TrustRadius
Raiser's Edge NXT is cloud fundraising and constituent relationship management software from Blackbaud.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/mV/99/ZEKBV36MH7XL.PNGRaiser's Edge NXT - I like it!Currently, it is used within our department, but we have plans to allow access across our organizations. This tool allows easy and detailed access to data records from any location on any device and is very user-friendly requiring minimal training for our gift officers.,Record searches. Quick analysis of gift information. Assists in portfolio management with tags.,Lists - Allow more fields for filtering and column displays. User security - assigning roles and security is cumbersome between NXT and Raisers Edge. Lists - Allow use of dynamic queries from RE. Email - allow the use of all email addresses that exist on a record. Also, discontinue the use of "Primary" as the default selection if you are still going to allow the use of only one. Include comments in the phone/email table display in NXT so that we can see them.,10,When we moved to include NXT, we actually started saving money because our contract was renegotiated and several of the items we had to pay additional monies for were included in NXT. We've also have a stronger ROI because of the wealth information that is right at the hands of our officers, including ask amounts. We have been able to target better prospects with the included wealth rating information.,Blackbaud NetCommunity, The Raisers EdgeRaiser's Edge NXT Helps You Raise More MoneyI am using Raiser's Edge NXT to access donor information and history, find prospective donors and manage data in general. The entire organization is moving use of NXT in this way. NXT allows access to donor information anywhere via their secure website. It can be accessed on a laptop or phone allowing the fundraiser to see his or her donor's giving history, biographical information, and an easy way to enter visit notes immediately following the visit.,Ease of access to donor information. Ability to run lists to sort prospects. It's easy to use on a mobile device.,It should allow more access to enter or change donor records, and more features closer to Raiser's Edge. Ability to run a query in NXT. Ability to globally change records.,9,NXT has allowed us to manage donors and prospects. It helps us find major gift prospects in our own data.,Highly recommend RE NXT - a definite must if you already have REWe are using RE NXT in the fundraising department. RE NXT is so easy to use and the interface is easy to learn. We love it because it frees up a lot of time from our database coordinator because other users can find information on their own instead of having to ask someone else to do it for them.,RE NXT makes it very easy to find information. RE NXT has a user-friendly interface. You feel like you are using a website rather than a database. RE NXT is easy to login from anywhere, so users don't have to be logged into their own network. They can access is from any computer.,RE NXT is still fairly new, so new functionality is being added all the time. It would be helpful to be able to do batch processes in NXT. One issue we have run into at times is that NXT is slow to load report information. It can lag as much as 2 days. It would be nice to be able to switch from NXT view to database view without having to do a separate login.,10,Operational Efficiency Increased revenue from new donors Increased revenue from existing donors Reduced IT expenditure due to cloud deployment Increased scalability due to cloud deployment,We use many Blackbaud products, and it's nice to be able to go to one place for everything. It's also nice that the products interact with each other, saving even more time. For example, we use Luminate Online which has a connector to automatically download updates into RE. Everything flows together which makes our processes smooth and efficient.,Luminate Online and Luminate TeamRaiser,Luminate Online, Luminate TeamRaiser,10,,Donor Data Mailing Lists Financial Reports,Mailing letters Tracking actions Wealth ratings,More robust soft credits More event integration options,10Great tool for school fundraisingWe use Raiser's Edge NXT on a daily basis. With NXT you have the best of both worlds: the database view for the data processors and the web view for the fundraisers on the road meeting potential donors or giving presentations to our senior management. The web view is so intuitive and easy to use. NXT has reduced the amount of time we spend building complex reports and queries.,It is really intuitive and simple to use. The reports and queries are easy to build. The benchmarking is a great tool.,Matching up the functionality of the database view with the web view.,10,It has saved a lot of time.NXT is user-friendly but packs a powerful punch!Raiser's Edge NXT is being used by our Advancement Team for fundraising and communications. We use it for everything from giving analysis to looking up an address. The built-in reporting is very user-friendly and easy on the eyes. New features, not available in the database view, like social media links and profile photos for constituents, have changed the way we build relationships.,Built-in analysis with easy to filter graphics Social media linking for constituents Mapping of constituents -- this feature is awesome!,The "has no valid address" feature from database view does not populate in NXT and can result in misinformation Attachments in NXT do not populate the media tab in database view -- this integration could be improved As with database view, the "head of household" function only connects spousal relationships, not full, multi-generational families, which would be very helpful for alumni programs,8,Alumni relationships are greater in number and accuracy since implementing the social media capabilities of NXT This is the second year using NXT and our annual fund is 40% ahead of schedule Database view can be challenging for people who do not use it on a regular basis, NXT makes our data more accessible for more people, including volunteer fundraisers and staff who otherwise would be less engaged with our numbers,Bloomerang and Senior Systems
Unspecified
Raiser's Edge NXT
203 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Raiser's Edge NXT Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Raiser's Edge NXT
203 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 203 vetted Raiser's Edge NXT reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 118)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Cammi Derr profile photo
December 22, 2018

