TrustRadius
QuickBooks Enterprise is a widely-used accounting package designed for smaller organizations. It is the top of the QuickBooks line. Pricing starts at $3,000 for five users, and goes up depending on the number of additional users. They also offer an Advanced Inventory module for $999 / year.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/ll/4h/1SCUH2WHQXSH.JPEGQuickBooks Enterprise Solutions review. Good for selling stock items...not so much for customized items.QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions is being used for both accounting functions and material management for our LED lighting manufacturing business. We use it to keep track of open and closed orders, as well as to invoice our customers for products shipped to them. It is also used to keep track of open and closed purchase orders to our suppliers, as well as inventory tracking and management.,Reports can be modified and filtered to provide specific information. They can also be exported into Excel for further formatting and filtering. It is fairly user friendly, with a flowchart on the home page to show how estimates turn into orders and then invoices, among other business functions. It is quite forgiving with input errors, allowing one to access already saved data (orders, invoices, etc.) and change it without a lengthy process of backing out previous info and re-entering new info. The toolbar at the top of the screen can be customized to include the functions that one uses most, avoiding the process of selecting a tab and scrolling down to the needed option. One can also personalize how the tab/enter buttons function, as well as date formatting, decimal points, and default scripts for invoices, statements, purchase orders, etc. One can also integrate their established email address to be used through QuickBooks.,QuickBooks was built to be an accounting program. It is clumsy with inventory. The reports for inventory management are limited. The inventory management system functions better for a company that just buys items and then resells them. Purchasing multiple materials and then combining them to be a finished good is possible to do, but needs more hands-on involvement than should be necessary. The minimum and maximum reorder points do not function properly. If one has both entered into an item, QuickBooks uses the maximum reorder point only, and ignores the minimum reorder point entirely. I have taken to using only the minimum reorder point and not even entering the maximum into the item.,9,Our manufacturing company mainly provides made-to-order LED lighting. QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions makes the inventory process very cumbersome as every line item has to be "built" manually. This is very time consuming and probably costs our company about $700-$800 in wages per month for this to be completed. There is a "1099 Wizard" that can be used in QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions. This allows our bookkeeper to process the 1099-MISC forms for our subcontractors each year, rather than paying our accountant to do it, which cost us about $250-$300 the last year that he did it.,Microsoft Office 2016, Adobe Acrobat DC,3,1,Enter open orders from customers to track their due dates and back orders. Invoice customers for products shipped to them. Prepare Purchase Orders to send to vendors for additional materials. Track due dates, late shipments, and reorder points. Enter receivables and maintain the company checking account(s). Prepare and print yearly 1099-MISC forms. Enter invoices from suppliers and prepare and send accounts payable checks.,By formatting reports, I have been able to determine which specific items have been sold most in order to better manage materials for those items. By formatting the templates for Sales Orders, Work Orders, and Packing Slips I have been able to not only add additional fields onto the forms, but also have specified which info prints on which forms, making them more efficient. By using the "Customer Type" field to enter a 2-digit state abbreviation, I can sort my customers by state for reports about sales territories. By modifying what filters are used on reports, I can take a general report about all of our customers or items and dial it in to just one customer or item, making a huge and unwieldy report into a very specific one.,Adding more products to the item list. Reviewing and updating our minimum reorder points for better ordering time frames. Revising Bills of Materials as new assembly items are introduced.,9,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Prior Experience with the Product,I might have looked at other software programs, but probably would have chosen QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions in the end anyway.,Implemented in-house,No,Change management was a minor issue with the implementation,Getting the program downloaded onto a remote server. Getting the Remote Desktop connected to the server. Making sure everyone could connect to the remote server, and therefore, QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions.,8,Yes,9,Yes,I was having issues with my Intuit Data Protect not running on a daily basis. I was having to do manual backups, which was time consuming and should have been unnecessary. The first time I called about it, the rep said that they had fixed it, but they had not. The second time that I called, that rep not only figured out what the issue was, but fixed it, and then waited on the phone until the backup was completed. While we were waiting for the backup to be completed, I realized that I had another long standing issue that I had just given up on, and mentioned it to the rep. They then proceeded to fix that major issue as well. After everything was fixed, I had been on the phone with the rep for over 4 hours! At no point did they get irritated that it was taking so long, or that the first couple of things they tried didn't resolve the issue. They just persevered and got everything fixed.,Check writing and reconciliation. Entering and paying invoices from suppliers. Entering payments received and preparing deposits.,Building Finished Goods! Each line item on our customer invoices have to be done separately. Entering new items that have a Bill of Materials. It's easier to find an existing item that is close to the new item, duplicate it, and then change the parts that are different from the original. Doing a new item from scratch is very time consuming. Determining what materials have low quantities and need to be reordered. Even though QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions has minimum and maximum reorder points, they don't work correctly.,9Quickbooks...Why its the Industry Standard for Small BusinessWhile in the legal field we need other supporting tools to address specific legal industry challenges, it is the primary accounting tool within the organization for a few reasons: It is an industry standard when you are distributing financial information to others.Outside accountants all know it and can easily be consulted when needed.Finding new personnel who know the program is more cost affective than products with less market penetration. It is supported both by Intuit and by a legion of professionals in every industry.,It has a clear system of integration for third party product developers who are in the market today creating products for the legal industry. It has a very flexible reporting system for customizing what different levels of our organization need to see in their reports. It has a great system for allowing offsite accountants to audit and make changes to the GL without disturbing the daily work.,The product update system needs some tweaks. If one user updates everyone has to update to read the books. But often the auto updates are too random and it disrupts work. The install process can be confusing to users who don't do it frequently, not intuitive enough. (no pun intended) The network program installed on the books server, when being updated, can often fail to properly scan and find current company files. It often takes several attempts. But due to that awesome support system, we always get it worked out.,10,Easy to hire people who know it. Ease of use once regular tasks and procedures are setup. Ease of finding support solutions when problems or the need for changes come up.,,Microsoft Office 365, Azure SQL Database, Apple iCloud, Microsoft AzureQuickbooks and Fixed AssetsWe use Quickbooks Enterprise Solution for the entire organization. Having the fixed asset module work with the financial data is crucial to our business. We send financial reports for each department to our board each month.,Depreciation journal entry Memorized reports Ability to use multiple classes,The ability to work with Excel. It would be great if Excel could pull information from Quickbooks. Using two companies at once without some activities being restricted.,10,The program allows us to know in real time where our business stands financially. The program does not integrate well with other software programs such as our database, Weblink.,QuickBooks Online,Microsoft 365 Business, QuickBooks OnlineExcellent financial software to organize the accounting, sales and expenses of your company, recommended 100%QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions is an accounting software that has allowed us to invoice, quote our customers, track our sales and maintain the accounting record, cash flow and tracking reports of expenses. In addition, it allows us to make accounting, balance and profit and loss reports. It also allows us to have the information at hand from any device for eventual meetings outside the office.,You can track the expenses of the company to correct if necessary. Is a useful tool to bill your customers. It is multi-platform which is great to have the information always at hand. You can schedule your accounts payable to cancel the providers when required.,The reports should not be editable for the purpose of being presented to the auditors. Usability in the mobile version can improve in speed and design.,8,We have been able to detect when our expenses have increased. We successfully carry the billing of our clients. We keep our payment to suppliers up to date. The security of the platform is excellent, therefore our accounting information is well protected.,,Basecamp, Trello, Google Drive, DropboxThere's a reason why it's the most used Accounting softwareIt it used solely by the accounting department and select people in our customer support team. We use it to track and reimburse employee expenses, handle payroll, charge our customers, and produce reports for upper management to make more informed decisions.,Quickbook's user interface is incredibly user-friendly. Non-Accountants are able to pick up the system relatively easy . They should be able to enter transactions without fully understanding the accounting. There is a lot of material on the internet if you need help how to use Quickbooks. They have various forums in which you can find the answers since there is bound to be another person that had already experienced your problem. Quickbooks has developed a lot of integration with other 3rd party software. For example, we use Avalara to assess sales tax for our invoices. There are APIs built so Quickbooks can send the relevant invoice information to Avalara to produce sales tax.,It's not suitable for subscription management. As many business start changing it's business model to a subscription model, this may be a consideration The canned reports do not contain enough information. When you began to add more fields to be displayed, Quickbooks can sometimes crash if you're trying to export the information excel.,8,We were able to pass our financial audit. However, some parts of our balance sheet schedules needed manipulation outside of excel to tie the numbers in our balance sheet schedule to the Financial Statements. There is a lot less excel work than our previous system. As such, we didn't need to hire part-time accountants.,Avalara, SAP ERP, NetSuite, NetSuite CRM+, Salesforce.com and Zuora,Zuora, Avalara, NetSuite
Unspecified
QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions
278 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

