Quip Reviews

48 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-23 of 23)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 12, 2020
Will Goad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is currently used by our CS and technical teams to collaborate on documentation and research related to our product and business.

Effectively, it is a repository to maintain documentation on nonstandard processes or product features as we seek to standardize those areas.
  • Collaboration
  • In-line editing
  • Not a true word processor
  • Better Salesforce integration
If you are looking for a collaborative tool, Quip is rock solid. @mentioning, commenting and history are excellent. Quip's usefulness is particularly prominent in developing documentation for internal dev teams.

Challenges are that quip is not as ubiquitous as Google Docs, OneNote or Evernote. Because of this, sharing might not be as strong.

Also, while it seemed to start as a SaaS word processor, I would not recommend if that is your primary use case.
No issues or need for support.
Read Will Goad's full review
January 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use quip within our Office of Digital Learning, which houses our instructional designers. They then collaborate in Quip with faculty members who reside in our traditional Academic Departments. This allows for easily accessible collaboration regarding online and blended course design across multiple locations and teams.
  • Quip is simple and easy to use - it is familiar in appearance to tools like Google docs, which our users find helpful.
  • The ability to specifically mention and task other users within larger documents helps us to focus the attention of those we collaborate with.
  • I'd like to see Quip revert back to their previous method of editing text (adding bold, hyperlink, etc.) - moving it to the toolbar at the top of the screen slowed down our daily workflow.
  • It would be great to see Quip be able to employ "templates" which could be replicated easily by users.
Quip is excellent for collaborative document creation. It is more robust than Google Docs or Word Online, and provides a common space for writing as a team. We have found a few situations where we'd prefer more robust tool sets for the work we do, such as the ability to integrate databases, embed video, and embed websites. This more advanced work is likely better handled by a different tool.
Most of our issues have been addressed in a timely manner. There have been a few requests or concerns that have gone unaddressed for significant periods of time. I should clarify that these issues were more or less minor - we've never had an outage or significant disruption of service (barring a few hours here or there were it may slow down temporarily).
Read this authenticated review
January 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is being used across the entire organization. Sales, CS, leadership, engineering, everyone. This was a way for our company to replace Google Docs, because many had qualms with Google Docs and its capabilities and organization. This was a great way to categorize and include other team members in day to day data and logging of notes.
  • Easy to search for docs (better than Google Docs)!
  • Great for logging information (data, notes, etc.) and roping in the members of the team that need to see the notes/add comments or add points to the doc (very collaborative).
  • Oddly - formatting was really difficult sometimes with Quip and it got frustrating.
  • Wish it would segment teams better and only send me emails of things that were relevant to me, not what engineering was doing (I was in sales).
Quip is well suited for a team that is completely reliant on logging data online. Yes, a ton can and should be logged with your CRM, but this is great for internal notes/notes for client facing meetings. Quip is great for brainstorming and roping in other members of your team, but as I mentioned before, it's just like Google but better, but is the ROI worth it? Not sure. I was not the decision maker/purchaser.
I have never used Quip's support. To be fair, we hired someone who used to work for Quip before working at our company, and he implemented it and pushed it with the team. He was very biased toward the product, and yes it was better than Google Drive, but by how much?
Read this authenticated review
December 17, 2019
Rebecca Ellis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is being used by my organization to facilitate team members staying on the same page. We create color-coded folders in order to discern topics and tasks that need to be completed. Its ability to be so collaborative is what makes coordinating with colleagues so effortless.
  • The ability to help you stay highly organized
  • Communicate with others in real time
  • It tends to restart a lot and any work you are doing is interrupted
  • Unless specifically set in your preferences, you'll get a slew of emails indicating updates
I work at a television production company so there are several hard deadlines we have to make as a team. Using Quip helps to keep members of the team constantly updated and in-the-know.

