TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/i9/9E/M4B63U583EM5.PNGQuip Drives Cross-functional Collaboration and EfficiencyQuip is being leveraged as a collaboration tool across my company to drive better connectivity and efficiency. We primarily use the docs feature, but have also experimented in project management and dash-boarding. The tool is easy to use and fairly streamlined.,Synchronizes files to a central online portal. Empowers collaboration across the company. Drives accountability through collaborative features. Clean, simple, easy-to-use interface. Integrates with single-sign-on.,Better branding to make the tool feel on more respective to a company's brand. Could use some Powerpoint and Excel-like features, to be more competitive with Google's products. Better charting.,7,Increased collaboration and transparency, especially cross-functionally. Increased efficiency. Better versioning and access controls on documents. Better organization of key company documents.,Microsoft 365 Business and Microsoft Office 2016,Microsoft Office 2016, Microsoft Office 365, Anaplan, Host Analytics Cloud EPM Suite, SimpleLegalQuip Drives Collaboration!Quip is being used across about 30% of the organization primarily as a document collaboration tool. It's quite similar to google docs. It's leveraged for work that needs to be more real-time collaborative vs. email. The @ mention comment feature is used heavily.,Single sign-on via Okta. A simple to understand product. Collaboration features such as @ mention commenting. Fairly priced.,Could use more differentiation vs. larger incumbent players in this space, such as Google Work Suite More features to make the tool feel more 'on brand' for your particular company. An excel and powerpoint add-in to make it more competitive with other incumbents.,5,Better cross-functional collaboration. Less email. More transparency.,Google Drive,Google Authenticator, Google Drive, Google Forms, Google Hangouts, Google Analytics, Google Trends, Google Voice, Jira Service Desk, Dropbox, Dropbox Business, Udemy for Business, Collective Health, Expensify, Join.me, PagerDuty, Event Espresso, Lucidchart, Slack, Atlassian Confluence, Anaplan, Oracle EPM Cloud, Oracle Planning and Budgeting CloudQuip is a Great Document Collaboration SoftwareWe use Quip to keep track of client notes, time tracking, and other information that needs to be shared and edited by multiple people at any given time. Most of the people in our organization use Quip at some point or another. It's very similar to GoogleDocs, except more team-focused.,Connects our team members with the information we all need. Allows us to make notes and comments for other team members to review.,Formatting the documents could be a little more simplified.,9,Google Drive and SlackGreat alternative to Google DriveQuip is a great alternative to Google Drive. I personally don't like Google Drive and I was looking for an alternative. Quip is a great candidate for it and one we are very happy with, overall. It has a slight learning curve but overall it is easy to use and I love that they allow for docs, spreadsheets and now slides. We are currently using mostly for spreadsheets and some strategic docs.,Docs, spreadsheets and slides all in one place and online Team collaboration and sharing is great (includes chat room) Easy to use interface,I'd LOVE to see a better design for the folders page. It looks soooo 1998 Microsoft, for some reason to me... Please, please, please redesign the folders page... It doesn't feel like it belongs to the same app,9,Google DriveQuip documents and team communicationIn our company we use Quip for our day to day tasks and communication (the ability to create docs, spreadsheets, to-dos, project follow-up content, etc) It's all under one dashboard accessible by all and on different devices. It is very helpful in managing out work and time. The chat feature for team communication is also widely used at our work.,Setting up documents, speadsheets, to-do lists and editing them on the go from various applications Team chat feature is also very good Some good and useful templates already present help you start quickly and learn very fast,More templates and font customization Fewer bugs (sometimes when you have a lot of documents it can crash) More customization features for charts and diagrams and more freedom in managing files,7,Fast team communication A quick and easy way to have documents for projects organized and accessed by the relevant people The chat feature avoids using a lot of email and docs versioning, and is very helpful,Evernote and Slack,Zoho CRM, Zoho Projects, Zoho FormsTry Quip for a modern take on collaborationQuip has been used by a small team of Salesforce administrators and developers at my organization, as part of our enterprise Salesforce agreement. I've personally used it to keep track of documentation, to-do lists, meeting minutes and general notes, and share and collaborate on them with co-workers with whom I work most closely. Quip allows me to organize my thoughts in a way that is easily readable, editable and shareable, so I can spend less time flipping through various repositories of documentation, and spend more time completing tasks and building solutions.,Lists - Quip makes it easy to log your thoughts or tasks into bulleted, numbered or check-boxed lists. You can click checkboxes to mark things off the list, and you can drag and drop single line items to reorder your list very easily. This is especially helpful in prioritizing tasks on the fly. Organization - you can group your documents into various folders, favorite the ones you use most, and track changes and updates to each file. It has a very Slack-y feel to the way things are organized, which I find useful. Sharing - Quip is a very collaborative tool, allowing you to share and edit documents with co-workers, and get notifications when they update or respond on a particular file.,Update frequency - it feels like I need to update the application about twice a week. It's important to push new functionality and address bugs, but it often feels like the Quip team doesn't have their release schedule planned out very well. Constant updates are disruptive and counterproductive. Automatic date reminders - Quip will automatically set a date into a reminder as you type it, which could be a useful feature, but it just ends up being annoying. More often than not I'm just typing today's date in a document to track meeting minutes, or potentially adding in an expected delivery date, for which I really don't need a reminder.,10,Quip has improved my productivity by improving