QuickBooks Online Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
821 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 98)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Sandeep Malhotra | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2020

QBO Expert and Easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Use QBO as our primary bookkeeping and accounting software. Integrated with our bank account and company credit cards. Our CPA's are also have accountant access so it's a seamless way to do our quarterly reporting and annual reporting with tax filings. We primarily use it for Chart of Account, Balance Sheet and Profit and Loss. We do NOT use AP or AR or other transactional functionality.
Read Sandeep Malhotra's full review
Mike Bannan | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2020

QBO is a good tool when it works and Intuit can fix it.

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Accounting, bookkeeping and invoicing are the major functions that we use. Their Payroll and merchant services are just overpriced, We are a smaller sized business with 11 employees that bills clients via Bank ACH, Invoice and Credit Card. We use the live bookkeeping service from QBO. We have two users with access. The "Bookkeeping Live" service is a plus but with the basic software broken it is almost pointless. I have to upload manual bank accounting transaction and credit card accounts.

For the last few months, we have run into a problem that QB's customer support and technical teams can not seem to fix. Our bank feeds only work for some of our accounts when they have been working normally for years. This is our 6th and probably the final year of using QBO. We are currently looking to get rid of the product all due to their crappy, horrible, non-responsive, and disorganized lack of support.
Read Mike Bannan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2020

QB Online: Great for WFH

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

QB was being used by the Finance Department for a period of time to handle invoicing to clients, as well as expenses for travel, and accounts payable.
Read this authenticated review
Chloe Tollefson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

QuickBooks Online - Easy to use, even for a non-accountant!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

QuickBooks Online is used across the whole organization. We use it for reporting purposes as well as accounting purposes. We also use it to send and receive payments. It is an extremely helpful tool, you can send a payment instantly via card or bank account. We keep track of all revenues via QuickBooks Online as well.
Read Chloe Tollefson's full review
Tammy Gutierrez | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

QuickBooks scores a touchdown

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Quickbooks Online has simplified our invoicing and accounts payable processes enormously. We used to use the desktop version but switched to online and it made a world of difference. We are able to integrate our WorkTrack service call software and our payroll making it a true asset to our company.
Read Tammy Gutierrez's full review
Drew West | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

A detailed summary of why I chose QuickBooks Online over competing products - Sales Tax Calculations | Receipt Capture | Customer Service | Accounting and Reporting Functionality

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Quickbooks Online (QBO) is essential to our business because it provides a combination of functionalities that no other software service packages together for a small business of our size. Our small business ships products across the US. We collect and remit sales tax to 43 different state jurisdictions, so in addition to handling our accounting, bookkeeping, tax preparation, issuing our 1099s and giving our CPA access to our books. Quickbooks Online also serves the critical function of calculating the sales tax due with each package we ship. When I create an invoice for our customer through QBO, I enter the 'Ship From' and 'Ship To' addresses, and the software automatically calculates the amount of sales tax that we need to collect and adds it to the invoice total before I send it to our customer. In case you don't know, every state has different sales tax requirements and depending on where you are shipping. You may need to collect sales tax at the state, county, and city level jurisdictions. But QuickBooks does all the calculations for you and is accurate more than 99% of the time. And when it comes time to file our sales tax returns to each state, QuickBooks Online has helpful reports to show the amount due for each jurisdiction.
Read Drew West's full review
Don Fowler | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

Continuing to raise monthly fees

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

QBO is used for IT billing across our organization. QBO has recently, in the last 12 months increased the monthly most of it's subscriptions from $32 per month to $50 per month, and we were informed it's increasing to $70 per month effective March 1, 2020. What's most significant QBO hasn't added any new features and explains the increase is needed for future products and development.
Read Don Fowler's full review
Warren Marland | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

QBO - Good for basic double entry book keeping but don't expect bells and whistles

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a geographically diverse company dealing with distribution of retail goods to both online channels and stores. We needed a book keeping solution that was not overly complex but more importantly, could run in the cloud and be accessed 24/7 from anywhere. We also needed a system that would be able to pull transactions in from Amazon, Walmart, eBay etc., to automate bookkeeping as much as possible and also to tie in with our bank account at Citibank.
Read Warren Marland's full review
Ely Khoury | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Great SaaS for the Lean Business Owner

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use QuickBooks Online for merchant payments and accounting at my company. Quickbooks Online has saved me a ton of time in not having to manually to accounting/bookkeeping, and keeps things organized per category. Customer service is very good and usually helps me solve any problems that arise. I would recommend.
Read Ely Khoury's full review
JEFFREY HAZLITT | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2019

Every small business should use QuickBooks Online!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization uses Quickbooks Online to track and reconcile credit card charges, debit card charges, and checks written. The dashboard quickly shows us our expenses, income, and profit to date - as well as the ability to quickly compare it to previous years. Last but certainly not least we are able to give our accountant in another state login credentials and she can file our taxes easily.
Read JEFFREY HAZLITT's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2019

Slowing Down with QuickBooks Online

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

QuickBooks Online (QBO) is currently being used in our firm to deploy and implement cloud accounting systems for our clients. Traditionally small businesses had their accounting data housed on one desktop computer or at a central location such as a server. This made it difficult for small businesses with multiple users to have access to the most current updated version of their data. With QBO, everyone can have access to the same data, work can be completed simultaneously, and information can be accessed in real-time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2020

QuickBooks Online is, by far, the best accounting solution available.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

