QuickBooks Desktop Pro Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
631 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 103)

David Friedman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2020

An excellent accounting program, does everything I need, and more!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Bill pay: easily input vendors and their bills, and then pay them whenever you are ready.
  • Tax prep: send 1099s to all independent contractors above the threshold with just a few clicks.
  • Budgeting: set up your budgets, and then track your actual revenue/expenses against the budget to see how your organization is performing.
  • Reporting: MANY different reports available to satisfy investors and accountants. Very customizable.
  • Updates: sometimes QuickBooks will inform me of an update for an earlier version than I'm running.
  • Duplicating bills: When I duplicate an existing bill, my preset term (ex 60 days) doesn't seem to copy over. I have to manually reset it.
  • Bring back QuickBooks bill pay! It was so nice to not have to print/sign/mail paper checks.
Read David Friedman's full review
Ryan Husbands, MBA, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Quickbooks at a glance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QuickBooks Desktop Pro interfaces with other software very well, especially Microsoft products.
  • It's relatively easy to learn and use, I've never encountered any bugs with it.
  • Quickbooks does have a "small business" connotation. I'm not a programmer, but it wouldn't be my first choice for a large scale accounting solution.
  • I've seen slicker user interfaces with other software, but to be honest that's not really a major factor when considering accounting software in my opinion.
Read Ryan Husbands, MBA, CPA's full review
JaCoby Marston, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Off the Grid

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Keep your financial data all in one place.
  • Ability to generate all kinds of reports like P&Ls, Balance Sheets, and custom reports.
  • Bank Feed option struggles to always work with your linked bank account.
  • Data is not automatically backed up so you have the risk of losing your data.
Read JaCoby Marston, CPA's full review
Adam Montgomery | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Really Great Product to Handle All of your Bookkeeping Needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is super easy to integrate with our business bank accounts.
  • Our management teams loves the ability to access it from any device, at any time.
  • In the past, we have felt that their customer service team should be more familiar with their own product. They weren't really able to see the product through the eyes of a user.
  • Switching from the online version to the desktop version was not seamless. It took a little more effort than expected.
Read Adam Montgomery's full review
Alexander Cooper | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

For those who don't trust the cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Incredibly easy to use compared to managing your own company's finances.
  • Considering the cost-to-time savings ratio, return on investment is well worth the cost
  • Due to it being a client-based software, it doesn't have the benefits of cloud-based solutions, however this is unavoidable and QuickBooks does offer a cloud solution
  • No-one has a CD/DVD drive anymore, so installation must be done over the internet
Read Alexander Cooper's full review
John La Belle | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

The go-to solution for all things accounting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Honestly, it's pretty much the go to solution when it comes to accounting software.
  • It can be used for any size business, from a single self employed person to large companies with multiple departments.
  • Intuit is constantly updating the software, keeping it up to date, and has multiple optional features that can be added, such as multi-user support, online invoicing, payroll, credit card processing, and more.
  • The only downside it the Intuit knowledge base for support is rather lacking, and if you run into a problem, it can be hard to find the solution. However, there is excellent Peer support from other users on the Intuit forums.
Read John La Belle's full review
Leandro Utrera | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Good tool, but be careful with your database backups

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to learn and make any type of entry.
  • Very simple to find and fix errors.
  • Good to assign class for when you need to control different locations/franchises.
  • Very easy to manipulate books.
  • Too open for any changes, even after the fact is passed.
  • Database is not reliable and it is recommended to always create a recent backup.
Read Leandro Utrera's full review
Les Klassen Hamm | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

QuickBooks Pro - Good for the little guy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Basic, daily tasks are simple, easy to find, and intuitive.
  • Fixing my own input errors is surprisingly easy. I'm happy I don't have to run down the rabbit hole of double-entry details for minor corrections. And there's an audit log to keep track of what I've done.
  • When I get stuck with how to do something, a quick google search easily reveals other users asking and solving the same issue, because there are so many QuickBooks users.
  • Integrating other software into QuickBooks seemed quite complicated. I was happy when I got it working. I suspect moving to QB online would also solve that.
  • I have IT clients who use QuickBooks Pro on a network, and occasionally a year upgrade creates some real challenges to get the multi-user access working again.
  • Setting up QuickBooks to send invoices directly via email can be a real pain to get working properly. This has probably been the most frustrating thing I've done with QuickBooks, and sadly, multiple times. That setup process needs fixing, especially its ability to work on systems with multiple email clients and systems where the email client has changed or been upgraded.
Read Les Klassen Hamm's full review
Gary Slebrch | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • End-user experience is exceptional.
  • Intuitive user interface and guides allows for quicker adoption by users.
  • The desktop version would benefit from less dependency on compute requirements.
  • Mobility for end user review and approvals.
Read Gary Slebrch's full review
Rene Sabillon | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Great accounting software

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is very easy to set-up and implement.
  • It is very user-friendly and easy to manage.
  • It works just fine for SMB's.
  • Fix network connectivity issues. There's a very common error that displays if you don't open the companies for a while - nothing a quick service restart won't help.
Read Rene Sabillon's full review
Amy Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Payroll. From big to small companies, it so user friendly and covers it all.
  • Inventory. You can enter manually or upload a report from excel and it tracks and keeps it all in a safe place. It's easy to locate.
  • Taxes. If you use QB as your main software, it is so amazingly easy to calculate and prepare documents for your accountant.
  • Yikes! I can't really think of any. If I have to complain it would be response time of CSR.
Read Amy Davis's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