my focus and task tracking. Quip has improved visibility for my manager by allowing me to share short- and long-term to-do lists with them.,Google DriveTime Saver, Affordable, Perfect for Small BusinessesQuip is being used across our entire organization and with a few clients outside as well. Quip solves many problems, saves time with clients that use it to communicate with us so that we don't have emails going back and forth (great for quick requests, etc). Quip is a great hub for our internal information, client information, and even a way to connect a client to a document for increased transparency and important information like sales numbers that are updated daily.,Search. Quip has a great search feature. Without it, it would not be the time-saving tool that it is. Why? Because Quip (the way we use it) houses a LOT of information. When I'm looking for a document, I can do a quick search without having to remember what path of folders I put the document in. Client Sharing. I have a particular client whose sales I track every morning from their website. I update this document, which has formulas in it, to calculate all the necessary information that we need and the client is able to access it any time they want to see the numbers which saves the client an immense amount of time. Privacy. My boss particularly likes this area as a small company with no HR department. He can keep employee files so that only he can view them without the risk of other people being able to see them.,The search feature is powerful but it could definitely be finetuned. Sometimes it shows results that make me wonder why those particular ones showed up. The update to the dashboard (recent update) happened without us being aware and we had to relearn how to work around the platform.,9,This is more neutral for ROI. Quip, for us, is used mostly for informational. I'm sure it has saved us money from having to use other programs, but I wouldn't have the exact dollars for that information.,Teamwork Desk and Dropbox,Slack, Accelo, Google Ad ManagerGood for cross-functional workWe use Quip to discuss cross-functional products with teams at other companies. It helps us stay organized while working cross-functionally and to ensure we don't lose anyone's work.,Cross-functional project coordination Team work Easy to use interface,Add more differentiators from Google Docs,8,It's helped us stay organized.,HubSpotGreat collaboration platform for a Salesforce focused companyQuip is used mostly by IT but also a small group of business users mostly in Accounting. It was put in place to allow collaboration of IT and business users. Chat communication, document storage, sharing and collaboration on documents were part of what we were trying to address. Since Salesforce is a big part of what we do, it made sense to have a tool that worked tightly with Salesforce and worked in the cloud like Salesforce.,Quip puts a lot of chatting capabilities into everything - likes, tags, favorites, callouts, emojis, Giphy, attachments. So communication is rich and creative. And they link chatting communication into everything. Quip allows for collaboration on all documents. Highlights on document or lines or parts of documents are allowed. So collaboration can be very specific within the document. There are date time tags so it is easy to trace historically. Quip also notes when someone sees something which is handy for possible follow-ups instead of waiting for a reply of some kind. Quip has done a fantastic job of expanding Quip capabilities. When we first started, only basic office documents were allowed. Now they have many other apps for project tracking, calendar, working with Salesforce records, and integration with JIRA. These are all very simple to use. It is easy to start using with no training.,Quip office documents are not as full featured as Microsoft Office documents you may be used to. Mind you, there are thousands of features in MS Office documents. But even some of the more basic features are not available. I have many problems with formatting. The worst problem is when a document starts in something else like Microsoft Office and then you try to copy it to Quip. You usually end up having to re-write it if it was complicated. Quip documents will feel slow compared to locally based documents. The performance is similar to what I have seen with O365 documents editing online and only a little slower than Google docs (Google docs do this surprisingly well). But if you are used to working fast in a document you will be challenged by the response time. The problem seems worse with more than 1 person in the document and especially if the document gets large. It would be nice to see Quip embrace Google apps or O365 more. Many companies and users have one or more so would be nice to move between and not lose so much. These are competitors and I know why that would not be a priority but it does mean sometimes I may not put something in Quip.,7,Quip allowed collaboration and communication between Salesforce team and the rest of IT as well as business users. Quip allowed collaboration on documents that was very interactive and helpful to the creation process. Quip frustrated us because we had so many documents that we already had but they did not work well inside of Quip.,Google Hangouts, Google Drive, Google Forms, Microsoft Office 365, Slack and MS SharePoint,Microsoft Office 365, JIRA Software, GitHub, SQL Server Integration Services, Anypoint Platform, Dell Boomi, SnagitQuip is great for teams to collaborate on and having everything in one organized placeQuip is being used by the Marketing department so it easier to collaborate between all of us here. We work on campaigns where a lot of people are involved such as graphic designers, writers, developers, managers, and so forth; Quip helps us have all the information for one campaign in one place, including a place to chat about the campaign,A great place to have campaigns managed in a very organized way and to request many different things to different people in the department. The fact that there is a chat box right next to where everything is kept for a campaign is very useful to ask for small things to other people involved in the campaign. Simplistic and effortless to use. Other tools might be a little too complicated to use, Quip is not that case.,It would be good to have the option of making the chat a little bigger when needed. Sometimes documents can become too long, it would be good to add tabs for the same campaign. Close down the white-space on the sides of the Quip document so more content can be seen at glance.,10,It is much