TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/i9/9E/M4B63U583EM5.PNGGreat alternative to Google DriveQuip is a great alternative to Google Drive. I personally don't like Google Drive and I was looking for an alternative. Quip is a great candidate for it and one we are very happy with, overall. It has a slight learning curve but overall it is easy to use and I love that they allow for docs, spreadsheets and now slides. We are currently using mostly for spreadsheets and some strategic docs.,Docs, spreadsheets and slides all in one place and online Team collaboration and sharing is great (includes chat room) Easy to use interface,I'd LOVE to see a better design for the folders page. It looks soooo 1998 Microsoft, for some reason to me... Please, please, please redesign the folders page... It doesn't feel like it belongs to the same app,9,Google DriveQuip documents and team communicationIn our company we use Quip for our day to day tasks and communication (the ability to create docs, spreadsheets, to-dos, project follow-up content, etc) It's all under one dashboard accessible by all and on different devices. It is very helpful in managing out work and time. The chat feature for team communication is also widely used at our work.,Setting up documents, speadsheets, to-do lists and editing them on the go from various applications Team chat feature is also very good Some good and useful templates already present help you start quickly and learn very fast,More templates and font customization Fewer bugs (sometimes when you have a lot of documents it can crash) More customization features for charts and diagrams and more freedom in managing files,7,Fast team communication A quick and easy way to have documents for projects organized and accessed by the relevant people The chat feature avoids using a lot of email and docs versioning, and is very helpful,Evernote and Slack,Zoho CRM, Zoho Projects, Zoho FormsGreat collaboration platform for a Salesforce focused companyQuip is used mostly by IT but also a small group of business users mostly in Accounting. It was put in place to allow collaboration of IT and business users. Chat communication, document storage, sharing and collaboration on documents were part of what we were trying to address. Since Salesforce is a big part of what we do, it made sense to have a tool that worked tightly with Salesforce and worked in the cloud like Salesforce.,Quip puts a lot of chatting capabilities into everything - likes, tags, favorites, callouts, emojis, Giphy, attachments. So communication is rich and creative. And they link chatting communication into everything. Quip allows for collaboration on all documents. Highlights on document or lines or parts of documents are allowed. So collaboration can be very specific within the document. There are date time tags so it is easy to trace historically. Quip also notes when someone sees something which is handy for possible follow-ups instead of waiting for a reply of some kind. Quip has done a fantastic job of expanding Quip capabilities. When we first started, only basic office documents were allowed. Now they have many other apps for project tracking, calendar, working with Salesforce records, and integration with JIRA. These are all very simple to use. It is easy to start using with no training.,Quip office documents are not as full featured as Microsoft Office documents you may be used to. Mind you, there are thousands of features in MS Office documents. But even some of the more basic features are not available. I have many problems with formatting. The worst problem is when a document starts in something else like Microsoft Office and then you try to copy it to Quip. You usually end up having to re-write it if it was complicated. Quip documents will feel slow compared to locally based documents. The performance is similar to what I have seen with O365 documents editing online and only a little slower than Google docs (Google docs do this surprisingly well). But if you are used to working fast in a document you will be challenged by the response time. The problem seems worse with more than 1 person in the document and especially if the document gets large. It would be nice to see Quip embrace Google apps or O365 more. Many companies and users have one or more so would be nice to move between and not lose so much. These are competitors and I know why that would not be a priority but it does mean sometimes I may not put something in Quip.,7,Quip allowed collaboration and communication between Salesforce team and the rest of IT as well as business users. Quip allowed collaboration on documents that was very interactive and helpful to the creation process. Quip frustrated us because we had so many documents that we already had but they did not work well inside of Quip.,Google Hangouts, Google Drive, Google Forms, Microsoft Office 365, Slack and MS SharePoint,Microsoft Office 365, JIRA Software, GitHub, SQL Server Integration Services, Anypoint Platform, Dell Boomi, SnagitGood for cross-functional workWe use Quip to discuss cross-functional products with teams at other companies. It helps us stay organized while working cross-functionally and to ensure we don't lose anyone's work.,Cross-functional project coordination Team work Easy to use interface,Add more differentiators from Google Docs,8,It's helped us stay organized.,HubSpotQuip is great for teams to collaborate on and having everything in one organized placeQuip is being used by the Marketing department so it easier to collaborate between all of us here. We work on campaigns where a lot of people are involved such as graphic designers, writers, developers, managers, and so forth; Quip helps us have all the information for one campaign in one place, including a place to chat about the campaign,A great place to have campaigns managed in a very organized way and to request many different things to different people in the department. The fact that there is a chat box right next to where everything is kept for a campaign is very useful to ask for small things to other people involved in the campaign. Simplistic and effortless to use. Other tools might be a little too complicated to use, Quip is not that case.,It would be good to have the option of making the chat a little bigger when needed. Sometimes documents can become too long, it would be good to add tabs for the same campaign. Close down the white-space on the sides of the Quip document so more content can be seen at glance.,10,It is much easier to receive and send request to other teammates in the department Saves much time and stress when someone might forget something Easy place to follow-up on pending items,BrightEdge, Demandbase
Unspecified
Quip
24 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Quip Reviews

