Amazon Redshift

Amazon Redshift

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.7 out of 100
Amazon Redshift

Overview

Recent Reviews

Redshift trumped Hive

9 out of 10
January 15, 2021
It is used within a few departments. It is used to solve certain legacy problems that have not yet been ported over to other more suitable …
Continue reading

Great Data Lake Solution

9 out of 10
December 30, 2020
Amazon Redshift is being used by some departments of our company to bring solution to data warehouse. Our data center was not large and …
Continue reading

Redshift Review

2 out of 10
November 30, 2019
Amazon Redshift was our enterprise data warehouse as a backend to our BI solutions.
Continue reading

Redshift is way too easy!

9 out of 10
September 27, 2019
Redshift is our data warehouse used by our organization. It takes data from different sources and put them together in Redshift for our …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Amazon Redshift, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Redshift Managed Storage

$0.24

Cloud
per GB per month

Current Generation

$0.25 - $13.04

Cloud
per hour

Previous Generation

$0.25 - $4.08

Cloud
per hour

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Amazon Redshift?

Amazon Redshift is a hosted data warehouse solution, from Amazon Web Services.

Amazon Redshift Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Amazon Redshift?

Amazon Redshift is a hosted data warehouse solution, from Amazon Web Services.

What is Amazon Redshift's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Amazon Redshift?

The most common users of Amazon Redshift are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (179)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 34)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Sameera Srivastava | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is well suited in scenarios where you have distributed data sources and would like to build an ETL pipeline with limited data engineering efforts. Operations time and cost is relatively low compared to other tools. Also it offers great connectivity with Heap with no technical know-how required. It is mostly self managed and reliable.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you are looking for something easy to implement that will give you a nice performance, I would suggest Amazon Redshift. I'm using it in AWS environment, so I don't know if in another cloud environment the performance and all the features would be nice as well. It's also important to check if the price fits to you too.
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If the number of connections is expected to be low, but the amounts of data are large or projected to grow it is a good solutions especially if there is previous exposure to PostgreSQL. Speaking of Postgres, Redshift is based on several versions old releases of PostgreSQL so the developers would not be able to take advantage of some of the newer SQL language features. The queries need some fine-tuning still, indexing is not provided, but playing with sorting keys becomes necessary. Lastly, there is no notion of the Primary Key in Redshift so the business must be prepared to explain why duplication occurred (must be vigilant for).
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift performs extremely well for reporting/analytics data and is way ahead of other competitors. The biggest challenge is migrating data from on-premises databases to Amazon Redshift. The initial hurdle is a major one.
Bojan Sovilj | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Redshift is great data warehouse solution if you have several billion rows tables. More than 200 very important improvements were added in several years' time. With new Redshift instance types solution has separation of storage and compute and magnitude better query response times. Don't use Redshift if you have less than several billion rows tables.
December 30, 2020

Redshift Review for you!

Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redshift is best suited for our data storage and designing our fact and dimension tables. We keep our non-structured data there that can be accessed at any time as well as our relational database. I'd say that if you don't have a need for a relational databasae, then Redshift probably isn't going to be a viable product.
December 30, 2020

Great Data Lake Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
If you do not require a fast I/O rate. And frankly you should not expect that from data warehouse. And if you do not mind that your data is on cloud and only on AWS, and if you want a scalable and fast implementation of data lake, then you should consider Amazon Redshift.
Jay Padhya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Except for the price, Amazon Redshift is a great tool and has the fastest performance across all the data warehouses we have seen. It's easy to connect with Talend, which makes it a better option to use. I like the UI better than most of the other DW. Overall it's a great DW tool.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The initial costs were very low, and it was super easy for us to spin up databases. Also, setting up multiple instances were easily managed with just a click of a button.
  • The costs increased gradually, and it became more expensive than planned. The query analyzer was not up to the mark and needed constant support from the AWS support team. Gladly they were willing to help and had a good experience with them.
November 30, 2019

Redshift Review

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redshift is appropriate when the number of concurrent users are low and pointed queries are the focus. It is not appropriate when a large number of concurrent users is to be supported,
September 27, 2019

Redshift is way too easy!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's very cost-effective from other databases we were using for our data warehouse. It was really easy to set up and it used our ETL tools to migrate data from different data sources. We added functionality add aggregate the data set for our Analytics team to analyze.
Akshaya Bhardwaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is well suited for fetching data from multiple different sources and servers, and it is very easy to learn how to use this tool. It is less appropriate for situations where you may need to process only limited rows, as this takes a large amount of time since you cannot create multiple tables in it.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is the data warehouse under the umbrella of AWS services, so if your application is functioning under the AWS, Redshift is the best solution for this. For large amounts of data, the application is the best fit for real-time insight from the data and added decision capability for growing businesses. If your application is outside of AWS it might add more time in data management.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use Redshift for data warehouses, especially if your data is already in the cloud (AWS). It's great for large datasets, and fast too, even if your dataset is column heavy. It's less so for when you have a bunch of rows. All in all, it's a good starting point for any aspiring data warehouse, but there are other promising solutions too. E.g. Snowflake.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is great for analytics, reporting, and complex queries for statistical modeling and machine learning. Its ability to run parallel queries in a simple SQL environment makes the transition from traditional DB very easy. Very good for loading/reading/writing large datasets. I would not recommend RedShift for an environment that requires single row reads/updates, which it is not optimized for.
Jacob Biguvu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Redshift is good for when you need a Data Warehouse solution or a user-experience such as SQL kind queries. It is also good if you have limited budget constraints. It's not suggested when someone has DML queries such as INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's] very good for reports and dashboards and is easy to use and fast performance makes it a good choice. It excels in columnar architecture and aggregates. If you have many clients as we do, you need to have separate schemas for each of them. That is a good way but also there is too much clutter spread all over. That is the only drawback I see, end users can see data in the schema, there are no individual permissions allotted.
Brendan McKenna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Very well suited for aggregating/denormalizing data when you need a reporting environment. Can provide extremely fast querying for analytical purposes. Very nice to not have to have in house responsibility for sensitive data.

Not appropriate for a transactional system (though this is not what it is built for obviously). Must keep in mind the data you are syncing up to the cloud and scrub if necessary before. Something to always be mindful of of course.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is best for large structured data sets with data normally loaded from files, instead of through heavy SQL data manipulation. If there are SQL data manipulation, better to have mainly DDL (create/drop/alter) instead of DML (insert/update/delete) to achieve the same goals. It is also better for smaller number of concurrent connections (less than 500).
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is well suited for:
  • Petabytes of data requiring near real-time analysis
  • Massive Data Insertions
  • Massive Data Reads
It isn't well suited for:
  • Web apps
  • Smaller transactional inserts
  • Smaller reads
You wouldn't drive an 18-wheeler to the corner store to pick up a bag of chips. Your specific need will determine whether or not Redshift is suited for the job.
Gavin Hackeling | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redshift is ideal for small teams. It is fully managed. CloudWatch metrics are provided out-of-the-box, and it integrates well with other AWS products, such as DMS. The Redshift console is among the better AWS consoles. Redshift offers adequate performance. Spectrum offers a convenient way to access our data lake, but we have encountered issues with recent versions.