easier to receive and send request to other teammates in the department Saves much time and stress when someone might forget something Easy place to follow-up on pending items,BrightEdge, DemandbaseQuip for Document ManagementQuip is used by the whole organization. It solves the business problems of document organization, centralized SOP storage, team brainstorming, project management facilitation, and file management. It does this by providing a central location for all documents to live with intuitive writing and editing tools that keep documents clean while being multi-functional.,Collaboration To-Do lists with reminders Kanban boards,Limited color coding options,7,Saves time by automating version control,Google Drive, Todoist and Airtable,Airtable, Todoist, TrelloQuip Review - Excellent to use With SalesforceIt is very useful since it integrates with Salesforce, so documents can be edited in Quip and kept updated simultaneously on Salesforce. Normally used for Word doc types. It helps to keep everything in sync. Quip also allows more than one user editing a document at the same time, so for project documentation that involves a team, it can also be used. Excel files can be imported and "converted" as Quip documents smoothly.,Teamwork Project Management Saleforce Integration Trusted cloud provider,Not a real substitute for MS Office Not many edit options for documents It can do the work related to Excel and Word well, but not for PowerPoint.,9,Positive: File sharing made easier Free Negative: security (cloud-based),Microsoft Office 365,Microsoft Office 365, Google Drive, Evernote,No,,The evaluation would still be the same, although I was expecting the solution to have more functionalities by now. Quip is static. Nothing changed in the last 12 or 24 months. Normally these solutions are always being updated and getting better, like Evernote.Game-changer for collaboration and sharingWe're using Quip across our entire company to keep knowledge in one place and facilitate collaboration. Teams use folders to document strategic decisions, helpful resources, workflows, onboarding materials, and notes. Individuals use private documents to take notes and jot down ideas. Quip has a ton of helpful tools for project management and organization, including Kanban boards, checklists, calendar and project tracker add-ons.,Live collaboration - it shows where people are working and making edits. Organization - it's easy to see recent updates, drill into folders, and use the search. Privacy & Sharing - The sharing and revision history gives me peace of mind.,Quip's Live Apps are valuable and well-designed, but still a little buggy. Sometimes when you interact with them, they prohibit you from being able to edit your document without refreshing the page.,9,Quip has empowered me to stay up-to-date on project and company strategy without having to email anyone. Our team is able to preserve knowledge and search for answers. Quip has helped facilitate onboarding lessons for new team members.,Google Drive and TettraNo Qualms Quip!Currently we are only using Quip in Sales + Customer Success but planning to roll it out across Product + Eng too. We use it heavily for collaboration with clients and prospects at various phases of the sales process. They love the collaboration, updates, and chat features. It's completely replaced our reliance on Gdocs, which can be tenuous to share + track.,Provide a single-pane for viewing projects, notes, and linked spreadsheets + images. Super easy chat feature for collaboration Desktop app that can be accessed offline...which is HUGE for me.,Configuring the set-up for your view (i.e. windowpane + menu on the left hand side could be easier. Kind of hard to set preferences. Looks a lot like slack - I'd like to see more product differentiation.,10,It's worth every penny! We've dramatically improved our customers success experience for POC's. Easy 10X ROI,Trello and Slack,JIRA Software, Intercom, DocSendGreat for sharing ideas!We are only using it for every department except engineering and marketing. We use it heavily for collaboration with each other. We love the collaboration. It's completely replaced our reliance on Google Docs.,Easy to sync changes, updates other people about changes or revisions. Desktop app that can be accessed offline. Do not need to share docs with co-workers, Quip does it for you.,Excel doc is difficult to use. Too many emails from Quip when there's a new edit or requests. When someone needs access to something, it can get lost because Quip sends A LOT of email notifications. Difficult to keep up with the emails and know which ones are important. It's easy to drown in Quip email notifications. Downloading documents in bulk is a huge pain!,6,Sharing documentation with team members is much faster. Sharing ideas is easier. Having a living document is without having to share links one by one is great.,Evernote and Google Drive,Everwise, Google Drive, SlackGet Quip, Quick!Used as note taking app.Used to share minutes following meeting (there is a note share functionality built in, so you don't have to email out to the team afterwards).Used to communicate concepts in meetings, where on screen aid is required but PowerPoint would be overkill.In certain instances, used for on the fly spreadsheet calculations, due to the in build xls capability. This is incredibly useful.Outside of work, I utilise it as a personal to-do list!,Formatting of your notes, where they require sharing to others in a sensible and easily understandable format (it makes brain dumps look like some kind of useful prose!) Spreadsheet functionality: you can literally copy and paste out of a spreadsheet, then make formulaic changes to it in Quip. Can also copy and paste out of Quip into spreadsheet. Very neat feature! Chat function - so if you don't use Slack or another tool and have Quip, it may preclude having to get that additional tool.,When you open up functionality to the entire company via share, they seem to get really annoying emails and requests through Quip. The user interface can be confusing at time; it's hard to get from one note to another. The formatting is typically great. But there are some annoying issues with Headers (markup format) and bullet points which need to be worked out. Not show stoppers, but annoying!,8,Made sharing information across the team much faster - greater % of time spent on work vs. sharing information. Streamlined meeting process and labelling actions to different individuals.,Evernote,Slack, OneNote, Dropbox for Business
Unspecified
Quip
27 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Quip Reviews