Quip serves less of a purpose when it comes to sharing documents outside of an internal group. Anyone who uses Quip in any sort of capacity, should have an account created by the admin.
Their team is efficient and quick when it comes to addressing problems/issues. Ensuring that their platform works smoothly is their priority. I believe they also like to stay ahead of the game and ensure that all their functions operate accordingly so they don't have to address issues down the road.
Read Rebecca Ellis's full review
December 12, 2019
Candi Bashiri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quip across groups specifically around Sales and IT. We implemented it to capture our account plans as a collaborative tool. We also found it to be useful for tracking projects, meeting notes and other documents that use multiple mediums and require collaboration/sharing. Quip makes document sharing easy, fun to work with and essential to teams.
  • Collaboration across teams on documents.
  • Version and change control.
  • Better integration with Powerpoint.
  • From printing to PDF with full support.
Quip is an excellent tool when more than 1 person needs to work on a document at the same time. Collaborating on slides, or documents like notes, deal discussions, account plans, project plans, etc. The ability to store a document across multiple folders so it's easily accessible to others and individually sharing it to a wide or limited audience.
The Customer Success team at Quip had great best practices and use cases on how to best implement and on-board with Quip. They were super responsive, collaborative and enthusiastic. They were open to suggestions and provided solutions or workarounds when a situation called for it. We actually worked within Quip during our implementation so that we learned as we used it. As we went live, for any questions or issues, we had the support team was right in our Quip environment. I'm very happy with the support and help we got from the team.
Read Candi Bashiri's full review
August 05, 2019
Judy Hellen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip software has been leveraged as the best collaboration tool in my company. Through it, the company has achieved better connectivity and efficiency. Primarily, the docs feature of this software is the most utilized in the company. Slowly, dash-boarding and project management features have also been utilized. Generally, it is the best tool, very easy and fairly streamlined.
  • Quip has empowered collaboration across the organization.
  • It has driven accountability through its fantastic features.
  • It integrates comfortably with a single-sign-on.
  • Its synchronization of files to a central online portal is admirable.
  • It has a very interactive user interface.
  • They should improve on branding to make it more effective on company branding
  • Should improve on charting
  • Should incorporate some Excel and Powerpoint features to make it more competitive on Google products.
Through it, an organization will achieve better connectivity and efficiency. Primarily, the docs feature of this software is the most utilized in the company. Slowly, dash-boarding and project management features have also been utilized. Generally, it is the best tool, very easy and fairly streamlined.
It has a very responsive support team which is active 24/7.
Read Judy Hellen's full review
July 29, 2019
Long Dai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quip as our project management tool, where we store documents and chat and collaborate with internal team members. It is used within only the CRM Salesforce department. It solves problems such as where projects are, and how we collaborate. We also enjoy the calendar tool.
  • Integration with Salesforce users and records.
  • Kanban boards make it easy to visualize projects and tasks within projects.
  • Live Salesforce reports without the tool help with being able to see data without having to login to Salesforce.
  • Mobile app is easy to use.
  • The interface could be improved to match the lightning look and feel. We get a sense Salesforce is using this acquisition as a re-brand and not a deep Salesforce product.
  • Ability to give external user access without a full license would be nice.
  • Having some more app-exchange add ons would also be nice.
Quip is well-suited for any scenario where you have multiple team members working together on a project. If you already use Salesforce, Quip is a great tool to get as an add on for collaboration within your team. If you currently do not use Salesforce as your CRM then you may not see all the deep linked benefits.
Read Long Dai's full review
June 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is being leveraged as a collaboration tool across my company to drive better connectivity and efficiency. We primarily use the docs feature, but have also experimented in project management and dash-boarding. The tool is easy to use and fairly streamlined.
  • Synchronizes files to a central online portal.
  • Empowers collaboration across the company.
  • Drives accountability through collaborative features.
  • Clean, simple, easy-to-use interface.
  • Integrates with single-sign-on.
  • Better branding to make the tool feel on more respective to a company's brand.
  • Could use some Powerpoint and Excel-like features, to be more competitive with Google's products.
  • Better charting.
Quip enables productivity and collaboration for companies small and big. It's easy to use, intuitive and stable. It's got great collaboration features that really drive efficiency and accountability. I recommend it for the aforementioned use cases. It's not as strong with charting, slides, Excel, and complex visualizations as some other tools on the market.
Read this authenticated review
June 20, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is being used across about 30% of the organization primarily as a document collaboration tool. It's quite similar to google docs. It's leveraged for work that needs to be more real-time collaborative vs. email. The @ mention comment feature is used heavily.
  • Single sign-on via Okta.
  • A simple to understand product.
  • Collaboration features such as @ mention commenting.
  • Fairly priced.
  • Could use more differentiation vs. larger incumbent players in this space, such as Google Work Suite
  • More features to make the tool feel more 'on brand' for your particular company.
  • An excel and powerpoint add-in to make it more competitive with other incumbents.
Quip is fine/acceptable as a collaborative document tool -- especially if your company has a strong aversion to Google/Google Work Suite. It's fairly priced, easy to use, and its strong collaborative/social features make partnering cross-functionally easier. However, if your company does not have an aversion to Google, I recommend going to Google Work Suite given the more robust feature set offering.
Read this authenticated review
November 29, 2018
Barbara Carneiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is a great alternative to Google Drive. I personally don't like Google Drive and I was looking for an alternative. Quip is a great candidate for it and one we are very happy with, overall.