QuickBooks Enterprise Reviews

QuickBooks Enterprise
278 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 279 vetted QuickBooks Enterprise reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 47)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Joretta Fletcher profile photo
December 13, 2018

"QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions review. Good for selling stock items...not so much for customized items."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions is being used for both accounting functions and material management for our LED lighting manufacturing business. We use it to keep track of open and closed orders, as well as to invoice our customers for products shipped to them. It is also used to keep track of open and closed purchase orders to our suppliers, as well as inventory tracking and management.
  • Reports can be modified and filtered to provide specific information. They can also be exported into Excel for further formatting and filtering.
  • It is fairly user friendly, with a flowchart on the home page to show how estimates turn into orders and then invoices, among other business functions. It is quite forgiving with input errors, allowing one to access already saved data (orders, invoices, etc.) and change it without a lengthy process of backing out previous info and re-entering new info.
  • The toolbar at the top of the screen can be customized to include the functions that one uses most, avoiding the process of selecting a tab and scrolling down to the needed option. One can also personalize how the tab/enter buttons function, as well as date formatting, decimal points, and default scripts for invoices, statements, purchase orders, etc. One can also integrate their established email address to be used through QuickBooks.
  • QuickBooks was built to be an accounting program. It is clumsy with inventory. The reports for inventory management are limited.
  • The inventory management system functions better for a company that just buys items and then resells them. Purchasing multiple materials and then combining them to be a finished good is possible to do, but needs more hands-on involvement than should be necessary.
  • The minimum and maximum reorder points do not function properly. If one has both entered into an item, QuickBooks uses the maximum reorder point only, and ignores the minimum reorder point entirely. I have taken to using only the minimum reorder point and not even entering the maximum into the item.
QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions would be great for a company that is buying products and just reselling them as-is. It is great at keeping track of quantities remaining from previous purchases and time periods, adding new inventory purchased, and subtracting inventory sold. It would also work well for a company that purchased materials to manufacture items for stock, and then sold those stock items.

QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions does not work very well for manufacturing of one-off or custom products as each item has to be "built", whether it is 1 item or 100 items. It also does not have an easy way to account for scrap or materials damaged in the manufacturing process.
Read Joretta Fletcher's full review
Rick Hahn profile photo
December 12, 2018

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "Quickbooks...Why its the Industry Standard for Small Business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While in the legal field we need other supporting tools to address specific legal industry challenges, it is the primary accounting tool within the organization for a few reasons:
  • It is an industry standard when you are distributing financial information to others.
  • Outside accountants all know it and can easily be consulted when needed.
  • Finding new personnel who know the program is more cost affective than products with less market penetration.
  • It is supported both by Intuit and by a legion of professionals in every industry.
  • It has a clear system of integration for third party product developers who are in the market today creating products for the legal industry.
  • It has a very flexible reporting system for customizing what different levels of our organization need to see in their reports.
  • It has a great system for allowing offsite accountants to audit and make changes to the GL without disturbing the daily work.
  • The product update system needs some tweaks. If one user updates everyone has to update to read the books. But often the auto updates are too random and it disrupts work.
  • The install process can be confusing to users who don't do it frequently, not intuitive enough. (no pun intended)
  • The network program installed on the books server, when being updated, can often fail to properly scan and find current company files. It often takes several attempts. But due to that awesome support system, we always get it worked out.
If your accounting needs are industry standard and not creative or off the rails, QuickBooks provides the best and most reliable solution available. If your needs are too industry specific and you have too many requirements that are non-standard to accounting, it may be more difficult to use but not impossible. For the legal industry it can often boil down to billing requirements as it relates to trust funds and automatic transactions. For nonprofits, and it can be something as simple as reporting requirements to meet IRS regulations.
Read Rick Hahn's full review
Cheryl Staritz profile photo
December 11, 2018

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "Quickbooks and Fixed Assets"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quickbooks Enterprise Solution for the entire organization. Having the fixed asset module work with the financial data is crucial to our business. We send financial reports for each department to our board each month.
  • Depreciation journal entry
  • Memorized reports
  • Ability to use multiple classes
  • The ability to work with Excel. It would be great if Excel could pull information from Quickbooks.
  • Using two companies at once without some activities being restricted.
Quickbooks Enterprise Solution is very well suited for an organization that needs to track fixed assets and depreciation since the module works with Quickbooks. Anyone not needing this feature could use a less expensive side of Quickbooks.
Read Cheryl Staritz's full review
Ricardo Jose Correia D'lucas profile photo
August 07, 2018

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "Excellent financial software to organize the accounting, sales and expenses of your company, recommended 100%"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions is an accounting software that has allowed us to invoice, quote our customers, track our sales and maintain the accounting record, cash flow and tracking reports of expenses. In addition, it allows us to make accounting, balance and profit and loss reports. It also allows us to have the information at hand from any device for eventual meetings outside the office.
  • You can track the expenses of the company to correct if necessary.
  • Is a useful tool to bill your customers.
  • It is multi-platform which is great to have the information always at hand.
  • You can schedule your accounts payable to cancel the providers when required.
  • The reports should not be editable for the purpose of being presented to the auditors.
  • Usability in the mobile version can improve in speed and design.
It is advisable to use it in companies that handle billing, it is also ideal for the accounting and financial area. I do not recommend it for very small companies since many resources of the platform would be wasted.
Read Ricardo Jose Correia D'lucas's full review
No photo available
December 06, 2018

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "There's a reason why it's the most used Accounting software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It it used solely by the accounting department and select people in our customer support team. We use it to track and reimburse employee expenses, handle payroll, charge our customers, and produce reports for upper management to make more informed decisions.
  • Quickbook's user interface is incredibly user-friendly. Non-Accountants are able to pick up the system relatively easy . They should be able to enter transactions without fully understanding the accounting.
  • There is a lot of material on the internet if you need help how to use Quickbooks. They have various forums in which you can find the answers since there is bound to be another person that had already experienced your problem.
  • Quickbooks has developed a lot of integration with other 3rd party software. For example, we use Avalara to assess sales tax for our invoices. There are APIs built so Quickbooks can send the relevant invoice information to Avalara to produce sales tax.
  • It's not suitable for subscription management. As many business start changing it's business model to a subscription model, this may be a consideration
  • The canned reports do not contain enough information. When you began to add more fields to be displayed, Quickbooks can sometimes crash if you're trying to export the information excel.
It is a perfect if your a small to medium-sized company. As your company has more transactions, such as changing to a subscription model, Quickbooks does not scale quite as well. With the new revenue recognition GAAP rules, it would be difficult to properly record revenue if your product catalog is complex, such as selling bundles, warranties, discounts.
Read this authenticated review
Glen Gehrkens, PHR, SHRM-CP profile photo
February 27, 2018