Quip
24 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 24 vetted Quip reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-11 of 11)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Barbara Carneiro profile photo
November 29, 2018

Quip Review: "Great alternative to Google Drive"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is a great alternative to Google Drive. I personally don't like Google Drive and I was looking for an alternative. Quip is a great candidate for it and one we are very happy with, overall.

It has a slight learning curve but overall it is easy to use and I love that they allow for docs, spreadsheets and now slides.

We are currently using mostly for spreadsheets and some strategic docs.
  • Docs, spreadsheets and slides all in one place and online
  • Team collaboration and sharing is great (includes chat room)
  • Easy to use interface
  • I'd LOVE to see a better design for the folders page. It looks soooo 1998 Microsoft, for some reason to me...
  • Please, please, please redesign the folders page... It doesn't feel like it belongs to the same app
Quip is a great tool for small and medium teams that rely on collaboration and as a centralized place for documents. It is overall a great alternative to Google Drive with a far nicer interface.

It is a fast tool and easy to use. It has been an excellent option for my business, specially for shared spreadsheets that before had to be downloaded and uploaded over and over.

Quip is also simple, while providing many features. Oh and don't miss their templates!
Read Barbara Carneiro's full review
Mehdi Aherraki profile photo
November 28, 2018

User Review: "Quip documents and team communication"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we use Quip for our day to day tasks and communication (the ability to create docs, spreadsheets, to-dos, project follow-up content, etc) It's all under one dashboard accessible by all and on different devices. It is very helpful in managing out work and time. The chat feature for team communication is also widely used at our work.
  • Setting up documents, speadsheets, to-do lists and editing them on the go from various applications
  • Team chat feature is also very good
  • Some good and useful templates already present help you start quickly and learn very fast
  • More templates and font customization
  • Fewer bugs (sometimes when you have a lot of documents it can crash)
  • More customization features for charts and diagrams and more freedom in managing files
Quip is very good if you are a team that works on projects and needs to communicate on the go and share files. It can replace the long list of emails and same file versions going back and forth. It helps gets things organized and started quickly and the template feature (althought there are not many choices) can have you started in no time.
Read Mehdi Aherraki's full review
William Beasley profile photo
June 27, 2018

Quip Review: "Great collaboration platform for a Salesforce focused company"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is used mostly by IT but also a small group of business users mostly in Accounting. It was put in place to allow collaboration of IT and business users. Chat communication, document storage, sharing and collaboration on documents were part of what we were trying to address. Since Salesforce is a big part of what we do, it made sense to have a tool that worked tightly with Salesforce and worked in the cloud like Salesforce.
  • Quip puts a lot of chatting capabilities into everything - likes, tags, favorites, callouts, emojis, Giphy, attachments. So communication is rich and creative. And they link chatting communication into everything.
  • Quip allows for collaboration on all documents. Highlights on document or lines or parts of documents are allowed. So collaboration can be very specific within the document. There are date time tags so it is easy to trace historically. Quip also notes when someone sees something which is handy for possible follow-ups instead of waiting for a reply of some kind.
  • Quip has done a fantastic job of expanding Quip capabilities. When we first started, only basic office documents were allowed. Now they have many other apps for project tracking, calendar, working with Salesforce records, and integration with JIRA. These are all very simple to use. It is easy to start using with no training.
  • Quip office documents are not as full featured as Microsoft Office documents you may be used to. Mind you, there are thousands of features in MS Office documents. But even some of the more basic features are not available. I have many problems with formatting. The worst problem is when a document starts in something else like Microsoft Office and then you try to copy it to Quip. You usually end up having to re-write it if it was complicated.
  • Quip documents will feel slow compared to locally based documents. The performance is similar to what I have seen with O365 documents editing online and only a little slower than Google docs (Google docs do this surprisingly well). But if you are used to working fast in a document you will be challenged by the response time. The problem seems worse with more than 1 person in the document and especially if the document gets large.
  • It would be nice to see Quip embrace Google apps or O365 more. Many companies and users have one or more so would be nice to move between and not lose so much. These are competitors and I know why that would not be a priority but it does mean sometimes I may not put something in Quip.
Quip is well suited for a company with a sizeable Salesforce investment and wants a lot of features around collaboration. You want office type documents but you don't have a huge existing library that you also have to integrate and work with.
Review the Apps that Quip makes available. They have done a good job of coming up with many team-oriented documents for different tasks. While not super full-featured, they give you enough of what you need and you will not have to spend money on other products.
I am unsure of pricing but I have heard it is not cheap. There may be cost barriers to smaller companies. Google and O365 may offer more cost-effective alternatives.
Read William Beasley's full review
No photo available
November 24, 2018