User Review: "Raiser's Edge NXT - I like it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it is used within our department, but we have plans to allow access across our organizations. This tool allows easy and detailed access to data records from any location on any device and is very user-friendly requiring minimal training for our gift officers.
  • Record searches.
  • Quick analysis of gift information.
  • Assists in portfolio management with tags.
  • Lists - Allow more fields for filtering and column displays.
  • User security - assigning roles and security is cumbersome between NXT and Raisers Edge.
  • Lists - Allow use of dynamic queries from RE.
  • Email - allow the use of all email addresses that exist on a record. Also, discontinue the use of "Primary" as the default selection if you are still going to allow the use of only one.
  • Include comments in the phone/email table display in NXT so that we can see them.
NXT is well suited to display constituent information, especially out in the field. Also, love the fact that it has the mapping feature and the phone numbers are enabled when on a mobile device. It is less suited for batch record updates or complex queries.
Read Cammi Derr's full review
John Mercer profile photo
December 22, 2018

Review: "Raiser's Edge NXT Helps You Raise More Money"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Raiser's Edge NXT to access donor information and history, find prospective donors and manage data in general. The entire organization is moving use of NXT in this way. NXT allows access to donor information anywhere via their secure website. It can be accessed on a laptop or phone allowing the fundraiser to see his or her donor's giving history, biographical information, and an easy way to enter visit notes immediately following the visit.
  • Ease of access to donor information.
  • Ability to run lists to sort prospects.
  • It's easy to use on a mobile device.
  • It should allow more access to enter or change donor records, and more features closer to Raiser's Edge.
  • Ability to run a query in NXT.
  • Ability to globally change records.
The program is very well suited to fundraisers in the field. It is great when making calls on donors-- the programs allows easy access to donor information, will give you directions to a prospect's house, and it is easy to enter notes and create further actions when the visit is over. I prefer to use Raiser's Edge when in the office, as there are more features available in the "regular" version.
Read John Mercer's full review
Angela Stumpo, MPA profile photo
December 18, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "Highly recommend RE NXT - a definite must if you already have RE"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using RE NXT in the fundraising department. RE NXT is so easy to use and the interface is easy to learn. We love it because it frees up a lot of time from our database coordinator because other users can find information on their own instead of having to ask someone else to do it for them.
  • RE NXT makes it very easy to find information.
  • RE NXT has a user-friendly interface. You feel like you are using a website rather than a database.
  • RE NXT is easy to login from anywhere, so users don't have to be logged into their own network. They can access is from any computer.
  • RE NXT is still fairly new, so new functionality is being added all the time. It would be helpful to be able to do batch processes in NXT.
  • One issue we have run into at times is that NXT is slow to load report information. It can lag as much as 2 days.
  • It would be nice to be able to switch from NXT view to database view without having to do a separate login.
I think any development office using Raiser's Edge would greatly benefit from NXT. You still need the database view for certain functions, and I may always like that view better for data entry and queries, etc., but for all other users, NXT is by far easier to use. The mobility is awesome and overall I think it will save everyone a lot of time to have NXT.
Read Angela Stumpo, MPA's full review
Gavin Mann profile photo
December 22, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "Great tool for school fundraising"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Raiser's Edge NXT on a daily basis. With NXT you have the best of both worlds: the database view for the data processors and the web view for the fundraisers on the road meeting potential donors or giving presentations to our senior management. The web view is so intuitive and easy to use. NXT has reduced the amount of time we spend building complex reports and queries.
  • It is really intuitive and simple to use.
  • The reports and queries are easy to build.
  • The benchmarking is a great tool.
  • Matching up the functionality of the database view with the web view.
It is a great tool for all fundraisers in the education sector.
Read Gavin Mann's full review
No photo available
December 22, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "NXT is user-friendly but packs a powerful punch!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge NXT is being used by our Advancement Team for fundraising and communications. We use it for everything from giving analysis to looking up an address. The built-in reporting is very user-friendly and easy on the eyes. New features, not available in the database view, like social media links and profile photos for constituents, have changed the way we build relationships.
  • Built-in analysis with easy to filter graphics
  • Social media linking for constituents
  • Mapping of constituents -- this feature is awesome!
  • The "has no valid address" feature from database view does not populate in NXT and can result in misinformation
  • Attachments in NXT do not populate the media tab in database view -- this integration could be improved
  • As with database view, the "head of household" function only connects spousal relationships, not full, multi-generational families, which would be very helpful for alumni programs
If you already use database view and know that your data will be hosted in the cloud as opposed to onsite, NXT is the next awesome step for you. If you host your own data and resist putting it in the cloud, it may be a bigger leap for you to be in NXT. And, if you're a much smaller organization without a lot of experience in constituent management software, there are other products that may be a better fit for your scale and budget.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 28, 2018

