TrustRadius
Software company RedPrairie merged with JDA Software Group in 2012; they offered a popular supply chain management platform.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/FN/WO/6FB5N0UJU57V.pngRedPrarie for the Win!RedPrarie is being used across the organization. It is the back of house reporting used with our POS system. It is great because we have several restaurant locations and we are able to aggregate data for one location, the whole company, or a select group of locations. It also helped with metrics by pulling data from various sources for reporting. It also had features that would allow us to update information on the POS as well as add users information for POS access. It also is a time keeping system built in. I guess essentially RedPrarie is more of the backbone to the POS and they could have been swapped out with another vendor, but they seemed to be pretty reliable compared to other companies in this industry.,Allows access from anywhere 24/7 Support Reliability,Compability with newer browsers Less setup on new machines,9,Less time crunching numbers Less Report Building Less time being at a specific site for access,Aloha POSRedPraire for 3PLsWe use RedPrairie in our 3PL warehouses in our Distribution Logistics division. We have transportation terminals and other pallet plants that do not use RedPrairie, as they do not require a WMS. RedPrairie is our WMS.,RedPrairie is very customizable by internal staff. Being a 3PL, we have many different customer requirements. RedPrairie has easily met them all. We try not to customize, as the product works well out of the box. But we do create custom reports and data extracts that customers require. And we can do those modifications ourselves with no RedPrairie support or additional cost. RedPrairie allows for accurate and efficient use of warehouse labor. Transactions are tracked and rules are in place to keep inventory accurate. RedPrairie has a sophisticated work queue engine that hands out the best piece of work to warehouse workers and allows them to work as efficiently as possible. RedPrairie has a robust integration layer that allows for data input and output to nearly any host or destination.,RedPrairie is complicated due to all of the customer requirements. There isn't really a "RedPrairie light" for simple, small customers. RedPrairie is a client/server application. They are working towards a web interface.,9,RedPrairie (JDA WMS) is a known brand, and is known as a tier 1 WMS. Mentioning that we use the software has helped during the sales process. It has kept us in bids that we wouldn't have been involved with if we didn't have RedPrairie. Inventory accuracy improved dramatically when we converted from our legacy WMS to RedPrairie in 2007. After the conversion to RedPrairie, physical inventory numbers have never been lower than 99.5% accurate. Having relevant data and customized reports has helped our CSRs when dealing with our customers.,,2,9,Implemented in-house,9RP LMS ReviewRollout in process to all distribution units. The modules were customized for each unit. We implemented the LMS modules for engineered labor standards and payroll determination.,It is a relatively cheap and basic LMS. If customization is not required it can be dropped into an operation quickly. Attractive starter program for organizations with limited engineered labor standards experience.,Engineered labor standards are very generic and times/elements could be tightened up. Customization of the programs throws them a curve. logically they are resistant to rewrite what is already written, but meeting the needs of a more sophisticated customer requires greater flexibility and investment. On site support needs to be more robust. It is dictated up front in the project plan, but needs to be flexible to meet customer needs, based on their demands. Supervisor level time required to maintain the system (punches, etc) is significant and not a value-add use of their time.,1,SAP,Manhattan Associates,MIDS,1JDA WMS (was RedPrairie): How to complicate simple things.It's used across the whole organization and it's supposed to work as a warehouse management system.,Directed work. Highly customizable,Quite user un-friendly database design; DB table names and column names don't give any clue about their purpose. Data separation is non-effective. This is NOT a software for a 3PL (3rd party logistics company). Multiple clients sharing the same warehouse share tables - such as the Item Master table - without a clear indication of the client's name. Several different tables for ItemMaster, way too complicated. System would reject new Items if the Item Color sent via EDI hasn't been codified before the Item Master upload. That is a problem for fashion clients that create many new color codes every season. Software requires SERVER reboot for every new change in order for the change to be effective. Unacceptable when many clients are on the same server and on a distributed organization.,1,Slower implementation / conversion Decreased productivity Highly increased implementation costs,ILS and SCALE,Microsoft SQL Server, Workfront, Jabber, SAP Crystal ReportsRedPrairie is the best tool a distribution team can have in their toolbox to help reinforce their employees and take away obstacles.I have used RedPrairie in my last company of 18 years, which was a big box distribution company 1.8 million square feet with 9 other distribution companies and over 1500 stores. RedPrairie was the most positive tool we worked with and it was compatible with all existing tools we were using such as voice pick, RF and pick to light. The simplicity of the program gave us great data to provide our employees with feedback and was easily accepted by my management team. I wish the present company I work for had the chance to see the value of the RedPrairie system compared to the system we are currently using. I have many supervisors and managers that have used RedPrairie in their past experience and agree that it is a very valuable tool for many companies in distribution or any company that needs reliable data to improve process and give employees valuable feedback.,Provides great and reliable data to give feedback to your employees. Gives you data to see the true picture on effectiveness in youf production areas. The tools and reports are endless and can be used by the front line supervisor and the management team to see trend lines on performance and gaps that need to be closed.,There are not many areas I have seen that need to be improved afher you know the system. RedPrairie has a big jump over many companies because it is 3D and takes all factors in consideration. I do not have any thing bad to say about RedPrairie.,10,It is not cheap but pays off in the long run. RedPraire help you find the low hanging fruit thar we just don't see each day because you feel busy and don't dig in to find the root cause. I have seen the effectiveness rate of employees rise from 45% to 95% within 90 days.,,All the data was easy to get for the managment team Break down by fution was good to see on a daily bases.,I did not find anything difficult to use after we trained the stafff. Getting data fromthe system was easy for my staff.,10
Unspecified
RedPrairie
12 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
TRScore