Quip Review: "Good for cross-functional work"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quip to discuss cross-functional products with teams at other companies. It helps us stay organized while working cross-functionally and to ensure we don't lose anyone's work.
  • Cross-functional project coordination
  • Team work
  • Easy to use interface
  • Add more differentiators from Google Docs
Quip is well suited when multiple team members are working on the same project.
Read this authenticated review
David Marquez profile photo
May 22, 2018

"Quip is great for teams to collaborate on and having everything in one organized place"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is being used by the Marketing department so it easier to collaborate between all of us here. We work on campaigns where a lot of people are involved such as graphic designers, writers, developers, managers, and so forth; Quip helps us have all the information for one campaign in one place, including a place to chat about the campaign
  • A great place to have campaigns managed in a very organized way and to request many different things to different people in the department.
  • The fact that there is a chat box right next to where everything is kept for a campaign is very useful to ask for small things to other people involved in the campaign.
  • Simplistic and effortless to use. Other tools might be a little too complicated to use, Quip is not that case.
  • It would be good to have the option of making the chat a little bigger when needed.
  • Sometimes documents can become too long, it would be good to add tabs for the same campaign.
  • Close down the white-space on the sides of the Quip document so more content can be seen at glance.
When there are a lot of people involved in one campaign, Quip is a great space to collaborate, have different types of documents and links. It is easy to share files, let others know when some stages of the campaign are done. It is a little less appropriate in my opinion when you just need to have your own to-do list.
Read David Marquez's full review
Chloe Sayers profile photo
May 02, 2018

User Review: "Quip for Document Management"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is used by the whole organization. It solves the business problems of document organization, centralized SOP storage, team brainstorming, project management facilitation, and file management. It does this by providing a central location for all documents to live with intuitive writing and editing tools that keep documents clean while being multi-functional.
  • Collaboration
  • To-Do lists with reminders
  • Kanban boards
  • Limited color coding options
Quip is great if your team already has another objective/KPI system in place. It can't replace more robust task management but does a great job at combining document collaboration and creation with file storage and basic to-do list functionality. It's a great platform to build off of and is flexible enough to work with multiple work styles.
Read Chloe Sayers's full review
No photo available
March 26, 2018

"Quip Review - Excellent to use With Salesforce"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is very useful since it integrates with Salesforce, so documents can be edited in Quip and kept updated simultaneously on Salesforce. Normally used for Word doc types. It helps to keep everything in sync. Quip also allows more than one user editing a document at the same time, so for project documentation that involves a team, it can also be used. Excel files can be imported and "converted" as Quip documents smoothly.
  • Teamwork
  • Project Management
  • Saleforce Integration
  • Trusted cloud provider
  • Not a real substitute for MS Office
  • Not many edit options for documents
  • It can do the work related to Excel and Word well, but not for PowerPoint.
Great option if you have no budget to acquire MS Office 365.

Good option for situations that require teamwork and several people editing the same document simultaneously.
Not a good option for sophisticated situations that call for documents prepared for external clients that need a more professional layout.Useful as a safe location to keep documents, but only for Word and Excel-like types.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2018

Quip Review: "Game-changer for collaboration and sharing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Quip across our entire company to keep knowledge in one place and facilitate collaboration. Teams use folders to document strategic decisions, helpful resources, workflows, onboarding materials, and notes. Individuals use private documents to take notes and jot down ideas. Quip has a ton of helpful tools for project management and organization, including Kanban boards, checklists, calendar and project tracker add-ons.
  • Live collaboration - it shows where people are working and making edits.
  • Organization - it's easy to see recent updates, drill into folders, and use the search.
  • Privacy & Sharing - The sharing and revision history gives me peace of mind.
  • Quip's Live Apps are valuable and well-designed, but still a little buggy. Sometimes when you interact with them, they prohibit you from being able to edit your document without refreshing the page.
Quip is well suited for teams that value transparency and collaboration. Once a document's in a team-visible state, you'll be able to see who's actively viewing and who has read this document. It's also appropriate for private sharing, since it's easy to keep your document visible to just you or certain parties.
Read this authenticated review
Roger Topp profile photo
October 10, 2017

