Renaissance Accelerated Reader Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
60 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 45)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Steve Braband | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2020

Renaissance Accelerated Reader

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Accelerated Reader is a program that I would highly suggest for any district. It can be infused into any reading classroom effortlessly and help teachers track data that they would otherwise have to do manually. Accelerated Reader also ensures that students are engaged in reading by incentivizing them by awarding students points for the books that they read. The more difficult the book, the more points they receive for reading and proving their understanding of that book.
Read Steve Braband's full review
Stephania Sherman, Ed. D | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Renaissance Accelerated Reader Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

This tool is an essential part of our teacher's delivery of instruction and the formative assessment process. I would love to see the platform updated for student aesthetic appeal. Teachers love the updates from the latest platform upgrade for reports on student knowledge and the ease of planning instruction. The student interface could use some updates!
Read Stephania Sherman, Ed. D's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2020

Motivated to Read with Accelerated Reader!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Renaissance Accelerated Reader is great for encouraging students to increase the amount of time they spend reading each day. Accelerated Reader can be used by different grade levels and different reading levels. This program works best when the teacher guides students on their reading journey and works regularly to monitor their progress. The program makes it easy to reward students and classes for their hard work.
Accelerated Reader would not be appropriate as completely independent learning. The Accelerated Reader platform is for taking a quiz on the book and keeping track of goals/points. The program does not provide feedback, rewards, or encouragement to students.
Read this authenticated review
Amber AuBain | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Renaissance Accelerated Reader Works! (Even with 8th graders!)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Accelerated Reader is a great program for most schools through 8th grade. Though elementary students are more excited about reading and the program, middle school students also can find enjoyment in it as well. I find that I have to motivate my 8th graders more, but we have had success as a team in getting 100% percent of our students to achieve their AR goals in nine weeks.
Read Amber AuBain's full review
Ami Edwards | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2020

My experience with Accelerated Reader

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

It is very appropriate for the second graders that I teach. I think it might not be as well suited for older students (like middle school, etc). I don't think it would be as well suited for kindergarten students, but I think first grade and up would be a good fit.
Read Ami Edwards's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2020

Ready! Set! Read to Reach Your Goal!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

AR is appropriate for all grades - kindergarten to adult! Kindergartners are allowed to begin testing after our first semester is completed. Students in the upper grades become teacher AR helpers. These students assist the teacher in her classroom during her reading period and help assist the kindergartners in reading, logging in, finding their book's quiz, and documenting their data for each book.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Pros and Cons

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Renaissance is well suited for a school that has every teacher on board. The program is only encouraged in our school library, so I think some of the effect wears off quickly. I know that schools that have the principal and teachers fully involved see the biggest success
Read this authenticated review
Keyanna Kimbrough | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Great Reading and Great Results

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I was trying to figure out how to motivate one of my students to read more. I logged on and went to one discussion that asked about motivating those students that were not motivated to read. I saw many other educators response and I was able to implement some of their ideas and find out what work for my students and what didn't.
Read Keyanna Kimbrough's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Accelerated Reader Rocks!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Renaissance Accelerated Reader is well suited for all classes. English Language Arts classes should not be the only classes where students get reading practice. Reading is important across all content areas. It should not be used as punishment so that they enjoy reading. Renaissance Accelerated Reader is used to keep a record of student reading.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2019

Drop Everything and Read

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Accelerated Reader is best suited for grades 2nd - 5th. They are more independent. As noted, Accelerated Reader is a guided program. However, most schedules don't permit the time to guide students in kindergarten and first grade.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Accelerated Reader Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

AR is great when a school library has wonderful books to choose from. If a school library doesn't have a good selection, that makes AR more difficult. If schools have access to My ION that could alleviate the school library problem. The cost of the programs can also hurt schools that lack funding.
Read this authenticated review
Jennifer Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2019

Accelerated Reader does just that: Accelerate reading in your classroom.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

I feel that AR is well suited to any self-contained classroom and for all grades. It is also well suited for those who teach reading across multiple grades. I teach reading 3-8 at our school and I find that it is easy to use AR daily in my classes. If you have a lot of younger students or those who are struggling readers, then the Early Literacy program may be a better fit then the regular Accelerated Reader system. I know that sometimes our Kindergarten classes can't fully use AR until the end of Kindergarten or the start of their 1st-grade year.
Read Jennifer Taylor's full review
Jason Eifling | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2019

Great Product with a Great Price Tag

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Accelerated Reader is what it is. It has been around for years and pretty much has a lock on this type of service. With that being said, Renaissance still makes improvements and works with the customer to make things better. If people use the product the way it is intended, results can be great. Yes, there is a danger that a product like this hurts the love of reading by "forcing" kids to read. *There are articles written about the positives and negatives of AR elsewhere if you look* But Accelerated Reader gathers plenty of data that can be used by educators to help their classrooms if they choose to use the product as intended.
Read Jason Eifling's full review
Renee Graham | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2019

Reading Magic

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Likelihood to Recommend

Renaissance Accelerated Reader 360 is appropriate in any classroom, any grade level. Even striving readers can feel successful by reaching a goal set on their abilities. It allows them to feel just as competent as their peers, some of whom are alreading thriving in the area of reading comprehension and fluency.
Read Renee Graham's full review

About Renaissance Accelerated Reader

Renaissance Accelerated Reader® is designed to save educators time by empowering them with Learnalytics® to make differentiating independent and close reading practice effortless – all while maintaining the flexibility necessary to fit within existing classroom routines. Students are engaged in reading self-selected authentic books and articles.

Short comprehension quizzes and built-in close reading practice activities, combined with automatic and educator feedback, keep students accountable for their learning. Dashboards and reporting provide users with the insights necessary to identify quickly which students need more support, which skills each student is ready to learn, and which resources will cultivate proven growth.

According to the vendor, key benefits include:

  • Students are nearly twice as likely to be college and career ready with they practice with Renaissance Accelerated Reader.
  • A strong research base of 178 scientific studies and review backs Renaissance Accelerated Reader, which ensures that you have scientifically sound practice and reliable data for instructional decisions.
  • The Council of Administrators of Special Education endorses Renaissance Accelerated Reader for improving outcomes for students with disabilities.
Categories:  Assessment

Renaissance Accelerated Reader Competitors

ReadnQuiz, Whooo's Reading, LightSail, Newslea, Acheive3000

Renaissance Accelerated Reader Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Renaissance Accelerated Reader Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Renaissance Accelerated Reader Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web