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "Good for small to med size payroll processing."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QuickBooks (QB) for all of our accounting and finance functions. I am personally involved with QB from a payroll, paid time off tracking and employee roster management standpoint. Our accounting/finance and HR teams are the only departments who are using it. QB addresses our ledger accounting, reporting, payroll, financial statements, etc.
  • Relatively easy to use and learn the basics.
  • Reliable. Can't recall the program ever being "down" for tech reasons.
  • Basic payroll processing for in-house payroll is not hard to learn.
  • Employee profiles could be more robust, like a true HRIS system.
  • Canned reports can be difficult to manipulate.
  • If you create different payroll modules they do not integrate with each other.
QuickBooks is probably the best situation for small to medium size companies who do not have an overly complicated payroll to process or financial situation. I can't imagine running payroll for more than 100 or so employees with this system, although it is possible. We process internally and do not use the Intuit payroll service.
Read Glen Gehrkens, PHR, SHRM-CP's full review
Paul Johnson profile photo
March 22, 2018

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "Director of Accounting"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for in-house accounting on several businesses. It's easy to use, a standard in the industry and cost effective.
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to learn
  • Easy to adapt to different types of business
  • Industry standard
  • Good help and help with community
  • Better standard reporting
  • back up and restore issues
  • server applications
Great for a larger type business with operations, credit cards, etc but also great for organizations with many different businesses.
Read Paul Johnson's full review
No photo available
February 09, 2018

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "Great accounting system, lacking in inventory management"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a marine hardware manufacturer that has been utilizing QuickBooks for over 18 years. We upgraded to QuickBooks Enterprise from QuickBooks Premier about 5 years ago to take advantage of their inventory functions. We use QuickBooks for all aspects of our business; accounting, sales, inventory, and assemblies/kitting. QuickBooks is a fantastic accounting system, but lacks in inventory functionality. There is no real 'barcoding" functionality, even though their brochures say "barcoding is now available in Enterprise 18". It is not a true WMS system that will improve functionality in warehouse and inventory control.
  • QuickBooks was developed as an accounting system and does a fantastic job.
  • Reports are very easy to pull and customize as you need them. You can also save customized reports in your own individual folder, however, these reports would be visible to all with report writing access. They also have "advanced reporting" which you need to understand programming to use.
  • Easy interface to learn and use.
  • Inventory control is difficult in QuickBooks. Transaction tractability is nonexistent unless you scroll through a year's worth of transactions.
  • Kitting and build assemblies are very basic and do not operate like a true ERP solution. The worst part of it is if a component is used in an assembly process, there is no usage reporting for that component. It is removed from inventory, but cannot be traced through any of the inventory reports.
  • Unstable database - I must continually run "rebuild" because of inventory mismatch errors and costing inbalance.
  • The inventory management system needs a lot of improvement.
If you need a good accounting system, QuickBooks is a great solution. If you need inventory control, this system works well for smaller companies that do not do any kitting or assemblies. If you are looking to barcode your warehouse, this is not the solution, unless you add a 3rd party WMS system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 31, 2018

Review: "Quickbooks Enterprise for Not-For-Profit"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quickbooks Enterprise is used for 4 members of our accounting and finance team: Accountant/Payables, Receivables, Analyst/Reporting and Director of Accounting. We have used Quickbooks Enterprise for over 10 years knowing the limitations that come with it.
  • Quickbooks Enterprise is relatively easy to use for small organizations.
  • Most of the reports are easy to download straight from the system.
  • Our local bank offers to download the Quickbooks version of the monthly activity which helps to reconcile our bank accounts.
  • If the company has more than one Account Receivable General Ledger Account, the Merchant online process doesn't work properly. Invoices can be sent to clients to be paid either by credit card or bank accounts. The merchant account collects the funds and details the deposit by the client, but the activity is not downloaded to the GL due to the multiple AR accounts.
  • Some information on Quickbooks Enterprise cannot be downloaded.
  • Reports are rigid and not flexible to change.
  • Upload activity in Quickbooks Enterprise is not possible, a third-party software is needed.
  • Copy/Paste option is not possible in Quickbooks Enterprise. This would be very useful when entering Journal Entries.
  • Quickbooks Enterprise does not have account reconciliation option. This is done in Excel.
  • Quickbooks Enterprise offers the Fixed Assets functionality but is very limited and can only be used in "Single-User" mode.
Quickbooks Enterprise is suitable for small size organizations or companies that do not need much reporting or analysis. Quickbooks Enterprise is getting to a point that is starting to be a legacy system.
Read this authenticated review
Marygold Fry profile photo
November 13, 2017

User Review: "Must Use QuickBooks Enterprise!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quickbooks Enterprise is used for invoicing. Next year, we will also use it for payroll. It is used only by the accounting department, yet the president uses it to generate reports. I am really pleased to have switched to this system from Sage BusinessWorks; it is very intuitive and the help resources have proven to be valuable during my learning process.
  • Ability to download reports in Excel format. LOVE that feature.
  • When reviewing reports, the ability to zoom into particular transactions that seem questionable, especially tax reports. LOVE that feature too!
  • Ability to find certain invoices or sales orders by name, numbers or amount.
  • Duplicating certain invoices, vendor bills, etc.
  • I am not at that level of knowledge yet.
For invoicing and posting payables, this is excellent. For inventory, I am uncertain about it since it does not record costing for each purchase if each purchase is different for the same inventory item. I guess I will need to better educate myself on how the inventory system works to use it to the company's benefit.
Read Marygold Fry's full review
Craig Davidiuk profile photo
August 22, 2017

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "Migration To Cloud Painful. Recent QBE Hosting Change Disables My Business For Three Weeks."