User Review: "Raiser's Edge NXT Advances our Mission"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge NXT is being used by all of our fundraising department, as well as our senior leadership team who have partners they work with. It helps organize our donor info, allowing us to run reports, keep data aligned, schedule tasks, and so much more. Ultimately, it helps us evaluate our data and raise more money for our mission.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Intuitive technology- not difficult to get up to speed.
  • Flexible. Many areas are adjustable to the needs of our organization.
  • Some of the search functions could use improvement.
  • Alerting to email would be helpful.
It really allows you to gather and analyze your data in an easy-to-use format. It's intuitive but also deeply integrated.
Read this authenticated review
Daniel Bayer profile photo
May 30, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "NXT - Not Perfect, but Excellent Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Raiser's Edge NXT in the Institutional Advancement Department for constituent management and data analytics. It presents all the information we have on constituents in an easy-to-understand way, and gives great analytics on our fundraising across years, constituencies, appeals, funds, and campaigns. It allows our fundraisers to look up and enter information easily while on the go (and in the office, too). The possibility is there to use it across the whole organization as a centralized database of alumni and current/former parents, although it is not currently being pushed as such.
  • User Interface. This is one of the best-looking products I've ever used, very clean and streamlined. Everything is very logically laid out, and the purpose of every box and button is crystal clear. Plus, you still have access to the old-school "Database View" for those people who have difficulty with change.
  • Customization. If you don't like the way a screen is defaulted to look, you can move things around incredibly easily to make sure the things most important to you are where you need them to be.
  • Company Involvement. Blackbaud is very invested in Raiser's Edge NXT, and they are constantly adding and changing things based on user feedback to provide an optimal experience. I feel like my concerns are always taken in to consideration, and there is ample opportunity to test out new functionality and provide feedback that really seem to be used.
  • Accessibility. You can access both the NXT "Web View" and the Classic RE7 "Database View" from any device with internet access.
  • Consistency of access. The number of times when connectivity (to the database view specifically) has been painfully slow is almost too high to count.
  • Current features. Blackbaud is still building out lots of functionality, so there are many fields that you can't "filter" or sort on, and many database administration/management functions that cannot be done in the beautiful web view yet, which is frustrating.
  • It's not fully compatible with RE7, in that certain fields have been renamed and certain fields are now now better than others for inputting certain data points. An adjustment in data entry and reporting may be required depending on how your organization has been using these fields, including changing historical data in order to make the best use of the powerful analytics tools.
There are still certain important parts of Raiser's Edge 7 (RE7) that are not fully functional in NXT - particularly Events, Volunteer, and Education fields. If you heavily use any of these areas, it will be a while before you can do everything you need to do with them in the NXT Web View. This isn't a problem, per se, because you still have access to the RE7 "Database View", but it can be frustrating to have to constantly switch back and forth between the Web and Database views, and it may not make sense for your organization to pay more for something that doesn't give you all the functionality you need at this moment. It may make more sense to wait until that functionality is available.
Read Daniel Bayer's full review
Jennifer Askew profile photo
May 29, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "NXT versatility in higher education and small development offices"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge NXT is only used in our advancement department at the college. I love the program and highly value the versatility it provides for our donor records, but it is challenging to use the program in isolation. I used to work in secondary schools where the school used several Blackbaud programs simultaneously and that was definitely my preference. Raiser's Edge NXT allows us to manage all of our donor related activities, contributions, and research in one place. The interface for the program is wonderful and very easy to use. We can keep all the information related to our foundation in one place and know that we have everything easily within reach within one program.