User Review: "No Qualms Quip!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are only using Quip in Sales + Customer Success but planning to roll it out across Product + Eng too. We use it heavily for collaboration with clients and prospects at various phases of the sales process. They love the collaboration, updates, and chat features. It's completely replaced our reliance on Gdocs, which can be tenuous to share + track.
  • Provide a single-pane for viewing projects, notes, and linked spreadsheets + images.
  • Super easy chat feature for collaboration
  • Desktop app that can be accessed offline...which is HUGE for me.
  • Configuring the set-up for your view (i.e. windowpane + menu on the left hand side could be easier. Kind of hard to set preferences.
  • Looks a lot like Slack - I'd like to see more product differentiation.
I'm totally addicted to using Quip for my work. It's the central source of truth for my to-do-lists and collaboration needs. It's also really easy to use with people that aren't on the platform which makes it ideal for use with clients, etc. It's really the all in one without the distractions of other tools.
Read Roger Topp's full review
No photo available
November 07, 2017

Quip Review: "Great for sharing ideas!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are only using it for every department except engineering and marketing. We use it heavily for collaboration with each other. We love the collaboration. It's completely replaced our reliance on Google Docs.
  • Easy to sync changes, updates other people about changes or revisions.
  • Desktop app that can be accessed offline.
  • Do not need to share docs with co-workers, Quip does it for you.
  • Excel doc is difficult to use.
  • Too many emails from Quip when there's a new edit or requests.
  • When someone needs access to something, it can get lost because Quip sends A LOT of email notifications. Difficult to keep up with the emails and know which ones are important. It's easy to drown in Quip email notifications.
  • Downloading documents in bulk is a huge pain!
Great for collaboration and instant sharing.
  • Sharing ideas which require contribution by multiple team members simultaneously
  • Tagging/mentioning
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2017

User Review: "Get Quip, Quick!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Used as note taking app.
  • Used to share minutes following meeting (there is a note share functionality built in, so you don't have to email out to the team afterwards).
  • Used to communicate concepts in meetings, where on screen aid is required but PowerPoint would be overkill.
  • In certain instances, used for on the fly spreadsheet calculations, due to the in build xls capability. This is incredibly useful.
  • Outside of work, I utilise it as a personal to-do list!
  • Formatting of your notes, where they require sharing to others in a sensible and easily understandable format (it makes brain dumps look like some kind of useful prose!)
  • Spreadsheet functionality: you can literally copy and paste out of a spreadsheet, then make formulaic changes to it in Quip. Can also copy and paste out of Quip into spreadsheet. Very neat feature!
  • Chat function - so if you don't use Slack or another tool and have Quip, it may preclude having to get that additional tool.
  • When you open up functionality to the entire company via share, they seem to get really annoying emails and requests through Quip.
  • The user interface can be confusing at time; it's hard to get from one note to another.
  • The formatting is typically great. But there are some annoying issues with Headers (markup format) and bullet points which need to be worked out. Not show stoppers, but annoying!
[Quip is] Suited:
  • Quick note taking in meetings
  • Tool for interviews and focus groups
  • Sharing thoughts which require contribution by multiple team members simultaneously (a la Google Docs)
  • General day-to-day note taking, especially when you want to tag notes to particular users
[Quip is] Not Suited:
  • Complex note taking, which requires different colours and hard formatting
  • Word style work - it looks like it but is not quite there yet!
Read this authenticated review

Quip Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (10)
7.9
Gantt Charts (5)
5.2
Scheduling (6)
7.7
Workflow Automation (3)
8.8
Mobile Access (8)
7.8
Search (10)
8.5
Visual planning tools (8)
8.1
Chat (11)
8.3
Notifications (9)
8.5
Discussions (10)
8.4
Surveys (5)
6.8
Internal knowledgebase (6)
8.3
Integrates with GoToMeeting (1)
9
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (2)
7.0
Integrates with Outlook (2)
8.0
Versioning (7)
9.2
Video files (4)
7.9
Audio files (3)
7.2
Document collaboration (11)
9.5
Access control (8)
8.9
Advanced security features (2)
5.5
Integrates with Google Drive (3)
8.6
Device sync (7)
9.1

About Quip

Quip offers a suite of productivity/collaboration tools. The vendor says Quip combines documents, spreadsheets, checklists and chat into one interface.
Categories:  Collaboration

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basic$0
Team$10per month (10 seats included)
Business$12per user per month
Enterprise$25per user per month

All editions include unlimited personal documents and folders and a custom subdomain. Paid versions include unlimited document revision history, message archive and group sharing.

Quip Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No