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We operate an e-commerce B2B company with 5 employees. We operate in two provinces and have staff in three locations (home based). QuickBooks Enterprise allows us to upgrade from our server based operation to the cloud last year. It's robust enough to handle all of our business needs such as payroll, accounting, job costing, budgeting, reporting and more.
  • Quoting and invoicing
  • Purchasing and bill payments
  • Coud based
  • They recently changed hosting providers without any notice. The previous host had excellent telephone support. New host (Summit Hosting) does not. Our books were offline for nearly three weeks. We posted dozens of tickets that never get answered. We had to create quotes in Excel and re-enter them later. Only one user was working so instead of that user doing their job (sales and prospecting) they had to do finance for three weeks. When confronted with the problem, QuickBooks offered no apology or free monthly subscription for the trouble. They suggested we post a comment in the suggestion box. And for this, we pay a few grand a year?
  • QuickBooks support has been historically poor in the 15 years I've been with them.
Three months ago, prior to host move, I would have given them a 9. You simply cannot disable a company's books with third party hosting issues and then leave your customers hanging. This incident has me looking for a new software package for my 2018 year. They just don't seem to care about our needs as a customer. I hope they saved enough money by choosing a low-quality host with terrible support to justify the hoards of customers that are leaving Enterprise right now.
Read Craig Davidiuk's full review
Norm Coleman profile photo
August 08, 2017

Review: "QuickBooks Enterprise - a good choice for many larger businesses."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quickbooks Enterprise is used for all accounting (tracking receivables, payables, balances, customers, and more). The extensive reporting capability of Enterprise allows me to create many different reports which help me in tracking profitability and how the company is performing. I have used one form of QuickBooks or another over the last 30 years.
  • Report creation. Very flexible and can export data to Excel for further manipulation.
  • Accounts Receivable - self-explanatory.
  • Inventory tracking and assembly creations. Works great and is easy to set up and use.
  • I would like to see even more flexibility in reports creation.
  • Being able to downgrade data to a smaller platform (i.e. QuickBooks Pro. etc).
Larger companies or if specific solutions are needed (i.e. assemblies from inventory).
Read Norm Coleman's full review
No photo available
October 09, 2017

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "QuickBooks Advanced Reporting - Forget Everything You Know About Creating Reports"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We moved from Accpac ERP to QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions (QBE) about 5 years ago because it integrated with Autotask. ERP was much harder for accounting to use, but it had much more functionality and type checking that I think lacks in any QB versions. It is easy to make mistakes in QB because it will pretty much let you change anything at any time. But from a business analyst perspective QB reporting is limited to what it can do, so they implemented QB Advanced Reporting. I have used Crystal Reports and Microsoft Reporting Services and they are very similar and intuitive to write reports quickly. Now that we have grown and have 4 divisions separated by class in QB, I am now creating a bunch of massive Excel Reports to get P&L's for each division. I am doing all KPI's in Excel. I am also doing all forecasting and budgeting in excel. I am constantly updating spreadsheets if any lines change in the P&L. The only way to do what I want to do would be to create all the reports in QB Advanced Reporting. I must say it is the most confusing report writer I have ever seen. I hope Adaptive can do it all.
  • Easy to use.
  • Good Support.
  • Easy to make mistakes, does not type check very well, but it is slowly getting better.
  • Advanced Report is not intuitive, very hard to learn.
  • QuickBooks files seem to corrupt more than it should.
QuickBooks is a good software package for companies that do not have complex accounting needs. It is easy to teach to accounting staff with limited accounting experience.
Read this authenticated review
Laurence Sarner profile photo
July 26, 2016

Review: "Outgrowing Your Current Accounting System, Consider QuickBooks Enterprise"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions is being used as an enterprise ERP solution for some of my clients. Due to its more substantial and richer functionality than the lower end ERP products (QuickBooks Desktop as well as similar competing products from other software companies), it is able to handle more complex and larger businesses such as those engaged in manufacturing products and needing distribution/inventory tracking capabilities.
  • Inventory tracking: Lower end accounting products are much weaker in this regard and QuickBooks Enterprise is built with this functionality.
  • Reports: Much more robust reporting functionality than lower end accounting systems. Ability to mine data for better business decision making.
  • Number of users: QuickBooks Enterprise is designed for more concurrent users in an accounting department with simultaneous processes going on.
  • Not Cloud Based: In order to use QuickBooks Enterprise as a cloud based type product one needs to pay for hosting and have the product/data hosted which will run into extra expense. Additionally, this workaround is not a true cloud solution.
  • Operating System Compatibility: When upgrading operating systems on user workstations, more problems are prone to occur. There is sometimes a disconnect between Microsoft and Intuit in compatibility.
  • Expensive Upgrades: This is not the type of accounting product that you can easily use for years without upgrading. Thus, one needs to build this into their operating budget.
You'll want to go with this type of ERP solution if you're running a business with some level of complexity. For example, a manufacturing company with more than 50 employees and significant inventory tracking needs would be a good candidate for QuickBooks Enterprise. Additionally, a scenario where there are going to be a lot of accounting users would necessitate a product such as QuickBooks Enterprise rather than the basic QuickBooks desktop products. If you're starting out, or your business is in an earlier stage of development, you won't necessarily want to start out with Enterprise initially. If you use more of a "beginner" type accounting product (such as one of the other QuickBooks desktop products), you can always upgrade your data file later should you eventually use Enterprise.
Read Laurence Sarner's full review
Kim Davidson profile photo
July 29, 2016

