QuickBooks Online Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
803 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 96)

Mike Bannan | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2020

QBO is a good tool when it works and Intuit can fix it.

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Easy to get reports.
  • Very fluid chart of accounts.
  • Good dashboard where I can see my important financial concerns.
  • Customer service is nil.
  • Tech support is very difficult and time consuming to work with.
  • Cases and case numbers get lost or are not entered properly meaning start all over.
  • Automatic matching is very unreliable and if not closely watched your finances may be wrong.
Read Mike Bannan's full review
Chloe Tollefson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

QuickBooks Online - Easy to use, even for a non-accountant!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use
  • Simple to understand
  • I think some of the reports that you can generate are designed for as if you are an accountant or have a background in finance. It would be nice for them to be a little more straightforward or the terminology more simple and straightforward.
  • It sometimes takes days and days to receive the money that you are sent, meaning that sending payments through your bank could likely be quicker and easier.
Read Chloe Tollefson's full review
Tammy Gutierrez | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

QuickBooks scores a touchdown

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Integration- several of my programs integrate.
  • Time-being able to access QB Online from anywhere with an internet connection.
  • Organization - bills and invoices are paid on time.
  • Closing purchase orders in bulk.
  • Using estimate to create purchase orders.
Read Tammy Gutierrez's full review
Drew West | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

A detailed summary of why I chose QuickBooks Online over competing products - Sales Tax Calculations | Receipt Capture | Customer Service | Accounting and Reporting Functionality

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QuickBooks Online is the total package for small businesses that need comprehensive accounting software support at an affordable price. There are other options for medium-to-large size businesses, like NetSuite, but their subscription costs are much higher. In contrast, QuickBooks Online offers functionality that will serve most small businesses for a fraction of the cost.
  • In the small-business accounting software category, other companies offer competing products. Still, after doing my own research and reading reviews from other users, I found that QuickBooks Online is regarded as the most robust and feature-rich in terms of all of the accounting needs and reporting functionality that your business might need.
  • QuickBooks Online has a great feature called Receipt Capture, which allows you to snap a photo of your receipt and automatically upload it into the system for your approval. The software tries to auto-fill the appropriate information like merchant name, transaction date, transaction amount, and account category. The auto-fill suggestions aren't 100% accurate, but the functionality is helpful and is improving with time.
  • I have requested a callback from QuickBooks Online customer support numerous times in my two years as a customer, and the callback is usually within 5 minutes. The support is generally beneficial and able to resolve the issue. If your question or problem is easier to address by the representative looking at your session with you, there is functionality built right into QuickBooks Online that allows you to screen share your session with the representative so you can walk through the issues together. It is beneficial, and I appreciate this feature.
  • As of February 2020, QuickBooks Online advertises that you can e-file your state sales tax returns directly through QuickBooks Online. This functionality has never been available to me, and I manually fill out and submit my returns directly through each state's online portal. I don't believe this functionality is available for most QuickBooks Online users, despite advertisements indicating that it is.
  • As of February 2020, the following QuickBooks Online subscription levels: Simple Start, Essentials, and Plus, do not allow users to bulk upload or import multiple invoices at once. These tiers only will enable you to create one invoice at a time. The highest subscription level, QuickBooks Online Advanced, does allow users to import multiple invoices at once using Excel import, but the price is much higher. For users who can't afford the subscription price of QuickBooks Online Advanced but need the functionality of bulk uploading invoices, there is a software service called Transaction Importer Pro that does a good job, and the price is $20/month.
  • Every once in awhile, I find a page in QuickBooks Online that doesn't allow a user to sort, filter, or display the information the way I think would be most useful. Even after submitting feedback using the online feedback tool, I haven't received any response to my communication about these small changes. These are minor issues, but they don't dampen my enthusiasm for all of the other wonderful functionality that QuickBooks Online enables.
Read Drew West's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2020