It has a slight learning curve but overall it is easy to use and I love that they allow for docs, spreadsheets and now slides.

We are currently using mostly for spreadsheets and some strategic docs.
  • Docs, spreadsheets and slides all in one place and online
  • Team collaboration and sharing is great (includes chat room)
  • Easy to use interface
  • I'd LOVE to see a better design for the folders page. It looks soooo 1998 Microsoft, for some reason to me...
  • Please, please, please redesign the folders page... It doesn't feel like it belongs to the same app
Quip is a great tool for small and medium teams that rely on collaboration and as a centralized place for documents. It is overall a great alternative to Google Drive with a far nicer interface.

It is a fast tool and easy to use. It has been an excellent option for my business, specially for shared spreadsheets that before had to be downloaded and uploaded over and over.

Quip is also simple, while providing many features. Oh and don't miss their templates!
Read Barbara Carneiro's full review
November 28, 2018
Mehdi Aherraki | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we use Quip for our day to day tasks and communication (the ability to create docs, spreadsheets, to-dos, project follow-up content, etc) It's all under one dashboard accessible by all and on different devices. It is very helpful in managing out work and time. The chat feature for team communication is also widely used at our work.
  • Setting up documents, speadsheets, to-do lists and editing them on the go from various applications
  • Team chat feature is also very good
  • Some good and useful templates already present help you start quickly and learn very fast
  • More templates and font customization
  • Fewer bugs (sometimes when you have a lot of documents it can crash)
  • More customization features for charts and diagrams and more freedom in managing files
Quip is very good if you are a team that works on projects and needs to communicate on the go and share files. It can replace the long list of emails and same file versions going back and forth. It helps gets things organized and started quickly and the template feature (althought there are not many choices) can have you started in no time.
Read Mehdi Aherraki's full review
June 27, 2018
William Beasley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is used mostly by IT but also a small group of business users mostly in Accounting. It was put in place to allow collaboration of IT and business users. Chat communication, document storage, sharing and collaboration on documents were part of what we were trying to address. Since Salesforce is a big part of what we do, it made sense to have a tool that worked tightly with Salesforce and worked in the cloud like Salesforce.
  • Quip puts a lot of chatting capabilities into everything - likes, tags, favorites, callouts, emojis, Giphy, attachments. So communication is rich and creative. And they link chatting communication into everything.
  • Quip allows for collaboration on all documents. Highlights on document or lines or parts of documents are allowed. So collaboration can be very specific within the document. There are date time tags so it is easy to trace historically. Quip also notes when someone sees something which is handy for possible follow-ups instead of waiting for a reply of some kind.
  • Quip has done a fantastic job of expanding Quip capabilities. When we first started, only basic office documents were allowed. Now they have many other apps for project tracking, calendar, working with Salesforce records, and integration with JIRA. These are all very simple to use. It is easy to start using with no training.
  • Quip office documents are not as full featured as Microsoft Office documents you may be used to. Mind you, there are thousands of features in MS Office documents. But even some of the more basic features are not available. I have many problems with formatting. The worst problem is when a document starts in something else like Microsoft Office and then you try to copy it to Quip. You usually end up having to re-write it if it was complicated.
  • Quip documents will feel slow compared to locally based documents. The performance is similar to what I have seen with O365 documents editing online and only a little slower than Google docs (Google docs do this surprisingly well). But if you are used to working fast in a document you will be challenged by the response time. The problem seems worse with more than 1 person in the document and especially if the document gets large.
  • It would be nice to see Quip embrace Google apps or O365 more. Many companies and users have one or more so would be nice to move between and not lose so much. These are competitors and I know why that would not be a priority but it does mean sometimes I may not put something in Quip.
Quip is well suited for a company with a sizeable Salesforce investment and wants a lot of features around collaboration. You want office type documents but you don't have a huge existing library that you also have to integrate and work with.
Review the Apps that Quip makes available. They have done a good job of coming up with many team-oriented documents for different tasks. While not super full-featured, they give you enough of what you need and you will not have to spend money on other products.
I am unsure of pricing but I have heard it is not cheap. There may be cost barriers to smaller companies. Google and O365 may offer more cost-effective alternatives.
Read William Beasley's full review
May 22, 2018
David Marquez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is being used by the Marketing department so it easier to collaborate between all of us here. We work on campaigns where a lot of people are involved such as graphic designers, writers, developers, managers, and so forth; Quip helps us have all the information for one campaign in one place, including a place to chat about the campaign
  • A great place to have campaigns managed in a very organized way and to request many different things to different people in the department.