QuickBooks Online is used by our finance department to manage our inventory and bookkeeping. Additionally, our CPA has access to it. QuickBooks Online makes it easy for multiple people to access our account information and update items simultaneously without having to worry about manually backing up our books on a regular basis. If anything were to ever happen to our facility, our accounting information is backed up to the cloud and accessible from anywhere in the world, which is a HUGE for us.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

QuickBooks Online for Professional Services

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use QuickBooks Online for our financials and to support our annual tax filings. QuickBooks Online allows us to access our data from anywhere and share our data in real-time with our accounting support. QuickBooks Online also keeps our data from previous years centrally and allows us not to have to worry about transition when we replace our computers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

QuickBooks Online makes bookkeeping easy for small business owners!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My whole organization uses QuickBooks. It makes daily bookkeeping tasks very simple and allows me to streamline quarterly billing processes for my clients. It also creates a secure way for me to share information with my bookkeeper and provides immediate access to reports such as P&L, Balance Sheet, Overdue Invoices, etc.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Quickbooks Online to satisfy your personal finance needs boost the growth of your small business!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is only used to monitor one user's finances. Three accounting staff members are doing input, reconciliations, and generating reports. It is simple and easy to use for day to day business transactions from uploading and matching bank transactions to generating recurring entries. It enables us to work anywhere as long as there's internet.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Automatic Accounting!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use QuickBooks Online to keep accounting for sales, organize expenses, payments, etc. QuickBooks keeps everything organized and easy reporting to see where the cash is going. It is used throughout the whole organization. We're a small company and it helps keep track of everyone.
Read this authenticated review
Joel McAfee | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Accounting for Small Business Made Accessible and Easy for Noobs Like Me

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization utilizes Quickbooks Online to unify all of our accounting processes including payroll, bookkeeping, bank reconciliations, tax payments, etc... into a cloud based browser or app interface - accessible anywhere. It allows me the freedom to leave the computer at home update my books, add bills, pay taxes, and simplify payroll at any time or any place.
Read Joel McAfee's full review
Samarah Sardoni | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

QuickBooks Online Makes Invoicing So Easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

QuickBooks Online is used by three main users at my agency including the project manager (for fixed bid and hourly invoicing), office manager (for reimbursements, hard costs, and payroll), and partners (for viewing statements and upcoming charges). Having multiple users helps divvy up the responsibilities while also keeping everyone accountable and ethical.
Read Samarah Sardoni's full review
Brian Welch | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Quickbooks Online - Simple Start is simple to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Right now, we use Quickbooks Online for Invoicing and expense tracking. As a small company, it allows me to act as the bookkeeper and accountant even though I don't have an accounting background. It also keeps track of the sales tax I need to collect for the state and keep track of who is behind on paying invoices.
Read Brian Welch's full review
Tammy Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

I love the versatility and freedom that QuickBooks provides my business!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use QBO as a professional accounting firm, for our own company, and for our client's bookkeeping. Being in the cloud makes it possible for us to have clients all over the county and not limited to a particular area. We are more efficient by using QBO and we can assign anyone to any client no matter where their location. This helps our outreach and increases our profitability.
Read Tammy Roberts's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (45)
8.1
Benefit plan administration (22)
6.8
Direct deposit files (41)
6.7
Salary revision and increment management (28)
7.6
Reimbursement management (28)
8.4
API for custom integration (33)
8.0
Plug-ins (35)
7.2
Single sign-on capability (48)
8.7
Role-based user permissions (58)
8.6
Dashboards (72)
8.1
Standard reports (76)
8.3
Custom reports (68)
8.0
Accounts payable (71)
8.2
Accounts receivable (77)
8.5
Cash management (67)
8.1
Bank reconciliation (79)
8.2
Expense management (69)
8.1
Time tracking (33)
5.6
Fixed asset management (32)
6.4
Multi-currency support (12)
4.3
Multi-division support (28)
7.8
Regulations compliance (22)
6.9
Electronic tax filing (32)
8.9
Self-service portal (35)
8.2
Global Financial Support (6)
6.9
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (14)
7.2
Intercompany Accounting (16)
7.7
Localizations (10)
8.4
Journals and Reconciliations (34)
7.8
Enterprise Accounting (13)
8.3
Configurable Accounting (17)
7.1
Centralized Rules Framework (10)
8.0
Standardized Processes (22)
8.0
Inventory tracking (28)
7.6
Automatic reordering (11)
8.4
Location management (12)
7.7
Manufacturing module (9)
5.0
Pricing (33)
8.1
Order entry (32)
8.7
Credit card processing (38)
7.8
Cost of goods sold (39)
8.0
Order Orchestration (7)
7.6
End-to-end order visibility (8)
8.5
Order exception Resolution (8)
6.2

About QuickBooks Online

QuickBooks Online is a SaaS verison of the QuickBooks product. It contains all of the features found in the local version, features typical of similarly priced accounting software. The monthly fee for this service starts at $10 and climbs to $30 with the Plus version, which has the richest features. The base level allows for unlimited invoices and estimates, expense tracking, importing from Excel or Quickbooks desktop, data backup, mobile accessibility, and integration with many other applications. The Essentials pricing plan contain more automation, more bill and payment management, as well as inventory and time tracking, and the Plus package contains budgeting and analytic features.

QuickBooks Online Integrations

QuickBooks Online Competitors

QuickBooks Online Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

QuickBooks Online Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No