QB Online: Great for WFH

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • As an online-based software, it can be accessed from anywhere in the world, which is of particular interest to those working remotely and on different continents.
  • It can be user-friendly for those who are new to accounting software.
  • Easily manipulated which is good for clients with intricate wording necessary on their invoices.
  • Cannot do intricate accounting reports or entries like a desktop version allows.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2020

QuickBooks Online is, by far, the best accounting solution available.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QuickBooks Online makes it very easy to run basic financial reports.
  • QuickBooks Online integrates with all major banks, making adding transactions quick and easy.
  • QuickBooks Online is cloud based, which means you can access your financial data from anywhere in the world with internet access.
  • First-time set-up with QuickBooks Online isn't difficult, but it would be helpful if they provided tips/advice for those who may be moving from another platform.
  • QuickBooks Online likes to push their other services, for example using their system to accept payments. I wish there were a way to opt out of seeing certain options that you choose not to use.
  • Getting help from an actual QuickBooks Online support member is difficult. Often times if you post a question online, the answer provided doesn't actually answer or address your question and the issue is closed before you're able to elaborate more.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

One of the most important aspects of running your business made simple.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QuickBooks Online gives me the ability to create customized reports and financial statements in seconds.
  • This software allows me to keep track of accounts payable and receivables and also allows me to receive payments from clients online.
  • This software allows me to keep up with my books in real time and offers assistance through live chat and information lookup.
  • This software is not always user friendly and allows for multiple routes to be taken to accomplish the same outcome which at times can be confusing and lead to multiple answers.
  • This software allows chat but not the ability to have a quick question answered over the phone unless enrolling in virtual bookkeeping services.
  • This software does take quite a while familiarize with.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

QuickBooks Online for Professional Services

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QuickBooks Online is able to handle all variety of transactions we need as a professional services firm.
  • QuickBooks Online makes sharing our information with our accounting support team very easy and seamless.
  • QuickBooks Online has a lot of capability, which at times can be confusing for simpler businesses.
  • QuickBooks Online needs to build integration with Professional Employer Organizations.
Read this authenticated review
Joel McAfee | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Accounting for Small Business Made Accessible and Easy for Noobs Like Me

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • One of my favorite things Quickbooks Online does well is automation of Payroll. I never have to worry if taxes are calculated correctly or print checks - it's all automated and direct deposited. Normally i'd have to pay an accountant to keep up with this or calculate myself - but this is far more efficient.
  • Quickbooks Online as opposed to the older software model allows you the conveniences and confidence of a secure bookkeeping software along with the modernization of cloud based access.
  • Automated tax payment calculations and reminders help me make sure I'm never late for payments, which if you've ever been late on an income tax payment - you don't want that to happen.
  • The feature-set of QBO is so broad that it's sometimes hard to know how to get behind the veil of the simplistic interface and to really put it to use. It would be great to have some built in, hands on training for small business owners who are accounting novices.
  • I have had issues at times where the OS X software doesn't want to load the Quickbooks Online account, which a restart usually fixes - but that's a bit annoying. The browser version usually works pretty flawlessly.
  • Some of the end of year tax systems are built into QBO as third party plug ins (like for 1099 filing i.e.) - which is a bit odd. I'd almost rather integrate them then white label rather than having it take me to some third party website or design layout within the same window. Minor improvement but it does feel a bit clunky.
Read Joel McAfee's full review
Amanda Layman | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

A truly quicker alternative to manual bookkeeping

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ease of use/gamification.
  • Syncing with bank accounts and PayPal.
  • Some menu items are tricky to find/not as intuitive as I'd like.
  • My accountant has mentioned that QB sometimes makes changes to its service agreements/pricing that can be a pain for her when managing her accounting business.
Read Amanda Layman's full review
Warren Marland | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

QBO - Good for basic double entry book keeping but don't expect bells and whistles

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • 24/7 access in the cloud to our books from geographically diverse locations and timezones
  • Relatively simple interface for non finance people who need to deal with invoicing or entry of bills
  • Relatively low cost solution
  • Compared to the full desktop version, there is still a great deal of functionality missing. In particular sales orders and greater levels of report and invoice customization.
  • There is a desktop app that can be downloaded but it doesn't really do much to provide better access than directly through the browser. It could be developed to provide better offline access or at least storage of some regularly used data.
  • Unfortunately, there just isn't much out there that answers all the needs and QBO is more of a 'better the devil you know' solution than one that I would actively advocate.
Read Warren Marland's full review
Samarah Sardoni | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