RedPrairie Reviews

RedPrairie
12 Ratings
Score 7.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 12 vetted RedPrairie reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-9 of 9)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Scott Strader profile photo
March 30, 2017

RedPrairie Review: "RedPrarie for the Win!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RedPrarie is being used across the organization. It is the back of house reporting used with our POS system. It is great because we have several restaurant locations and we are able to aggregate data for one location, the whole company, or a select group of locations. It also helped with metrics by pulling data from various sources for reporting. It also had features that would allow us to update information on the POS as well as add users information for POS access. It also is a time keeping system built in. I guess essentially RedPrarie is more of the backbone to the POS and they could have been swapped out with another vendor, but they seemed to be pretty reliable compared to other companies in this industry.
  • Allows access from anywhere
  • 24/7 Support
  • Reliability
  • Compability with newer browsers
  • Less setup on new machines
This is a great system if you are working with a small to global sized company. They are able to handle the bandwidth and seem to be able to suit your needs. They are able to scale quickly. It is nice that you are able to work from almost any location with an internet connection and get fairly updated reporting within the past couple of hours.
Read Scott Strader's full review
Dan Black profile photo
April 08, 2015

RedPrairie Review: "RedPraire for 3PLs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use RedPrairie in our 3PL warehouses in our Distribution Logistics division. We have transportation terminals and other pallet plants that do not use RedPrairie, as they do not require a WMS. RedPrairie is our WMS.
  • RedPrairie is very customizable by internal staff. Being a 3PL, we have many different customer requirements. RedPrairie has easily met them all. We try not to customize, as the product works well out of the box. But we do create custom reports and data extracts that customers require. And we can do those modifications ourselves with no RedPrairie support or additional cost.
  • RedPrairie allows for accurate and efficient use of warehouse labor. Transactions are tracked and rules are in place to keep inventory accurate. RedPrairie has a sophisticated work queue engine that hands out the best piece of work to warehouse workers and allows them to work as efficiently as possible.
  • RedPrairie has a robust integration layer that allows for data input and output to nearly any host or destination.
  • RedPrairie is complicated due to all of the customer requirements. There isn't really a "RedPrairie light" for simple, small customers.
  • RedPrairie is a client/server application. They are working towards a web interface.
The size and scope of the operation is the main question. In a smaller environment, or one that does not require a complex Warehouse Management Solution (WMS), RedPrairie may not be a good fit.
Read Dan Black's full review
Todd Craig profile photo
July 31, 2014

RedPrairie: "RP LMS Review"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Rollout in process to all distribution units. The modules were customized for each unit. We implemented the LMS modules for engineered labor standards and payroll determination.
  • It is a relatively cheap and basic LMS.
  • If customization is not required it can be dropped into an operation quickly.
  • Attractive starter program for organizations with limited engineered labor standards experience.
  • Engineered labor standards are very generic and times/elements could be tightened up.
  • Customization of the programs throws them a curve. logically they are resistant to rewrite what is already written, but meeting the needs of a more sophisticated customer requires greater flexibility and investment.
  • On site support needs to be more robust. It is dictated up front in the project plan, but needs to be flexible to meet customer needs, based on their demands.
  • Supervisor level time required to maintain the system (punches, etc) is significant and not a value-add use of their time.
In a conventional distribution operation where basic labor standards can be beneficial, RedPrarie's logistics management systems(LMS) may hold value. RP LMS is best if you can live with the package "as-is". Otherwise cost, time of customization, and ongoing cost of maintaining elements of the system, will reduce the value provided. Volume of the operation, a large number of elements input to RP, requirements to share data between different systems, automation, all present challenges that may not make RP LMS a good choice. My recommendation is if using RP, do not mix systems. AKA - if you like RP, buy your LMS, YMS, WMS, etc., from RP.
Read Todd Craig's full review
No photo available
December 21, 2015

Review: "JDA WMS (was RedPrairie): How to complicate simple things."