User Review: "Quickbooks Enterprise"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quickbooks Enterprise for a couple of lines of our business. We discontinued using QB Enterprise about a year ago in our main line of business because of major issues with data base corruption and Balance Sheet being constantly out of balance
  • Easy to learn
  • User friendly
  • More work needs to be done to allow it to function in a multi user environment. We constantly had users locked out and required to restart the software.
  • Improve database - corruption caused our Balance Sheet to constantly be out of balance
  • Improve customer support when an issue arises to find and implement a fix
Because of previous issues mentioned, I would not recommend for multi-user environment
Read Kim Davidson's full review
Andrew Newman CPA profile photo
March 18, 2016

Review: "Quickbooks Enterprise: Premier's big brother not a shining star."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a few organizations we have worked with that have chosen QuickBooks Enterprise as their accounting software. Our role is to assist with the implementation and/or provide accounting support to these clients.
  • Very scalable - both in data file size and user access
  • Better user controls
  • Enterprise is just a bigger QuickBooks Pro. It is no match for more sophisticated programs like Intacct or other accounting systems aimed at the mid-market.
  • The user security is sorely lacking. Not enough customization of controls. For example, in order for a person to have access to bank feeds, they have to be given access to the entire administrative side of the program.
For most of my clients I have not found the cost of QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions to weigh with its benefits.
Read Andrew Newman CPA's full review
Kelly Baldwin profile photo
September 30, 2015

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "Quick overview for those who have questions or concers if you should purchase Enterpirse Solutoins Edition"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using QuickBooks for over 10 years and currently using QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions Manufacturing and Wholesale 15.0 for our financial and accounting software within our business. We are a information technology and service company with nearly 1,000 active customers. We have over six active users in QuickBooks starting with our officers, billing department, and the procurement and financial department. As the financial coordinator I am a certified ProAdvisor as well. Enterprise Solutions has the highest number of users allowed with many other multiple features including advanced inventory and handles over $1 million per year in sales. What I like about the Enterprise Solutions Edition is the class tracking which allows you to produce a more detailed Profit & Loss, FIFO Inventory method, Inventory Assembly and Find and Select Items within Advanced Inventory. You can also create Debit and Credit Journal Entries for your accounting purposes. You can manage fixed assets, create purchase orders and sales orders and use the Sales Order Fulfillment Worksheet and track serial numbers or lot tracking for inventory parts. On a day to day basis I am constantly running financial reports, adjusting invoices and entering parts purchases. Many reports are created from Open Purchase Orders and Sales Orders to a Collection Report. This edition is very user friendly but does have a few things that would make my world easier if these features were added e.g., making changes in the Chart of Accounts/Item List without having to go into Single User Mode. This step requires all users to be logged out. There are just a few small issues that eventually Intuit will more than likely fix as they hear more concerns.
  • Class Tracking - allows you to produce a more detailed Profit & Loss Report
  • Advanced Inventory - keeps track of your inventory along with Fixed Assets
  • Sales Tax - Paying sales tax with the Sales Tax Liability Report gives you the breakdown of the different fields the State Tax Department requires
  • Chart of Accounts - When updated or changing an account code, it automatically changes the history of all the entries made in lieu of manually changing all entries
  • Home screen - It is mapped out for you to enter your business entries clearly
  • Reconcile - Reconciling the bank statements is very eary
  • Making changes in the Chart of Accounts or Items Lists sometimes require you to be in Single User Mode. Also, merging a contact name (customer or vendor) requires this as well. If QuickBooks fixed it where you do not have to go into Single User Mode I could get more thing accomplished at one time
  • Running reports - Custom Report field needs more detailed or user friendly fields to create reports that are not generally created along with color coded charts per customer etc
  • Entering credit card payments that are tagged to a Purchase Order; the steps are confusing. Had to watch a video to figure out how to tie the two steps together.

Depending on how many customers, vendors, other names, QuickBooks has list limits. Enterprise Solutions has the highest limits of 1,000,000.


