RavenDB Reviews

10 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 02, 2021
Holger Harzer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RavenDB was evaluated as possible database alongside other common ones. Main use case was as a simple document store with easy to use full text search, wide variety of client options, preferably offering client for all major languages (serverless as well as traditional applications).
Importing data from a least CSV files was a must. Nice to have easy transfer in and out.
  • Admin console.
  • Importing from various sources.
  • Search functionality.
  • Acid.
  • Better documentation regarding clients.
  • More examples and easier getting started templates.
It worked quite well as a centralized location for data from different existing sources with fast data loading into it with a generous free tier to get a good understanding of how to use it.
Although it was kind of clunky getting it to work on Linux due to the certificates required.
The clients for languages like python and NodeJS exist but are a little under documented — although the C# one was rather good.
Very good support that answered fast, nice and reliably.
The problems were always resolved quickly and competently, even if the user was the problem.

If any unusual issues arose, the support was proactive in contacting me to resolve problems or roadblocks I might have had.
Read Holger Harzer's full review
February 06, 2021
Sina Zaimaran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To start being ACID is vital for every Database. RavenDb is also easy to set up with advanced features included like a search engine with outstanding performance. Since Oren's team added graph support it's more delicious. In my country, all of my colleagues know that I insist all the developers leave the old RDBMS and switch to cool ones like RavenDB. Although most of them use MongoDB, which I don't suggest at all. In one sentence: On-premise or on the cloud RavenDb is my first, second, third, and so on choices.
  • Cool clustering with modest features
  • Fabulous auto indexing
  • Great studio and dashboard
  • Detailed documentation
  • Attachments on the document
  • Outstanding revisions
  • Easy ETL
  • Low prices on the clouds
  • Multi model support
  • Advance search
  • Informative webinars
  • High on-premise prices.
  • Not a vast community.
It's suited to all kinds of projects unless it's reporting related, for which you should use ETL of RavenDB as well.
Always ready to support even on their personal emails.
Read Sina Zaimaran's full review
January 14, 2021
Adam Nemitoff | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use RavenDB for all my projects that require data persistence. Document Store databases solve the problem of programming model/persistence model impedance. RavenDB has an amazing feature set that sets it apart from its competitors. The power and speed provided by its dynamic indexing makes writing complex and performant queries simple. And the focus on security and resiliency inspires tons of confidence. I have used RavenDB since v1 and with every release, it just keeps getting better!
  • The C# client makes using RavenDB feel like a natural part of the C# language.
  • Support is top notch! Even using free support you get speedy replies from engineers responsible for development of the DB engine.
  • The hosted cloud product is reasonably priced and makes it easy to deploy a resilient cluster with automatic backups.
  • I have never encountered any tasks that RavenDB could not handle.
I suppose that if your data is flat and your schema is static, a Relational DB might be better suited.
Free support is good with engineers responding to technical questions.
Paid support is available with very good SLA
Read Adam Nemitoff's full review
December 23, 2020
Chris Llewellyn | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RavenDb is used as the sole database for our online sports management SaaS platform.
  • Excellent integration with .NET and Linq
  • Easy to learn
  • Automatic indexes
  • Good performance
  • ACID compliant
  • More examples of best practices in the docs
If you're looking for a NoSQL database, RavenDb is easy to pick up and works great.
Documentation is quite good and the database is being continuously developed and improved. I haven't had any issues personally but others say their issues were resolved promptly.
Read Chris Llewellyn's full review
July 21, 2020
Wallace Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RavenDB is being used to house downstream trading data from an exchange. The data must be extremely fast to access and highly available (no downtime).
  • Feature rich .NET API.
  • Simple setup for clustering/high availability.
  • Fast document access via auto indexing.
  • Own language for querying (RQL) not usable elsewhere
  • learning curve for stale documents/eventual consistency
RavenDB is useful for providing high availability (HA) which we achieved by clustering across physically different servers.