QuickBooks Online Makes Invoicing So Easy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • QuickBooks Online allows me to create "delayed charges" which helps forecast income as well as guarantee that invoicing is not forgotten.
  • QuickBooks Online has several shortcuts to get to where I need to go faster. For example, jumping directly to a client or invoice number.
  • My favorite feature on QuickBooks Online is that I am able to plan ahead for project invoicing and create custom reports that fit my exact needs.
  • Whenever I set up a new invoice or delayed charge and adjust the due date, it uses that same due date for my next invoice. It can get very confusing if I'm not extremely attentive while I am adding in delayed charges.
  • When I create a delayed charge, I add in a "memo" line, but when I create an invoice based on that delayed charge, that memo line does not transfer over.
  • After I've created a line item in an invoice, if I change the "category" or "department" it clears out all other details and forces me to start over.
Read Samarah Sardoni's full review
Brian Welch | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 21, 2019

Quickbooks Online - Simple Start is simple to use

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Invoicing - I can create products and services as well as enter line items "free-form" for a more specialized service.
  • Sales tax calculation - NJ has changed the sales tax rate 3 times since I went into business. Changing the tax rate is easy, and the calculations Quickbooks does keeps it on track.
  • Expense Tracking - You can create rules to make it easier to track expenses.
  • Announcing changes- The last major changes had me thrown off because I didn't have a preview or transition period.
  • Support - Too much of support can get shrugged over to an accountant, who then tells me it's a Quickbooks issue.
Read Brian Welch's full review
Tammy Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

I love the versatility and freedom that QuickBooks provides my business!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Syncing banking transactions makes it really easy to know when the accounts are current.
  • Accepting payments directly through invoicing is a great time saver.
  • I know who has done what tasks through the audit trail.
  • Interactive reports/hyperlinks provide personal customization for the user and provides many places to change or correct data easily.
  • Accepting pre-payments is a hassle and would love to have a way to not have to re-touch invoices in the undeposited funds account due to date incompatibly.
  • Finding matches for transactions on a more intuitive level would be helpful.
  • Providing short videos on simple tasks as quick links within the current screen would be awesome.
Read Tammy Roberts's full review
Christopher Cantrall | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 13, 2019

Feature Rich but a Little Sluggish

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Large list of features. There is a lot of functionality packed into QuickBooks Online. It can fill the role of multiple other tools.
  • Being the industry standard. Need an app to interface with QuickBooks Online? It will. Need to connect an accountant? They all know how to use it.
  • Constant innovation. New features get added constantly and improved constantly.
  • Sluggish platform. The interface itself is slick, but slower than it needs to be. A lot of time is wasted waiting for loading.
  • Service unavailability. At times certain parts of the QuickBooks Online platform go down. It's more frequent than it should be.
Read Christopher Cantrall's full review
Susan Hammiche | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2019

Keep track of your money with Quickbooks Online

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Provides an overview of financial standings in various reports.
  • Easy to use and access.
  • Print checks to pay bills.
  • Reduce cost by being able to do payroll ourselves.
  • It has a monthly cost to maintain.
  • No job costing or large inventory management.
  • Direct deposit to vendors not available.
Read Susan Hammiche's full review
Meiyee Apple Tam | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2019

A Mid-sized Architecture firm thinks it's just fine.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Track billing.
  • Create reports.
  • Categorize expenses.
  • Track payments.
  • Timekeeping is not as specific.
  • It doesn't talk to our program, an in-house intranet called ArchiOffice.
  • Is not meant for our specific industry, which is architecture, so we have to use another program, ArchiOffice.
  • Project management is lacking.
Read Meiyee Apple Tam's full review
Ayo Bamgbose, Assoc CIPD, MSc | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