Some key questions to ask are:


  • How many users will be in QuickBooks at the same time?
  • Do you have inventory and are you running payroll?
  • Do you have multiple locations?
  • Do you run financial reports?
Read Kelly Baldwin's full review
Scott Romero profile photo
March 08, 2016

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "Good sidekick"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Financial statement preparation, accounting record keeping.
  • drill down to the transaction level
  • easy to learn very intuitive
  • solid reporting capabilities
  • consolidations. We have 10 companies but need to consolidate in excel.
  • I was not able to open more than 2 companies at the time.
  • expense allocation module (dimensions) would be great.
If you have a multiple company with different currency setup, QB might not be the right choice.
Read Scott Romero's full review
Nick Hendrickson, CPA profile photo
May 21, 2015

QuickBooks Enterprise: "Nick's QuickBooks Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize QuickBooks in connection with clients and audits. We also take client QuickBooks files and utilize them for our audits.
  • Making it easy to use for beginner accountants
  • Items and processes appear to flow well between each other (cash data to journal entry processing)
  • Reporting - it may be my limited experience but I found it difficult to run a few reports like advanced journal entry detail.
  • Again this may be something that was limited in the QuickBooks file we received but it was difficult to navigate around the general ledger and see what was done during the year.
QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions is most appropriate for small companies and ones that do not have advanced accounting. It is also important to know the experience of the user that will be utilizing it. It's best suited for employees with limited experience in accounting software.
Read Nick Hendrickson, CPA's full review
Cynthia Wiseman profile photo
May 05, 2015

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "CPA in public accounting, providing accounting software support to my clients"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have several clients using Enterprise Solutions, as well as other versions of Quickbooks. It is primarily used by the accounting department.
  • Ability to scan documents and attach for online viewing; this is helpful in analyzing expenses
  • Ability to drill down from reporting to original documents/transaction
  • Ability to make changes easily, but also see the changes with audit trails to assist in tracking those changes for purposed of fraud detection
  • More flexibility in customized reporting
  • A fixed asset/depreciation schedule that really interfaces seamlessly with the accounting
Enterprise is best used by an organization that needs over 5 users, has budgeting and forecasting needs, and multiple warehousing for inventory tracking.
Read Cynthia Wiseman's full review
Jayme Zublick profile photo
May 05, 2015

Review: "I recommend QuickBooks Enterprise to my clients"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions here at the CPA firm for our books. My experience is more in assisting clients using the software to better manage their businesses.
  • Ability to customize reports for management
  • Drilldown to detail of numbers for quick answers or corrections
  • User friendly makes it easier train clients
  • More options in customizing reports based upon customized fields
  • Having an inter-company posting option that syncs to another QuckBooks data file

If using Inventory, make sure to test the ability to handle all needs. Some limitations in regards to building assemblies and BOM's.

How many users?

Read Jayme Zublick's full review
Sam Fiedler profile photo
May 01, 2015

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "Everthing Enterprise"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are premier resellers of QuickBooks, and we provide advanced technical support for our QuickBooks clients. The Squire team has a wide array of expertise in QuickBooks across all of our experts, and together we are able to solve many QuickBooks integration pain points, advanced custom reporting, accounting system conversions, and all other aspects of the software. The entire firm has experience in QuickBooks and all Squire professionals use it. We have found that since a vast majority of the small and mid sized businesses in the US use QuickBooks, it makes a lot of sense to be very well versed in the product and to provide all levels of techincal support to our clients that choose to use it.
  • QuickBooks provides a full service accounting software solution for business owners at a very competetive price, often at a fraction of the cost of its competitors.
  • QuickBooks Enterprise offers advanced features, such as advanced pricing, advanced reporting, and advanced inventory as part of it subscription service so that businesses can have access to all the great tools they need in order to maintain a competitive edge.
  • QuickBooks offers a software development kit to third party vendors that want to integrate with its software so that there really aren't any limitations on the software. With the right knowledge and need, almost any solution can be built right into the software to mold it to your company's needs.
  • QuickBooks Enterprise is lacking in its ability to be anything but an accounting software. While many software development companies have developed products that fill in the gaps, QuickBooks no longer is trying to expand its horizons by branching outside of strictly accounting software.
  • QuickBooks Enterprise is a very open accounting software. While that is great in many ways, it also leaves room for potential error and fraud. Without a true ability to close out an accounting period, users can return at any point to a prior period and make changes to what should be locked financials.
QuickBooks Enterprise is very well suited for most small to medium sized businesses of all types. There are few industries where it would not be the best fit. Where it ends up not being a good fit, typically one of the other QuickBooks products end up being the better choice, such as QuickBooks Pro, Premier, or Online. Some other specialized industries, such as insurance, some food service establishments, and large, complex manufacturing or logistics companies are typically where users will have to move to a more sophisticated system.
Read Sam Fiedler's full review
George D. Williams profile photo
April 29, 2015

Review: "QuickBooks Enterprise Solutions - A great small and mid tier solution for business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
It can be used for tracking sales, inventory, expenses for a complex product and services organization. It is being accessed by the entire organization for key information. QBES is an excellent and powerfully capable version of QuickBooks that can be used to handle complex business needs. With extensions, it can handle complex pricing structures, multi-location, serial numbers, lot numbers and more. With extensions, such as Method CRM, you can enable your sales force to see a catalog with current stock status and place orders remotely into QBES. QBES and the Intuit eco-system creates a very effective solution for many complex distribution and manufacturing businesses. For more info contact: info@bocabookkeeping.com