  • The fact that there is a chat box right next to where everything is kept for a campaign is very useful to ask for small things to other people involved in the campaign.
  • Simplistic and effortless to use. Other tools might be a little too complicated to use, Quip is not that case.
  • It would be good to have the option of making the chat a little bigger when needed.
  • Sometimes documents can become too long, it would be good to add tabs for the same campaign.
  • Close down the white-space on the sides of the Quip document so more content can be seen at glance.
When there are a lot of people involved in one campaign, Quip is a great space to collaborate, have different types of documents and links. It is easy to share files, let others know when some stages of the campaign are done. It is a little less appropriate in my opinion when you just need to have your own to-do list.
Read David Marquez's full review
May 02, 2018
Chloe Sayers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is used by the whole organization. It solves the business problems of document organization, centralized SOP storage, team brainstorming, project management facilitation, and file management. It does this by providing a central location for all documents to live with intuitive writing and editing tools that keep documents clean while being multi-functional.
  • Collaboration
  • To-Do lists with reminders
  • Kanban boards
  • Limited color coding options
Quip is great if your team already has another objective/KPI system in place. It can't replace more robust task management but does a great job at combining document collaboration and creation with file storage and basic to-do list functionality. It's a great platform to build off of and is flexible enough to work with multiple work styles.
Read Chloe Sayers's full review
October 10, 2017
Roger Topp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are only using Quip in Sales + Customer Success but planning to roll it out across Product + Eng too. We use it heavily for collaboration with clients and prospects at various phases of the sales process. They love the collaboration, updates, and chat features. It's completely replaced our reliance on Gdocs, which can be tenuous to share + track.
  • Provide a single-pane for viewing projects, notes, and linked spreadsheets + images.
  • Super easy chat feature for collaboration
  • Desktop app that can be accessed offline...which is HUGE for me.
  • Configuring the set-up for your view (i.e. windowpane + menu on the left hand side could be easier. Kind of hard to set preferences.
  • Looks a lot like Slack - I'd like to see more product differentiation.
I'm totally addicted to using Quip for my work. It's the central source of truth for my to-do-lists and collaboration needs. It's also really easy to use with people that aren't on the platform which makes it ideal for use with clients, etc. It's really the all in one without the distractions of other tools.
Read Roger Topp's full review
May 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quip to keep track of client notes, time tracking, and other information that needs to be shared and edited by multiple people at any given time. Most of the people in our organization use Quip at some point or another. It's very similar to GoogleDocs, except more team-focused.
  • Connects our team members with the information we all need.
  • Allows us to make notes and comments for other team members to review.
  • Formatting the documents could be a little more simplified.
Quip is a great way to share documents with other team members in a way that flows effortlessly. One area that it is less appropriate is when you need to have an immediate conversation with someone, or if you need an immediate response from a team member-- scenarios where an instant messaging software would be more appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip has been used by a small team of Salesforce administrators and developers at my organization, as part of our enterprise Salesforce agreement. I've personally used it to keep track of documentation, to-do lists, meeting minutes and general notes, and share and collaborate on them with co-workers with whom I work most closely. Quip allows me to organize my thoughts in a way that is easily readable, editable and shareable, so I can spend less time flipping through various repositories of documentation, and spend more time completing tasks and building solutions.
  • Lists - Quip makes it easy to log your thoughts or tasks into bulleted, numbered or check-boxed lists. You can click checkboxes to mark things off the list, and you can drag and drop single line items to reorder your list very easily. This is especially helpful in prioritizing tasks on the fly.
  • Organization - you can group your documents into various folders, favorite the ones you use most, and track changes and updates to each file. It has a very Slack-y feel to the way things are organized, which I find useful.
  • Sharing - Quip is a very collaborative tool, allowing you to share and edit documents with co-workers, and get notifications when they update or respond on a particular file.
  • Update frequency - it feels like I need to update the application about twice a week. It's important to push new functionality and address bugs, but it often feels like the Quip team doesn't have their release schedule planned out very well. Constant updates are disruptive and counterproductive.
  • Automatic date reminders - Quip will automatically set a date into a reminder as you type it, which could be a useful feature, but it just ends up being annoying. More often than not I'm just typing today's date in a document to track meeting minutes, or potentially adding in an expected delivery date, for which I really don't need a reminder.
I've found Quip to be extremely useful as a collaborative document sharing platform, moreso even than the Google suite, because the user interface is pleasing and intuitive, and it's much easier to organize and find files. If you prefer the File System Hierarchy style organization of Google Docs, Quip might not be for you - but if you're looking for a new take on organization with a more graphic feel to it, I would recommend giving Quip a try.