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization and it's supposed to work as a warehouse management system.
  • Directed work.
  • Highly customizable
  • Quite user un-friendly database design; DB table names and column names don't give any clue about their purpose.
  • Data separation is non-effective. This is NOT a software for a 3PL (3rd party logistics company). Multiple clients sharing the same warehouse share tables - such as the Item Master table - without a clear indication of the client's name.
  • Several different tables for ItemMaster, way too complicated.
  • System would reject new Items if the Item Color sent via EDI hasn't been codified before the Item Master upload. That is a problem for fashion clients that create many new color codes every season.
  • Software requires SERVER reboot for every new change in order for the change to be effective. Unacceptable when many clients are on the same server and on a distributed organization.
This software doesn't seem the right choice for a 3rd party logistics company with several clients sharing the same warehouses. It is not the right choice for fashion companies that create thousands of new Items and color codes every season. I don't know scenarios where this software can be well suited.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 08, 2015

Review: "RedPrairie is the best tool a distribution team can have in their toolbox to help reinforce their employees and take away obstacles."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used RedPrairie in my last company of 18 years, which was a big box distribution company 1.8 million square feet with 9 other distribution companies and over 1500 stores. RedPrairie was the most positive tool we worked with and it was compatible with all existing tools we were using such as voice pick, RF and pick to light. The simplicity of the program gave us great data to provide our employees with feedback and was easily accepted by my management team. I wish the present company I work for had the chance to see the value of the RedPrairie system compared to the system we are currently using. I have many supervisors and managers that have used RedPrairie in their past experience and agree that it is a very valuable tool for many companies in distribution or any company that needs reliable data to improve process and give employees valuable feedback.
  • Provides great and reliable data to give feedback to your employees.
  • Gives you data to see the true picture on effectiveness in youf production areas.
  • The tools and reports are endless and can be used by the front line supervisor and the management team to see trend lines on performance and gaps that need to be closed.
  • There are not many areas I have seen that need to be improved afher you know the system.
  • RedPrairie has a big jump over many companies because it is 3D and takes all factors in consideration.
  • I do not have any thing bad to say about RedPrairie.
I have been in big box retail companies for over 30 years and find RedPrairie is one of the biggest tools you can give to your management team to reinforce their staff's hard work and drill down to find any obstacles that get in the employee's way of succeeding in their daily tasks.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 20, 2014

"RedPrairie Review"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RedPrairie is being used at all of our US manufacturing plants warehouses. It helps promote standard work, controls age management and inventory accuracy. With the use of ASNs (Advance Shipment Notifications), receiving and unloading time has decreased. The cycle count feature has increased inventory accuracy.
  • Cycle counting--great feature for inventory accuracy.
  • System directed put-away--system directs driver where to store and put materials away, keeps a warehouse in tip-top shape.
  • CNZ-Count near Zero, actually set at count at zero, when a bayrow emtys out, prompts fork driver to verify that the bayrow is actually empty by doing a cycle count....great for inventory accuracy!
  • Doing wall-to-wall counts and sending to another system, for example SAP. There is no count over-lay to send to SAP, must do manual adjustments in SAP to balance to RedPrairie after an inventory count.
  • There are NO reports! Everything must be exported to Excel and then reports can be manually created.
  • Enhancement request process - working with requests from "like Companies" and gathering information to work to THE BEST solution for all
  • LESS red tape....has gotten ugly since JDA took over!
  • Inventory Adjustment efficiency to do more than one at a time and via LXE
  • Line Supply via Directed Work
  • Easier/cleaner substitution process for outbound orders
  • Bayrow & pallet consolidation
  • Yard Trailer Management Report
  • Shared Yard Management
It is more suited for a NON manufacturing site. It may not be the best with integrating with Automated Guided Vehicles (AGVs). Do you have any kind of Wellness Reporting via dashboarding? Do you offer line supply via Directed work? What is your support model?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 12, 2014

