Renaissance Accelerated Reader Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
60 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 45)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Steve Braband | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2020

Renaissance Accelerated Reader

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Accelerated Reader is used throughout the district as a tool to keep students engaged while independently reading. By tracking and questioning students on their independent reading books, it allows teachers to focus on individually conferencing with students. They use the data gathered by Accelerated Reader to help focus their conversations with students and keep track of the progress they make throughout the school year.
Read Steve Braband's full review
Stephania Sherman, Ed. D | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2020

Renaissance Accelerated Reader Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Renaissance Accelerated Reader is an excellent resource used by Imagine Schools to support student comprehension. This valuable tool provides a platform for teachers to set goals with students, conferencing on students' reading habits, and celebrate students' success. By using Accelerated Reader teachers are able to personalize the students pathway to ensure everyone is reaching their maximum potential.
Read Stephania Sherman, Ed. D's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2020

Motivated to Read with Accelerated Reader!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our school district uses Renaissance Accelerated Reader to encourage students to read daily. We also use Accelerated Reader to monitor student progress and academic growth. This product is so flexible and can be used in so many ways! Accelerated Reader is user friendly for students and teachers! There is also a way to connect parents to student accounts. Parents can monitor student progress and receive email updates about their child’s activity in Accelerated Reader.
Read this authenticated review
Amber AuBain | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2020

Renaissance Accelerated Reader Works! (Even with 8th graders!)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Accelerated Reader is being used county-wide in grades K-8. Accelerated Reader gives us a powerful tool to assess students' levels in reading using STAR tests, tests to check students' comprehension, and reports to track progress. Accelerated Reader helps motivate students to read every day and achieve their individual reading goals.
Read Amber AuBain's full review
Kelsie Haggard | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Accelerated Reader 360

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our whole school, though small, uses Accelerated Reader 360. We love the program and being able to see how well our students are paying attention to the books and stories being read. It is also a user-friendly service that helps teachers and parents watch the progress of their child/student. Our students are on the program every day and it is very user-friendly for them as well.
Read Kelsie Haggard's full review
Ami Edwards | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2020

My experience with Accelerated Reader

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Most of our school uses Accelerated Reader. It is also used throughout our school district. My students enjoy using Accelerated Reader, and I believe it definitely helps with their reading progress and comprehension. It also provides good data for students who are having reading difficulties as well. You can look for patterns in their data.
Read Ami Edwards's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2020

Ready! Set! Read to Reach Your Goal!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

AR is used daily in our school. Students are tested to determine their reading level. Students goals are set and students find books on their level to read and test on. Students must maintain at least 85% accuracy and reach their goal in order to earn daily, weekly, or monthly goals. Our school's AR team plans the awards for each month. The awards are planned with a theme that matches any activity for each month. For example, for December, any child reaching their AR goal is invited to a movie with popcorn - dressed in their Christmas pajamas of course! Parents are able to keep track of their child's progress at home. Students are also able to keep track of their progress and document it in their Leader In ME AR folder. Finally, we gather during a Senergy Assembly and recognize those who reached their goals, exceeded their goals, the top AR points achieved, and million word readers are also recognized.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Pros and Cons

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Accelerated Reader with our 2nd - 5th grade students. It is an optional program, which is supposed to encourage students to read more. We have offered quarterly stores where the students can spend points, as well as tiered rewards with a field trip as the grand prize.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Find Success for all Readers with Renaissance Accelerated Reader

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a teacher in a language arts classroom, I use the Accelerated Reader (AR) program on a daily basis. Students select books at their independent reading level based on a STAR test given through the program. This level allows students to read appropriate books that they will understand and grow from as a reader. They then test on the books and receive points for their score. Point and percentage goals are set for each student on a quarterly basis.
Read this authenticated review
Leslie Knight | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

Renaissance Accelerated Reader for Student Success

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Renaissance Accelerated Reader is used at the elementary level in my district to help students gain comprehension skills and practice new vocabulary that is learned in the books that are read. The program is also used to track students' learning and growth for their reading level. We use that information to set levels for the different books that they are to read. You can compare the levels of growth over years as well.
Read Leslie Knight's full review
Keyanna Kimbrough | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Great Reading and Great Results

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Renaissance Accelerated Reader is being used by every teacher in my school. It is being used to motivate and support student reading. We explain the data, the Lexile and the ZPD to parents and students. Knowing where they are and where they should be, motivates parents to encourage their child or children to read more on their level. Reading on their level improves their reading skills and increase their Lexile and ZPD. The students are motivated by teachers and parents.
Read Keyanna Kimbrough's full review
milecha young | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Take a Look at Renaissance