As we have implemented use of RE NXT across several departments, administrators have been able to access valuable information relevant to their own departments on demand.
  • Raiser's Edge NXT provides a way for us to share real time snapshots of current and evolving data with others in our organization who would normally not use the system.
  • Raiser's Edge NXT allows us to highlight our successes and share data quickly and easily while also being able to update data and enter notes within one platform.
  • Raiser's Edge NXT mobility allows those working outside the office and traveling to still have a live connection to giving and data. That platform creates a conduit for instant update of records and notes no matter where one of us is located.
  • The mail integration feature available in Raiser’s Edge NXT is allowing us to send specific information to those outside the system with ease. This integration also saves us time by saving these communications directly into donor records.
  • The integrated map feature of Raiser’s Edge NXT has made a positive difference for our Development Officers and Administrators during trips. They can instantly search an area they are planning to visit to contact additional donors as time allows and even add new visits during a trip based on a quick search of their surrounding area. This can be very helpful if a previous meeting is canceled or delayed and time is available to connect with additional constituents.
  • The time frames set in the recent giving lists need to be more adaptable. The choices start at 7 days and then jump to 90 days. We often need to see something like 30 or 45 days instead.
  • In general, I would like to see the ability to customize more within a list area. More options for sorting or culling a list by additional qualifiers like funds or appeals or campaigns would be great.
  • Additional reporting options should be made available within the NXT system without having to utilize the database version.
Any organization wanting to track donors, analytics and giving trends will benefit greatly from NXT. If a company is particularly small and only has a small amount of donors or gifts, Raiser's Edge would be too much to deal with, but once an organization is moving up in size and volume of giving it becomes essential to donor relations and stewardship.

In this day of instant information and rapidly changing dynamics, a system like Raiser’s Edge NXT can provide an edge over the competition to integrate advanced stewardship practices across an organization. Stewardship is what sets one organization apart from another - it is vital to have the tools to steward stakeholders effectively.
Read Jennifer Askew's full review
Brady Craighead profile photo
May 22, 2018

"Raiser's Edge NXT Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge NXT is currently being used by Hospice Austin's Development Department for fundraising. As a non-profit organization, it is important that we are able to record gift and donation information in a way that is easy to browse and retrieve. Raiser's Edge NXT's ability to also provide analytical wealth information and keep our donor's information current is also extremely valuable to us.

The current feedback structure for NXT is easy to use, and interactions with Blackbaud have been productive and transparent. They use input from the various organizations that make up their user base to continually improve the product.
  • Interface is intuitive and attractive
  • The system feels responsive and information loads quickly
  • As a browser-based client, Raiser's Edge NXT offers mobility and the convenience of being used on mobile/tablet devices
  • Does not effectively replace traditional Raiser's Edge software - most data entry is still required to be performed from the database software view
  • Lists cannot currently be exported to other file formats to be viewed outside of the client (i.e. Excel, Notepad, Word, etc)
  • Some information, such as donor action items, does not actively update both ways across NXT and the traditional database - for example, adding media to an action item on a donor record does not upload the media to be viewed in the database view
Raiser's Edge NXT is well suited for situations which call for a need to view a donor record in a simple and clean way. It offers the ability to view records on your phone or tablet, in addition to a laptop or desktop computer, regardless of where you are - so long as you have internet access. The interface is optimized for every display and device that we have used it with. NXT may not be the best option for more advanced data entry or logging information like gifts into constituent records. Currently, NXT only supports the ability to add minor updates such as Action Items to constituent records. More advanced record management and data entry has to be handled in the traditional database. The interface is convenient and quick for simply looking up any information.
Read Brady Craighead's full review
Damian Lenshek profile photo
May 22, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "NXT has helped our growing organization"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raider's Edge NXT is used exclusively by our development office to maintain constituent information. The Augustine Institute outgrew maintaining contacts with its friends in an Excel spreadsheet quickly, and we have been using Raiser's Edge for years. We upgraded to NXT in November 2015 because it is a better product and came with unlimited licenses, which is important to our small but growing department. NXT now enables better communications about our constituents, reporting, and management of gift officers.
  • NXT is web-based and does not require a third-party plugin like RE classic did, which makes it more user-friendly, especially for our gift officers.
  • At first, we were frustrated by the limited functionality of NXT, and resorted to classic frequently, as we had done in the past. But we've been pleasantly surprised by the pace of development. Every month it seems that Blackbaud rolls out a new feature, and many of them have been immediately useful.
  • Because we were already cloud-based with RE classic, switching to NXT was seamless and painless. It was simply turning on a new functionality, not losing anything. That aspect of it was very well thought out. I've seen transitions requiring data transfer go horribly wrong, and Blackbaud's approach avoided those pitfalls completely.
  • Functionality was initially so limited that we did not use NXT much. But the improvements have come quickly, and we look forward to more. We love the Analyze feature, and as more customization is enabled there, we will use it more and more for our reporting.
  • I haven't spent the time necessary to get NXT on my mobile device, and I have had officers come to me with difficulties in setting that up. One officer was able to without any problems. So this is an area that could possibly be more user-friendly.
  • Within NXT's Analyze function, it is now possible to drill down into various appeals or life cycle categories to get a list of constituents. This is great information. The next step is being able to batch-apply actions, or simply print out the list. As it stands, both of those steps take a little more work than I hope they will.
For a growing department like ours, where we have several folks adept at Raiser's Edge (RE) classic, but newer officers coming in, NXT flattens the learning curve, allowing gift officers to see the information they need and record their tasks with almost no training on the software. But you can't do certain basic things, like add a new constituent, in NXT. For that, you need to use RE classic. So for a very small organization, or one just adopting a new system, there will still need to be a more data-oriented person to perform these functions in classic, and the benefits of NXT might not be so obvious.
Read Damian Lenshek's full review
Shelley Cotten profile photo
February 20, 2018