I would say Quip is best suited for documents you're sharing or working on with an internal team, especially something that's for reference or a rough draft, since it's not big on formatting. This definitely isn't a platform for making a polished document to show off to customers, etc.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is being used across our entire organization and with a few clients outside as well. Quip solves many problems, saves time with clients that use it to communicate with us so that we don't have emails going back and forth (great for quick requests, etc). Quip is a great hub for our internal information, client information, and even a way to connect a client to a document for increased transparency and important information like sales numbers that are updated daily.
  • Search. Quip has a great search feature. Without it, it would not be the time-saving tool that it is. Why? Because Quip (the way we use it) houses a LOT of information. When I'm looking for a document, I can do a quick search without having to remember what path of folders I put the document in.
  • Client Sharing. I have a particular client whose sales I track every morning from their website. I update this document, which has formulas in it, to calculate all the necessary information that we need and the client is able to access it any time they want to see the numbers which saves the client an immense amount of time.
  • Privacy. My boss particularly likes this area as a small company with no HR department. He can keep employee files so that only he can view them without the risk of other people being able to see them.
  • The search feature is powerful but it could definitely be finetuned. Sometimes it shows results that make me wonder why those particular ones showed up.
  • The update to the dashboard (recent update) happened without us being aware and we had to relearn how to work around the platform.
Quip is perfect for small businesses. I'm sure it would be handy for large businesses as well, but for small businesses, this is a magnificent solution to keep seemingly everything in one place. Also, it's incredibly affordable! There is a free version, but if/when you're ready to upgrade to the paid version, it's not expensive at all.
Read this authenticated review
November 24, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quip to discuss cross-functional products with teams at other companies. It helps us stay organized while working cross-functionally and to ensure we don't lose anyone's work.
  • Cross-functional project coordination
  • Team work
  • Easy to use interface
  • Add more differentiators from Google Docs
Quip is well suited when multiple team members are working on the same project.
Read this authenticated review
March 26, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is very useful since it integrates with Salesforce, so documents can be edited in Quip and kept updated simultaneously on Salesforce. Normally used for Word doc types. It helps to keep everything in sync. Quip also allows more than one user editing a document at the same time, so for project documentation that involves a team, it can also be used. Excel files can be imported and "converted" as Quip documents smoothly.
  • Teamwork
  • Project Management
  • Saleforce Integration
  • Trusted cloud provider
  • Not a real substitute for MS Office
  • Not many edit options for documents
  • It can do the work related to Excel and Word well, but not for PowerPoint.
Great option if you have no budget to acquire MS Office 365.

