping Needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

QuickBooks Desktop Pro really does have it all when it comes to managing your books. If you are looking for that all encompassing product to handle all of your accounting needs, is easy to use, and affordable, then QuickBooks Desktop Pro is your best option. The fact that it's so universally known has also really helped with hiring. It is very easy to find candidates that are familiar with the product and can jump right into it from day one.
Read Adam Montgomery's full review
NAKIA EPLEY | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

Quickbooks Pro <3

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For all the small companies I have taken over books for, they all gravitate, and like the QB integration, I bring to them. We love that it keeps EVERYTHING all in one spot. They can scan or snap a pic of receipts and maintain a digital copy in their software, taking out all the paper clutter, which I am finding is becoming an increasing concern for people as they never know when the "appropriate" time is to throw these things away.
Read NAKIA EPLEY's full review
Alexander Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

For those who don't trust the cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

For small business users, with 2 to 100 employees, this tool is perfect for those who don't have the time for doing all their accounting by hand, and for those who don't trust the cloud. However, most who have faith that QuickBooks won't be hacked, will be better suited to the cloud-based solution as it is available on almost any device.
Read Alexander Cooper's full review
Leandro Utrera | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Good tool, but be careful with your database backups

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Quickbooks is great for managing different cost centers, or in our case, franchises. The class assign is something that helps us a lot in keeping a good track of what is related to each location. The big issue I do see with QB is the lack of security, of course, you are able to check the audit log and see who did the changes, but that normally happens after the fact and sometimes the fraud already happened. If you are the only one managing it, this the right tool for you.
Read Leandro Utrera's full review
Les Klassen Hamm | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

QuickBooks Pro - Good for the little guy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I support clients who use QuickBooks and some who use Simply Accounting, and the QuickBooks users seem uniformly happier with their choice, except for one or two large and more complex organizations.

It does everything I need but doesn't slow me down. It also saves me a lot of time at tax time.
Read Les Klassen Hamm's full review
Gary Slebrch | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

QuickBooks Desktop Pro is exceptional for these scenarios:
  • Small to midsize companies.
  • Moderate to complex accounting requirements.
  • Quick adoption for end-users.
Read Gary Slebrch's full review
Rene Sabillon | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Great accounting software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I believe QuickBooks Desktop is a good solution for accounting for small and medium companies, even if you want to keep track of your own business expenses, QuickBooks Desktop is a good solution to go for.
Read Rene Sabillon's full review
Amy Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It may not be a great fit in construction/heavy-labor areas of employment. It would work if you wanted to run two software programs (like use QB for payroll and something different for managing jobs and stuff).
Read Amy Davis's full review
Brandee Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Easy, intuitive, and does it all!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Quickbooks Desktop Pro is well suited for any business, large or small to be organized and have one program do everything. I am not sure where it is less appropriate, even the smallest of businesses would benefit from using this.
Read Brandee Brown's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

QuickBooks Pro is a must-have!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Quickbooks Pro helped me tremendously when I was preparing 1099s. I was prepared for a long tedious process, and it was sweet and simple. I also love the ease of connecting with the bank and downloading transactions and then matching with bank information. It helps keep things in order.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2020

Quickbooks Pro: Still “pro” for a reason

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

QuickBooks Pro is great for businesses that invoice often, have multiple clients, have repetitive business and will need to use accounting software each week. It would not be as ideal for startups, and/or companies that would not need to bill often. For that, I would suggest an easier to use/free software until Quickbooks is necessary.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

No Accounting Degree Required!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I think this is a great application for people responsible for "keeping the books" for most organizations. It worked well and provided us and our accountant with all the necessary data. Reporting is very important when working with accountants and the QB reports "matched" what my accountants were asking for so that helped me tremendously.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2020

Easy to maneuver and effective!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Easy to maneuver throughout the software. Under the contact/vendor information, we would like to be able to remove some of the fields as they are not necessary. We should be able to tailor it to our company’s needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Makes book work a breeze!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Honestly, I would recommend QuickBooks to anyone that doesn't want to keep manual records. You can use it for invoices, statements, payroll, and so much more. The only way that I have ever kept records was manually and later, with QuickBooks. I could not imagine what it would be like having to keep manual records after QuickBooks made it so convenient to keep everything in one place.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Great for SMB

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Well suited for smaller businesses. It is used both where I work and the two small non-profits that I am on the board of.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2019

QuickBooks Desktop Pro makes accounting work quick

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

QuickBooks Desktop Pro is better suited for at minimum small companies with multiple expense and revenue accounts needing to be tracked. It is much less suited for smaller companies that do not need such tracking. For example, I am also a partner in a behavioral health company. We only need to track our client income and business expenses. We do not have multiple revenue and expense account categories to track, so QB Desktop Pro would be way more complex then we need.
Read this authenticated review
Heath Achatz | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2019

Quickbooks Does What You Want So You Can See What You Want

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

QuickBooks is well suited for any business where invoices, bills, and payments are used. Especially where customers have time to pay, it helps keep track of who is paying and how timely they are paying. I would guess it might be cumbersome to use if the customer base was over 500, but maybe with several users that would work.
Read Heath Achatz's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (53)
8.8
Benefit plan administration (29)
7.8
Direct deposit files (44)
8.7
Salary revision and increment management (42)
8.3
Reimbursement management (42)
8.4
API for custom integration (27)
7.9
Plug-ins (32)
7.2
Single sign-on capability (68)
8.7
Role-based user permissions (76)
8.2
Dashboards (79)
8.4
Standard reports (90)
8.9
Custom reports (88)
8.3
Accounts payable (90)
8.7
Accounts receivable (89)
8.4
Cash management (78)
8.2
Bank reconciliation (89)
9.2
Expense management (83)
8.2
Time tracking (39)
7.4
Fixed asset management (51)
8.0
Multi-currency support (23)
7.2
Multi-division support (43)
7.7
Regulations compliance (30)
7.5
Electronic tax filing (42)
8.7
Self-service portal (34)
7.7
Global Financial Support (13)
6.9
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (25)
8.3
Intercompany Accounting (23)
7.9
Localizations (13)
7.7
Journals and Reconciliations (50)
8.4
Enterprise Accounting (24)
7.7
Configurable Accounting (30)
7.6
Centralized Rules Framework (19)
7.7
Standardized Processes (35)
8.6
Inventory tracking (45)
7.7
Automatic reordering (26)
7.5
Location management (22)
8.2
Manufacturing module (12)
7.2
Pricing (42)
8.3
Order entry (42)
8.1
Credit card processing (40)
8.2
Cost of goods sold (48)
8.6
Order Orchestration (13)
8.0
End-to-end order visibility (16)
7.9
Order exception Resolution (11)
7.2

About QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Quickbooks Desktop Pro is accounting software from Intuit, Inc. It allows a user to create invoices and track sales, enter and pay bills from vendors, and download bank and credit card transactions directly into QuickBooks. It contains analytic features, and its reports can be exported into Excel. Its home page conveys an overview of business activity at a glance, providing insight into business processes. Quickbooks Desktop Pro for Windows Desktop can be obtained presently for a one-time purchase fee of $230, while Quickbooks Desktop Pro Plus is available for $200 annually as a cloud-based service with the support, data backup, and free updating typical of cloud-based services.

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Integrations

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Competitors

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No