Quip
27 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 27 vetted Quip reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
June 22, 2019

Review: "Quip Drives Cross-functional Collaboration and Efficiency"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is being leveraged as a collaboration tool across my company to drive better connectivity and efficiency. We primarily use the docs feature, but have also experimented in project management and dash-boarding. The tool is easy to use and fairly streamlined.
  • Synchronizes files to a central online portal.
  • Empowers collaboration across the company.
  • Drives accountability through collaborative features.
  • Clean, simple, easy-to-use interface.
  • Integrates with single-sign-on.
  • Better branding to make the tool feel on more respective to a company's brand.
  • Could use some Powerpoint and Excel-like features, to be more competitive with Google's products.
  • Better charting.
Quip enables productivity and collaboration for companies small and big. It's easy to use, intuitive and stable. It's got great collaboration features that really drive efficiency and accountability. I recommend it for the aforementioned use cases. It's not as strong with charting, slides, Excel, and complex visualizations as some other tools on the market.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 20, 2019

User Review: "Quip Drives Collaboration!"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is being used across about 30% of the organization primarily as a document collaboration tool. It's quite similar to google docs. It's leveraged for work that needs to be more real-time collaborative vs. email. The @ mention comment feature is used heavily.
  • Single sign-on via Okta.
  • A simple to understand product.
  • Collaboration features such as @ mention commenting.
  • Fairly priced.
  • Could use more differentiation vs. larger incumbent players in this space, such as Google Work Suite
  • More features to make the tool feel more 'on brand' for your particular company.
  • An excel and powerpoint add-in to make it more competitive with other incumbents.
Quip is fine/acceptable as a collaborative document tool -- especially if your company has a strong aversion to Google/Google Work Suite. It's fairly priced, easy to use, and its strong collaborative/social features make partnering cross-functionally easier. However, if your company does not have an aversion to Google, I recommend going to Google Work Suite given the more robust feature set offering.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 01, 2019