  • QBES is easy to learn so training is simple. Extensive training options exist on the web and in your local area.
  • QuickBooks ES leverages and integrates well with the QuickBooks eco-system of applications such as: merchant accounts, payroll, advanced time tracking, Service Dispatch, CRM, edi, ecommerce stores, and many industry specific applications, ie: medical, legal, complex manufacturing etc. Custom reporting is easy!
  • QuickBooks ES is very affordable for the small and mid tier business. (Fraction of the cost of competitive offerings). Intuit and partners have created a true efficient and affordable solution for mid size complex processes and businesses.
  • QuickBooks ES can be enabled to provide anytime, anywhere, anydevice access to your business information needs.
  • QBES provides extensive capability out of the box. While QBES with advanced inventory permits tracking of serial numbers and lot numbers, it does not permit both. However, there are work arounds or apps to solve for this.
QuickBooks ES is very well suited for distribution of large quantities of sku's and higher volume. QBES can be easily implemented in many configurations that fit key industries well, such as manufacturing and Wholesale, Contractors, Non Profit, Professional Services, and Retail. When complex manufacturing is involved, app's can be leveraged to extend the functionality and ability to meet very complex business needs. Method CRM extends the availability of QuickBooks ES to enable remote users to have access to QuickBooks information without directly logging in to QB.
Read George D. Williams's full review
Jacie' Fontenot profile photo
July 02, 2014

QuickBooks Enterprise Review: "QuickBooks is the RIGHT and ONLY choice to make!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Polar Technology, we use QuickBooks for payroll purposes. QuickBooks is our main accounting software where we create, issue credit memos and invoices. Daily sales reports are generated out of QuickBooks. We also use QB for our payables to vendors.
  • QuickBooks makes paying vendors really easy.
  • QuickBooks makes memorized transaction very easy to record every month.
  • Pulling Daily sales numbers is really easy. You can customize the report according to your needs.
  • If we could upload transactions to QuickBooks it would save a ton of time.
  • Our QuickBooks freezes up at times and is slow at times.
  • Also maybe a way to track inventory.
What exactly do you need the software to do?
Read Jacie' Fontenot's full review
Nick Jastrebski profile photo
June 25, 2014

Review: "Quickbooks Enterprise - A Consultant's Perspective"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
QuickBooks was used as an accounting tool across our business. In addition it was also one of the primary products we recommended and resold to our small/medium size business customers. It did a great job of helping keep track of revenue targets and at integrating with our operations software.
  • Allows you to easily track all customers and vendors.
  • Enhances data entry to be faster and easier.
  • Allows for purchase and sales orders to be created quickly and easily.
  • Accurate Reporting
  • Integration support with 3rd party applications is not the best.
  • Intuit has shifted more toward Quickbooks Online and has left some of the desktop components behind.
  • For more complex system integration using development tools that allow for data manipulation without using the SDK support is lacking entirely.
The key is to make sure the customer using it fits the correct target and has the correct version. Enterprise solutions allows for lots of data and will support almost any small/medium size company. However the lower versions like Quickbooks Pro can be outgrown by a company over time and cause data issues. It's key to get an understanding of where the company projects to be so you can be sure to make the correct product selection.
Read Nick Jastrebski's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (26)
8.1
Benefit plan administration (16)
7.0
Direct deposit files (25)
8.2
Salary revision and increment management (20)
6.5
Reimbursement management (20)
8.1
API for custom integration (9)
5.2
Plug-ins (13)
6.5
Single sign-on capability (30)
8.5
Role-based user permissions (31)
8.4
Dashboards (32)
7.9
Standard reports (38)
8.2
Custom reports (37)
7.9
Accounts payable (38)
8.8
Accounts receivable (38)
8.8
Cash management (33)
8.9
Bank reconciliation (38)
8.9
Expense management (33)
8.4
Time tracking (20)
6.6
Fixed asset management (29)
7.5
Multi-currency support (15)
8.0
Multi-division support (28)
7.9
Regulations compliance (17)
6.2
Electronic tax filing (18)
8.6
Self-service portal (13)
8.7
Global Financial Support (1)
9
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (2)
8.0
Intercompany Accounting (4)
8.1
Localizations (2)
9.0
Journals and Reconciliations (12)
7.8
Enterprise Accounting (8)
7.4
Configurable Accounting (6)
8.1
Centralized Rules Framework (3)
7.9
Standardized Processes (7)
8.4
Inventory tracking (24)
7.2
Automatic reordering (14)
4.5
Location management (15)
6.7
Manufacturing module (15)
5.7
Pricing (26)
7.8
Order entry (25)
9.3
Credit card processing (21)
5.7
Cost of goods sold (24)
8.1
Order Orchestration (4)
8.7
End-to-end order visibility (3)
8.0
Order exception Resolution (3)
7.4
Branded client dashboards (10)
8.0
Client data roll-up capabilities (10)
9.0
Client data consolidation for benchmarking (10)
8.1
Configurable alerts (11)
7.7
Billing bypass (8)
8.0
Client template cloning (11)
8.1
Single sign-on (11)
8.1
Configurable client onboarding questions (8)
6.9
Cross-client workflow management (9)
8.0
Industry-specific versioning (12)
8.0
Legacy system data migration (11)
7.6

About QuickBooks Enterprise

QuickBooks Enterprise is a widely-used accounting package designed for smaller organizations. It is the top of the QuickBooks line. Pricing starts at $3,000 for five users, and goes up depending on the number of additional users. They also offer an Advanced Inventory module for $999 / year.

QuickBooks Enterprise Integrations

QuickBooks Enterprise Competitors

QuickBooks Enterprise Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No