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Renaissance Accelerated Reader is what our entire organization uses. Students get a book then test it. They must have a 90% success rate when testing. Students are constantly wanting to make sure they hit their goals when reading. It is a good tool for teachers as well, to gauge where students are needing help. You can tell how many books they read, the level, the percentage of the engaged time, and the percentage of how many fiction versus non-fiction they have taken out.
Read milecha young's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Accelerated Reader Rocks!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We currently use Accelerated Reader school-wide. This helps us track student reading practice and guide us in recommending reading. Teachers submit weekly reports and at a point goal of 2.5 with an 85 average. These goals are aligned to district goals. This program ensures reading practice that we would otherwise not be able to track other than with a reading log.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 06, 2019

Drop Everything and Read

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Accelerated Reader school-wide to assess student comprehension and to motivate/cultivate life long learners. We can measure growth and/or regression in the area of reading comprehension when monitored regularly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Accelerated Reader Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am a teacher at a K-6 school. All homeroom teachers use it with their students. We use it as a way to motivate and track readers. We also use the reports to show weaknesses and growth. Accelerated Reader is a great product to use in the classroom. It also helps us stay connected with parents.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2019

Accelerated Reader creates Accelerated Progress

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Renaissance Learning is widely used throughout the school system as a reliable indicator of reading comprehension through its STAR and AR tests. It has progressed thousands of readers to excellence and comprehension.
Read this authenticated review
Jennifer Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2019

Accelerated Reader does just that: Accelerate reading in your classroom.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Accelerated Reader is currently being used school-wide in our Elementary school. We are a rural K-8 school and use AR every day. I personally use AR in my 3-8 Reading classes. I also support 3 other teachers as they use AR in their own classrooms. My main goal in using AR is to motivate students to read independently for pleasure. AR is a tool that allows me to help students choose books that are within their ZPD and ensure they are comprehending what they have read. The data tracking in AR is invaluable. I can easily pinpoint problems for specific students and have a conversation with them about any issues that come up. AR also makes it very easy to include students in goal setting and discussions about their data. Either using a scaled score or ATOS level, students can easily understand what level their independent reading ability is at and then track that level as it grows throughout the school year. AR has become an invaluable resource for me in my classroom for both motivating and engaging students and for me personally to be able to use student data to help guide my students as they grow as readers.
Read Jennifer Taylor's full review
Jason Eifling | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 19, 2019

Great Product with a Great Price Tag

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our school/district uses Accelerated Reader. Generally, it is used by Language Arts teachers, but it does help track reading and reading comprehension. Students are given goals to strive for each grading period and strive to reach that goal. There are many pros and cons for using Accelerated Reader but our students have used it for years and I don't see it going away any time soon.
Read Jason Eifling's full review
Jody Steinhaus | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Renaissance Accelerated Reader 360 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am using Renaissance Accelerated Reader in my first and second grade classroom. AR 360 is also being used by all other classrooms--4K-5th grade--in our building. Renaissance Accelerated Reader keeps my students motivated and eager to read and improve their reading skills and strategies. Renaissance AR is the perfect fit when using the Reading Workshop Daily 5 model. Children in my classroom begin every day with reading to themselves, taking comprehension and vocabulary quizzes, and working toward their goal. I have found my students take ownership of their reading and learning and have become much more independent. They challenge themselves and each other to continually grow and improve.
Read Jody Steinhaus's full review
Renee Graham | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 14, 2019

Reading Magic

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used across the system. It addresses the problem of reading practice with our students. My classroom uses the program daily and I review the data several times a day. My students enjoy striving for and reaching goals. I appreciate the level playing field. My striving readers can achieve their goals as quickly as my thriving readers.
Read Renee Graham's full review

About Renaissance Accelerated Reader

Renaissance Accelerated Reader® is designed to save educators time by empowering them with Learnalytics® to make differentiating independent and close reading practice effortless – all while maintaining the flexibility necessary to fit within existing classroom routines. Students are engaged in reading self-selected authentic books and articles.

Short comprehension quizzes and built-in close reading practice activities, combined with automatic and educator feedback, keep students accountable for their learning. Dashboards and reporting provide users with the insights necessary to identify quickly which students need more support, which skills each student is ready to learn, and which resources will cultivate proven growth.

According to the vendor, key benefits include:

  • Students are nearly twice as likely to be college and career ready with they practice with Renaissance Accelerated Reader.
  • A strong research base of 178 scientific studies and review backs Renaissance Accelerated Reader, which ensures that you have scientifically sound practice and reliable data for instructional decisions.
  • The Council of Administrators of Special Education endorses Renaissance Accelerated Reader for improving outcomes for students with disabilities.
Categories:  Assessment

Renaissance Accelerated Reader Competitors

ReadnQuiz, Whooo's Reading, LightSail, Newslea, Acheive3000

Renaissance Accelerated Reader Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Renaissance Accelerated Reader Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase

Renaissance Accelerated Reader Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web