Review: "Quip is a Great Document Collaboration Software"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quip to keep track of client notes, time tracking, and other information that needs to be shared and edited by multiple people at any given time. Most of the people in our organization use Quip at some point or another. It's very similar to GoogleDocs, except more team-focused.
  • Connects our team members with the information we all need.
  • Allows us to make notes and comments for other team members to review.
  • Formatting the documents could be a little more simplified.
Quip is a great way to share documents with other team members in a way that flows effortlessly. One area that it is less appropriate is when you need to have an immediate conversation with someone, or if you need an immediate response from a team member-- scenarios where an instant messaging software would be more appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
Barbara Carneiro profile photo
November 29, 2018

Quip Review: "Great alternative to Google Drive"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is a great alternative to Google Drive. I personally don't like Google Drive and I was looking for an alternative. Quip is a great candidate for it and one we are very happy with, overall.

It has a slight learning curve but overall it is easy to use and I love that they allow for docs, spreadsheets and now slides.

We are currently using mostly for spreadsheets and some strategic docs.
  • Docs, spreadsheets and slides all in one place and online
  • Team collaboration and sharing is great (includes chat room)
  • Easy to use interface
  • I'd LOVE to see a better design for the folders page. It looks soooo 1998 Microsoft, for some reason to me...
  • Please, please, please redesign the folders page... It doesn't feel like it belongs to the same app
Quip is a great tool for small and medium teams that rely on collaboration and as a centralized place for documents. It is overall a great alternative to Google Drive with a far nicer interface.

It is a fast tool and easy to use. It has been an excellent option for my business, specially for shared spreadsheets that before had to be downloaded and uploaded over and over.

Quip is also simple, while providing many features. Oh and don't miss their templates!
Read Barbara Carneiro's full review
Mehdi Aherraki profile photo
November 28, 2018

User Review: "Quip documents and team communication"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we use Quip for our day to day tasks and communication (the ability to create docs, spreadsheets, to-dos, project follow-up content, etc) It's all under one dashboard accessible by all and on different devices. It is very helpful in managing out work and time. The chat feature for team communication is also widely used at our work.
  • Setting up documents, speadsheets, to-do lists and editing them on the go from various applications
  • Team chat feature is also very good
  • Some good and useful templates already present help you start quickly and learn very fast
  • More templates and font customization
  • Fewer bugs (sometimes when you have a lot of documents it can crash)
  • More customization features for charts and diagrams and more freedom in managing files
Quip is very good if you are a team that works on projects and needs to communicate on the go and share files. It can replace the long list of emails and same file versions going back and forth. It helps gets things organized and started quickly and the template feature (althought there are not many choices) can have you started in no time.
Read Mehdi Aherraki's full review
No photo available
December 14, 2018

Review: "Try Quip for a modern take on collaboration"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip has been used by a small team of Salesforce administrators and developers at my organization, as part of our enterprise Salesforce agreement. I've personally used it to keep track of documentation, to-do lists, meeting minutes and general notes, and share and collaborate on them with co-workers with whom I work most closely. Quip allows me to organize my thoughts in a way that is easily readable, editable and shareable, so I can spend less time flipping through various repositories of documentation, and spend more time completing tasks and building solutions.
  • Lists - Quip makes it easy to log your thoughts or tasks into bulleted, numbered or check-boxed lists. You can click checkboxes to mark things off the list, and you can drag and drop single line items to reorder your list very easily. This is especially helpful in prioritizing tasks on the fly.
  • Organization - you can group your documents into various folders, favorite the ones you use most, and track changes and updates to each file. It has a very Slack-y feel to the way things are organized, which I find useful.
  • Sharing - Quip is a very collaborative tool, allowing you to share and edit documents with co-workers, and get notifications when they update or respond on a particular file.
  • Update frequency - it feels like I need to update the application about twice a week. It's important to push new functionality and address bugs, but it often feels like the Quip team doesn't have their release schedule planned out very well. Constant updates are disruptive and counterproductive.
  • Automatic date reminders - Quip will automatically set a date into a reminder as you type it, which could be a useful feature, but it just ends up being annoying. More often than not I'm just typing today's date in a document to track meeting minutes, or potentially adding in an expected delivery date, for which I really don't need a reminder.
I've found Quip to be extremely useful as a collaborative document sharing platform, moreso even than the Google suite, because the user interface is pleasing and intuitive, and it's much easier to organize and find files. If you prefer the File System Hierarchy style organization of Google Docs, Quip might not be for you - but if you're looking for a new take on organization with a more graphic feel to it, I would recommend giving Quip a try.