RavenDB would not be appropriate if you have dynamic queries - e.g. where the fields being queried are not known ahead of time and thus indexes would have to be built on all fields (or dynamically as required).
Read Wallace Turner's full review
July 20, 2020
Alan Doherty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RavenDB throughout our platform, from high-frequency server statistics to customer data. Our platform is challenged by the unique requirements of a geographically distributed regions, low tolerance for latency and the need for ACID state machines and transactional operations.
  • Excellent .NET support.
  • Embeddable.
  • Out of the box administration tools.
  • Great documentation.
  • ACID documents.
  • Managed cloud available.
  • Automatic indexes.
  • Open-source.
  • Time series data.
Extremely likely. The solution itself is very easy to setup, supports multiple languages out of the box and provides an easy-to-use administration UI which accelerates development. I have also actively used RavenDB in multiple other projects to a notable increase in productivity and a reduction in the burden of managing application data. The community license is very generous and allowed us to get started quickly without upfront costs and the support was above par.
The support team at RavenDB is very helpful, the documentation is concise and clear. RavenDB wants you to succeed.
Read Alan Doherty's full review
July 20, 2020
Jeremy Holt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RavenDB exclusively for all our applications. Our applications are developed for the West African cashew industry and include programs to develop business plans for industries seeking finance from financial institutions to easy to use software for our inspectors to perform on the spot quality analysis of containers of cashews prior to shipment. We also develop software to help local laboratories as well as factories perform quality control data collection on the shop floor.
  • Once over the initial learning curve, using Raven requires very little thinking about. Even though it is capable of doing almost anything you can imagine, learning how to LoadAsync, StoreAsync, QueryAsync are pretty much all you need to know to do about 99% of the day to day tasks.
  • Write the POCO for your data - Raven does the rest
  • With v 4.0+ you hardly ever need to write queries - Raven's automatic queries handle about 99% of my requirements
  • In previous versions the documentation was terrible - however, since v4.0 the documentation is excellent.
  • Any minor complaints are generally resolved by the team the same day. I suggested at one time some minor tweaks to Studio (showing the number of items in an array) and they were implemented almost immediately.
  • Nothing really to complain about.
All my applications are basic crud and querying of data. Over the years I have learned (mostly) to model my data to fit the no-SQL paradigm. If you can model the data properly there is no reason not to use Raven. Obviously, if you can't find an appropriate model you should probably look elsewhere.
Without doubt the hardest thing of all using Raven is the modelling - before you give up, look at the lookup features (Load.Include) which effectively allow you to approximate foreign keys. The documentation has an excellent chapter on modelling which is definitely worth reading before one starts with Raven.
Because it's first class!
Read Jeremy Holt's full review
July 19, 2020
Judah Gabriel Himango | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used RavenDB as the database for several of our commercial graphics products within 3M. It addressed a few important issues for us:
  • High performance
  • Powerful: We were able to store complex objects and view models in Raven.
  • Ease of developer use: No schemas, stored procedures, or complicated mapping to setup.
  • Flexible: Raven let us move quickly while prototyping our apps without getting bogged down in schema details.
  • Scalable and resilient across a cluster of machines.
  • First-class .NET support
  • Easy to get started
  • Great tooling
  • Unparalleled performance
  • Resilient
  • Sharding
Raven is a fantastic choice for a general-purpose database. It works well in a variety of types of applications and has a flexible data model for different kinds of data (JSON, time series, counters). We've successfully used Raven both as a primary database and as a complement to a traditional SQL database. For the latter scenario, we used Raven as a cache for complex objects like view models. But we've found the most success switching entirely off SQL and onto Raven—great performance, fewer maintenance issues, and developers love it.
Read Judah Gabriel Himango's full review
August 10, 2020
Alex Klaus | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RavenDB is the main database of a SaaS platform that is widely used across the industry in Australia
  • Integration with the .NET infrastructure (LINQ)
  • Rich querying capabilities and flexible indexes
  • Great tech support
  • More examples and good practices
  • Better Azure/AWS/GCP integration (more transparency)
  • Deferred patching of multiple documents when the index is not stale
  • Clusters with >3 nodes when hosting in the cloud
Highly recommended if your back-end is in the .NET.
Read Alex Klaus's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (9)
9.1
Availability (9)
9.0
Concurrency (9)
8.8
Security (9)
9.0
Scalability (9)
8.9
Data model flexibility (9)
9.1
Deployment model flexibility (9)
8.8

What is RavenDB?


RavenDB is a NoSQL Document Database that is fully transactional (ACID) across the database and throughout clusters. It is presented by the vendor as an easy to use all-in-one database that minimizes the need for third party addons, tools, or support to boost developer productivity and get projects into production fast.

Users can setup and secure a data cluster in minutes and deploy in the cloud, on-premise or in a hybrid environment. RavenDB offers a Database as a Service solution, allowing users to pass on all database operations and focus exclusively on the application. RavenDB has a built-in storage engine that operates at speeds up to 1 million reads per second and 150,000 writes per second on a single node using simple commodity hardware to increase application performance. The vendor points to mentions in both Gartner and Forrester research, and states RavenDB has been downloaded over 2 million times serving thousands of customers from Startups to Fortune 100 Large Enterprises.

RavenDB Features include:

  • Its RQL Query language is based on SQL
  • Works with existing relational database. ETL feature and migration to Document model available.
  • Multiplatform: C#, Node.js, Java, Python, Ruby, Go
  • Multisystem: Windows, Linux, Mac OS, Docker, Raspberry Pi
  • Designed to works efficiently on older machines and smaller devices
  • Built in Full-Text Search, MapReduce, and Storage Engine
  • Schema Free

RavenDB Features

NoSQL Databases Features

Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility

RavenDB Video

Time is money and RavenDB saves you both!

RavenDB Competitors

RavenDB Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

RavenDB Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Live Chat

RavenDB Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No