"Raiser's Edge NXT Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a community college foundation and we use RE NXT for our donor management activities. We can track our events (which includes registration, payment, mailings, etc.), analyze data to see which campaigns, funds, and packages are the most cost effective and productive, conduct wealth assessments, and update with public records. Biographical and demographics are very useful in targeting specific donors to specific appeals.
  • The implementation team is great to work with - they walk you through step-by-step, and try to make sure that mapping is correct before any data is transferred, which saves a lot of time, effort, and cleanup after the conversion.
  • The mobile app is great - allows development personnel to quickly add or update information on donors on-the-spot and provides a snapshot of the donor's record.
  • The dashboard and reporting features are very handy, easy to maneuver and personalize to the needs of the organization/user. Information can be seen at a glance for an overall view of any particular data.
  • The required 18 hours of training before implementation for all users is a bit excessive. It is difficult to contain all of that information when it may be weeks or even months prior to actually having the system in place and usable.
  • Pulling reports and queries can be cumbersome - attributes, filters, etc. can be confusing to the layperson who has little experience in database management.
  • Much information can be found in different areas and that can be confusing.
Great for a donor management system. Keeps data accessible, and reports are fairly easy to pull. Sometimes users have confusion on which reports they are trying to get. So much information, so many options - pros and cons. If you have experienced advancement personnel and a designated database administrator, this is an awesome program that can provide so much detail.
Read Shelley Cotten's full review
Sue Emrick profile photo
June 13, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "Go Get the Dough"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our fundraisers are using Raiser's Edge NXT to help them with managing their specific portfolio donors across our five regions. They love the interactivity of being able to create quick lists or analyze their portfolio retention rate and lapsed donors. The mobile features have been exciting to keep them in touch with the donors while being out prospecting new donors. Our fundraisers are also able to have presentations of reports for board members that show the data they want to see without a lot of additional queries or exports.
  • Mobility of being able to attend a variety of events and meetings while still staying in contact with donors.
  • The analysis tools show a great picture of donor profiles and how we are attaining our goals.
  • The overall look and feel are geared to the novice database user making it easy for them to get those quick lists of data.
  • So far I don't see where you can create an action from an email message like you could in the database view prior to hosting.
  • Being able to update more areas of addresses like the counties and regions. We work in one state but have five different regions.
  • it would be nice to be able to select which user's portfolios can be accessed. We have a SVP that wants to see just a few, while we have regional directors that want to see only their direct reports.
NXT is definitely geared for the fundraiser on the go. I process data and stay in the database view most of the time, but just wish there were more data entry tasks that could be completed.
Read Sue Emrick's full review
Cameron Dunkin profile photo
June 01, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT: "A Review of RE NXT"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RE NXT is being used by our organization as a means for tracking all of our constituents. We rely heavily on the database to build our major gift pipeline and track the entire process from solicitation to stewardship. It's essential for our development needs. We haven't come across any other platform that works this way for non-profit organizations.
  • Good at pipeline tracking.
  • Good at showing statistics and analytics at a high level (down to real specifics) that assist with decision making and strategy.
  • There is still a heavy reliance on RE7, meaning we have to use a program that looks like it was developed in 1990 for a majority of our work. This really needs to be resolved.
It's very expensive, so you have to use it for all your major gift and annual giving tracking and constituent records for it really to be worth it. If you're not doing fundraising, then there are more economical options. The program also has a lot of limitations and gitches, that you need to work through.
Read Cameron Dunkin's full review
Shannon Cleary profile photo
May 29, 2018