I would say Quip is best suited for documents you're sharing or working on with an internal team, especially something that's for reference or a rough draft, since it's not big on formatting. This definitely isn't a platform for making a polished document to show off to customers, etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 11, 2018

Quip Review: "Time Saver, Affordable, Perfect for Small Businesses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is being used across our entire organization and with a few clients outside as well. Quip solves many problems, saves time with clients that use it to communicate with us so that we don't have emails going back and forth (great for quick requests, etc). Quip is a great hub for our internal information, client information, and even a way to connect a client to a document for increased transparency and important information like sales numbers that are updated daily.
  • Search. Quip has a great search feature. Without it, it would not be the time-saving tool that it is. Why? Because Quip (the way we use it) houses a LOT of information. When I'm looking for a document, I can do a quick search without having to remember what path of folders I put the document in.
  • Client Sharing. I have a particular client whose sales I track every morning from their website. I update this document, which has formulas in it, to calculate all the necessary information that we need and the client is able to access it any time they want to see the numbers which saves the client an immense amount of time.
  • Privacy. My boss particularly likes this area as a small company with no HR department. He can keep employee files so that only he can view them without the risk of other people being able to see them.
  • The search feature is powerful but it could definitely be finetuned. Sometimes it shows results that make me wonder why those particular ones showed up.
  • The update to the dashboard (recent update) happened without us being aware and we had to relearn how to work around the platform.
Quip is perfect for small businesses. I'm sure it would be handy for large businesses as well, but for small businesses, this is a magnificent solution to keep seemingly everything in one place. Also, it's incredibly affordable! There is a free version, but if/when you're ready to upgrade to the paid version, it's not expensive at all.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 24, 2018

Quip Review: "Good for cross-functional work"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quip to discuss cross-functional products with teams at other companies. It helps us stay organized while working cross-functionally and to ensure we don't lose anyone's work.
  • Cross-functional project coordination
  • Team work
  • Easy to use interface
  • Add more differentiators from Google Docs
Quip is well suited when multiple team members are working on the same project.
Read this authenticated review
William Beasley profile photo
June 27, 2018

Quip Review: "Great collaboration platform for a Salesforce focused company"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is used mostly by IT but also a small group of business users mostly in Accounting. It was put in place to allow collaboration of IT and business users. Chat communication, document storage, sharing and collaboration on documents were part of what we were trying to address. Since Salesforce is a big part of what we do, it made sense to have a tool that worked tightly with Salesforce and worked in the cloud like Salesforce.
  • Quip puts a lot of chatting capabilities into everything - likes, tags, favorites, callouts, emojis, Giphy, attachments. So communication is rich and creative. And they link chatting communication into everything.
  • Quip allows for collaboration on all documents. Highlights on document or lines or parts of documents are allowed. So collaboration can be very specific within the document. There are date time tags so it is easy to trace historically. Quip also notes when someone sees something which is handy for possible follow-ups instead of waiting for a reply of some kind.
  • Quip has done a fantastic job of expanding Quip capabilities. When we first started, only basic office documents were allowed. Now they have many other apps for project tracking, calendar, working with Salesforce records, and integration with JIRA. These are all very simple to use. It is easy to start using with no training.
  • Quip office documents are not as full featured as Microsoft Office documents you may be used to. Mind you, there are thousands of features in MS Office documents. But even some of the more basic features are not available. I have many problems with formatting. The worst problem is when a document starts in something else like Microsoft Office and then you try to copy it to Quip. You usually end up having to re-write it if it was complicated.
  • Quip documents will feel slow compared to locally based documents. The performance is similar to what I have seen with O365 documents editing online and only a little slower than Google docs (Google docs do this surprisingly well). But if you are used to working fast in a document you will be challenged by the response time. The problem seems worse with more than 1 person in the document and especially if the document gets large.
  • It would be nice to see Quip embrace Google apps or O365 more. Many companies and users have one or more so would be nice to move between and not lose so much. These are competitors and I know why that would not be a priority but it does mean sometimes I may not put something in Quip.
Quip is well suited for a company with a sizeable Salesforce investment and wants a lot of features around collaboration. You want office type documents but you don't have a huge existing library that you also have to integrate and work with.
Review the Apps that Quip makes available. They have done a good job of coming up with many team-oriented documents for different tasks. While not super full-featured, they give you enough of what you need and you will not have to spend money on other products.
I am unsure of pricing but I have heard it is not cheap. There may be cost barriers to smaller companies. Google and O365 may offer more cost-effective alternatives.
Read William Beasley's full review
David Marquez profile photo
May 22, 2018