RedPrairie Review: "Global WMS evaluation for high tech manufacturer"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
RedPrairie WMS is one of the WMS solutions used in our global distribution centers. We completed a thorough evaluation of their solutions along with Manhattan Associates, SAP, and Oracle. We were looking for a solution that met the evolving needs for our global business units as well as give us flexibility in changing or consolidation of facilities or 3rd party logistics providers.
  • The core WMS has very strong capabilities for the high tech industry and use by 3rd party logistics providers.
  • The product is highly configurable and scalable for large complex operations.
  • There is a lot in the core product that can be used with consistent user experience. Other providers have multiple modules that have different user experiences.
  • A lot of third party logistics providers already use and are comfortable with Red Prairie WMS.
  • Their implementation team was unable to provide examples where they successfully executed large scale multi site global deployments. May require strong client team or 3rd party implementation firm to ensure successful deployment and results.
  • As of 3 years ago, their parcel shipping module was very new and unproven in marketplace.
  • As of 3 years ago, Red Prairie had limited offering in modules that complement the WMS such as trading partner management and distributed order management. If you truly just need warehouse management capabilities this might not matter. For us, this meant we would need to involve more solution providers or internal development to address supply chain initiatives.
Red Prairie WMS and labor management has the functionality needed to optimize a warehouse and could have lower initial and long term cost of ownership. During the selection process, you need to find examples where they've recently implemented companies like yours successfully. Also carefully evaluate and select your project team if you are depending on them for the implementation. If you need broader supply chain capabilities beyond the warehouse, carefully assess vendors capabilities and experience. There was a strong willingness to partner and build out solutions but that comes with a lot of risk to timeline, cost, and long term upgrade path.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 30, 2014

"RedPrairie WMS Review"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The RedPrairie Warehouse Management System (WMS) was used by my company's principle US consumer electronics parts warehouse facility in Kent, WA. All incoming parts from foreign countries would arrive at this facility to be inventoried by the RedPrairie WMS and then the parts were picked, packed, & shipped to repair depots, 3rd party servicers, or end users.
  • In general, the customer support was adequate. Fortunately, we were large enough to be able to exert pressure on RedPrairie senior management when problem resolution was slow. Due to the uptime criticality of our warehousing operation, we couldn't afford any major delays more than 4 hours because of the order backlog.
  • The RedPrairie technical staff was knowledgeable. However, our particular WMS system had been highly customized over the years and it did not seem that their support techs had complete understanding of our system configuration. We were forced eventually to seek support from a 3rd party RedPrairie servicer who had originally installed our system.
  • By and large, the RedPrairie WMS system worked very well and we were able to integrate it with our ERP system.
  • RedPrairie had project managers but they didn't seem to have much control or influence in the RedPrairie professional services group.
  • RedPrairie would not accept customer statement of work (SOW) and were very reluctant to negotiation on terms and conditions. Many hours were spent by our procurement staff in trying to negotiate key issues or deadlines. After awhile, one of our procurement staff refused to deal with RedPrairie SOW or contracts out of sheer frustration.
  • RedPrairie billing, especially for professional services, was atrocious. No details. No copies of consultant travel receipts. Delayed and incomplete bills.
The Warehouse Management System (WMS) system was very good. I just would be very careful in negotiating T&C's on SOWs and contracts, especially focus on getting performance/deadline penalties. I would insist on prompt and accurate billing, especially for any travel expenses. Also, insist that any consultant travel be approved by you in advance, For example, during a pre-installation planning meeting on a Friday, 6-7 unexpected out-of-town RedPrairie associates showed up, stayed the weekend at one the best hotels in the area, went to a gourmet dinner together at a top restaurant; and then presented a bill running thousands of dollars for the air travel, hotel, & meals.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 13, 2014

RedPrairie: "RedPrarie Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a warehouse management system (WMS) system at the warehouse with the advantage of a flexible WMS system.
  • Customization - There is a network of consultants outside of RedPraire that can customize it without having to go through the giant
  • Implementation - There is a network of consultants within and outside of Redprairie that can implement the software
  • Real Time Orders Processing with EDI, XML integration, Ideal for 24/7 operations
  • Needs experienced IT support
  • Primary focus is on consumer good and retail
Ask about IT cost first and IT support second. Also ask about international support if applicable.
Read this authenticated review

About RedPrairie

Software company RedPrairie merged with JDA Software Group in 2012; they offered a popular supply chain management platform.

RedPrairie Competitors

RedPrairie Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No