Good option for situations that require teamwork and several people editing the same document simultaneously.
Not a good option for sophisticated situations that call for documents prepared for external clients that need a more professional layout.Useful as a safe location to keep documents, but only for Word and Excel-like types.
Read this authenticated review
February 13, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Quip across our entire company to keep knowledge in one place and facilitate collaboration. Teams use folders to document strategic decisions, helpful resources, workflows, onboarding materials, and notes. Individuals use private documents to take notes and jot down ideas. Quip has a ton of helpful tools for project management and organization, including Kanban boards, checklists, calendar and project tracker add-ons.
  • Live collaboration - it shows where people are working and making edits.
  • Organization - it's easy to see recent updates, drill into folders, and use the search.
  • Privacy & Sharing - The sharing and revision history gives me peace of mind.
  • Quip's Live Apps are valuable and well-designed, but still a little buggy. Sometimes when you interact with them, they prohibit you from being able to edit your document without refreshing the page.
Quip is well suited for teams that value transparency and collaboration. Once a document's in a team-visible state, you'll be able to see who's actively viewing and who has read this document. It's also appropriate for private sharing, since it's easy to keep your document visible to just you or certain parties.
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are only using it for every department except engineering and marketing. We use it heavily for collaboration with each other. We love the collaboration. It's completely replaced our reliance on Google Docs.
  • Easy to sync changes, updates other people about changes or revisions.
  • Desktop app that can be accessed offline.
  • Do not need to share docs with co-workers, Quip does it for you.
  • Excel doc is difficult to use.
  • Too many emails from Quip when there's a new edit or requests.
  • When someone needs access to something, it can get lost because Quip sends A LOT of email notifications. Difficult to keep up with the emails and know which ones are important. It's easy to drown in Quip email notifications.
  • Downloading documents in bulk is a huge pain!
Great for collaboration and instant sharing.
  • Sharing ideas which require contribution by multiple team members simultaneously
  • Tagging/mentioning
Read this authenticated review
August 30, 2017
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Used as note taking app.
  • Used to share minutes following meeting (there is a note share functionality built in, so you don't have to email out to the team afterwards).
  • Used to communicate concepts in meetings, where on screen aid is required but PowerPoint would be overkill.
  • In certain instances, used for on the fly spreadsheet calculations, due to the in build xls capability. This is incredibly useful.
  • Outside of work, I utilise it as a personal to-do list!
  • Formatting of your notes, where they require sharing to others in a sensible and easily understandable format (it makes brain dumps look like some kind of useful prose!)
  • Spreadsheet functionality: you can literally copy and paste out of a spreadsheet, then make formulaic changes to it in Quip. Can also copy and paste out of Quip into spreadsheet. Very neat feature!
  • Chat function - so if you don't use Slack or another tool and have Quip, it may preclude having to get that additional tool.
  • When you open up functionality to the entire company via share, they seem to get really annoying emails and requests through Quip.
  • The user interface can be confusing at time; it's hard to get from one note to another.
  • The formatting is typically great. But there are some annoying issues with Headers (markup format) and bullet points which need to be worked out. Not show stoppers, but annoying!
[Quip is] Suited:
  • Quick note taking in meetings
  • Tool for interviews and focus groups
  • Sharing thoughts which require contribution by multiple team members simultaneously (a la Google Docs)
  • General day-to-day note taking, especially when you want to tag notes to particular users
[Quip is] Not Suited:
  • Complex note taking, which requires different colours and hard formatting
  • Word style work - it looks like it but is not quite there yet!
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (22)
6.6
Gantt Charts (10)
7.8
Scheduling (13)
6.5
Workflow Automation (9)
5.8
Mobile Access (18)
8.4
Search (20)
9.1
Visual planning tools (15)
8.3
Chat (22)
8.1
Notifications (21)
8.7
Discussions (22)
8.9
Surveys (10)
8.8
Internal knowledgebase (14)
7.8
Integrates with GoToMeeting (2)
10.0
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (4)
9.8
Integrates with Outlook (3)
10.0
Versioning (14)
8.7
Video files (9)
8.1
Audio files (8)
7.8
Document collaboration (23)
9.6
Access control (18)
8.9
Advanced security features (8)
8.9
Integrates with Google Drive (7)
9.1
Device sync (13)
9.0

What is Quip?

Quip offers a suite of productivity/collaboration tools. The vendor says Quip combines documents, spreadsheets, checklists and chat into one interface.
Categories:  Collaboration

Quip Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basic$0
Team$10per month (10 seats included)
Business$12per user per month
Enterprise$25per user per month

All editions include unlimited personal documents and folders and a custom subdomain. Paid versions include unlimited document revision history, message archive and group sharing.

Quip Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does Quip cost?

Quip starts at $0.

What is Quip's best feature?

Reviewers rate Integrates with Outlook highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Quip?

The most common users of Quip are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.