User Review: "Raiser's Edge NXT in the Aloha State"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the infant stages of implementing Raiser's Edge NXT, and already see the prospective benefits!
  • Raiser's Edge NXT allows me, as the director of institutional advancement, to have have access to our donor database where ever I go, rather than depending on pulling donor information prior to visits. Access to pertinent information is at your fingertips!
  • The ability to set report pushes to your email from RE NXT on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis is extremely convenient when wanting to promote transparency with our Head of School, CFO and Board. The graphs are easy "at a glance" information.
  • Note taking after donor meetings is very convenient from your handheld mobile device! Much easier to get information in when it is fresh after a conversation, rather than waiting to return to the office.
  • There are so many pros after using the the old Raiser's Edge for so long that it is difficult to think of cons. That said, it would be great to be able to use RE NXT instead of printing out old school phon-a-thon forms for calls, texts, eCampgains, etc. when it comes to peer-to-peer asking.
Raiser's Edge NXT is well suited for limited (or extended) access for your Head of School or Executive Director. This cuts down on a prospector or stewardship coordinator pulling information prior to a donor meeting...as the information is easily accessible and easily navigated.
Read Shannon Cleary's full review
Hallie Guiseppe profile photo
May 29, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "Nerdy and proud of it!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use NXT specifically for four departments - general development, volunteers, events, and membership. We are working to expand to our grants department. Our goal is to understand each constituent relationship across our entire organization. RE NXT specifically addresses communication between departments.
  • The actions and notes feature are far superior to what is available in database only versions.
  • I love the built-in analytic features. I have actually spent hours sorting and sifting and exploring the different options available. They are easy and intuitive to use and provide new insights into our constituency.
  • I love the interface. I am comfortable in database view, but others are not. I've had great success with getting coworkers to log in, explore and add valuable information to records.
  • I would like to see event and membership management incorporated into NXT. Like I mentioned earlier many of my coworkers are not comfortable with the database view and I am still having to pull reports for events and membership because these are not yet available in NXT.
  • I would like to see OXL features added to NXT. While I love that I can quickly send an email to a single constituent I'd like to have the feature added to send an email to a list of constituents directly from NXT.

NXT is well suited for mobile access, note taking, action reminders and basic wealth information (there is an upgrade option for wealth info).

NXT is not well suited for event and membership management.

Read Hallie Guiseppe's full review
Lisa Mulholland, CFRE profile photo
May 29, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "NXTing into the Future"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using NXT across the whole organization to support development, volunteering and events. We have staff and volunteers acessing the system based on a fairly complex matrix of security groupings. A few people are trained for across the board access and many more to complete various specidic tasks.
  • The interconnectedness of the electronic communication and online gift giving options has reduced data entry hours in a big way.
  • Assistance with Analytics and regular address checks keep the data correct and productive
  • Online hosting has saved our IT department many heachaches especially when local servers went down.
  • We used a third party vender to make events possible but switching everything event related to RE NXT was a huge relief. Less duplication, better income, better reporting and much less stress.
  • I think the email receipts could be improved - both the automatic sends in response to online gifts and the ones generated via Mail functions.
  • Sometimes our donor credit cards are refused even though they will go through when we try via another gateway
  • To use the Tribute module we end up adding deceased individuals as constituents - which is unhelpful for us.
  • Not having the ability to send iCards is a significant drawback for Tribute donations. I am sure Blackbaud is working on it but it should already be available.
  • I'd like to see more peer2peer opportunity in the software rather than having to add additional products.
Absolutley love the options for moving the organzation forward to better online and electronic communication, gifts and receipting. In addition RE NXT is continually being updated and an organization won't ever grow out of this platform unlike some other brands' offerings.
Read Lisa Mulholland, CFRE's full review
Stephanie Dailey profile photo
May 29, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT: "NXT Review for RRH"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge NXT is being used by our gift officers, prospect managers, operations managers and foundation president. It addresses the need for our gift officers to have a program of their own that they can easily access, read and understand.
  • The ease of attaching media files
  • The ease of navigation for the gift officers
  • Gift officers can customize the view as they would like to see it
  • Sky Reporting - ability to filter by gift type
  • Media attachments transferable to DB side
  • Sky Reporting - ability to filter by active and inactive funds