"Quip is great for teams to collaborate on and having everything in one organized place"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is being used by the Marketing department so it easier to collaborate between all of us here. We work on campaigns where a lot of people are involved such as graphic designers, writers, developers, managers, and so forth; Quip helps us have all the information for one campaign in one place, including a place to chat about the campaign
  • A great place to have campaigns managed in a very organized way and to request many different things to different people in the department.
  • The fact that there is a chat box right next to where everything is kept for a campaign is very useful to ask for small things to other people involved in the campaign.
  • Simplistic and effortless to use. Other tools might be a little too complicated to use, Quip is not that case.
  • It would be good to have the option of making the chat a little bigger when needed.
  • Sometimes documents can become too long, it would be good to add tabs for the same campaign.
  • Close down the white-space on the sides of the Quip document so more content can be seen at glance.
When there are a lot of people involved in one campaign, Quip is a great space to collaborate, have different types of documents and links. It is easy to share files, let others know when some stages of the campaign are done. It is a little less appropriate in my opinion when you just need to have your own to-do list.
Read David Marquez's full review
Chloe Sayers profile photo
May 02, 2018

User Review: "Quip for Document Management"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quip is used by the whole organization. It solves the business problems of document organization, centralized SOP storage, team brainstorming, project management facilitation, and file management. It does this by providing a central location for all documents to live with intuitive writing and editing tools that keep documents clean while being multi-functional.
  • Collaboration
  • To-Do lists with reminders
  • Kanban boards
  • Limited color coding options
Quip is great if your team already has another objective/KPI system in place. It can't replace more robust task management but does a great job at combining document collaboration and creation with file storage and basic to-do list functionality. It's a great platform to build off of and is flexible enough to work with multiple work styles.
Read Chloe Sayers's full review
No photo available
March 26, 2018

"Quip Review - Excellent to use With Salesforce"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is very useful since it integrates with Salesforce, so documents can be edited in Quip and kept updated simultaneously on Salesforce. Normally used for Word doc types. It helps to keep everything in sync. Quip also allows more than one user editing a document at the same time, so for project documentation that involves a team, it can also be used. Excel files can be imported and "converted" as Quip documents smoothly.
  • Teamwork
  • Project Management
  • Saleforce Integration
  • Trusted cloud provider
  • Not a real substitute for MS Office
  • Not many edit options for documents
  • It can do the work related to Excel and Word well, but not for PowerPoint.
Great option if you have no budget to acquire MS Office 365.

Good option for situations that require teamwork and several people editing the same document simultaneously.
Not a good option for sophisticated situations that call for documents prepared for external clients that need a more professional layout.Useful as a safe location to keep documents, but only for Word and Excel-like types.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2018

Quip Review: "Game-changer for collaboration and sharing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Quip across our entire company to keep knowledge in one place and facilitate collaboration. Teams use folders to document strategic decisions, helpful resources, workflows, onboarding materials, and notes. Individuals use private documents to take notes and jot down ideas. Quip has a ton of helpful tools for project management and organization, including Kanban boards, checklists, calendar and project tracker add-ons.
  • Live collaboration - it shows where people are working and making edits.
  • Organization - it's easy to see recent updates, drill into folders, and use the search.
  • Privacy & Sharing - The sharing and revision history gives me peace of mind.
  • Quip's Live Apps are valuable and well-designed, but still a little buggy. Sometimes when you interact with them, they prohibit you from being able to edit your document without refreshing the page.
Quip is well suited for teams that value transparency and collaboration. Once a document's in a team-visible state, you'll be able to see who's actively viewing and who has read this document. It's also appropriate for private sharing, since it's easy to keep your document visible to just you or certain parties.
Read this authenticated review
Roger Topp profile photo
October 10, 2017