QuickBooks Pro is a must-have!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Keeps track of POs, estimates, invoices and payments that are related.
  • Allows me to download bank transactions and keep up with the account.
  • Makes preparing 1099s a simple process.
  • I would like more detailed reports, like for contractors.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

No Accounting Degree Required!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Tracks checks written.
  • Tracks deposits made.
  • I found the whole process for entering deposits to be a bit confusing.
  • Everything can improve, and reports are a good place to start.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2020

Easy to maneuver and effective!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Bill input
  • New vendor/company creation/input of information
  • A clearer description of what each report can give you. I find myself creating multiple reports with different options, trying to find the end result of what I am looking. I think the creation of reports could be more user friendly and not overload the user with too many options.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Makes book work a breeze!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • We are able to keep everything neat and tidy because all of our records are in QuickBooks.
  • It is a little confusing at first, but once you get the hang of it, it is very easy to use.
  • There are so many add on options that you can use to streamline all office work.
  • There is an issue with double entry, sometimes it does not alert you if you have entered an invoice more than one time.
  • It is a little difficult to get the hang of when you first start learning it.
  • This is a pro inside of a con - There are some many options that sometimes it feels overwhelming.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Great for SMB

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integrates with Bill.com
  • Integrates with ConnectWise
  • Should be harder to change older entries
  • Would love to be able to create an access level for sales that allows them to see if their customers have been paid and nothing else
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 05, 2019

QuickBooks Desktop Pro makes accounting work quick

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is quick and easy to enter and print checks, and they post automatically to the QB bank register.
  • It makes it easy to enter and track client invoices.
  • It makes it easy to enter and track vendor bills.
  • When you post payments from clients it makes it easy to create a bank deposit summary sheet.
  • If you make an entry directly onto the register in the incorrect debit/credit column, you cannot simply reverse the error.
  • If you make a deposit entry error, it is difficult to get removed from your "Record Deposits."
  • You cannot print a check to "John Doe" if he is listed in your vendor list as "Doe, John."
  • There is not a quick access icon on the Home Screen for transfers between accounts.
Read this authenticated review
Heath Achatz | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 25, 2019

Quickbooks Does What You Want So You Can See What You Want

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QuickBooks does a great job of easily creating invoices and bills and sending them out internally either by email or fax. It does provide the option to print as well for customers who cant be reached otherwise.
  • QuickBooks creates detailed charts that let you see your business from a distance. You are able to see a week, month or even a year at a time. charts include income, payments not received, and most frequent customers.
  • QuickBooks makes complex task easy by having built in formats for invoices, estimates, bills, payment receipts.
  • QuickBooks also has easy bank intergration.
  • QuickBooks largest setback is the UI. It is a bit cumbersome and not entirely intuitive if you have never used QuickBooks before.
  • Occasionally QuickBooks has a hard time communicating with your bank, but it is usually fixed after a couple attempts.
  • QuickBooks does need to be bought each year to stay up to date.
Read Heath Achatz's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (53)
8.8
Benefit plan administration (29)
7.8
Direct deposit files (44)
8.7
Salary revision and increment management (42)
8.3
Reimbursement management (42)
8.4
API for custom integration (27)
7.9
Plug-ins (32)
7.2
Single sign-on capability (68)
8.7
Role-based user permissions (76)
8.2
Dashboards (79)
8.4
Standard reports (90)
8.9
Custom reports (88)
8.3
Accounts payable (90)
8.7
Accounts receivable (89)
8.4
Cash management (78)
8.2
Bank reconciliation (89)
9.2
Expense management (83)
8.2
Time tracking (39)
7.4
Fixed asset management (51)
8.0
Multi-currency support (23)
7.2
Multi-division support (43)
7.7
Regulations compliance (30)
7.5
Electronic tax filing (42)
8.7
Self-service portal (34)
7.7
Global Financial Support (13)
6.9
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (25)
8.3
Intercompany Accounting (23)
7.9
Localizations (13)
7.7
Journals and Reconciliations (50)
8.4
Enterprise Accounting (24)
7.7
Configurable Accounting (30)
7.6
Centralized Rules Framework (19)
7.7
Standardized Processes (35)
8.6
Inventory tracking (45)
7.7
Automatic reordering (26)
7.5
Location management (22)
8.2
Manufacturing module (12)
7.2
Pricing (42)
8.3
Order entry (42)
8.1
Credit card processing (40)
8.2
Cost of goods sold (48)
8.6
Order Orchestration (13)
8.0
End-to-end order visibility (16)
7.9
Order exception Resolution (11)
7.2

About QuickBooks Desktop Pro

Quickbooks Desktop Pro is accounting software from Intuit, Inc. It allows a user to create invoices and track sales, enter and pay bills from vendors, and download bank and credit card transactions directly into QuickBooks. It contains analytic features, and its reports can be exported into Excel. Its home page conveys an overview of business activity at a glance, providing insight into business processes. Quickbooks Desktop Pro for Windows Desktop can be obtained presently for a one-time purchase fee of $230, while Quickbooks Desktop Pro Plus is available for $200 annually as a cloud-based service with the support, data backup, and free updating typical of cloud-based services.

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Integrations

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Competitors

QuickBooks Desktop Pro Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No