1. It is well suited for the needs of a gift officer and how they view the information needed to pursue prospect.

2. It has all the information for a gift officer in a one quick view.

3. It would be less appropriate for the data and gift entry side of the operations.

Read Stephanie Dailey's full review
David Alderfer profile photo
May 24, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "NXT - Gee, how did Blackbaud come up with that?!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RE NXT is a donor tracking and fundraising program used by 4 members of the development office. While it allows for access by other people in the organization to have access to the database, currently on the development staff is using it. As the director of development I appreciate the ease and quick overview it provides when seeking information on our donors. It is a major improvement in readability and logical presentation of the information in a record.
  • The Raiser's Edge database when not viewed through NXT is hard to read and requires calling up various tabs to find what you are looking for. NXT is easy to read and puts the key information all on one page.
  • It is in the cloud so it can be viewed from most anywhere
  • This is a manager's product. Quick easy access. Those entering data are still going directly to the RE database.
  • if you are trying to find a person who is in the database as a relationship on a company, like the CEO, it does not always come up. This is frustrating. Also, if you remember someone's last name, but not their first, and their first name is later in the alphabet they don't come up in the search.
  • I am not sure it is possible, but it would be great if when in NXT you could make certain changes the data. An example would be adding a birthdate or changing an address or email.
For those who are responsible for maintaining a RE database they will not be able to do this through NXT. It is intended for those who need to view records and it does this well. Easy access, readability, no tabs. There is also a dashboard feature that I am not currently using but it seems like a good manager's tool.
Read David Alderfer's full review
Andrea Koenig-Feldman profile photo
May 22, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "Raisers Edge NXT is a Efficient Workhorse for Non-Profit Professionals"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge NXT is being used by my office to manage donations for 53 schools. I am able to use it to track donations and alumni for each school as well as create separate campaigns, e-newsletters, online giving, and appeals. The dashboard function helps me keep track of where I am on any given day. Exporting and importing functions make it easy to upload new lists. Online Express allows my organization to create a donation page for each school and track views, clicks, conversions, and more.
  • Online Express has made creating separate donation pages for separate funds easy.
  • Dashboard ensures reporting daily results to higher-ups at a click of a button.
  • I am able to assign each donor a constituent code as opposed to the system just assigning one. This makes it easier to match with other systems in use as well as being able to tell some simple demographics just from looking at the constituent id. It makes searching easier and more accurate.
  • Online hosting does not take up space on our server and makes the database accessible from anywhere.
  • Thank you letters are a breeze and can be done immediately upon gift entry with load-in formats and can be completely personalized.
  • Online Express has had some loading issues recently which has slowed down work.
  • Queries with several criteria can occasionally include duplicates.
Very good for an organization that is managing 50,000 records or more. It could be expensive for organizations with significantly less records.
Read Andrea Koenig-Feldman's full review
Kathleen Ward profile photo
February 09, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "Glossy veneer on an overage frankenstein whose glory days long gone"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge NXT (and its one step below predecessor Raiser's Edge) is our nonprofit fundraising CRM with add-on modules of online giving pages, merchant services, email, event management software and an advocacy module that is supposed to communicate with the CRM. Exports are used to supply lists for mailings for our newsletters and financial exports provide our finance office with philanthropic gift information. The software is cloud-based and used by 5 individuals - from our events manager to our major gift officer to our gift acknowledgment coordinator.
  • Imports/Exports and Queries
  • Customized reports for analytic review
  • Gift management and tracking
  • I've used Raiser's Edge for the past 20 years, and used to love it. But all good things come to pass. This thing is living on its reputation and is way overpriced.
  • Here is where RE has gone wrong: they offer add-ons that don't work well with the base model of RE and the sales people and customer service people will not admit that they weren't programmed to go along with it and thus don't work well. It's obviously clunky programming! The event module and online gift forms are primitive, and the stand-alone advocacy software that I pay an EXTRA yearly $5,000 for can't even communicate properly with Raiser's Edge!
  • Here's one of the most troubling concerns lately: the online giving servers from RE crashed numerous times during the last week of December 2017 (prime donation season! I had donors making $2,000 and $5,000 gifts as well as the countless $35 donors calling me asking what was going on)...
  • I'm also worried about the privacy of my data. The offer a wealth screening service and the fine print as to what is my data and what they use is very sketchy... I have concerns here that their customer service representatives were never able to satisfactorily answer. Eventually, I threw in the towel on that battle.
  • The customer support, while extremely pleasant, never seems to supply clear answers or solve problems. In the past decade, it seems like I've been yes'ed to death. Either I'm asking tougher questions as I get older, or they are just trained to be cagier when they don't know an answer. Again, they wear me down and I typically drop it.
  • When I graduated from college in 1992, I was told "You have to learn WordPerfect - it's the industry standard". Well, its time faded quickly after that. Lately, I've been wondering, is Raiser's Edge the next WordPerfect?
I believe that colleges and universities are better suited for Raiser's Edge. However, if you are a dynamic organization reaching out to a young audience and depend on social media, online donations, advocacy tools and anything essential to modern fundraising, I suggest looking for newer and cleaner CRMs. Plus they cost much less!
Read Kathleen Ward's full review
Katherine Reilley profile photo
May 29, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "Good for Out of the Office Work"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I really think NXT is a great product, but the company I work for has yet to tap into its resources. It would be great to get our board members, CEO, and directors involved with using NXT eventually.
  • I like the fact that you can use the product on your mobile device to look up addresses, phone numbers, and giving history.
  • In addition to the address portion--there is a map function that will take the user to the constituent's address. I really like that feature, and it definitely makes it easier.
  • The wealth assessor is such an eye opener. I really like that there's a minimum ask figure as well.
  • I will say that there are way too many logins to get into the database.
  • It is hard to find NXT on the main page.
  • I expected to see more infographics on our constituent profiles, but I didn't see that.
I like it for when I'm out of the office. In the office, I'm less likely to use it because I typically just log into the database.
Read Katherine Reilley's full review
Becky Norton profile photo
May 23, 2018