User Review: "No Qualms Quip!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we are only using Quip in Sales + Customer Success but planning to roll it out across Product + Eng too. We use it heavily for collaboration with clients and prospects at various phases of the sales process. They love the collaboration, updates, and chat features. It's completely replaced our reliance on Gdocs, which can be tenuous to share + track.
  • Provide a single-pane for viewing projects, notes, and linked spreadsheets + images.
  • Super easy chat feature for collaboration
  • Desktop app that can be accessed offline...which is HUGE for me.
  • Configuring the set-up for your view (i.e. windowpane + menu on the left hand side could be easier. Kind of hard to set preferences.
  • Looks a lot like Slack - I'd like to see more product differentiation.
I'm totally addicted to using Quip for my work. It's the central source of truth for my to-do-lists and collaboration needs. It's also really easy to use with people that aren't on the platform which makes it ideal for use with clients, etc. It's really the all in one without the distractions of other tools.
Read Roger Topp's full review
No photo available
November 07, 2017

Quip Review: "Great for sharing ideas!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are only using it for every department except engineering and marketing. We use it heavily for collaboration with each other. We love the collaboration. It's completely replaced our reliance on Google Docs.
  • Easy to sync changes, updates other people about changes or revisions.
  • Desktop app that can be accessed offline.
  • Do not need to share docs with co-workers, Quip does it for you.
  • Excel doc is difficult to use.
  • Too many emails from Quip when there's a new edit or requests.
  • When someone needs access to something, it can get lost because Quip sends A LOT of email notifications. Difficult to keep up with the emails and know which ones are important. It's easy to drown in Quip email notifications.
  • Downloading documents in bulk is a huge pain!
Great for collaboration and instant sharing.
  • Sharing ideas which require contribution by multiple team members simultaneously
  • Tagging/mentioning
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2017

User Review: "Get Quip, Quick!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • Used as note taking app.
  • Used to share minutes following meeting (there is a note share functionality built in, so you don't have to email out to the team afterwards).
  • Used to communicate concepts in meetings, where on screen aid is required but PowerPoint would be overkill.
  • In certain instances, used for on the fly spreadsheet calculations, due to the in build xls capability. This is incredibly useful.
  • Outside of work, I utilise it as a personal to-do list!
  • Formatting of your notes, where they require sharing to others in a sensible and easily understandable format (it makes brain dumps look like some kind of useful prose!)
  • Spreadsheet functionality: you can literally copy and paste out of a spreadsheet, then make formulaic changes to it in Quip. Can also copy and paste out of Quip into spreadsheet. Very neat feature!
  • Chat function - so if you don't use Slack or another tool and have Quip, it may preclude having to get that additional tool.
  • When you open up functionality to the entire company via share, they seem to get really annoying emails and requests through Quip.
  • The user interface can be confusing at time; it's hard to get from one note to another.
  • The formatting is typically great. But there are some annoying issues with Headers (markup format) and bullet points which need to be worked out. Not show stoppers, but annoying!
[Quip is] Suited:
  • Quick note taking in meetings
  • Tool for interviews and focus groups
  • Sharing thoughts which require contribution by multiple team members simultaneously (a la Google Docs)
  • General day-to-day note taking, especially when you want to tag notes to particular users
[Quip is] Not Suited:
  • Complex note taking, which requires different colours and hard formatting
  • Word style work - it looks like it but is not quite there yet!
Read this authenticated review

Quip Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (15)
7.4
Gantt Charts (7)
5.5
Scheduling (8)
6.8
Workflow Automation (4)
8.6
Mobile Access (11)
7.7
Search (13)
8.6
Visual planning tools (10)
7.6
Chat (15)
8.1
Notifications (14)
8.7
Discussions (15)
8.0
Surveys (7)
6.7
Internal knowledgebase (8)
8.1
Integrates with GoToMeeting (1)
9
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (3)
7.9
Integrates with Outlook (2)
7.9
Versioning (9)
9.2
Video files (6)
7.6
Audio files (5)
6.9
Document collaboration (16)
9.6
Access control (11)
9.2
Advanced security features (5)
7.5
Integrates with Google Drive (5)
8.3
Device sync (9)
8.9

About Quip

Quip offers a suite of productivity/collaboration tools. The vendor says Quip combines documents, spreadsheets, checklists and chat into one interface.
Categories:  Collaboration

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Basic$0
Team$10per month (10 seats included)
Business$12per user per month
Enterprise$25per user per month

All editions include unlimited personal documents and folders and a custom subdomain. Paid versions include unlimited document revision history, message archive and group sharing.

Quip Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No