The must-have accounting tool for solopreneurs and small business start ups

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Ability to import and export reports that you will need to help you do your self-assessment annual taxes.
  • Connect your bank accounts and set it to recognize different types of expense and total up your business profits.
  • The ability to take photos of your invoices and receipts and stores them for you.
  • Draft invoices that I'm then able to send to my clients.
  • The app is very limited in what it can really do when trying to manage your accounts on the go.
  • The connection with my bank accounts keeps getting disconnected and I'm constantly having to reconnect them which is time-consuming and annoying.
  • There's a learning curve with using QuickBooks Online if you've never used accounting software. I had to watch a lot of video tutorials online.
Read Ayo Bamgbose, Assoc CIPD, MSc's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 24, 2019

Slowing Down with QuickBooks Online

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Cloud based accounting provides users with anytime access that allows work to be completed faster. Gone are the days of having to be at the office or use remote access software to use the QuickBooks file when away from the office.
  • Robust tools for importing client data whether it is from desktop versions of QuickBooks or other software vendors
  • Growing resources of add-on apps in the Intuit apps marketplace. Allows users to add additional systems (CRM, inventory, ecommerce)
  • New UI (Harmony Edition) is a bit confusing for some users to get used to. Navigation is not very intuitive and many users have to search for things that were easy to find in prior versions.
  • Bank feeds could be better. Some of the transactions that come in from the bank do not import the correct information need to correctly code transactions, thus taking time to research.
  • Advanced features (job costing, inventory, multiple currencies) are not available in the basic version and users must purchase the Plus version or purchase add-ons
  • The reporting in not as robust in QBO versus the desktop product.
  • The software is "walled" in that it does not integrate with non-Intuit tax and accounting products, practice management, workflow management, or portal solutions (unless add-ons)
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (44)
8.0
Benefit plan administration (22)
6.8
Direct deposit files (39)
7.2
Salary revision and increment management (28)
7.6
Reimbursement management (28)
8.3
API for custom integration (32)
7.8
Plug-ins (34)
7.0
Single sign-on capability (47)
8.7
Role-based user permissions (57)
8.5
Dashboards (71)
8.1
Standard reports (75)
8.2
Custom reports (67)
7.9
Accounts payable (70)
8.1
Accounts receivable (76)
8.4
Cash management (66)
8.0
Bank reconciliation (78)
8.2
Expense management (68)
8.0
Time tracking (33)
5.7
Fixed asset management (32)
6.5
Multi-currency support (12)
4.4
Multi-division support (28)
7.9
Regulations compliance (22)
6.9
Electronic tax filing (31)
8.7
Self-service portal (34)
8.1
Global Financial Support (6)
7.0
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (13)
7.0
Intercompany Accounting (15)
8.2
Localizations (9)
8.1
Journals and Reconciliations (33)
7.8
Enterprise Accounting (13)
8.3
Configurable Accounting (17)
7.2
Centralized Rules Framework (10)
8.0
Standardized Processes (21)
7.8
Inventory tracking (28)
7.4
Automatic reordering (11)
8.3
Location management (12)
7.6
Manufacturing module (9)
4.9
Pricing (32)
7.9
Order entry (31)
8.4
Credit card processing (36)
8.2
Cost of goods sold (38)
7.8
Order Orchestration (7)
7.6
End-to-end order visibility (8)
8.4
Order exception Resolution (8)
6.3

About QuickBooks Online

QuickBooks Online is a SaaS verison of the QuickBooks product. It contains all of the features found in the local version, features typical of similarly priced accounting software. The monthly fee for this service starts at $10 and climbs to $30 with the Plus version, which has the richest features. The base level allows for unlimited invoices and estimates, expense tracking, importing from Excel or Quickbooks desktop, data backup, mobile accessibility, and integration with many other applications. The Essentials pricing plan contain more automation, more bill and payment management, as well as inventory and time tracking, and the Plus package contains budgeting and analytic features.

QuickBooks Online Integrations

QuickBooks Online Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

QuickBooks Online Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No