Review: "Love Raiser's Edge NXT for its ease of use, ability to connect to donors and donations."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge NXT is used as a database, [for] accounts receivable as well as organizing reunions and events. It's awesome!
  • Queries to organize reunions and events.
  • It accurately organizes gifts and their donors.
  • Easily merge thank you letters to donors.
  • Easy to create class lists
  • Easier way to add thank you letters and merge from each donor....it just may be my own misunderstanding.
[Raiser's Edge NXT is well suited for] Adding gifts and doing queries.
Read Becky Norton's full review
Susan Hammersmith profile photo
May 22, 2018

Raiser's Edge NXT Review: "Great Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now, NXT is only being used as a research tool when offsite by the fund development department. Since I am the only user of both NXT and the Raiser's Edge database there really hasn't been a need to use the NXT product more than that.
  • NXT is a great tool for having a donor snapshot at your fingertips.
  • I REALLY wish that I could enter gifts and manage more of the database functions in NXT.
Honestly, I don't think that NXT is beneficial to a fundraising shop as small as mine. It is a fabulous tool for shops that have many front-end fundraisers who need to be able to access pertinent donor information while off-site.
Read Susan Hammersmith's full review
No photo available
May 22, 2018

User Review: "Raiser's Edge NXT"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Raiser's Edge NXT is used by my whole organization as our donor database, consisting of around 63,000 constituents. We use it to keep track of our donors' contact information and their giving history. It addresses many problems for us. Most importantly, it gives us an easy way to record incoming gifts and send out acknowledgment letters in a timely fashion.
  • The program itself is very user friendly, especially if you have previous experience with donor databases.
  • You are easily able to pull very detailed reports that can be helpful in identifying lapsed donors or donors who have a higher giving capacity.
  • Being able to access the Raiser's Edge app on your phone or tablet is very helpful for getting information about a donor on the go to help prepare you for a meeting.
  • I would like to see the dashboard tab improved a little bit to give more detailed information and also for it to be slightly more accurate than it currently is.
  • We have one team member who uses a Microsoft Surface Pro as her work computer and she has run into quite a few compatibility issues, so that is something that could be improved.
I think Raiser's Edge NXT is probably best suited for medium to large sized organizations for the simple fact of how much it costs annually.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 29, 2018

Review: "Newbie looking forward to Raiser's Edge NXT"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization purchased Raiser's Edge NXT over a year ago but it has not yet become fully available in Canada, so we have not actively used the program yet. I have attended training sessions and am preparing for our transition when the program becomes available to us. Our fundraising and development team will be using Raiser's Edge NXT and it will allow our fundraisers to have much more efficient access to the data they need, when and where they need it.
  • Easy access to information when and where it is needed
  • Ease of use with modern interface
  • Mobile accessible
  • Dashboard for executives who may not have time to learn the ins and outs of The Raiser's Edge
  • Media file accessibility - cannot access on both sides of the program
  • Functionality should be standard across both platforms to allow for ease of training
Raiser's Edge NXT will be an excellent product for on the ground fundraisers who need quick and efficient access to data. It will also help engage fundraisers in updating records with actions in a timely manner. Database managers will not find this product as useful due to the limited functionalities in the web view.
Read this authenticated review

About Raiser's Edge NXT

Raiser's Edge NXT aims to be a complete fundraising and supporter management solution that enables nonprofit professionals to operate more efficiently and raise more support for their mission.

According to the vendor, key benefits include:

  • Operate More Efficiently: Set a stable foundation for growth.
  • Reach & Engage New Donors: Bring in new support to your organization.

  • Retain & Expand Existing Donors: Protect and grow your donor base.

Raiser's Edge NXT Features

Has featureDonor Information Management
Has featureReporting and Dashboards
Has featureOpen, Cloud Platform
Has featureData Enrichment Services
Has featureSimple Email Marketing
Has featureDonations, Pledges, and Payments
Has featureRecurring Gifts
Has featureWealth Analytics
Has featureCrowd-Fundraising Tools

Raiser's Edge NXT Screenshots

Raiser's Edge NXT Integrations

Raiser's Edge NXT Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Required

Raiser's Edge NXT Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Raiser's Edge NXT Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English